Mexican HDTV - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 692 Old 06-30-2008, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
I don't think so, I never changed channel from ABC, I wouldn't know! LOL...

ESPN ticker becomes annoying, but way less intrusive than the Mexican bugs..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 692 Old 07-01-2008, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

Hopefully they'll notice that Alma de Hierro is in HD and leave it on.

HD turned on at 9:03 pm for Fuego en la Sangre and turned off at 10:03 pm.
Very precise. I guess that is it for HD.
SD pillar box for everything else.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #243 of 692 Old 07-01-2008, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What Happened? Did They switch from showing las Tontas no van al Cielo in HD, to showing Fuego en la Sangre in HD?

I've been wondering if TV Azteca was testing how the HD Looked with the Euro Cup. Maybe they bought one of the Games in HD, to see if they liked how it looked. Maybe they're going to start showing the UEFA Champions League Games in HD next season.
cube799 is offline  
post #244 of 692 Old 07-02-2008, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't seen las Tontas no van al Cielo in HD, it's only been 4:3 SD here.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #245 of 692 Old 07-02-2008, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
What ever happened to Azteca 13 (11-1)? why no HD on the evenings now? are all those new novelas all in SD? is like someone flipped a switch to turn off Azteca's HD and turn on Televisa's HD on the late afternoons. I'm also still wishing for "Canal 5" in HD here in Juarez... will keep dreaming a bit...

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #246 of 692 Old 07-02-2008, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The only Novela Azteca 13 shows in HD is Pobre Rico Pobre after Ventanenando. Then they show an Old novela Called Todo Por Amor, and after that they show the Univision Version of Desperate Housewives. Both of these are SD.
cube799 is offline  
post #247 of 692 Old 07-03-2008, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Las Tontas no van al Cielo was in HD today at 8 pm. I had forgot that I saw it HD before. It was such a long time ago. At least a couple months.

Fuego en la Sangre also was in HD today at 9 pm. Yesterday it was 4:3 SD.

Alma de Hierro was HD for about six seconds, then the picture froze for 30 seconds before it switched to 4:3 SD. First time I've seen it freeze for more than a couple of seconds.



I feel lucky getting any HD now.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #248 of 692 Old 07-04-2008, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
^^^ They are starting again, this happened with that other novela at 9pm.. (I even forgot the name, should be in previous thread pages.

So, only one TV Azteca novela in HD, I was just wondering if only here in Juarez or the SD of the other novelas is native?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #249 of 692 Old 07-04-2008, 10:45 AM
Member
 
SiMeCaIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

I've been wondering if TV Azteca was testing how the HD Looked with the Euro Cup. Maybe they bought one of the Games in HD, to see if they liked how it looked. Maybe they're going to start showing the UEFA Champions League Games in HD next season.

What do you mean by that??? If you think that because the games are in Europe we can't get them in HD you're wrong. The whole World Cup was in HD for both Televisa and Tv azteca. Tv azteca transmition looked better even though it had a lower bitrate

Here's a little clip from the Mex Vs Arg game

http://cid-1c2e73e04bb2dfd8.skydrive....aspx/WC%7C406
SiMeCaIS is offline  
post #250 of 692 Old 07-04-2008, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today the HD was turned on at 7:02 pm for Tormenta en el Paraƃ*so which is SD stretched.
Here is the digital station compared to the analog station. They should not have turned on the HD for this.



Something different every day this week. Either HD, SD, or SOV randomly.

At least the HD was still on at 8:02 pm for Las Tontas no van al Cielo which is a HD show and the analog station correctly center cuts it.

jeff2631 is offline  
post #251 of 692 Old 07-24-2008, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Either TV Azteca or Televisa haven't confirmed if they gonna do any olympic event in HD, and images coming from a third party and in China, the commercials so far are in SD, so it isn't looking good so far, as long as they don't do like the Euro 2008.

But if they do we, at Juarez, will not be able to see the Televisa HD feed, we don't have a "Cinco" channel in HD...

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #252 of 692 Old 07-24-2008, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tijuana 22 (57.1) XHUAA-DT Canal 2 Televisa Canal De Las Estrellas HD
Has now had the HD logo turned on all the time now (24 hours a day).
Been like this for the last few days so now I see Alma de Hierro in HD.
Even the news is in HD with field reports in 4:3 with color pillar bars.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #253 of 692 Old 07-25-2008, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Yes, but the morning show, what's its name? is still in SD, Vs. TV Azteca's morning show that trully is in HD. Don't really like the televisa morning show, because of SD and they review the novelas too much (they almost re-air them!).

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #254 of 692 Old 07-25-2008, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

Either TV Azteca or Televisa haven't confirmed if they gonna do any olympic event in HD, and images coming from a third party and in China, the commercials so far are in SD, so it isn't looking good so far, as long as they don't do like the Euro 2008.

But if they do we, at Juarez, will not be able to see the Televisa HD feed, we don't have a "Cinco" channel in HD...

I Still say that Televisa is going to air some of the Olympics on Canal de las Estrellas in HD late at Night, like midnight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Tijuana 22 (57.1) XHUAA-DT Canal 2 Televisa Canal De Las Estrellas HD Has now had the HD logo turned on all the time now (24 hours a day). Been like this for the last few days so now I see Alma de Hierro in HD. Even the news is in HD with field reports in 4:3 with color pillar bars.


Well that's good! Is it still time delayed for the West Coast? Does this mean that they're showing the non HD shows in Stretch-o-Vision?

If it's still like that when the Futbol season starts this weekend, could you post some screenshots of the games in HD.

Hopefully Televisa is testing a way of sending the HD Feed to all their Canal de las estrellas HD Channels nationwide. It makes a lot more sense for them to send the HD Feed to all the channels, instead of letting them choose when to air it. The Canal de las Estrellas channels outside of Mexico City air the exact schedule they do in Mexico City. They don't have local news, or local shows, so there really isn't a good reason for them to turn off the HD Feed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

Yes, but the morning show, what's its name? is still in SD, Vs. TV Azteca's morning show that trully is in HD. Don't really like the televisa morning show, because of SD and they review the novelas too much (they almost re-air them!).

The Morning show is called HOY. You're right, they do almost re-air them, they show the best parts of the novelas, and review them. I guess it's easier for them to do that, than to do actual reports.
cube799 is offline  
post #255 of 692 Old 07-25-2008, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Televisa Canal De Las Estrellas is time delayed (10:30 pm news is shown at 10:30 pm local time). TV Azteca is not time delayed (10:30 pm news is shown at 8:30 pm local time).

The non HD shows on Televisa Canal De Las Estrellas is SOV (no more 4:3 pillar bars).
The analog channel is delayed 60 seconds after the digital channel so I can record 60 seconds of each showing the same thing.

Here is some good Stretch-O-Vision
jeff2631 is offline  
post #256 of 692 Old 07-27-2008, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the bad Stretch-O-Vision from todays game.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #257 of 692 Old 07-27-2008, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
According to the guide on their website, there's supposed to be another game today at about 3:45 PM Mexico City time between America and Santos, Maybe that one is in HD. I Think that game should be in HD since America is a Televisa team.
cube799 is offline  
post #258 of 692 Old 07-27-2008, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My other Televisa station has the game between America and Santos live, not delayed 2 hours.
32 (12.1) XEWT-DT Tu Canal Televisa affiliate

Still Stretch-O-Vision, not center cut.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #259 of 692 Old 07-27-2008, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HD game on Televisa Canal De Las Estrellas either.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #260 of 692 Old 07-28-2008, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Th New Novela Juro Que Te Amo is starting today on Canal de Las Estrellas at 7 PM Mexico city Time, hopefully it's in HD.
cube799 is offline  
post #261 of 692 Old 07-28-2008, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Juro Que Te Amo is SOV
jeff2631 is offline  
post #262 of 692 Old 07-29-2008, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Now Both networks are dissapointing big:

- No HD games on Sunday
- Azteca's morning show is being shown in SD-SOV
- New Televisa Novela in SD-SOV
- Channel 20-1 now airs informercials and more SD-SOV stuff, HD movies are shown more rarely each day
- Also Azteca announces "new movies" but they don't air them in HD (yes, you guessed it SD-SOV).
- Televisa's reality "bigger loser" in SD-SOV
- And I'm willing to bet Azteca's "Academia" will be in SD


I'm just hoping Azteca has moved some HD equipment to Beijing already and that's why the lack of HD shows lately...

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #263 of 692 Old 07-29-2008, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Juro Que Te Amo is SOV

Well that sucks. All the previews I had seen for it were letterboxed SD. They did the same for Tormenta en el Paraiso.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post

Now Both networks are dissapointing big:

Yes they are.

Quote:


- No HD games on Sunday



Quote:


- Azteca's morning show is being shown in SD-SOV

Was it the one on weekdays or the one on the weekends. The only one I've seen in SD sometimes is the weekend one.

Quote:


- New Televisa Novela in SD-SOV



Quote:


- Channel 20-1 now airs informercials and more SD-SOV stuff, HD movies are shown more rarely each day

Are you sure they weren't showing the SD feed? I've seen them do that more times than I can count. One time they left the SD Feed on for at least 12 hours.

Quote:


- Also Azteca announces "new movies" but they don't air them in HD (yes, you guessed it SD-SOV).

Yeah, they do that all the time, but what really ticks me off is when they show a movie in SD-SOV on Azteca 13, that they have already shown in HD on Azteca 7, like Monster INC. I Don't get it, do the Two networks not get along? Does Azteca 13 not know Azteca 7 has shown it in HD?

Quote:


- Televisa's reality "bigger loser" in SD-SOV

Yes it is.

Quote:


- And I'm willing to bet Azteca's "Academia" will be in SD

Me Too!!

Quote:


I'm just hoping Azteca has moved some HD equipment to Beijing already and that's why the lack of HD shows lately...

Yes me too, although I'll probably be watching the majority of the Olympics on NBC since they usually have more coverage. If the Mexican Channels Dare to show them in SD, then I'll only be watching them on NBC.
cube799 is offline  
post #264 of 692 Old 07-29-2008, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Do you get Telemundo HD? because I don't and they will be airing some Olympic events in HD, parallel to NBC. I guess the biggest loser would be Univision, as if they ever air anything good these days.., on Televisa all analog, not even SD, well perhaps the hightlights on Night but I doubt HD., unless they waited to bring Channel 5 HD to Juarez until this event. I'm scanning for new channels each day now...

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #265 of 692 Old 07-29-2008, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I Forgot to mention this, but during one of the days they turned on the HD Logo after midnight, they showed the Channel 5 HD logo, for about 5 minutes. Then they turned it off, and went back to showing the Channel of the stars HD logo. So, hopefully this isn't just a screw up, but a test. I'm thinking that this channel may temporarily air the Channel 5 HD Feed to show the Olympics in HD. then go back to showing the Channel of the Stars HD feed.
cube799 is offline  
post #266 of 692 Old 07-29-2008, 09:05 PM
Member
 
mvckalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: RGV, Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does somebody know Azteca 13 and 7 channel numbers and frequencies for Reynosa and the Rio Grande Valley?
mvckalel is offline  
post #267 of 692 Old 07-30-2008, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the list with the frequencies was already posted a long time ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Here is the list of digital stations as of Sep 2007.


Unfortunately it doesn't say which is 7 or 13, but you should know by the call sign.
cube799 is offline  
post #268 of 692 Old 07-30-2008, 08:59 PM
Member
 
silverthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvckalel View Post

Does somebody know Azteca 13 and 7 channel numbers and frequencies for Reynosa and the Rio Grande Valley?


Azteca 13 is XHREY (12.1) DT 36
Azteca 7 is XHOR (14.1) DT 33

Not sure if you can pick up XHOR in Reynosa/McAllen. It may cover Matamoros only.
silverthree is offline  
post #269 of 692 Old 07-30-2008, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a new list from Jun 2008.
Looks like channel 27 was added for Mexico City.

jeff2631 is offline  
post #270 of 692 Old 07-31-2008, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 96
^^^ What company is that? certainly not Televisa or TvAzteca... and what kind of programming are they having?

No new HD channel in Juarez on the list.. sigh...

Checked on wikipedia is Cadena Tres, independent channel... in HD? wow! or just SD?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off