2008 Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP owners thread and FAQ - Page 318 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9511 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Clark View Post

Lee, you should paste this post into your linked post so all the info is in one place. Perhaps you could compile all you have into a word doc and send it to Guy: http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/

I bet he'd set it up on his site.

I can set it up on my site as well. As time allows. For some reason, my wife wants to see her husband once in a while.
Lee Bailey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9512 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lando622 View Post

For your 880, you might be able to find a code that turns the speakers off vice muting to do the same thing without the icon. I don't recall if the "Speaker Off" function resides in the customization options for the harmony software, but if it does, you can then put it to one of your custom buttons for the Watch TV activity as needed.

We use our AVR full-time, so I have the TV speakers turned off.

Thanks, lando! I'll dig into the settings and report back with what I find.

This is the first TV I have owned that the mute icon doesn't disappear...
jayoldschool is offline  
post #9513 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 08:41 AM
Member
 
labnpei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: south burbs of windy city
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys, gonna pull the trigger today on the 61" if abt can price match for me. called my mastercard and they do give you an extra 12 months warranty so that will give me 2 years and 3 months-if i register it online with samsung. i want to use abt as they are here in illinois and will deliver it and if i have a problem will be easy to deal with. they also have a good reputation-a little afraid as i have a samsung 4676 that i am having trouble with but its this or a mitsubishi-no other choices in this size range anymore that are affordable. my eyes hurt from all of the reading but i appreciate all of your info and expertise. i'll let ya know what abt says
labnpei is offline  
post #9514 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Thanks, lando! I'll dig into the settings and report back with what I find.

This is the first TV I have owned that the mute icon doesn't disappear...

You can turn the internal speakers off simply by going into the speaker settings panel on the TV when you hit MENU. There is a global option there to turn them off. Though when you go in and out of the service menu, the speakers are turned back on again.

Wash, Rinse, Repeat as necessary...
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #9515 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 08:47 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Bailey View Post

You can turn the internal speakers off simply by going into the speaker settings panel on the TV when you hit MENU. There is a global option there to turn them off. Though when you go in and out of the service menu, the speakers are turned back on again.

Wash, Rinse, Repeat as necessary...

If I remember correctly...I believe he still wants to use the TV speakers at times rather than the AV receiver full time. I think it would be too much of a hassle personally. I think most of us use our AV receivers full time for that very reason.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #9516 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by syncmaster View Post

has anyone run the free download dvd from tvblink.com ?
http://www.tvblink.com/i_down.html

I am wondering if it worth the time needed to
download unzip and burn dvd.

I gave it a quick try out... I like it better than the Calibration DVD I bought 8 years ago.

Since I performed a quick walk through... I found only one issue (I guess LED DLP is darn near perfect), that was not much of an issue since it is normal for progressive scan and frame extrapolation. I think I could let my BD player push 1080p and give it another try. But it does not seem worth it to me as the TV does the 1080p conversion very well on its own, and I don't think the BD player is going to make the difference on DVDs.

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #9517 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
gmb2428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgbdp54 View Post

How are you checking your rebate status on http://www.checkmyrebate.com/Status.asp the page never loads for me and google suggests they went bankrupt. How can I verify the status of my rebate?



its loading for me ok, im still pending final audit as well. Were did u see they went bankrupt?



Idid a search and didnt see anything about a bankruptsy, but from what im seeing in this link, we might be in for a long wait if we get anything at all!!!

http://www.complaints.com/2007/augus...ARS_148119.htm
gmb2428 is offline  
post #9518 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgbdp54 View Post

How are you checking your rebate status on http://www.checkmyrebate.com/Status.asp the page never loads for me and google suggests they went bankrupt. How can I verify the status of my rebate?

Still loads for me.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #9519 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Ranger42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^ the rebate link works fine for me as well. I was getting really worried about my rebate. I mailed it on Feb 9 and it finally showed up in their system as received on Feb 26 (17 days after it was mailed). I wonder how they are going to define "received by Feb 28" for the purposes of this rebate. I have received thousands of dollars in rebates over the years and make it a point to make sure I get every one back. I would hate to have my streak ended by a large $200 one like this. I'm not real confident in my ability to fight them should they decide to not pay out. I have already tried twice to contact them regarding my rebate (using their online form) and got no response at all. There is no phone number on the rebate form either.
Ranger42 is offline  
post #9520 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 10:00 AM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'd like to hear some other opinions: if anyone feels like, turn off your cca in the service menu and adjust as normal..and tell me waht you think? i've been debating which settings are best and so far with the cca on i seem to lose a lot of depth to my color, even after doing the lee settings...especially with yellow...
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #9521 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Ranger42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger42 View Post

^^ the rebate link works fine for me as well. I was getting really worried about my rebate. I mailed it on Feb 9 and it finally showed up in their system as received on Feb 26 (17 days after it was mailed). I wonder how they are going to define "received by Feb 28" for the purposes of this rebate. I have received thousands of dollars in rebates over the years and make it a point to make sure I get every one back. I would hate to have my streak ended by a large $200 one like this. I'm not real confident in my ability to fight them should they decide to not pay out. I have already tried twice to contact them regarding my rebate (using their online form) and got no response at all. There is no phone number on the rebate form either.

I found this info on the net. Not sure if it's accurate. YMMV.

Tristar Fulfillment Services
204 Center Square Road
Bridgeport, NJ 08014
www.checkmyrebate.com
856-467-4400
Ranger42 is offline  
post #9522 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 10:15 AM
Member
 
alvindd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to know more about the SB Gain, factory default at zero for me.

What could I use to test (maybe a pattern or picture), to adjust this value.

Is this setting just a preference one?
alvindd is offline  
post #9523 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Bailey View Post

The answer to the Aperture fix is no, it will not fix that. Apparently a bug on the older DLPs as well.

So, then there is no aperture fix, at least not one that survives exiting the service menu? Am I missing something?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #9524 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post

So, then there is no aperture fix, at least not one that survives exiting the service menu? Am I missing something?

Correct, it does not survive after a exiting the service menu, and power cycling the TV.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #9525 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
tgbdp54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmb2428 View Post

its loading for me ok, im still pending final audit as well. Were did u see they went bankrupt?



Idid a search and didnt see anything about a bankruptsy, but from what im seeing in this link, we might be in for a long wait if we get anything at all!!!

http://www.complaints.com/2007/augus...ARS_148119.htm

Looks like other rebate companies went bankrupt, not checkmyrebate. The link still does not work for me, but must be something with my machine or firewall or something as it's obviously working for others.

Thanks for verifying.
tgbdp54 is offline  
post #9526 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:18 AM
Member
 
phx2axm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

Still loads for me.

The phone number is 800-635-8478. When you call the automated greeting says, "Thank you for calling the Samsung rebate and merchandise center....".
phx2axm is offline  
post #9527 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody had stated this and I tested with the option set to OFF.

It pretty much makes the TV into a monitor... basic on the adjustability.

Since Digital inputs are direct, I tested with the image DVD I recently created and the test DVD ISO file for testing. I compaired with my 17" laptop and 22" Samsung LCD displays and found that as long as you use digital information, the color reproduction is pretty good.

though I have Lee's calibration settings, and my own user settings... CCA set to OFF works pretty good, as for Lee's settings works only for Lee's TV and is just a starter for getting your tv better than OEM.

Will see how things look after I get use to the new picture.

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #9528 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


we might be in for a long wait if we get anything at all!!!


My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
post #9529 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:49 AM
Member
 
labnpei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: south burbs of windy city
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can i bother one of you guys to measure the footprint on the 61"? i want to see if i can wait to find a nice stand for this tv, or do i have to buy the matching stand when i order it. i tried finding this info but couldn't find it anywhere on here or on the samsung site. thanks
labnpei is offline  
post #9530 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roger Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lake Worth, FL USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by labnpei View Post

can i bother one of you guys to measure the footprint on the 61"? i want to see if i can wait to find a nice stand for this tv, or do i have to buy the matching stand when i order it. i tried finding this info but couldn't find it anywhere on here or on the samsung site. thanks

Have you read the first post in this thread?

Roger Clark is offline  
post #9531 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:53 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by labnpei View Post

can i bother one of you guys to measure the footprint on the 61"? i want to see if i can wait to find a nice stand for this tv, or do i have to buy the matching stand when i order it. i tried finding this info but couldn't find it anywhere on here or on the samsung site. thanks

There is a diagram in the first post of this thread. It should have the info you want.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #9532 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:55 AM
Member
 
labnpei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: south burbs of windy city
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry, missed that info-thanks!
labnpei is offline  
post #9533 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 11:57 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by labnpei View Post

sorry, missed that info-thanks!

Rookie mistake...no big deal. Good luck.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #9534 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thought I'd sit down and write up a little bit of information about the CCA in use on these sets.

This may be more information than some would want, but it should get you some insight on what takes place when calibrating this TV.

Getting into the Samsung HL6XA750 CCA

Thanks go to the users who started this thread in the Calibration Forum:
Samsung Service Menu Calibration Guide


The CCA on the Samsung units is a Color Management System (CMS). Using special calculations, Data is input, and the CCA code creates colors and Grayscale tracking. This CCA also allows further tweaking of the color gamut for its Wide, Normal, and sRGB(studio RGB) settings independently, as well as changing the default grayscale tracking.

I'm going to go over a few of the areas that I used for adjusting my CCA. Here's the menu items. I've added remarks for some additional information.

Item Range Default Remark
CCA Control On/Off On CCA On/Off Selection
Sensor Status OK/NG OK Color Sensor value save
Red-x 0.000~0.999 703 Red-x measurement value using CA210
Red-y 0.000~0.999 292 Red-y measurement value using CA210
Red-Y (0~65535) 80 Red-Y measurement value using CA210
Green-x 0.000~0.999 173 Green-x measurement value using CA210
Green-y 0.000~0.999 731 Green-y measurement value using CA210
Green-Y (0~65535) 300 Green-Y measurement value using CA210
Blue-x 0.000~0.999 146 Blue-x measurement value using CA210
Blue-y 0.000~0.999 31 Blue-y measurement value using CA210
Blue-Y (0~65535) 25 Blue-Y measurement value using CA210
Color Sensor Save OK
WB Spread OK -
(COOL2)DW-x 0.000~0.999 264 14019K, Default COOL2 Color Temp
(COOL2)DW-y 0.000~0.999 267 Using other than Movie Mode
(COOL1)DW-x 0.000~0.999 269 12392K, Default COOL1 Color Temp
(COOL1)DW-y 0.000~0.999 274 Using other than Movie Mode
(NORMAL)DW-x 0.000~0.999 276 10799K, Default NORMAL Color Temp
(NORMAL)DW-y 0.000~0.999 282 Using other than Movie Mode
(WARM1)DW-x 0.000~0.999 285 9240K, Default WARM1 Color Temp
(WARM1)DW-y 0.000~0.999 293 Using other than Movie Mode
(WARM2)DW-x 0.000~0.999 300 7523K, Default WARM2 Color Temp
(WARM2)DW-y 0.000~0.999 310 Using other than Movie Mode

CCA Control - Toggles the CCA on and off, turn it off and enter your settings, turn it back on to recalc with your new input.

RED-x,y,Y Green-x,y,Y, Blue-x,y,Y This is the measured data from the test patterns in the DDP3021 menu. You'll notice the remarks about a CA210. That is a Konica-Minolta CA210 Display Color Analyzer. I could buy 2 small Hyundai's for the price of this unit. I would suspect that these readings should be different for every A750 unit made, if the plant used this analyzer and inserted the readings during manufacturing.

Color Sensor Save - Use this after updating the RGB raw readings.

WB Spread - Copies the WB settings across all inputs. You do want to use this one. You can then tailor the other inputs as needed, and NOT perform a WB Spread.

DW-x and DW-y for COOL1+2 NORMAL, WARM1+2 The settings for Grayscale(COLOR TONE in the user menus) temps for use in the Standard or Dynamic TV Modes. I added what Grayscale temperature those values would default to. The Movie mode values are kept in the Cinema CCA menu.

After the initial raw numbers are calculated, you would normally exit the service menu and check your grayscale and gamut. To make adjustments, you're going to return to the service menu. I started with getting the gamut set first, then go after the grayscale. You may have to go back and forth between the two until everything looks right.

So, now you've got your initial readings from your calibration, time to adjust those Gamut Primaries and Secondaries.

This is where the Desaturation Menu comes into play.

ITEM RANGE DEFAULT
Desaturation Control ON/OFF ON
Desaturation Mode Normal/Wide/RGB 0 (Normal)
(NORMAL) Red-x 0 - 1000 660
(NORMAL) Red-y 0 - 1000 315
(NORMAL) Green-x 0 - 1000 260
(NORMAL) Green-y 0 - 1000 640
(NORMAL) Blue-x 0 - 1000 150
(NORMAL) Blue-y 0 - 1000 50
(NORMAL) Cyan-x 0 - 1000 179
(NORMAL) Cyan-y 0 - 1000 293
(NORMAL) Magenta-x 0 - 1000 263
(NORMAL) Magenta-y 0 - 1000 108
(NORMAL) Yellow-x 0 - 1000 412
(NORMAL) Yellow-y 0 - 1000 518
(WIDE) Red-x 0 - 1000 680
(WIDE) Red-y 0 - 1000 305
(WIDE) Green-x 0 - 1000 165
(WIDE) Green-y 0 - 1000 700
(WIDE) Blue-x 0 - 1000 150
(WIDE) Blue-y 0 - 1000 38
(WIDE) Cyan-x 0 - 1000 163
(WIDE) Cyan-y 0 - 1000 293
(WIDE) Magenta-x 0 - 1000 265
(WIDE) Magenta-y 0 - 1000 95
(WIDE) Yellow-x 0 - 1000 413
(WIDE) Yellow-y 0 - 1000 520
(sRGB) Red-x 0 - 1000 640
(sRGB) Red-y 0 - 1000 330
(sRGB) Green-x 0 - 1000 295
(sRGB) Green-y 0 - 1000 595
(sRGB) Blue-x 0 - 1000 150
(sRGB) Blue-y 0 - 1000 60
(sRGB) Blue-y 0 - 1000 225
(sRGB) Cyan-y 0 - 1000 390
(sRGB) Magenta-x 0 - 1000 365
(sRGB) Magenta-y 0 - 1000 170
(sRGB) Yellow-x 0 - 1000 422
(sRGB) Yellow-y 0 - 1000 494

Desaturation Control - Just like it says, turns it on or off. Toggle this off, enter all your new settings, toggle it back on again to use them.
Desaturation Mode - What Color Gamut setting you're using for viewing. When you toggle through the modes, this will set the gamut in the service menu as well(you'll notice the effect immediately). For those of you who want to take readings while still in the service menu, you need to set this for the gamut you are adjusting. Though I have found the measurements are more accurate when you are not in the service menu.
(NORMAL),(WIDE),(sRBG)-RGBCMY - These are where you enter your readings for the Gamut you are trying to adjust.


Grayscale Target White settings (for Movie Mode)

Cinema CCA menu
Item Range Default Remark Default Color Temp
(COOL2) DWhite x 0 ~ 32766 269 Target Grayscale x value for COOL2 12291K
(COOL2) DWhite y 0 ~ 32766 274 Target Grayscale y value for COOL2
(COOL1) DWhite x 0 ~ 32766 276 Target Grayscale x value for COOL1 10799K
(COOL1) DWhite y 0 ~ 32766 282 Target Grayscale y value for COOL1
(NORMAL) DWhite x 0 ~ 32766 285 Target Grayscale x value for NORMAL 9240K
(NORMAL) DWhite y 0 ~ 32766 293 Target Grayscale y value for NORMAL
(WARM1) DWhite x 0 ~ 32766 300 Target Grayscale x value for WARM1 7523K
(WARM1) DWhite y 0 ~ 32766 310 Target Grayscale y value for WARM1
(WARM2) DWhite x 0 ~ 32766 313 Target Grayscale x value for WARM2 6487K
(WARM2) DWhite y 0 ~ 32766 329 Target Grayscale y value for WARM2

You can see where the default settings in Movie mode are closer to the 9300K for Normal, and 6500K for WARM2.
You'll also notice that the Remarks in the SM are incorrect, these are NOT Gamut Targets, they are GRAYSCALE TEMP targets!

What you ask??? What number do I decide to use here from my grayscale readings? Well, 50%-60% stim would work, or maybe an average of 30%, 60% and 90%. Either way, after updating these, you'll need to go back and take, yes, MORE readings!

If you find that your grayscale still isn't where you want it, but the Gamut looks good, we'll use the WB menu.

WB (White Balance)
Item Range Default Remark
Sub Brightness 0~255 128
R-Offset 0~1023 512 RED CUT
G-Offset 0~1023 512 GREEN CUT
B-Offset 0~1023 512 BLUE CUT
Sub Contrast 0~ 255 128
R-Gain 0~1023 512 RED DRIVE
G-Gain 0~1023 512 GREEN DRIVE
B-Gain 0~1023 512 BLUE DRIVE

Here you will change the cuts and gains as needed to tweak the grayscale further. I do not know if this is a GLOBAL change for all Color Temps, though it does work for Warm2.

I think it's time to order more Spam!
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #9535 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 12:14 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for all the hard work Lee.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #9536 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
usace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NE Columbia, SC
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lee, great info there. I wish I had it a few months ago when I first started calibrating my display. I'm using an EyeOne LT and Color HCFR to calibrate, and have been using the same steps you report here. I'd be curious to see what my service menu settings are compared to what you have, although I do own the 67" model. If I can find the time then I may tabulate them and post them.

I do have one question, though. It's in regards to the Y value (luminance I believe it's referred to) for each of the primary colors. After turning CCA off to take raw color x, y, & Y readings and entering these, there is no location to tweak Y values. You can dial in the x and y values pretty acurately in the Desaturation menu, but there's no adjustment I've found for Y. The calibration for dummies tutorial suggests adjusting the Color control to adjust the Y value of red to 21% of white Y. Can you comment on how you handle this in your calibration process?

Thanks!
usace is offline  
post #9537 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by usace View Post


I do have one question, though. It's in regards to the Y value (luminance I believe it's referred to) for each of the primary colors. After turning CCA off to take raw color x, y, & Y readings and entering these, there is no location to tweak Y values. You can dial in the x and y values pretty acurately in the Desaturation menu, but there's no adjustment I've found for Y. The calibration for dummies tutorial suggests adjusting the Color control to adjust the Y value of red to 21% of white Y. Can you comment on how you handle this in your calibration process?

Thanks!

My settings are in one of the links in my signature.

As for the RED Y value, I'm looking into that. I've had to adjust it as best as I can in the Desaturation Menu. I'm not going to tone down the other colors to correct the RED.

There is no direct setting for it anywhere but the initial CCA menu area. I suspect that I can slowly adjust down that Y reading, and if the CCA accepts it, I can see what it does to the RED Y when I measure it, plus what else it will affect in the Gamut.

It won't hurt to try it.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #9538 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 01:06 PM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Tech View Post

Somebody had stated this and I tested with the option set to OFF.

It pretty much makes the TV into a monitor... basic on the adjustability.

Since Digital inputs are direct, I tested with the image DVD I recently created and the test DVD ISO file for testing. I compaired with my 17" laptop and 22" Samsung LCD displays and found that as long as you use digital information, the color reproduction is pretty good.

though I have Lee's calibration settings, and my own user settings... CCA set to OFF works pretty good, as for Lee's settings works only for Lee's TV and is just a starter for getting your tv better than OEM.

Will see how things look after I get use to the new picture.

so you've tried this?..did you notice the colors are dead on using movie, gamma -2 and warm 1....my green, blue and red all match up perfectly and while watching movies, the color are vivid, lively, and highly accurate,...i cant seem to achieve this with cca on
so i lose some adjustments but gain in picture pq
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #9539 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 01:08 PM
Member
 
lando622's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Thanks, lando! I'll dig into the settings and report back with what I find.

This is the first TV I have owned that the mute icon doesn't disappear...

I just looked through the harmony software, and didn't see a "Speaker Off" or "Speaker" customizable button to add.

In the Logitech forums at this link (Click here), there's a quick how-to for accomplishing a potential workaround. Good luck.
lando622 is offline  
post #9540 of 15807 Old 02-27-2009, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
BATman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It d/l's as a JPEG on my PS3. While you can change modes (i.e., Standard, Movie, Dynamic) while viewing photos on a thumb drive connected to the Sammy, you can't adjust user settings. I just posted it for fun--didn't mean to be a PS3 elitist or anything ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmb2428 View Post

I dl'ed it, but it is a BMP image, will the sammy display that? I thought it would only display jpg.

BATman94 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off