Columbia, SC - HDTV - Page 145 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 10078 Old 05-10-2005, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was told there was a software update coming soon for the 8000HD's. My tech that was here today told me.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 10078 Old 05-10-2005, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, so far so good even with an electrical storm. American Idol came off without any audio dropouts. There was one small "cloud" of pixelization, but nothing to really complain about. It sounded great. Will update you after I watch House and Law & Order:SVU.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
post #4323 of 10078 Old 05-10-2005, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
courier72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's also newer a SARA for the 3250HD, not sure what fixes or enhancements are included in it.
courier72 is offline  
post #4324 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I fell asleep before my update last night. House was near flawless, just one small audio drop, and a little pixelation. Nothing big. After that, I watched PBS's Frontline on PBSHD, and it was pretty bad. Audio breakups and some pixelizing. Haven't watched Law&Order:SVU yet.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
post #4325 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Marky_Mark896
Well, so far so good even with an electrical storm. American Idol came off without any audio dropouts. There was one small "cloud" of pixelization, but nothing to really complain about. It sounded great. Will update you after I watch House and Law & Order:SVU.

Mark

Ditto.

Having given up on digital audio for AI, I decided to give it one more shot this week...glad I did. No audio dropouts at all. Sounded great.

Video-wise, as MM posted above, there was one "little" cloud of pixelization at one point, but that was minor.

Good work, TWC-SC!

Now, let's see how "Lost" looks tonight...
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #4326 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
jverhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kinokawa Japan
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may have been asked before but will try anyway lol. I am building an official HTPC box this weekend and have been reading about being able to run the cable from the cable box via fire wire to the PC and having it process through there. Are our boxes at the level to pass through the signal to an HTPC or is that still in the future? not that i absolutely have to have it but we do love our toys don't we.
I presently have the HD-DVR with the HDMI output.

New box will be
Asus A8V-E deluxe K8T890
Amd 3800 Revision E
Slverstone LC10B
Powercolor X800XL dual DVI PCI-E
XP MCE 2005 w remote
1 gig Corsair PC3200XLPT
Waiting on a tuner card to match Time Warner

Out of the rat race living in Japan and communicating with you on a 100MBPS fiber connection
jverhey is offline  
post #4327 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There are extensive threads on that elsewhere here on AVS. I'd do a bit of research.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4328 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]Originally posted by jverhey
[b]This may have been asked before but will try anyway lol. I am building an official HTPC box this weekend and have been reading about being able to run the cable from the cable box via fire wire to the PC and having it process through there. Are our boxes at the level to pass through the signal to an HTPC or is that still in the future? not that i absolutely have to have it but we do love our toys don't we.
I presently have the HD-DVR with the HDMI output.

No, there are no pc connection possible other than composite or s-video with analog audio. There is no firewire box available from TWCSC for a pc connection. There are no plans that I have heard that would ever allow a digital connection .
kevinivey is offline  
post #4329 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DianaTWCSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All Right - software upgrades - all converters.

TWC South Carolina has the latest and greatest "CORPORATE ENGINEERING GROUP APPROVED" software on all converters.

As the good old days when you guys were waiting for the 1.1 upgrade last summer - no one in the South Carolina Division Engineering group can predict when any of the versions you are interested in will get approved.

However, as soon as they know, they will tell me and I will tell you - Promise.

Diana Smith
Director of Marketing for Video Services

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DianaTWCSC is offline  
post #4330 of 10078 Old 05-11-2005, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, a late night update... Got home from dinner late, so have been watching DVR deep into the night. American Idol was beautiful tonight. No audio drops/no pixelization. Lost was outstanding as well, no audio drops no pixelization. Keep it up TWC! Thanks Diana.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
post #4331 of 10078 Old 05-12-2005, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wish my news was as good...AI had some pixelization and bad audio drops again, we ended up just using the analog audio feed like we've done before.

Lost was fine though.

Which makes me wonder, given MM's post above, if this is a local issue with me only, why does it affect only some channels (Fox-HD)?
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #4332 of 10078 Old 05-12-2005, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DianaTWCSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by IrmoGamecoq
Wish my news was as good...AI had some pixelization and bad audio drops again, we ended up just using the analog audio feed like we've done before.

Lost was fine though.

Which makes me wonder, given MM's post above, if this is a local issue with me only, why does it affect only some channels (Fox-HD)?

send me your home phone number and let me check you.

Diana Smith
Director of Marketing for Video Services

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DianaTWCSC is offline  
post #4333 of 10078 Old 05-12-2005, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IrmoGamecoq, I have the same problems as you have. Most of the local HD recordings have some issue or another. I've seen it on two different 8300s, and I have plenty of signal strength to my box. Ota is usually flawless for the local HD channels. Pixellation and audio drops didn't happen for me until the January software update.

Note: My local HD recordings have issues. Watching "live" the errors are much less.
kevinivey is offline  
post #4334 of 10078 Old 05-12-2005, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well; I was able to swap out my 8000HD for a 8300 today. I hope I don't regret it since my 8000HD was working pretty darn good. I will be on the lookout for glitches and will try and watch a few HD programs live so I can check the OTA signal for comparison.

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
bdenman is offline  
post #4335 of 10078 Old 05-15-2005, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like our local CBS station has deciided to join the others, and offer yet another duplicate channel. Limited bandwidth HD now available on all the HD locals.
kevinivey is offline  
post #4336 of 10078 Old 05-15-2005, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any word on any new HD channels from TWC ?????

-- Cain
Cain is offline  
post #4337 of 10078 Old 05-15-2005, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Diana, here's an update. I finally got around to watching CSI:Crime Scene Investigation recorded 5/12 at 9:00pm. There are pixellating clouds, and digital audio dropouts. I don't know if your engineers can look that far back at data, but if they can, you may want them to see what my levels were at that time. This was recorded 2 days after the service tech was out here, and saw good levels while he was here. This show, CSI was on CBSHD at 9pm on 5/12/05. If you need anything else let me know. I won't delete the show until I hear from you.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
post #4338 of 10078 Old 05-16-2005, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
courier72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by kevinivey
Looks like our local CBS station has deciided to join the others, and offer yet another duplicate channel. Limited bandwidth HD now available on all the HD locals.

Has the requirement been dropped that there must be an ATSC simulcast of the NTSC channel? Comparing 19's digital SD to NTSC, the analog broadcast looks better. Now that I've got a 16x9 set I'll be more apt to watch 810 on a regular basis, HD or upconverted pogramming.
courier72 is offline  
post #4339 of 10078 Old 05-16-2005, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marky_Mark896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Outside Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Diana,

I am currently watching the "100 Greatest Discoveries" on Discovery HD, and the audio is terrible. It is dropping out constantly, almost unwatchable. So it seems my problems are not gone.

Mark

It's not just a hobby, it's an obsession...
Marky_Mark896 is offline  
post #4340 of 10078 Old 05-16-2005, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
The SD channels are not intended for those of you with HDTv's..they are intended for those digital cable subs (which exceed HD subs) with SDTV's who find the analog (channels below 100) performance sub-par relative to the digital channels.
We have received multiple requests from cableco's to provide the SD feeds.

And FWIW, WOLO-DT hasn't changed the rate on the DT to add this channel.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4341 of 10078 Old 05-16-2005, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basic cable seems to be what they are promoting as of late.
kevinivey is offline  
post #4342 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
D-rock0030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by kevinivey
Looks like our local CBS station has deciided to join the others, and offer yet another duplicate channel. Limited bandwidth HD now available on all the HD locals.

I was watching one of the CSI's last night and noticed that during any movement the screen became pixelated. WLTX used to be the best looking HD in Columbia. I guess they lowered their standards, now they are just as crappy as the rest of the local affiliates. There's no sense in having an HD channel if they arent going to provide the bandwidth necessary to provide a high quality picture. Who wants to see macroblocking during any movement on the screen? How can you have a television show with no movement? HD that looks good on still pictures is worthless.

With only the weather channel running last year, WLTX barely had enough bandwidth for good PQ during football games, now with the additional subchannel running I suppose we can kiss that goodbye now too.
D-rock0030 is offline  
post #4343 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by D-rock0030
I was watching one of the CSI's last night and noticed that during any movement the screen became pixelated. ..... [snip]

I just checked my recording of CSI Miami from last night to check out the PQ. Pixelization was very evident on many of the opening scenes as well as some relatively static scenes a bit later in the program. Overall, IMO, the HD PQ was not acceptable. I then turned into this morning's fare just to see what Ch812 was like and compared it to TWC Ch 9. Hah; the Ch812 Andy Griffith whow (in B&W even) showed evidence of bit starvation too.

While I understand Bob Davis's position in theory and agree that 720p can handle multicasting better than 1080i, I know that on my 1080i CRT based display I have never seen a 720p image that came anywhere close to that of a good 1080i presentation. Guess we have lost the battle for quality 1080i presentations in our area.

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
bdenman is offline  
post #4344 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


Originally posted by bdenman
Guess we have lost the battle for quality 1080i presentations in our area.

Is it the pipeline, or what's being pumped?

I don't usually care much about glitches, but lately it's been really obvious to the point of annoying me a lot.

Not like I have anywhere to go, unless I cut down some trees I don't own...

LIVE: mikepaul
PSN: mikewpaul
mikepaul is offline  
post #4345 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
720p is 30% or so more bandwidth efficient that 1080i. And unless your set
does native 720p, 1080i usually does look better.On my Mits 62725, they look about the same.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4346 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mikepaul
Is it the pipeline, or what's being pumped?

I don't usually care much about glitches, but lately it's been really obvious to the point of annoying me a lot.

Not like I have anywhere to go, unless I cut down some trees I don't own...

As I understand it, the digital pipeline is approximately 19.34mb/s wide. When you limit your 1080i HD channel to about 12 or 13mb/s, you get pixel blocking on items that move (nature of MPEG2 encoding). It appears that WLTX may be using from 2 to 3 mb/s per SD channel which results in the low bandwidth available for HD. WIS also limits their HD bandwidth in a similar manner having 2 SD services as well.

WOLO and FOX both 720p which uses far fewer bits/sec to begin as compared to 1080i. The end result is a somewhat softer HD image that also has less motion artificacts. They can get by with using that same 12 or 13 mb/s bandwidth without inducing motion artifacts. This subject is fairly complex and how this is all perceived by the viewer is also in part determined by the type of display they have (1080i is usually preferred by CRT viewers, DLP, LCD, and Plasma may well perceive 720p as better).


The glitches you have been observing I would guess stem from another problem.

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
bdenman is offline  
post #4347 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:


Originally posted by bdenman
They can get by with using that same 12 or 13 mb/s bandwidth without inducing motion artifacts.

To be exact, 14 mb on WOLO-DT. IMHO, Less that 16mb/s is too little for
1080i..Here, WBTV runs 12mb, and it looks like pooo...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4348 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bdenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bdfox18doe
To be exact, 14 mb on WOLO-DT. IMHO, Less that 16mb/s is too little for
1080i..Here, WBTV runs 12mb, and it looks like pooo...

I believe WLTX's norm was around 16mb/s for HD. They took down the weather multicast during the Super Bowl and used the entire 19.34 mb/s bandwidth (less overhead like PSIP) for the game. Very nice! Whether the new level is 14 or 12 or ??, it comes down to it is just not enough for quality (1080i) HD.

Bruce
Latest Summary on COLUMBIA SC HDTV can be found
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
bdenman is offline  
post #4349 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
D-rock0030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bdenman
Whether the new level is 14 or 12 or ??, it comes down to it is just not enough for quality (1080i) HD.

How very TRUE!!!!

And the engineers there I'm sure know that but apparently some one there at the station higher up doesnt give a sh*t about PQ (or DD 5.1 audio either for that matter).
D-rock0030 is offline  
post #4350 of 10078 Old 05-17-2005, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Their analog station pay the bills. Just wait till the subchannel becomes the "real" channel. The HD channel will be even further reduced.
kevinivey is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off