2008 Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP owners thread and FAQ - Page 525 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15721 of 15730 Old 08-09-2014, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Replaced DLP chip on Samsung now have Horizonal Line

I replaced my chip on a HL61750A1FXZA . Now I have a 1 1/2 inch horizontal line on bottom of screen. Picture is beautiful no more white dots. What do I need to do? Thanks,Norm

Great Forum!
rocky273 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15722 of 15730 Old 08-10-2014, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cosmicvoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western WA, USA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky273 View Post
... Now I have a 1 1/2 inch horizontal line on bottom of screen...What do I need to do?
Adjust the centering:
2008 Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP owners thread and FAQ
cosmicvoid is offline  
post #15723 of 15730 Old 08-16-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Laramie55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All, I'm in the middle of changing my DLP chip on HL61A750 and find that there is NO way to remove the chip from the board. It seems to be a part of the board. Everything I have read thus far indicates a changeable chip but mine appears to be locked in a ceramic housing within the board.
Anyone run into or heard of this design? Any help is much appreciated.
Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 002.jpg (77.0 KB, 14 views)
Laramie55 is offline  
post #15724 of 15730 Old 08-16-2014, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
cosmicvoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western WA, USA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think you have to remove the printed circuit board from the metal shell, and then take the DLP chip out of its socket.

I'm too lazy to actually look up the procedure in the service manual.
cosmicvoid is offline  
post #15725 of 15730 Old 08-16-2014, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Laramie55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicvoid View Post
I think you have to remove the printed circuit board from the metal shell, and then take the DLP chip out of its socket.

I'm too lazy to actually look up the procedure in the service manual.
But you were smart enough to remember, thanks, that was it. They looked inseparable at first glance and none of the "how-to's" mentioned that step. Thanks again! Now for the re-assembly...
Laramie55 is offline  
post #15726 of 15730 Old 08-16-2014, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Laramie55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Done! Not terribly difficult, just a lot of screws. Background doesn't look as dark either- is this due to simple difference in chips?
Well, thanks again.
Laramie55 is offline  
post #15727 of 15730 Old 08-17-2014, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Drew888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Orange County, SoCal
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello all, it's been a long time...

Two questions if you will.

My HL67A750 has worked flawlessly for the past 3+ years now but only yesterday I'm getting the hdcp Dish 890 error on some hd channels. I have the 1005 firmware and a search has only hinted to the hdmi cable. Is that all it is?

I still am enjoying this tv very much. I have 11k hours on it. What maintenance would you consider (cleaning, adj, maybe a calibration-I've been meaning to for years now). I personally am not experienced enough to notice anything beyond the obvious but only considering enjoying it for a few more years.

Soon...pic of my measly setup
Drew888 is offline  
post #15728 of 15730 Old 08-17-2014, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
cosmicvoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western WA, USA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew888 View Post
... hinted to the hdmi cable. Is that all it is?
Could be. Two things to try: 1) a different hdmi cable, and 2) connect to a different hdmi port on the TV.
Quote:
What maintenance would you consider ...
Take off the back and vacuum out the dust, especially open the shell over the LED heatsinks and vacuum any dust. Be gentle and be sure not to get dust in the optics.
cosmicvoid is offline  
post #15729 of 15730 Old 08-24-2014, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I turned my TV on today and the screen is green. When I look at the menu I see Red and Green but no blue. Should I replace the Blue LED? I have heard several people say the RED has gone out but not many mention the blue or green LED. Any advice would be appreciated.
tony95i is offline  
post #15730 of 15730 Old 08-25-2014, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
cosmicvoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western WA, USA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony95i View Post
I turned my TV on today and the screen is green. When I look at the menu I see Red and Green but no blue...
If the blue LED is not working, everything will look yellow-ish (i.e. red + green).

I don't know whether the most common LED failure is red, but I've seen mention of blue being replaced a few times. When you open up the back of the set and pull out the optical chassis, you can test each LED with a 9v battery (assuming you're willing to try your own repair).
cosmicvoid is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off