Mexican HDTV - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Did XHAS make the transition to HD?
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XHDTV/47

Does anyone have an idea where it is broadcasting from? How does the signal strength/quality & direction compare with the Mt. San Antonio stations?

I wouldn't expect they would want to be on the other mountain (Cerro Bola?), almost 40 miles away from downtown San Diego.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #603 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

Did XHAS make the transition to HD?

On Sep 1, 2010: XHAS-DT Ch 34 (33.1) Telemundo is now 1080i in Tijuaina.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post19134184
jeff2631 is offline  
post #604 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what my signals from Mexico looks like with a HDHomeRun. I am two miles east of Mt Soledad with a CM4221 in the attic.

K61GH 50, KDTF 51, XETV 23
XEWT 32, XHAS 34, XHDTV 47
XHJK 28, XHTIT 29, XHUAA 22

jeff2631 is offline  
post #605 of 692 Old 12-31-2010, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Looking at your chart, I have to believe that 47 is also on Mt. (Monte) San Antonio as well.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #606 of 692 Old 01-01-2011, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Nightwalker1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tijuana, Baja California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XHDTV 49 is owned by Televisora Alco and licensed to broadcast from cerro Bola (near Valle de las Palmas), in Tecate, Baja California.

This station is being leased to broadcast MyTV Network for the San Diego market.

I don´t think that i will have a strong signal in my area to get it. But i believe that they´re beggining their digital transmitter tests. I do believe that this signal is still being broadcasted on 36-13 until tests are complete and get it´s authorization to broadcast permanently on UHF 47. What will happen with it´s co-channel interference with KAZA-DT.

With this new DT transmitter on the air (soon permanently), there are now only 2 DT´s left to start their broadcast from Tijuana in the upcoming months or years.

Happy 2011 everybody.
Nightwalker1973 is offline  
post #607 of 692 Old 01-01-2011, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://hdtv.forsandiego.com has been up for a couple of weeks. I had to change over to a new forum software, so old content is gone. I still have my thumbdrive with the old content.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #608 of 692 Old 01-09-2011, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.sandiegohdtv.org/forums/s...ead.php?tid=36

Here is an interesting thread on the new San Diego board about XHDTV-TDT. I guess this could be either a Tijuana or Cerro Bola station. At the same time, the proposed CH. 47 and 44 allocations both carry similar lat and longitude readings.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #609 of 692 Old 01-16-2011, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After doing some field measurements, it is quite clear that XHDTV is NOT on Monte San Antonio, but rather Cerro Bola. I have collected SA caps to support this, which I will clean up first.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #610 of 692 Old 01-16-2011, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The attached spectrum analyzer captures are from Poway.

Poway 32.9724 -117.055

As predicted for Cerro Bola, XHDTV/47 is weaker than XHAS/34 (Monte San Antonio) and KNSD/40 (Mt. San Miguel).

More to follow.
LL
LL
LL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #611 of 692 Old 01-16-2011, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the viewpoint caps (I-5 South between San Onofre and Oceanside) from yesterday. 33.31403 -117.4827

XHDTV/47 is stronger and cleaner than other Mexican stations, though these results by themselves weren't conclusive. More to follow.
LL
LL
LL
LL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #612 of 692 Old 01-16-2011, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are screen caps from the rest stop just North of Oceanside, on my way back home. 33.26846 -117.4355

XHDTV/47 was significantly stronger than other Mexican stations here.

Also, while driving down yesterday, the SA showed a good signal from below Mt. Soledad, after the road bends and then heads straight with the cliffs on the right. 32.820605 -117.2279. Reception is predicted to be very much obstructed from Monte San Antonio from that spot. I don't have screen caps or extra data as it was not safe to gather such info while driving.
LL
LL
LL
LL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #613 of 692 Old 03-01-2011, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
The latest COFETEL authorized digital channels..

Juarez list looks promising, I hope the local providers start digital transmission soon.

http://www.cofetel.gob.mx/es/Cofetel...ion_digital_in

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #614 of 692 Old 03-23-2011, 02:02 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

The latest COFETEL authorized digital channels..
http://www.cofetel.gob.mx/es/Cofetel...ion_digital_in

For San Diego/Tijuana it lists only analog 45 to convert but not analog 3 (IPN).
JoeM is offline  
post #615 of 692 Old 04-10-2011, 08:51 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know anything about "LATV", the new Telemundo subchannel (33-2) in Tijuana/San Diego ?
JoeM is offline  
post #616 of 692 Old 04-11-2011, 12:18 AM
Newbie
 
kykin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
alguien sabe por que no puedo sintonizar el cbs ni el nbc en nuevo laredo?? solo agarra el 31.1, 31.2 y 31.3, la television es marca LG; usamos una antena sencilla que segun es para sintonizar canales HD, es marca philips.
kykin is offline  
post #617 of 692 Old 04-11-2011, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Anybody know anything about "LATV", the new Telemundo subchannel (33-2) in Tijuana/San Diego ?

LATV is widely offered throughout the US. Its flagship station is KJLA 57 Los Angeles, where it began in 2001.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dhett is offline  
post #618 of 692 Old 07-12-2011, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
since yesterday, Canal del las Estrellas HD Juarez is back to 1440 x 1080. Also for quite a while Azteca 7 HD in Juarez, has had SAP in English.
cube799 is offline  
post #619 of 692 Old 07-12-2011, 05:06 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kykin View Post
alguien sabe por que no puedo sintonizar el cbs ni el nbc en nuevo laredo?? solo agarra el 31.1, 31.2 y 31.3, la television es marca LG; usamos una antena sencilla que segun es para sintonizar canales HD, es marca philips.
usteded tienes que scan for new channels o sintonizar o buscar para nuevo ganales esa television tiene un menu busque lo que dice en ingles scan for new channells preste el boton esto demora como 2 o 3 minutos despues pue ver los ganales que encontro. orale vato
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #620 of 692 Old 07-21-2011, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

since yesterday, Canal del las Estrellas HD Juarez is back to 1440 x 1080. Also for quite a while Azteca 7 HD in Juarez, has had SAP in English.

I'm actually quite surprised they shown the "Cinema estelar platino" movie in HD, not the usual SD-SoV

And yes, SAP (MTS now) works.

Although volume levels are quite low, I had to crank up my sound system.

This sunday they'll show Hancock movie, the promos are the usual SD, but hopefully they'll broadcast it in HD.

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #621 of 692 Old 09-21-2011, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Azteca channel 7 has been finally broadcasting NFL games in HD.. OK that's 3 hours out in the day, on 1 day of the 7 in the week, on 17 weeks of the 52 in the year..... getting closer to full HD..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #622 of 692 Old 09-21-2011, 04:57 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple of days ago a XHTIT 29 subchannel had 2 simular if not identical images side by side on one of its subchannels. They even had "3D" in the station call letters. I don't have a 3D tv so I couldn't verify for sure that it was 3D.

The wierd thing was that Mpeg4 subchannels are normally not visible on my Mpeg 2 converter box.
JoeM is offline  
post #623 of 692 Old 09-21-2011, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should be able to view it on a PC with a 3D software player. Anyone try them?
It's mpeg2.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #624 of 692 Old 09-23-2011, 09:37 PM
Member
 
EvilRyu86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Couple of days ago a XHTIT 29 subchannel had 2 simular if not identical images side by side on one of its subchannels. They even had "3D" in the station call letters. I don't have a 3D tv so I couldn't verify for sure that it was 3D.

The wierd thing was that Mpeg4 subchannels are normally not visible on my Mpeg 2 converter box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Should be able to view it on a PC with a 3D software player. Anyone try them?
It's mpeg2.

That subchannel is for TV Azteca's reality show in 3D. It's sort of their main event, a singing reality show that airs on Sundays, live at around 8pm CST. They claim its 3D and advertised it heavily as the first network TV show in the world to be broadcast in 3D, that's what they claim anyway.

I don't have a 3DTV and don't know anything about the technology so I can't really comment on the quality, someone should check them out and tell us how they look.
EvilRyu86 is offline  
post #625 of 692 Old 09-24-2011, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the two minute 3DTV broadcast demo 167 MB .TS 1280 X 720 file.

http://www.mediafire.com/?znezkf1q5w0nr0b

I've only tryed it with the Stereoscopic Player

StereoscopicPlayer174_en.msi

at: http://3dtv.at/Index_en.aspx

I don't have any 3D glasses, so I haven't really seen it in 3D.

See if this works with any other software 3DTV players.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #626 of 692 Old 09-26-2011, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TV Azteca is also showing the Academia 3D channel in Juarez. They seem to only show it during the weekends though.
cube799 is offline  
post #627 of 692 Old 09-29-2011, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I don't see how it's possible to view 2 repeated images and somehow combine them to view them as 3D... they also are "Shrink-o-Vision", should a 3D TV preocess them and show them correctly in 3D?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #628 of 692 Old 10-25-2011, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

I don't see how it's possible to view 2 repeated images and somehow combine them to view them as 3D... they also are "Shrink-o-Vision", should a 3D TV preocess them and show them correctly in 3D?

Didn't View Master and the old Stereoscopes of yesteryear do exactly that....combine two nearly identical pictures to trick the brain into believing you were seeing 3D?

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #629 of 692 Old 10-26-2011, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Found out how, you have to have a 3D TV, and instruct it to combine the 2 sides



RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #630 of 692 Old 10-31-2011, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 95
In other news, I completely lost the 20-1 channel, can't even dial it manually like they took it out of the air, it was having some hickups lately, maybe their equipment has gone south..

Well couldn't watch the pan-american games closing ceremony, had to settle for crappy SD from channel 5.

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off