Pittsburgh, PA - FiOS TV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 120 Old 07-30-2008, 11:04 AM
Member
 
JPeezy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hopefully we won't have to wait for the second rollout. Northern New Jersey got all of these channels over night.

502 CBS HD
504 NBC HD
505 FOX HD
507 ABC HD
509 MY HD
511 CW HD
513 PBS HD
550 USA HD
551 TNT HD
552 TBS HD (Stretch-o-vision)
553 FX HD
567 U HD
568 WGN HD
569 HDNET
570 ESPN HD
572 ESPNewsHD
574 ESPN2 HD
576 YES HD
577 SNY HD
581 Beijing 08 (logo says Sci Fi)
582 Beijing 08 (logo says USA)
583 Speed HD
585 BigTenHD
588 NFLNet
590 VS GolfHD
591 OutDR HD (Need to subscribe)
597 WFN HD (Need to subscribe)
598 Mav TV HD ( Need to subscribe)
600 CNN HD
602 CNBC HD
617 FoxBusHD
618 FoxNewsHD
619 TWC HD
620 Disc HD
621 NGC HD
622 Sci HD
625 Smiths HD
628 Hist HD
629 Bio HD
630 AN PL HD
631 HDT
639 TLC HD
640 LIFE HD
641 LMN HD
650 QVC HD
664 FOOD HD
665 HGTV HD
668 PLANTG HD
669 WEALTH
670 TRAVEL HD
680 Sci Fi HD
681 A&E HD -- 50
685 Bravo HD
699 ABC FAM HD
711 MHD
740 HMC HD (with crazy sidebars)
744 MGM HD
756 HDNet MV
780 Disney HD
781 ToonDis HD
840 STRZ HD
842 SZEDGEHD
845 SZFHD
847 SZCMDYHD
865 SHO HD
866 SHO HD w
867 SHOSHC HD (Coming Soon)
868 SHOSHC HDw (Coming Soon)
869 SHO2 HD
870 SHOW2 HD w
873 SHOEXT HD (Coming Soon)
874 SHOEXT HD w (Coming Soon)
885 TMC HD
886 TMC HD w
887 TMCXTR HD (Coming Soon)
888 TMCXTR HDw (comming Soon)
889 HBO HD
901 HBO HD w
902 HBO2HD
903 HBO2HD w
904 HBOSIG
905 HBOSIG w
906 HBOFAM
907 HBOFAM w
908 HBOCOM
909 HBOCOM w
910 HBOZON
911 HBOZON w
912 HBOLAT
913 HBOLAT w
920 MAX HD
921 MAX HD w
922 MORMAX
923 MORMAX w
924 ACTMAX
925 ACTMAX w
926 THRMAX
927 THRMAX w
928 WMAX HD
929 ATMAX
930 SSTMAX
931 OUTERMAX

Count = 100 with the 6 coming soon channels
Count = 80 without the 14 west channels
Count = 83 without 17 west channels when counting coming soon channels
The two Beijing channels were not counted in either count
JPeezy13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 120 Old 08-11-2008, 10:57 AM
Member
 
antule14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an FYI for anyone in the Sheridan area of Pittsburgh, I've had a couple of Verizon trucks outside my house on Middletown Road these past couple of weeks, so I asked what was going on and the guy said they were installing FIOS cable! Looks like our area will be ready when the city and Verizon come to an agreement.
antule14 is offline  
post #33 of 120 Old 08-13-2008, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
JRM01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pittsburgh - North Hills
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, did everyone in Pittsburgh get the added channels yesterday? Nobody talkin'.
JRM01 is offline  
post #34 of 120 Old 08-14-2008, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting FIOS installed today (14th).

Comcast (spellchecker on this site suggested Compost) messed up my billing when Verizon ported my number. Comcast kicked me out of the bundle that I was in, took me out of the digital tier. Since my phone number was ported I couldn't get my digital channels back and was locked out of my account. I couldn't get my original package back until I made 4 phone calls to 4 different service people and 1 supervisor. My Comcast bill instead of being $155 for all three services for August is now $390. They must know what's coming since the phone from them was being switched to a different provider. Hose the customer since they are leaving.

Bye bye Comcast.
camaro97 is offline  
post #35 of 120 Old 08-19-2008, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Did you guys get all the channels outlined in the PDF?

http://www22.verizon.com/NROneRetail...T_P1_80608.pdf

I'm still going back and forth between FIOS TV and Dish after I move and one huge factor for me is WPCW-HD which I can't get on any sat provider right now. I don't think I can give up stuff like ScifiHD though so it's imperative that FIOS have at least the lineup that's outlined in that PDF and not what's currently on the website for zip code 15237.
bull3964 is offline  
post #36 of 120 Old 08-19-2008, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Bump for the evening crew, Buller, Buller....

I notice in the order builder for Fios, it DOES list Scifi HD as one of the channels, i'm just trying to confirm...
bull3964 is offline  
post #37 of 120 Old 08-24-2008, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro97 View Post


Comcast (spellchecker on this site suggested Compost)

That's an intelligent spellchecker, LOL!
Sammer is offline  
post #38 of 120 Old 08-24-2008, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scifi HD is there.
LOVING FIOS!!!!!!!!!!!

I had very few HD channels here is the castle shannon end of comcast's system.

I counted 42 HD stations not including the premium stations.
I miss mojo though.

But the biggest concern is Fox sports net HD. No word when it is going to be added. Th Penguins Season is not far off. I'm gonna be pissed if it's not added by then.
camaro97 is offline  
post #39 of 120 Old 09-26-2008, 04:28 AM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Verizon and FSN Pittsburgh have reached agreement on an HD channel for Pittsburgh-area subscribers. FSN HD will launch the first week in October on Verizon and be carried on Channel 576.

A little blurb at post-gazette dot com under the Mark Madden article
camaro97 is offline  
post #40 of 120 Old 10-11-2008, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Jean in Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Verizon and FSN Pittsburgh have reached agreement on an HD channel for Pittsburgh-area subscribers. FSN HD will launch the first week in October on Verizon and be carried on Channel 576.

Blurb in P-G 9/26/08. Yeah, but is it true? It's now the second week in October and no channel 576 on my TV.
Jean in Ross is offline  
post #41 of 120 Old 10-11-2008, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who do you call, FSN, Verizon, Pittsburgh Penguins?

I've checked multiple discussion boards, no one has any idea when FSN HD is going to show up.

-Mark
Whitehall
camaro97 is offline  
post #42 of 120 Old 10-12-2008, 07:14 PM
Member
 
casey10s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Monroeville, Pa
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you go the Verizon site, there is a new channel line-up for Pittsburgh. The date on it is October. You need to click on the 'print pdf' to see the new channels. Still no Tennis Channel though.
casey10s is offline  
post #43 of 120 Old 10-13-2008, 11:20 PM
Newbie
 
sazifraz45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Verizon has started offering two english speaking television packages,Fios TV Essentials, and Fios TV Extreme HD. Neither at this time lists FSN-HD on the programming guide. The TV Essentials plan offers 267 channels of programming, but only includes 7 HD channels, mostly locals. The ExtremeHD package lists 312 channels including 39 non-premium HD channels. The ExtremeHD package also includes the sports tier channels that were previously added at an additional cost. (golf, tennis, sportsman and outdoor channels...etc) When viewing the PDF formatted channel line up there is a discrepancy in the number of HD channels available, 57 channels are listed, still no FSN-HD. There are listings for Versus/Golf-HD and Tennis Channel HD.

502 CBS KDKA HD
504 ABC WTAE HD
507 FOX WPGH HD
510 My WPMY HD
511 NBC WPXI HD
513 PBS WQED HD
550 USA HD
551 TNT HD
552 TBS HD
553 FX HD
567 Universal HD
568 WGN America HD
569 HD Net
570 ESPN HD
572 ESPNews HD
573 ESPNU HD
574 ESPN2 HD
583 Speed Channel HD
585 Big Ten Network HD
588 NFL Network HD
590 Versus/Golf HD
591 Outdoor Channel 2 HD
592 The Tennis Channel HD
597 World Fishing Network HD
598 MavTV HD
600 CNN HD
602 CNBC HD+
617 Fox Business Network HD
618 Fox News Channel HD
619 The Weather Channel HD
620 Discovery Channel HD
621 National Geographic
Channel HD
622 Science Channel HD
625 Smithsonian Channel HD
628 History Channel HD
629 Bio HD
630 Animal Planet HD
631 HD Theater
639 TLC HD
640 Lifetime HD
641 Lifetime Movie Network HD
650 QVC HD
664 Food Network HD
665 HGTV HD
668 Planet Green HD
669 Wealth TV HD
670 Travel Channel HD
680 Sci-Fi Channel HD
681 A&E HD
685 Bravo HD
699 ABC Family HD
711 Palladia HD
740 Hallmark Movie Channel HD
744 MGM Channel HD
746 HD Net Movies
780 Disney Channel HD
781 Toon Disney HD

If you add the premium HD content, the PDF Verision program guide for Whitehall lists an additional 42 Channels. If I'm adding correctly, that is 99 HD channels in all. Verizon says they will offer 100 HD channels by years end. Let's hope the missing piece is FSN-HD

Let's Go Pens ! ! !
sazifraz45 is offline  
post #44 of 120 Old 10-15-2008, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
xsxjtgv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I phoned Verizon today (10/15/08) and I was told FSN Hd would be available by the end of this week on channel 576.
xsxjtgv is offline  
post #45 of 120 Old 10-15-2008, 10:55 AM
Member
 
casey10s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Monroeville, Pa
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even though I haven't seen any HD on it when I go through the channels, 503 should be added to the list of HD channels available.
casey10s is offline  
post #46 of 120 Old 10-15-2008, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of the new HD channels are working. There was an article by rob Owen in the Post-Gazette Wednesday too.
I just had to call Verizon and re-subscribe to the extreme HD package.
Got a cheaper price too.

FSN channel is available but just the color bars are showing. No HD programing to show yet. That's ok for now, I just hope the game will be on Thursday, it's an HD scheduled game.
camaro97 is offline  
post #47 of 120 Old 10-15-2008, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
This is all great news because I'm set to have FIOS installed on the 28th.

I'm not sure what programming package I'm getting at this point though since I ordered it on Oct 2nd before they started this ExtremeHD package. It shouldn't be a major hassle to get it switched to that if that's not what they're giving me though.

CAN NOT WAIT to be off of Comcast. Finally I get to tell them to take a hike after jerking around Ross for the past few years.
bull3964 is offline  
post #48 of 120 Old 10-16-2008, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
camaro97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been 2 months on Fios, and Comcast already sent me a letter saying they miss me.
camaro97 is offline  
post #49 of 120 Old 10-29-2008, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
abeas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking about switching over to FIOS when it is available in my area, which is to be soon. Currently, I can pull in all he Locals in HD as well as some other digital channel stations through my QAM tuners in my bedroom TV and upstairs TV. I do not want to pay for additional HD boxes. Can anyone confirm Verizon leaves HD locals unencrypted for pick-up thru QAM? Thanks!
abeas is offline  
post #50 of 120 Old 10-29-2008, 07:02 PM
Member
 
jedclampit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Local hd is unencripted in pittsgurgh,all others require stb. Awesome picture quality!You may need shades!
jedclampit is offline  
post #51 of 120 Old 10-29-2008, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Anyone else getting nasty, blown out quality audio on Comedy Central? None of the other SD channels sound like this, they sound normal.

I still have my comcast cable hooked up right now and the audio feed from them is completely fine.

It's most apparent in my living room hooked up to the stereo. It doesn't sound nearly as bad on my bedroom 13 inch TV, but I can still slightly detect it.
bull3964 is offline  
post #52 of 120 Old 10-30-2008, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I also found out last night that these boxes suck at scaling and de-interlacing.

I had the tech hook the box up via HDMI. I also had him set the 4:3 Override to 480p because:

a) I don't like my 4:3 SD material stretched
b) I didn't want the box scaling it to 1080i because it prevents me from using certain zoom modes on my TV so I can zoom letterboxed SD material so it fits the screen.

I had to select 480p over 480i because I know from experience that my Samsung LCD doesn't accept 480i over HDMI.

Well, I was rewiring things last night, trying to figure out how to fit 4 HDMI devices on a two port TV with only a two port HDMI switch and the cable box lost the battle. I switched it to component input and then set the 4:3 override back to 480i since the TV has no trouble getting 480i over component. Holy crap did it make a difference in SD image quality. When outputting 480p over HDMI, the box introduced all sorts of artifacts that look like edge enhancement. 480i over component looks almost DVD quality when watching certain material (like cartoons on Adult Swim.)
bull3964 is offline  
post #53 of 120 Old 10-30-2008, 09:17 AM
Member
 
baggs32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh - North Hills
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post

Well, I was rewiring things last night, trying to figure out how to fit 4 HDMI devices on a two port TV with only a two port HDMI switch and the cable box lost the battle. I switched it to component input and then set the 4:3 override back to 480i since the TV has no trouble getting 480i over component. Holy crap did it make a difference in SD image quality. When outputting 480p over HDMI, the box introduced all sorts of artifacts that look like edge enhancement. 480i over component looks almost DVD quality when watching certain material (like cartoons on Adult Swim.)

That was a question I was going to ask you on the Comcast thread. My "man room" TV is a 6 year old RP and does not have HDMI ports, only component. I was wondering what you used because you were very high on the picture quality of the Fios over the Comast HD channels. So it sounds like the SD is better with component, but have you noticed any difference in HD channels? My other 2 HD sets are LCD and have HDMI so I want to get it right the first time.
baggs32 is offline  
post #54 of 120 Old 10-30-2008, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The HD looks just as good with component.

Here's the reason why the cable box "lost" the competition for HDMI connection. I originally wanted the HDMI connection because my Samsung LCD has a 1:1 pixel mapping mode called "JustScan" which is only available on HDMI input with 1080i/p sources. It completely and totally eliminates overscan. However, I found the output from the Moto DVR introduced too much edge noise on all channels. I had a green band running down the right side of the screen (note, I do think this is something that's resolved in the IMG1.6 update). So, I figured if I couldn't use the JustScan feature, I might as well just hook it up with component and free up the HDMI for something else.

If you want SD material to be passed though untouched as 480i, make sure you tell the install tech that. By default they are instructed to put it in stretch mode due to customer complaints about "not filling my TV screen." If it gets set to something else anyways, you have to access the setup menu of the box. To do so, you turn the box off and immediate hit select until the diagnostic screen comes up. Then hit the menu button and you should get the selections to change the output. Depending on the setup, you may or may not see it on the TV and will have to use the box display to set it. 4:3 override has 4 settings:

Off - upconverts to the HD output of the box, usually 1080i
480i - basically passes it unchanged
480p - tries to deinterlace it, I was not impressed with the results
stretch - I'm unsure of the resolution, but it stretches the image to be 16:9. It probably outputs at the HD resolution set.

Really, these are all the same settings as the moto HD-DVR from comcast as they are nearly the same hardware. FWIW, I had it set on 480p on my comcast box for the past year because i was using HDMI, I probably could have had better SD quality there too if I would have had it set at 480i with component.

The thing that really gets me about the SD image quality is the contrast, specifically the black level. I'm so used to SD material on cable having a black level approaching gray with speckles of noise that it really floors me to see actual black with no wavering in the image.
bull3964 is offline  
post #55 of 120 Old 11-07-2008, 09:15 AM
Member
 
LinkNuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Moon Township (Pittsburgh, PA)
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on when they are finishing Moon Township, seems a lot of 15108 can get FiOS, I am stuck with Comcrap, ugh and hvae no line of sight for Satellite....I am sooo sick of Comcast
LinkNuc is offline  
post #56 of 120 Old 11-10-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Looks like we're getting IMG 1.6 tonight from a comment made by a tech on Verizon's forums.

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board....id=3084#M3084

Quote:


1.6.1 will begin later this month possibly early next month. Our last areas to receive the 1.6 upgrade are tonight so it could start next week but things are subject to change.

bull3964 is offline  
post #57 of 120 Old 11-11-2008, 05:10 PM
Member
 
baggs32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh - North Hills
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We got a message on each box this morning stating that we have a new IMG (no version was stated IIRC). There seems to be some new options here and there as well as about 5 new widgets. Was there supposed to be more?
baggs32 is offline  
post #58 of 120 Old 11-11-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
There are tweaks throughout.

The HD Zoom button finally works which is a godsend on HD stations that insist on showing SD material letterboxed. I don't have a zoom mode in 16:9 mode on my TV so this works great.

VOD seems much snappier. There are more options for the keypad when doing search. You can change your video format and SD overrride from within the guide now rather than having to access the diagnostic menu. When a DVR recording finishes, it brings you back to the recording itself in the DVR menu so you can easily delete it. They added some dynamic compression options for the audio (defaults to heavy, I turned them off). The scrub bar doesn't display when skipping forward or back on a DVR recording, but I noticed now it ignores the skip values you choose and just does 30 seconds forward 30 seconds back (bad IMO, I like my back to be 10 seconds.) There are two favorites lists now. When you are channel surfing, you can limit things by category by pressing right on the D-pad when the info is up.

That's about all I've noticed so far.
bull3964 is offline  
post #59 of 120 Old 11-12-2008, 09:50 AM
Member
 
baggs32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh - North Hills
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post

VOD seems much snappier.

I did notice that. It so slow on Saturday and Sunday (I had the new Fios install done on Sat morning) that I was going to call them to see what was up. It is much faster now. Possibly even faster than Comcast's was.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post

They added some dynamic compression options for the audio (defaults to heavy, I turned them off).

Well that would explain why the volume was so darn loud when I turned the TVs on yesterday! I'll have to change that.

They pointed you to a URL for more info but I forget what it was. Something like www.verizon.com/fioscentral. Does anyone remember the exact URL or has anyone visited that site to see what it said?
baggs32 is offline  
post #60 of 120 Old 11-12-2008, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
It's www.verizon.com/fiostvcentral.

I've been using it for awhile because you can see the TV listings there. I like browsing them on a computer much better than a STB for speed's sake. Eventually we are going to get the ability to set recordings through that website no matter where you are. Not exactly a innovative feature since my replayTV could do it 7 years ago, but as far as cable company software goes it's cutting edge.

I still may pick up a TiVo HD after the DVR trial runs out next year. The interface is still a ton better, the box hardware is better, and the monthly would be about the same after you pay TiVO and rent the cablecards. I would lose out as far as VOD goes on my main TV, but streaming netflix should fill that void nicely. Also, I could pony up to the new XL version that's coming out with a 1TB hard drive and not worry about filling the tiny 160gb drive in these things with a couple HD recordings (also, who knows what TiVo models may be out by next year.)
bull3964 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off