Columbia, SC - HDTV - Page 334 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9991 of 10080 Old 09-07-2011, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can see the case for national appeal of that channel in certain regions but I'm not really sure Florence is at the top of that list...
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9992 of 10080 Old 09-07-2011, 12:27 PM
Member
 
blizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thrilled. Finally I can keep up with the crime against korean grocery stores in the Bronx!
blizz is offline  
post #9993 of 10080 Old 09-07-2011, 03:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I bet it has something to do with the 9/11 anniversary.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #9994 of 10080 Old 10-21-2011, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 75
COLLEGE FOOTBALL ON WOLO SAT. 10/22/11
12-3:30PM ARKANSAS @ OLE MISS.

3:30-7PM MARYLAND @ FLORIDA ST.(NOTE: THIS GAME WILL START ON 25.4 AND TWC CH. 106 AND MOVE TO 25.1 AND TWC CH. 5 (105 OR 1105) AFTER THE SEC GAME CONCLUDES.) (This game will pre-empt MeTv on 25.4 will be in 16:9 SD)

8:00pm TEXAS TECH @ OKLAHOMA

WBTV is doing the same move here:

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/201...game-plan.html


Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #9995 of 10080 Old 10-22-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 97
What a joke. Just get rid of the highlights show.
Gary J is online now  
post #9996 of 10080 Old 12-20-2011, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hate to bump, but I was wondering if anyone using TWC in Columbia still has an 8300HD like I do. The programming used to be the same as for the Samsung DVR they gave me a while back, but now the 8300 is different and BAD.

When I push the Favorite button for the Samsung, it moves to the next favorite. The same button on the 8300 now pops up a list of ALL my favorites, highlighting the first one every time. It requires a lot of scrolling to find the current channel then click on the next one to get the same job done as the Samsung. Even just popping up with the current channel selected would make this OK but no deal so far. No amount of rebooting causes a refresh that makes the two DVRs work alike.

I keep the 8300 because the Samsung has no s-video out to allow capturing of any shows I want to save. Moving up to component capture is not an option right now. So did all the 8300's get this 'fix'?...

OK, when I went into the Favorites list to add a new channel, there was a new entry on the menu to control the popup. You can turn it on and off, and the default is apparently on. There is no such menu item on the Samsung so I guess the 8300HD is where the popup is being beta tested. I'd say that if they refuse to center the popup on or near the current channel, it should be pulled...

LIVE: mikepaul
mikepaul is online now  
post #9997 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 04:27 PM
Member
 
blocknlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgr131 View Post

I'm thinking of going back to TWC. Basically, what I want is HD locals/CableCard in a Tivo box. I'm trying to cut expenses way back. My antenna is unreliable when the trees around the house put their leaves back out.

I guess I'm a bit slow, but I don't see how to price this on the TWC web site.

Any of you guys doing this? And if so, how much does it cost?

Thanks,

David

I know this is an old post but feel the need to post in here, I'm up near Chapin, just cut off TWC last month and we are so happy!
We get all the major network stations, many interesting secondary stations including true local weather channels. But without question, by far, we love the superior HD reception of our attic mounted antenna!!!
There are many sites where you can plug in your address and get the correct compass heading for all the network stations. I am about 30 miles max. - straight line, not road miles, from all network stations and get Beautiful HD picture superior to TWC and better sound too. Being we are at most 30 miles away, we bought a antenna with a stated 65 mile range in Lowes. I think that is the biggest mistake people make, getting to small of an antenna. If you mount in the attic and have multiple TVs (I have 6) go at least double the range stated for the antenna and you should be fine. I would have mail ordered an 80 mile range for my home but didn't want to wait. The 65 mile RCA from Lowes does the job perfectly at my 30 mile distance. I love saving over 100 dollars a month not paying TWC and getting a better picture! We also have Ruko boxes with Hulu Plus for the kids. At 8 dollars a months the kids are happy and don't miss TWC either.
blocknlot is offline  
post #9998 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a big antenna as well, but I still can't get ESPN HD.
kevinivey is offline  
post #9999 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinivey View Post

I've got a big antenna as well, but I still can't get ESPN HD.

I have the same problem with FOX News HD, Science, History, and Discovery HD! and WeatherNation beats The Weather Channel any day!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #10000 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by blocknlot View Post

we love the superior HD reception of our attic mounted antenna!!!

Wait until you see Blu-ray! I bet the "true local weather channels" are awesome though.

J/K. It's a good way to go for cheap!
Gary J is online now  
post #10001 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think all the locals do a good job with their HD.
kevinivey is offline  
post #10002 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 05:30 PM
Member
 
blocknlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Wait until you see Blu-ray! I bet the "true local weather channels" are awesome though.

J/K. It's a good way to go for cheap!

I've always been into sound and video. Had Bluray for over two years, now on our second machine first one retired to a kids room. Wow ... Though ... Our antenna picture looks just as good as Bluray depending on program of course.
Weather channels were a treat, true local weather, but it's the main channels that really shine.

True, no ESPN, but not important to me.
blocknlot is offline  
post #10003 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 05:35 PM
Member
 
blocknlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinivey View Post

I think all the locals do a good job with their HD.

Amazing quality over the air HD picture. Something cable and satellite can not provide because they compress the signal to squeeze in all the channels they can. So in reality we have a much better picture then people with cable and satellite but much less channels, since we only watch network shows and news it doesn't matter. We like movies and rent or stream and were paying through the nose for all the stuff we didnt watch.
blocknlot is offline  
post #10004 of 10080 Old 01-09-2012, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your happy that's is all that matters. I think most here prefer a HD DVR with locals and a good HD provider.
kevinivey is offline  
post #10005 of 10080 Old 01-11-2012, 08:13 AM
Member
 
tgr131's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Columbia, SC USA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Been a while since I posted that!

I would love to ditch satellite for an Antenna. I have a tall house with a high pitch roof, and I don't know of any antenna installers around here. With my roof I'm certainly not going to do it. So I spend $108/mo, mostly to watch network shows and a few sporting events.

*sigh*


Quote:
Originally Posted by blocknlot View Post

I know this is an old post but feel the need to post in here, I'm up near Chapin, just cut off TWC last month and we are so happy!
We get all the major network stations, many interesting secondary stations including true local weather channels. But without question, by far, we love the superior HD reception of our attic mounted antenna!!!
There are many sites where you can plug in your address and get the correct compass heading for all the network stations. I am about 30 miles max. - straight line, not road miles, from all network stations and get Beautiful HD picture superior to TWC and better sound too. Being we are at most 30 miles away, we bought a antenna with a stated 65 mile range in Lowes. I think that is the biggest mistake people make, getting to small of an antenna. If you mount in the attic and have multiple TVs (I have 6) go at least double the range stated for the antenna and you should be fine. I would have mail ordered an 80 mile range for my home but didn't want to wait. The 65 mile RCA from Lowes does the job perfectly at my 30 mile distance. I love saving over 100 dollars a month not paying TWC and getting a better picture! We also have Ruko boxes with Hulu Plus for the kids. At 8 dollars a months the kids are happy and don't miss TWC either.

tgr131 is offline  
post #10006 of 10080 Old 02-19-2012, 08:17 AM
Member
 
mav52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lexington SC
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello from Lexington SC.

Anyone see issues with WIS with their transmissions. At times their transmissions appear out of focus while the other networks appear clear.
mav52 is offline  
post #10007 of 10080 Old 02-19-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav52 View Post

Hello from Lexington SC.

Anyone see issues with WIS with their transmissions. At times their transmissions appear out of focus while the other networks appear clear.

How to you receive Wis? (OTA, Cable, Satelitte, etc)
kevinivey is offline  
post #10008 of 10080 Old 04-18-2012, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Mark Paquette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone using TWC with whole home DVR service comment on the newer Samsung DVR's vs. the older 8300 models? I left TWC a few years ago because I disliked the 8300 model receivers so much. Currently with Directv and want to add an additional receiver, but don't want to sign another 2 year agreement.
Mark Paquette is offline  
post #10009 of 10080 Old 04-18-2012, 12:01 PM
Member
 
blizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Paquette View Post

Can anyone using TWC with whole home DVR service comment on the newer Samsung DVR's vs. the older 8300 models? I left TWC a few years ago because I disliked the 8300 model receivers so much. Currently with Directv and want to add an additional receiver, but don't want to sign another 2 year agreement.

I've got one of each. The Samsung is much faster and has more disk space. It is a little glitchy, I've had several programs recorded that I couldn't play back. They both run the same software, albeit slightly different.

The Samsung's fast forward is a lot smoother. Overall, I like it better.
blizz is offline  
post #10010 of 10080 Old 04-25-2012, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in the Greenville, SC market. But I picked up occasional OTA signals from all of the Columbia, SC stations (except 10, 47, and 63). I know that WACH, WOLO, and WLTX run High-Def syndicated programs in HD, does WIS, WZRB, and WKTC run High-Def syndicated programs in HD? Also on WIS, do they run local news scrolls on NBC's Today Show just like WYFF 4 in Greenville or WCBD 2 in Charleston? If so, do they used the channel 10 logo or plain 1986-present NBC logo on the scrolls?

Also for those who watch WOLO ABC Columbia, do they show Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! in HD like WLOS 13 (ABC) in Asheville, NC does?

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
post #10011 of 10080 Old 04-25-2012, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Leedogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johnsonville, SC
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WOLO does show them in HD....
Leedogg is offline  
post #10012 of 10080 Old 04-26-2012, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Too bad that Jeremy Kyle is not shown in Columbia, SC. I fell the same way because Wendy Williams (unless watching it on BET on late nights) isn't shown in Greenville, SC.

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
post #10013 of 10080 Old 05-13-2012, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Player2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have TWC and have been having issues with my DVR and cartoon network.

I am attempting to record Thundercats and for some reason it is not saving.

On Saturday I noticed the red light was on indicating it was recording. Then when I checked later it did not show up in my DVR list.

I set it to try and record the replay this mornings. Today when it was recoding I was actually watching it, however when the show ended it again did not save in the DVR.

Any ideas on what the issue might be. Seems to only happen with this show.
Player2 is offline  
post #10014 of 10080 Old 05-13-2012, 06:06 PM
Member
 
jwilliek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This happens with my SA 8300HD from time to time. The fix for me is to power cycle the box. ie, unplug and replug it back in, then when it's done rebooting, recording works fine.
jwilliek is offline  
post #10015 of 10080 Old 05-13-2012, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Player2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the same box i have.I will have to give that a try this week and see what happens this weekend.
Player2 is offline  
post #10016 of 10080 Old 07-25-2012, 12:40 PM
Member
 
nopedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I cut the cord in late 2010, and use a channelmaster cm7000 DVR tuner to get locals. Over the months, I have noticed a that the channel guide has gotten steadily worse. I stopped getting TVGOS months ago, but still have been getting PSIP. Earlier this Summer the PSIP for the PBS stations stopped.

I am not sure whether the issue is my hardware or the local broadcasters. I was curious about whether other folks using the same or similar tuners for OTA (ie, get station infor from TVGOS/PSIP, not something like TIVO or cable) are having similar experiences.
nopedals is offline  
post #10017 of 10080 Old 07-27-2012, 01:16 PM
Member
 
nopedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can answer my own question; I just had to do a factory reset; apparently the gadget stops looking for TVGOS if it does not see it for a few days.

Getting a bit of pixilation and sound issues every minute or so on PBS at 35. It got bad enough several months ago that I ended up pointing the antenna toward Sumter to get PBS on 27, but that compromised my signal from the other channels. I think I will drop them an email.
nopedals is offline  
post #10018 of 10080 Old 07-29-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Midlanders! I've pick up every single station in the Columbia, SC market from my house in Upstate SC. I've put up every station except WZRB 47 and I've almost picked up WIS 10 once on digital over the air (I've got an indoor unfortunately, I need an outdoor which is required in my area). On most nights in the wee hours I've pick up WLTX 19 and WOLO 25 mostly, but sometimes WACH 57 and WRLK 35 (PBS/SCETV) as well. I remember the good ole days at WIS 10 when Ed Carter and Susan Aude used to be there (both retired) and I didn't know that Ed Carter also worked at then-NBC (now ABC) affiliate WCIV 4 in Charleston, SC from circa 1978-1981. Ed and Susan are the living legends so as Joe Pinner aka Mr. Knozit from 1963-2000. I remember Jim Gandy of WLTX used to work at rival WIS so as Joe Daggett. I know Rick Henry is still at WIS as sports director nowadays. My friend Chris Wideman visited WIS 10 studios at 1111 Bull Street in Columbia, SC when it was open to the public for one day because of the Digital TV transition thing before 6/12/2009. Columbia, SC is like the Sacramento of the East. Columbia and Sacramento have four syllables and both NBC stations (WIS 10 and KCRA 3 which the latter is owned by Greenville, SC's NBC station WYFF's parent company Hearst TV) air Live! With Kelly every weekday mornings. Too bad the CBS O&O station KOVR-TV in Sacramento didn't carry now-defunct soap opera The Guiding Light in their final years on the air.

The last time I was in Columbia when I almost got back from my Charleston, SC vacation two years ago.

Does WIS 10 runs local news crawls during NBC's Today Show every morning like WYFF 4 does in my home market of Greenville, SC? If so, do WIS 10 uses the 10 logo or just the NBC logo?

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
post #10019 of 10080 Old 08-02-2012, 03:48 AM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Once again, I've picked up the BIG 4 networks from Columbia, SC OTA using my Philips sdv1125t/27 indoor antenna. WIS, WLTX, WOLO, and WACH's towers are about 77 miles from my house and you know the sun rises east, sun sets west! Don't need a compass. I've picked up WIS, WLTX, WOLO, and WACH today. I've point my UHF part of the antenna to East and wow! They came in from Good-Medium. My sister-in-law's cousin lives in Lexington, SC which is part of your market, since Greenwood, SC (which I was born and I live in) is part of the larger market Greenville/Spartanburg, SC. I've picked up 43 channels OTA this morning besides CBS, ABC, FOX, CW, UNC 58 and WAXN 64 from Charlotte, NC and WNEH 38 from my home market. What do you think Midlanders?

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
post #10020 of 10080 Old 08-02-2012, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've watch THE TODAY SHOW on WIS 10 and yes WIS does the local crawls. They do Lower and Uppercase letters like Greenville's WYFF 4 does. But WIS uses the NBC Peacock logo like NBC O&O's WNBC and WTVJ does instead of WIS 10 logo.

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off