Samsung HDMI Black Level Setting? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-05-2008, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bschellva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Samsung TVs there is a setting called "HDMI Black Level". It can be set to normal or low. Is normal the same as RGB(0-255) and low the same as RGB(16-235), or do I have that backwards? Thanks!
bschellva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 03-08-2008, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bschellva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No one knows?
bschellva is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-10-2008, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just about to post this same exact question. Accept I have a Samsung LN-T3253H lcd. Does anyone know the answer?
KoRn is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-31-2008, 05:20 PM
Member
 
mezman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe it's used to set the black level (what voltage is defined as "black") in the HDMI signal. I would think that HDMI would have a standard but maybe no everyone follows it. I have it set to low on my LN52A650 on the HDMI input from my Dish receiver and normal for my BD and HD-DVD players. I came across this message looking for more clarification myself though.
mezman is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 06-04-2008, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
csamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found one post that said this:

"HDMI Black Level: (YCbCr color-difference signals over HDMI will result in a ghosted setting. Applicable for RGB signals over HDMI only. When dealing with RGB signals I recommend that the end-user experiment with the HDMI Black Level settings in an effort to determine which setting provides the best performance.)"


And I found this humorous post asking about this same issue, but the poster didn't want to venture over to AVSForum.

http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_threa...read_id=107041


From other messages and articles I've glanced at, it looks like low will expand blacks down to 0 RGB instead of 16.

Pause a movie at a very dark scene with lots of shadows, etc. Switch it back and forth and see if you can tell a difference.

-Carl

-Carl Samos
------------
My Movie Theater
csamos is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 06-04-2008, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike_pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bschellva View Post

On Samsung TVs there is a setting called "HDMI Black Level". It can be set to normal or low. Is normal the same as RGB(0-255) and low the same as RGB(16-235), or do I have that backwards? Thanks!

What model TV do you have?

On my HL61A750, it is only valid for RGB sources, (computers, or say the PS3 games and XMB dashboard.)

Low is for Video 16-235 encoded sources, Normal is 0-255 PC encoded material.

Since I prefer to optimize mine for PS3 gaming, (and the PS3 can be made to use YPb as Blu Ray output, in which case this setting does not apply for my set), I set mine for Normal, and on the PS3 RGB Full range. (If you use RGB limited then you need to set it to Low.)

Check out the FAQ in my sig for some info about it.
mike_pro is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 06-04-2008, 07:03 PM
Member
 
sfaprilbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same decision with my 5281 lcd from last year.Use normal.The low is just too dark in my opinion for the HL67A750.
sfaprilbob is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-12-2008, 02:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your correct. I went on over to display calibration area and asked the question some time ago. I have my 360 set up with pc levels through hdmi 1.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1018097



Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_pro View Post

What model TV do you have?

On my HL61A750, it is only valid for RGB sources, (computers, or say the PS3 games and XMB dashboard.)

Low is for Video 16-235 encoded sources, Normal is 0-255 PC encoded material.

Since I prefer to optimize mine for PS3 gaming, (and the PS3 can be made to use YPb as Blu Ray output, in which case this setting does not apply for my set), I set mine for Normal, and on the PS3 RGB Full range. (If you use RGB limited then you need to set it to Low.)

Check out the FAQ in my sig for some info about it.

KoRn is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-12-2008, 10:36 AM
Member
 
mezman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if HDMI Black Level should be set to "low" for video sources, then why does the HDMI Black Level default to "Normal" and get greyed out from my BluRay player and HD-DVD player? That's what I don't get about all this. This seems totally counter-intuitive to me. Unless it's deactivated when greyed out? Is there no levels like that for YCrCb sources?
mezman is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-12-2008, 02:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezman View Post

So if HDMI Black Level should be set to "low" for video sources, then why does the HDMI Black Level default to "Normal" and get greyed out from my BluRay player and HD-DVD player? That's what I don't get about all this. This seems totally counter-intuitive to me. Unless it's deactivated when greyed out? Is there no levels like that for YCrCb sources?

Set your xvYCC to "on" and it will default to HDMI-Low for all component and HDMI inputs. It's just a backwards way to do it, but if you like the black levels better this way, then use it.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-12-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
S. Hiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This setting is certainly worth highlighting. Set it wrong or leave it set wrong, and it guts the grayscale and causes some angst...
S. Hiller is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-12-2011, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Mstahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried everything. Why cant i use hdmi black level. Alwas greyed out. I call samsung. Useless. Help. Is my set broken?
Mstahl is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 07-19-2011, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Ramma09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I write this as a self-remind note.

To be able to access the HDMI Black Level option on your Samsung LCD TV you must set your device's output resolution to any of the standards (1280x720 or 1920x1080).

Otherwise, the option will be grayed out.

Thats all.
Have fun.
Ramma09 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-21-2012, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
Mimizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about video playback on PC? Most of the videos seem to have too bright blacks. Should I use "Low" option?
Mimizu is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-21-2012, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
Ramma09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you should use "Low" option to get the better blacks.
And if you are using software to play your videos like GOM Media Player you can always decrease the brightness. (With the letter E of your keyboard on GOM, until you get the color you like).

Ramma09 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 12-16-2012, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I wonder if the HDMI Black Level setting gets greyed out whilst in Game Mode? The TV I'm referring to is the PSE6500 plasma.

Tyrone Burton is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off