Columbia, SC - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
gamecock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't get TWC cable to let me just pick up the HDTV box. It required a home visit. Anyway, Roy from TWC is easy to work with. We checked out the channels after install and everything was fine, but CBS-HD was off the air.

I haven't been able to get CBS-HD yet. With the great information from Kevin on this thread, I got a reading on the signal level on the cable box and it looked pretty bad. I have TWC coming out today to check it out and hopefully fix it for the Steelers game on Sat.

I am concerned about the splitter issue. Outside my house, the cable goes into a 2 way splitter. One for RR and one for TV. The TV line goes into a 3-way splitter for the different TV runs in the house. For the main TV run, I have the cable box. I am already having problems. I can't pick up CBS-HD. I want to put another splitter in this main run for my PIP TV. With a splitter here, I can't pick up any channels greater than 103 on the cable box.

This isn't a very complicated setup, but we will see that TWC says today.
gamecock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting box: Calling first and checking with Roy would probably be the way to do it. But them bringing it out does mean that they will be there to check the signal levels and make sure it is good enough to drive the hd cablebox.

WRLK-HD is off the air. I just talked to WRLK and while I did not talk to Dan the engineer I was able to find out that a part broke; has been ordered, and is Due in Today. Might be up later today but look for it tomorrow. Hope they are right.

Splitters: yes; they do a split for RR and cable (there is a filter in there too for RR). From there TWC can install a 4-way splitter or whatever for the various runs to the innards of the house. For you to split it further is shakey; you may be reducing the signal too low. Warning: any splitters used have to be the 1gHz variety. What is yours? An amp may have to be installed.

FWIW, we have RG-11 run to the house. The old RG-6 proved inadequate for what we needed. TWC also ended up installing an amp. We have RR and five drops for TV (2 in the den; one just use for the amp power injection but it can be used for a tv too). I have adequate signal to split before the box to do for the PIP with but I was looking at doing another homerun just in case it did not work out.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #273 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOLO-HD cut off on me after about 2 minutes and no longer is even accessible. Even if I manually tune to it by pressing 8-1-5, it jumps to 850 like the channel doesn't even exist. I called Roy Rushing at TWC and he said he didn't even know that is was on now. I still have the SA Exporer 2000HD which is 3 years old. Roy told me to unhook it and take it with me up to my store and he would stop by and swap it out for a 3100HD. He's a really nice guy that seems to care about customers, especially those who have been with their HD service from the beginning.

Would everybody mind tuning into channel 815 and seeing if it works for them today if they have a chance.

Thanks a lot and everybody say a little prayer for my Atlanta Falcons this weekend.

Take care!

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #274 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jay,

Yes, confirmed TWC Channel 815 is missing... so no WOLO-DT right now on cable. (I can verify however that WOLO-DT Ch 8 is still broadcasting over the air). And... tada......WLTX it would appear has made their necessary repairs and is now back up on both OTA and cable. However, they may be just testing since they are not normally on this time of day. Maybe by prime time tonight it will all be sorted out.

And FWIW, a few months ago I too swapped out my SA2000HD for a 3100HD; was a good move even though I had a "good" 2000HD.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #275 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are having a problem with our digital transmitter. We burned a relay yesterday. The part should be in today and the transmitter back on the air today provided nothing else is wrong. Keep watching...
Dan Stalnaker
Manager of Engineering
WLTX-TV WLTX-DT


This is email response from WLTX .I to noticed that WOLO is missing on TWC and WLTX is on when it usually isn't. Wrlk is on,no problems.
kevinivey is offline  
post #276 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called TWC about a half hour ago and asked the CSR about Channel 815. She asked me what channel that was. I said it was ABCHD and thereupon she went and asked her supervisor about it. The answer I got basically "they are still doing tests on it so it may not always be up." No idea when the tests are scheduled to end.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #277 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand why they allow a channel to be seen and then take it off. It seems that we, the subscribers, would be more beneficial to the test since there are fewer than 100 of us.

I'll keep an eye out for when it pops back up.

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #278 of 10080 Old 01-10-2003, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
gamecock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
100? There are only 100 local HDTV TWC customers??
gamecock is offline  
post #279 of 10080 Old 01-11-2003, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wach-DT is off again.Just in time for the NFL game tonight.Wonder what kind of equipment they are using?Bob,what happened to Wolo-DT on TWC?I noticed that this morning that Wltx-dt is backoff.I hope this is just their part time shutdown as usual .
kevinivey is offline  
post #280 of 10080 Old 01-11-2003, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Kevin,
Im not sure what is up with TWC, WOLO is on Air and operating fine at this
time...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #281 of 10080 Old 01-11-2003, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as usual, CBS looks incredible! I love football in HDTV. Too bad Rupert Murdoch is anti-HDTV. I wish I could see my falcons is HD. Hopefully I will be able to see them in the Super Bowl.

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #282 of 10080 Old 01-11-2003, 07:25 PM
Member
 
BDavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shouldn't FOX be in Widescreen? I'm getting a snowy version of 4.3 on WACH via TWC.

Brian
BDavis is offline  
post #283 of 10080 Old 01-11-2003, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox Widescreen is a digital format.Wach-DT is not on TWC.It is only available ota with digital stb.
kevinivey is offline  
post #284 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI CBS-HD during today's game coming in ota completely maxed out on the Zenith ota stb.They must have it turned up to full power!
kevinivey is offline  
post #285 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the picture looks great again! CBS rocks!

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #286 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS football on WLTX-DT this afternoon was great. Afterwards I was able to view on SCETV WRLK-DT a super PBS Nature program. If you can, there should be another showing of "Under the Ice" on WRLK-DT at 11pm (also scheduled for next Sat at 8pm and at 11pm). Highly recommended.

BTW, I go here to see what is on PBS HD. This site also has shows what segments are showing on the current Demo loop.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #287 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 08:09 PM
Kir
AVS Special Member
 
Kir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I discovered this thread about a week ago and finally finished reading all posts
Still have a question:
I live in Columbia off Lost Creek drive (deep in the Harbison forest). I can get regular OTA broadcast with some noise using a small RCA powered antenna. antennaweb.org shows that all local HD stations could be picked up by a yellow antenna. I'm still doubtful considering all trees in the forest Any advice before I invest in an HD OTA receiver and antenna?
PS: I live in a 2-story house

Thank you!
Kir is offline  
post #288 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruce,
Thanks for letting me know about this nature special on SCETV. It looks like it is going to be an enjoyable show.
Take care!

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #289 of 10080 Old 01-12-2003, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe. And being in a 2-story house should help. My limited experience is that analog reception does not always equate to digital reception (digital is either yes or no; no inbetween with noise). Hence my maybe.

Some retail outlets (like Circuit City) allow folks to buy a receiver like the Zenith HDV420 and take it home. If it does not work you can return it. I am not sure what antenna would work best but an indoor UHF/VHF model might work. Alternatively a biggy on your roof might be needed. CC sells the highly rated indoor model, the Zenith Silver Sensor, but it is only UHF and WOLO is VHF Channel 8. But then again, a simple rabbit ear VHF might work too for WOLO (did here).

Trees can definitely be a problem but you never know. I have a cousin up in Rock Hill who is surrounded by trees (and behind a hill too) and he uses a large Winegard on top of his 2-story and gets good reception. Personally I get most of the Cola stations at 24 to 35 miles away using a indoor set top antenna (not WRLK though; low power short tower).

And if that does not work can you might checkout Time Warner. They have PBS, CBS, and ABC should be back on soon.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #290 of 10080 Old 01-13-2003, 09:11 AM
Member
 
joe balazs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i get super receptions on wolo, wltx, and wrlk using my samsung 150. however on wach i get a green light with strong reception but no picture with a "No Signal" displayed. is wach having problems or is it my samsung.
thanks and the wltx playoff games were great as well as wolo's "enemy of the state",
joe balazs (irmo area)
joe balazs is offline  
post #291 of 10080 Old 01-13-2003, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't speak for an hour ago but right now (12:30pm) WACH-DT on Ch 48 is coming in here fine via my Zenith HDV420. 100kwatts.tmi.net indicates their antenna location is the same as WOLO's tower (same one probably) so your antenna orientation should be good.

Bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #292 of 10080 Old 01-13-2003, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
PSIP configuration issues on the broadcaster's end will cause the Samsung
to act as Joe has described, but it is a good idea to make sure the Samsung
has been upgraded to firmware 2.0..which can be found on this forum under the hardware section..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #293 of 10080 Old 01-13-2003, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bob,
Any word on what happened to Wolo-Dt on Time Warner Cable?
kevinivey is offline  
post #294 of 10080 Old 01-13-2003, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin,
Roy Rushing will be coming by my store tomorrow so I will ask him what the deal is and see if he knows anythign about ESPN-HD, Discovery-HD and any other possible channels.

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #295 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
We're looking into the TW thing, not sure why that is happening..
maybe Jay can get an answer from Roy..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #296 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 07:49 AM
Member
 
joe balazs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bdfox18doe,
thanks for the hint on the samsung 150 / PSIP confguration potential problelm. i'm having trouble finding firmware 2.0 and i've heard of other problems with 2.0. is there anything else i could try? or am i the only one in the the columbia area with a samsung 150 this is having problem (green light but "no signal" for wach - 48).
thanks,
joe balazs
joe balazs is offline  
post #297 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
WOLO-DT should be on Time-Warner Columbia Full time on Channel 815 by
Tonight..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #298 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At 1:15pm today I noted Ch 815 ABCHD was back on the channel guide.

bruce

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found here.
bdenman is offline  
post #299 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
GCocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome! Another HD channel for good with the Super Bowl in less than 2 weeks!

Y'all have a nice evening!

Go Gamecocks!
GCocks is offline  
post #300 of 10080 Old 01-14-2003, 07:29 PM
Member
 
chummel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ---Lexington, SC---
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC was looking good tonite. I was switching between JAG and Jim! Hopefully one day we will have NBC in the 800's also.

Off topic, with the Explorer 8000, have any of you noticed the quick skip ahead button no longer works since the latest fireware download?
TIA
Craig
chummel is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off