2008 Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP owners thread and FAQ - Page 235 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7021 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Empyrials's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy_winds View Post

Vanns New Low price $1,449.88

shipped? vann's website says $1729
Empyrials is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7022 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:05 AM
Member
 
evansto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

That's too bad. My set is being delivered Monday. I've been worrying about this happening to me, so reading your post doesn't help matters. How do you check the geometry with a USB key? Do just download the pattern to the drive and then use the Wiselink USB plug? Where did you download the pattern from? You could order one from Amazon and see if you have better luck.

Amazon has it for $1349 including shipping.
evansto is offline  
post #7023 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RaceTripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Empyrials View Post

shipped? vann's website says $1729

He is referring to the 61"

Clearaudio Ovation/Magnify/Concerto v2; Herron Audio VTPH-2
Naim Audio ND5XS/NAC282/HC/NAP250-2; Dynaudio S3.4e2; REL R-328
RaceTripper is offline  
post #7024 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Empyrials's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceTripper View Post

He is referring to the 61"

o, cause he quoted someone speaking about the 67" not the 61" so he confused the hell out of me
Empyrials is offline  
post #7025 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy_winds View Post

Vanns New Low price $1,449.88 for the 61"
$1,729.98 for the 67"

I did make a Mt

My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
post #7026 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Khiyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khiyal View Post

!!! Just got off the phone with a Conn's store. They told me that they do not ship the 61" DLP I will have to pick it up from one of their stores. Now NY to TX is a bit too far so I don't get to take advantage of the $999 deal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khiyal View Post

UPDATE: I called a different store and they said that they can hold for a shipping company like fedex or ups to pickup. I checked the rates, and they are not worth it: $400+

Anyone here have experience in any other shipping company that they may have used?

No one here has experience in this kind of shipping?

I have tried other freight companies, but still shipping is at around $400. I am thinking of going the big river route now.
Khiyal is offline  
post #7027 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Ruhnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Big D
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am one of those people that are extremely sensitive to RBE on DLPs, and was rather hesitant to buy this TV. I spent quite a bit of time watching it in 2 different stores, and didn't see a single rainbow. After getting it home, after watching for 2 days I started to notice them.

So I played with my settings to try and diminish the effect, like others have suggested. I've read several people mention that trying a lower contrast or LED brightness would help. I am here to report that the exact opposite is true, unfortunately. I tried lee bailey's settings, and suddenly all I could see was rainbows, it was truly horrifying. After watching several hours of it last night, I was seriously considering just returning the TV.

Today I tried some things though, and found that setting the LED back to Auto made things much, much better. Going to give it a test over the next few days, but I'm hoping it's good enough that I can live with it. I think I will always see rainbows in dark or fast-moving scenes. Unfortunately I can't afford a flat-panel at this size, so it's either live with RBE or use a dinosaur RPTV that looks terrible. Somebody hold me
Ruhnie is offline  
post #7028 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Khiyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Khiyal is offline  
post #7029 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:30 AM
Member
 
gsnethen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruhnie View Post

I am one of those people that are extremely sensitive to RBE on DLPs, and was rather hesitant to buy this TV. I spent quite a bit of time watching it in 2 different stores, and didn't see a single rainbow. After getting it home, after watching for 2 days I started to notice them.

Thanks for this info. I'm also sensitive to the rainbow effect, and I also couldn't reproduce it in the stores, and I ordered a 67" a few days ago.

I'll report back any experience I have with rainbows.
gsnethen is offline  
post #7030 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:37 AM
Member
 
R4M0N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruhnie View Post

I am one of those people that are extremely sensitive to RBE on DLPs, and was rather hesitant to buy this TV. I spent quite a bit of time watching it in 2 different stores, and didn't see a single rainbow. After getting it home, after watching for 2 days I started to notice them.

So I played with my settings to try and diminish the effect, like others have suggested. I've read several people mention that trying a lower contrast or LED brightness would help. I am here to report that the exact opposite is true, unfortunately. I tried lee bailey's settings, and suddenly all I could see was rainbows, it was truly horrifying. After watching several hours of it last night, I was seriously considering just returning the TV.

Today I tried some things though, and found that setting the LED back to Auto made things much, much better. Going to give it a test over the next few days, but I'm hoping it's good enough that I can live with it. I think I will always see rainbows in dark or fast-moving scenes. Unfortunately I can't afford a flat-panel at this size, so it's either live with RBE or use a dinosaur RPTV that looks terrible. Somebody hold me


I think you're eating too much Skittles. That's why all you could see was Rainbows
R4M0N is offline  
post #7031 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:39 AM
Member
 
R4M0N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khiyal View Post

$1199 61" from http://www.shopdigitalonline.com/pro...productid=2640

Plus $230 (for the cheapest shipping) for a total of $1429
R4M0N is offline  
post #7032 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

Amen. And even if I had such problems, I'll get Samsung to send a tech and fix it rather than lose out on this DLP for $1170 !!

I wouldn't be confident that the service facility would be able to correct it properly. At some point they usually tell you that the set is operating within the manufacturer's acceptable range and then you're stuck with it. Also, if I buy something new and it doesn't work properly out of the box it's defective and that's not what I paid for. To me having something brand new repaired is not acceptable. Other people obviously feel different.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #7033 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Khiyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. Didn't see the shipping.

I also see that Amazon has started charging tax, which was not the case, IIRC. i have been buying books, etc from them for quite a while now. For their price of the 61" and free shipping, the total comes to around $1463...
Khiyal is offline  
post #7034 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
dsnow0819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
... and I promise I'm usually more knowledgeable than this, but here it goes.

I bought the 61' from Crutchfield and got it last night. Hooked up my Sony s350 with a hdmi cable and popped in the Hancock bluray from Netflix.

The TV and bluray player both say it is only putting out 720p. I can't figure it out. I'm sure its a simple answer, but I'm lost. Thanks for the help.
dsnow0819 is offline  
post #7035 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:48 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

I wouldn't be confident that the service facility would be able to correct it properly. At some point they usually tell you that the set is operating within the manufacturer's acceptable range and then you're stuck with it. Also, if I buy something new and it doesn't work properly out of the box it's defective and that's not what I paid for. To me having something brand new repaired is not acceptable. Other people obviously feel different.

I believe that we were referring to more serious issues though. Those will not be within Samsung's acceptable range.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #7036 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:48 AM
Member
 
R4M0N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon is charging tax everywhere now? Or is still just to NY?
R4M0N is offline  
post #7037 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 11:51 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnow0819 View Post

... and I promise I'm usually more knowledgeable than this, but here it goes.

I bought the 61' from Crutchfield and got it last night. Hooked up my Sony s350 with a hdmi cable and popped in the Hancock bluray from Netflix.

The TV and bluray player both say it is only putting out 720p. I can't figure it out. I'm sure its a simple answer, but I'm lost. Thanks for the help.

You just need to adjust a setting on the BD player itself.

In the video settings you need to change the resolution option to either auto or 1080p. That should fix it as long as you are watching something which is actually 1080p. Let me know if it doesn't...
jrcorwin is offline  
post #7038 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
dsnow0819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcorwin View Post

You just need to adjust a setting on the BD player itself.

In the video settings you need to change the resolution option to either auto or 1080p. That should fix it as long as you are watching something which is actually 1080p. Let me know if it doesn't...

Thanks for the reply. I checked the video setting on the bluray and it was set to auto, but I'll try again when I get home.

The TV is freaking awesome though.
dsnow0819 is offline  
post #7039 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:05 PM
Member
 
gsnethen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4M0N View Post

Amazon is charging tax everywhere now? Or is still just to NY?

I bought mine three days ago from Amazon and there was no tax (shipped to California).

Are you sure it's Amazon and not a third-party business like Vanns.com, etc.? Amazon will switch vendors on you sometimes. You need to pay attention to who it ships from.
gsnethen is offline  
post #7040 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
TetsujinWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khiyal View Post

$1199 61" from http://www.shopdigitalonline.com/pro...productid=2640

I wouldn't touch them with a ten-foot pole. Read some of their reviews from Pricegrabber:

http://reviews.pricegrabber.com/shop...-online/r/804/
TetsujinWave is offline  
post #7041 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:07 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnow0819 View Post

Thanks for the reply. I checked the video setting on the bluray and it was set to auto, but I'll try again when I get home.

The TV is freaking awesome though.

What were you playing in it? If the disc is 720p then that is what it will display. If it was a 1080p disc...this setting might be causing the problem.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #7042 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roger Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lake Worth, FL USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsnethen View Post

I bought mine three days ago from Amazon and there was no tax (shipped to California).

Are you sure it's Amazon and not a third-party business like Vanns.com, etc.? Amazon will switch vendors on you sometimes. You need to pay attention to who it ships from.

Amazon just started charging tax in New York. If they sell you the item through a third party vendor, then tax depends on if that vendor has a business entity in your state.

http://gizmodo.com/379090/no-more-ta...mazon-tax-bill

http://www.webpronews.com/topnews/20...-york-tax-suit

Roger Clark is offline  
post #7043 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Khiyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While this is way off topic, here is something that indicates a way to go around the NY Amazon tax http://www.tax.state.ny.us/pdf/memos/sales/m08_3_1s.pdf
Khiyal is offline  
post #7044 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
dsnow0819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought all blu ray discs were 1080p

It was a blu ray of Hancock from Netflix
dsnow0819 is offline  
post #7045 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:00 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnow0819 View Post

I thought all blu ray discs were 1080p

It was a blu ray of Hancock from Netflix

Most are, but not all of them. Some are 1080i. Hancock is 1080p however. The Sony 350 isn't sending a 1080p source to the TV for some reason. More than likely you just need to change a setting. Let me know if you get it figured out.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #7046 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnow0819 View Post

...The TV and bluray player both say it is only putting out 720p. I can't figure it out. I'm sure its a simple answer, but I'm lost. Thanks for the help.

I also have a 350. On the 350 remote, press the Home button, then select Easy Setup, then make sure you have everything set correctly including Resolution which you should set to 1080P.

Mickey
MickeyGee is offline  
post #7047 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4M0N View Post

Amazon is charging tax everywhere now? Or is still just to NY?

According to Amazon's website:

"Items sold by Amazon.com LLC, or its subsidiaries, and shipped to destinations in the states of Kansas, Kentucky, New York, North Dakota, or Washington are subject to tax."

Mickey
MickeyGee is offline  
post #7048 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:29 PM
Member
 
cdoosc21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Generally, internet retailers are not required to remit sales taxes unless they have a physical presence in the state. The states other than NY in which Amazon remits tax presumably have a physical Amazon presence, such as warehouses, etc.

Given the horrific budget situation that NY is in, they recently passed a law that says Amazon has physical presence in NY because some of its partners, which sell products on Amazon, have a presence.

This is a blatant money grab by NY and is being contested by Amazon in the courts. They hope to win the court case and claim refunds for the sales taxes remitted.

Technically, in all states with a sales tax, you are required to remit use tax if you bring in a product on which you have not paid sales tax. Generally this tax is self-reported on the state individual income tax. As may be guessed, levels of compliance with this requirement are low.

As a result, several states have talked about requesting sales records from large online retailers to try to catch people with large unreported use tax liabilities. This is a pretty low risk for people as the total amount of use tax per consumer is generally low. For example, purchasing a $1500 television from Amazon and having it shipped to a state with a 6% sales tax would give rise to a $90 use tax liability. It would cost a state most of that to track down the individual.
cdoosc21 is offline  
post #7049 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:33 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of us here paid a lot more than those of you who have purchased in the last couple of weeks...sales tax or not.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #7050 of 15718 Old 01-23-2009, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Drew888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Orange County, SoCal
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know where to start. I have just gotten the wifes ok to spend 3k to replace my S series Hitachi.

Are these Samsungs still the best? I'm interested in the larger displays (60" +).

Thanks!

Drew

Soon...pic of my measly setup
Drew888 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off