Mexican HDTV - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 692 Old 06-14-2010, 01:39 PM
Member
 
paco1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightwalker1973 View Post

What´s the point, or use, to broadcast the same programming, or channel on a subchannel? Yeah, one is in HD 1080i and the other in regular 480i, but both are with the same programming anyway. It´s a waste of space and broadband sacrifice of the main ch. If it were for a different channel or programming, ok, it´s worth it. Don´t you think.

Yeah, seems to be a total waste of space. Anyhow, seems that the testing is complete and these channels are here to stay!
paco1986 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 692 Old 06-26-2010, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Nightwalker1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tijuana, Baja California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since a few days ago i noticed that both Tv Azteca digital signals in Tijuana have the program guide info and, best of all, it indicates the programming in our local time zone (Pacific Time). Way to go Tv Azteca Tijuana.

I don´t know if you guys in the El Paso/Paso del Norte (Cd. Juarez) area can get their tv guide info of both digital signals.
Nightwalker1973 is offline  
post #573 of 692 Old 06-27-2010, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Both TV Azteca channels from Juarez, also have the guide data,and it's also correct.
cube799 is offline  
post #574 of 692 Old 07-05-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 86
TV Azteca, specially "Azteca 13" has been doing nothing but SD lately, INCLUDING the latest World Cup match.. no wonder they are losing Vs. Televisa..

Novelas, news, shows, etc all on SD now..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is online now  
post #575 of 692 Old 08-19-2010, 09:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd like to request a list of Digital TV stations in operation in Mexico. They will be added to the Canada & Mexico DTV topic index.

Thanks in advance.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #576 of 692 Old 08-22-2010, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Nightwalker1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tijuana, Baja California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken:

visit this web page: www.mexicoradiotv.com

It´s a good source of information about all tv and radio stations throughout all Mexico, including digital channels.
Nightwalker1973 is offline  
post #577 of 692 Old 08-31-2010, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can find the most recent list at this website

http://www.cofetel.gob.mx/wb/Cofetel...ion_digital_in
cube799 is offline  
post #578 of 692 Old 09-01-2010, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XHAS-DT Ch 34 (33.1) Telemundo is now 1080i in Tijuaina.

jeff2631 is offline  
post #579 of 692 Old 09-02-2010, 10:29 PM
Member
 
sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XHAS telemundo is only using 11 M/S. I wonder if they have plans for the rest of the bandwidth.

Also, Azteca 28.1 and 29.1 have several sub-channels. I believe they are hi-tv channels broadcasting in MPEG4. Does anyone have a converter to view this?
sandog is offline  
post #580 of 692 Old 09-03-2010, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Nice. We are still waiting in El Paso for Telemundo HD and Telefutura HD...

I hope with the new Digital TV laws coming, we also have "canal 5" in HD soon.

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is online now  
post #581 of 692 Old 09-03-2010, 03:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, I'll check them out.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #582 of 692 Old 09-03-2010, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The subchannels are: H264 - MPEG-4 AVC

XHJK-DT Ch 28 (28.1) TV Azteca 13 subchannels



XHTIT-DT 29 (29.1) TV Azteca 7 subchannels
jeff2631 is offline  
post #583 of 692 Old 09-04-2010, 01:37 AM
Member
 
sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to watch those hi-tv signals with a hvr-950 usb tuner, fedora 12 linux, kaffeine player. The quality is not bad on a 19 in PC screen.
sandog is offline  
post #584 of 692 Old 09-04-2010, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using VLC media player to view the H264 subchannels. Here is their bandwidth in TSReader. Export htm files attached.

XHJK-DT Ch 28 (28.1) TV Azteca 13


XHTIT-DT Ch 29 (29.1) TV Azteca 7

 

xhjk-xhtit.zip 5.9404296875k . file
jeff2631 is offline  
post #585 of 692 Old 09-07-2010, 06:15 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jeff2631:

What hardware are you using with VLC ?
JoeM is offline  
post #586 of 692 Old 09-07-2010, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using an OnAirGT USB tuner and a HDHomeRun dual tuner. Both connect with TSReader and display with VLC media player.

jeff2631 is offline  
post #587 of 692 Old 09-10-2010, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

I hope with the new Digital TV laws coming, we also have "canal 5" in HD soon.

All I've heard is that the President of Mexico wants to turn off the Analog signals by 2015. I don't know if it still has to go through Congress or COFETEL.
cube799 is offline  
post #588 of 692 Old 10-06-2010, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Local cable is announcing that they will go "digital" soon...

They say "better quality" but they don't mention HDTV at all..

Satellite we have 2 companies.. SKY, but HD package, for EACH TV is about $80 dls a month, so if you have 3 TVs you'll payg about $240 US dolars a month!!!!

How much you pay now for regular HDTV Cable/Sat in US? $49? max $99?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is online now  
post #589 of 692 Old 10-09-2010, 07:46 AM
Member
 
davidmhoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes $50/month for HD with taxes and fees on the low end. For all the Premium channels included with HD it can be $150/month with taxes and fees. If you add sports packages it can go to $300/month for HD.
davidmhoffman is offline  
post #590 of 692 Old 10-11-2010, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Keep in mind this is for regular HD, if you add like HBO package it's about $30 dls each TV, "exclusive" sports? about US $500 for the season of each sport

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is online now  
post #591 of 692 Old 10-24-2010, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
what's wrong with Televisa Juarez? Since yesterday they only have the SD channel 32-2 working. The HD channel 32-1 is completely missing.
cube799 is offline  
post #592 of 692 Old 10-25-2010, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

what's wrong with Televisa Juarez? Since yesterday they only have the SD channel 32-2 working. The HD channel 32-1 is completely missing.

Same here, IDK what's wrong with them.. maybe transmitter problems?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is online now  
post #593 of 692 Old 10-25-2010, 11:42 AM
Member
 
dishhead2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Televisa Juarez engineer was to lazy to come in on a weekend and he fixed it monday morning, but now its 1920 X 1080 but at that res it has little more pixelation
dishhead2001 is offline  
post #594 of 692 Old 11-21-2010, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
coyoteaz is offline  
post #595 of 692 Old 11-28-2010, 09:46 PM
Member
 
RodHQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

Local cable is announcing that they will go "digital" soon...

They say "better quality" but they don't mention HDTV at all..

Satellite we have 2 companies.. SKY, but HD package, for EACH TV is about $80 dls a month, so if you have 3 TVs you'll payg about $240 US dolars a month!!!!

How much you pay now for regular HDTV Cable/Sat in US? $49? max $99?

The cable company's twitter feed says HD is available in a few cities, with Mérida coming soon
RodHQ is offline  
post #596 of 692 Old 12-30-2010, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that XHDTV is on RF channel 47 (49.1) today in Tijuana.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #597 of 692 Old 12-30-2010, 01:51 PM
Member
 
paco1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

I noticed that XHDTV is on RF channel 47 (49.1) today in Tijuana.

Is this a Mexican station or a San Diego station?
paco1986 is offline  
post #598 of 692 Old 12-30-2010, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paco1986 View Post

Is this a Mexican station or a San Diego station?

It's a hybrid and is on here as a Mexican Transmitter. The station is licensed to Tecate, Baja California, Mexico; its studios are located in San Diego. The station is operated by Entravision Communications Corporation as a MyNetworkTV affiliate.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #599 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 12:25 PM
Member
 
paco1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

It's a hybrid and is on here as a Mexican Transmitter. The station is licensed to Tecate, Baja California, Mexico; its studios are located in San Diego. The station is operated by Entravision Communications Corporation as a MyNetworkTV affiliate.

Thanks for the info. Hopefully I can pick up this station down here in Playas de Tijuana.
paco1986 is offline  
post #600 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The HD bitrate is null for XHDTV, so the actual bitrate is 2.31 mbps.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off