2008 Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP owners thread and FAQ - Page 151 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hd#1 View Post

I like the Movie mode on this set but I am a sports fan as well and find watching sports in movie mode does not look that great. What settings do you put while watching sports.

I use Standard/Normal for sports, or anything else that's video-based. Movie/Warm 1 (or Normal) for film-based sources.

I keep everything else pretty much at default. I sometimes need to increase the green tint a bit for some HDTV stuff, but generally speaking OTTB looks pretty good to me.
bruce73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
jayp2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to get opinions....I've been waiting for the price to drop on this tv for a couple months now. I really want to purchase this tv before christmas. Should I wait it out or should I just "bite the bullet" and buy the dang thing?
jayp2003 is offline  
post #4503 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep I would !
klyde is offline  
post #4504 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 07:10 PM
Member
 
DA INFERNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MADERA CA, USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayp2003 View Post

I need to get opinions....I've been waiting for the price to drop on this tv for a couple months now. I really want to purchase this tv before christmas. Should I wait it out or should I just "bite the bullet" and buy the dang thing?

I bought mine now and mine came with a 60 day price match. That will get me past the holidays so I can have the TV now and hopefully a lower price latter.
DA INFERNO is offline  
post #4505 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got tired of looking for a better price while stock ran out at various dealers. So I bought yesterday an open box at Amazon for $310 under the discount price. I will have it befor Christmas.
klyde is offline  
post #4506 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pioneer VSX 815 receiver. It has 2 component inputs and no HDMI inputs. I have 3 HD video sources. I could run the video out of the sources through HDMI into the TV and the audio through the receiver. Is their any benefit in buying a new receiver with 3 HDMI inputs?
klyde is offline  
post #4507 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
raence's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, what place offers a 60 day price guarantee?
raence is offline  
post #4508 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
fregienj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City and Ultimate Electronics both do. I believe they do 110%...CC goes down to 100% for days 30-60 though.
fregienj is offline  
post #4509 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by klyde View Post

I have a pioneer VSX 815 receiver. It has 2 component inputs and no HDMI inputs. I have 3 HD video sources. I could run the video out of the sources through HDMI into the TV and the audio through the receiver. Is their any benefit in buying a new receiver with 3 HDMI inputs?

Running to your AVR might simplify switching when changing sources/inputs, but so will a good Harmony (Or whatever) universal remote.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is online now  
post #4510 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a harmony.

Thanks
klyde is offline  
post #4511 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 09:38 PM
Newbie
 
paulp64131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agrajag View Post

Someone knocked over your vase.... I couldn't help myself.

Hahaha. Thats funny. I held back but wanted to say it sooo bad. Thanks for the laugh.
paulp64131 is offline  
post #4512 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
JeffGrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

any idea as to what height (stand) my viewing should be? my couch is about 12-14" high im 6' but when my azz hits the cushion i probably sink about 4" so what do u think the height of my stand should be??huh huh any idea? sorry i just had to reply.....

OK, I'll bite since I started it

I'd say your ~30" from a$$ to eyes/ears. Add this to the 10" (14"-4") above the floor, and you get 40".

The Center of the TV (61") is ~22.5".

40"-22.5" = 17.5"

Your stand needs to be approximately 17.5"


Cheers!

Jeff Grimes

HT Enthusiast
JeffGrimes is offline  
post #4513 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 10:21 PM
Member
 
dubson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please be so kind as to inform me of what the most current firmware is?

Thank you in advance.
dubson is offline  
post #4514 of 15730 Old 12-02-2008, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
klyde is offline  
post #4515 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 12:22 AM
Senior Member
 
klyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
something I haven't read much about is the 3D capability of this TV. I did a search and found several 3D kits but dont know if one is better than another. This one looks intriguing. http://www.razor3donline.com/converter.html
It says you are able to convert existing 2D into 3D. Has anyone tried any of these system? Is it any good on existing 3D movies like Journey to the center of the earth?
Converting existing movies? Games?
Thanks
klyde is offline  
post #4516 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 01:46 AM
Newbie
 
newcoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(Editor's Note. This is my first HDTV and I'm referring to the 67 inch version).

Just had this TV delivered to my house Monday. I had the TV unboxed (the huge top portion of the box and the protective covering were removed, but the tv remained in the lower base of the packaging) and then inspected the screen before signing off for delivery with a huge flood light. Everything looked perfect.

Fast forward to the next day when I'm setting up the TV with it finally situated on my TV stand and I notice the the screen near the frame (is that what's called a "bezel"?) is somewhat "off" on the top right hand side and again on the middle right hand side. When the TV is turned on their is *no visible problems* (at least from my viewing distance), but when the tv is turned off and when you look up close a *very small* portion of the screen looks white around those problem areas. I should also note that when applying pressure to the frame/bezel, it will move slightly and creek.

My question is: Nothing to worry about or something to worry about?
newcoke is offline  
post #4517 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 03:01 AM
Member
 
dubson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The link for the 61 is not working for me. Could you please help me out?

And could you also please tell me in a post what the most current firmware is?

Thank you in advance.
dubson is offline  
post #4518 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 03:29 AM
Newbie
 
pwrloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubson View Post

Could someone please be so kind as to inform me of what the most current firmware is?

Thank you in advance.

As of 5:28am CT 03-Dec-08 the Firmware is 1005.3
pwrloon is offline  
post #4519 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 04:21 AM
Member
 
mayhem69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffGrimes View Post

OK, I'll bite since I started it

I'd say your ~30" from a$$ to eyes/ears. Add this to the 10" (14"-4") above the floor, and you get 40".

The Center of the TV (61") is ~22.5".

40"-22.5" = 17.5"

Your stand needs to be approximately 17.5"


Cheers!

thanks Jeff, i realized i could of figured this out after the post if i looked at the drawing on the front page. Sorry for being a knucklehead.
mayhem69 is offline  
post #4520 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwrloon View Post

As of 5:28am CT 03-Dec-08 the Firmware is 1005.3

The current is 1006.1... as of the mid part of the year. 06/01/08

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #4521 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem69 View Post

thanks Jeff, i realized i could of figured this out after the post if i looked at the drawing on the front page. Sorry for being a knucklehead.

It seems that any 16" to 20" stand will work, just be carefull with getting one too tall unless you can remove the castors or cut the legs. I had to slightly tilt the TV forward with a couple pieces of cardboard about 3 degrees (we seat 7 feet from the 61" TV) once settled in place. I tend to recline more as my wife does not. This allows the both of us to watch with excellent picture quality.

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #4522 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
JeffGrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem69 View Post

thanks Jeff, i realized i could of figured this out after the post if i looked at the drawing on the front page. Sorry for being a knucklehead.

Your not a knucklehead...I was having a "day"

My bad!

Jeff Grimes

HT Enthusiast
JeffGrimes is offline  
post #4523 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 07:21 AM
Member
 
Billy341's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Union Hill, Alabama
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
newcoke, I can't answer your question as I'm still waiting for my 61" 750 to be delivered, but I'm curious to know if the box was damaged or if there were any signs of abuse to the box? Did the box have a tilt meter on it? The company I bought mine from says if I sign off on the TV without noting any damage to the box, then I can't claim concealed damage later. I'm a little concerned about that because the Samsung warranty only covers manufacturers defects, not shipping damage.

Thanks,
Billy
Billy341 is offline  
post #4524 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
smartmath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newcoke View Post

(Editor's Note. This is my first HDTV and I'm referring to the 67 inch version).

Just had this TV delivered to my house Monday. I had the TV unboxed (the huge top portion of the box and the protective covering were removed, but the tv remained in the lower base of the packaging) and then inspected the screen before signing off for delivery with a huge flood light. Everything looked perfect.

Fast forward to the next day when I'm setting up the TV with it finally situated on my TV stand and I notice the the screen near the frame (is that what's called a "bezel"?) is somewhat "off" on the top right hand side and again on the middle right hand side. When the TV is turned on their is *no visible problems* (at least from my viewing distance), but when the tv is turned off and when you look up close a *very small* portion of the screen looks white around those problem areas. I should also note that when applying pressure to the frame/bezel, it will move slightly and creek.

My question is: Nothing to worry about or something to worry about?


I got my 67" last saturday. What I didn't like is that they got it out of the truck and carry it inside with the TV box on one of it's side. (Is that a normal shipping procedure for such a big TV???)

But the TV looked fine so I signed up the delivery paper. Image is looking fine too.

I did notice that my top right corner will move/creek when I apply pressure to it. It's reconforting to see I'm not the only one but wondering if that could be a result of the shipping?

Anyone else have noticed that?
smartmath is offline  
post #4525 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 08:13 AM
Member
 
mayhem69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody here have any experience with the Mack warranty? Not sure if i should buy the Samsung 3yr. in home for $149.99 or go with Mack for a little cheaper. Say something major does go wrong, would i have to take it to get serviced with the Mack? Or being this TV is so big will they work on it in my house? Any of you owners have any major issues yet with the chip or LED?

For those of you who are ready to pull the trigger on this TV, i highly recommend getting a Chase Freedom Visa Signature card for 1 full yr. warranty for free plus 3% cash back. That's 1yr. Samsung manu. warranty + another 1 yr. for free! They also have 3 and 5 yr. warrantys for dirt cheap, cheaper than anyone.
check this out : http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthr...lertmsgfinal=1
mayhem69 is offline  
post #4526 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by smartmath View Post

I got my 67" last saturday. What I didn't like is that they got it out of the truck and carry it inside with the TV box on one of it's side. (Is that a normal shipping procedure for such a big TV???)

But the TV looked fine so I signed up the delivery paper. Image is looking fine too.

I did notice that my top right corner will move/creek when I apply pressure to it. It's reconforting to see I'm not the only one but wondering if that could be a result of the shipping?

Anyone else have noticed that?

FWIW: I have the 61' version, and I can apply a little fore and aft pressure on the upper left or right corner of the bezel and it does move and creak while doing so. I have used this technique to fix a minor tilt problem with the bottom horizontal alignment of my display. I think what you're seeing and hearing is normal for these sets.

When in doubt, do the right thing.
Sgooter is offline  
post #4527 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Member
 
steve1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickRS View Post

Steve,

When you say you switch sources, do you mean switch from the DVR settop box input to a DVD input, or a game machine input (meaning switch the source input selected for the TV)? Or do you mean when you go from watching a recording on the DVR to watching a Comcast channel live (switching what Comcast settop box is displaying)?

Unrelated,
My words earlier:

Vanns must has found some extras in the warehouse pretty quickly, they are now reporting in-stock on the 61A750.

Yes to both
steve1214 is offline  
post #4528 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 09:05 AM
Member
 
pujaap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did you get $200 off using live.com, I tried and no where it's saying $price - $200 cashback, please help us

Thanks.
pujaap is offline  
post #4529 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
empcesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can go here and it will explain everything to you. I've used live.com 3 times now! Big savings

http://livingafrugallife.blogspot.co...ough-msft.html
empcesar is offline  
post #4530 of 15730 Old 12-03-2008, 09:25 AM
Member
 
mayhem69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pujaap View Post

How did you get $200 off using live.com, I tried and no where it's saying $price - $200 cashback, please help us

Thanks.

go to live.com and open an acct. with your e-mail and password
then search for example (DLP TV), at the top you will see e-bay ad with microsoft cashback. Click on that ad, and it will take you to ebay. You are good to go if you are on ebay and see the microsoft cashback logo at top of page. YOU NEED A PAYPAL ACCT. TO DO THIS ALSO. $200 max. cashback allowed on single purchase.
check out this thread, everything you need to know.
http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthr...9735&t=1044322
mayhem69 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off