2008 Samsung HL67A750 LED DLP owners thread - Page 92 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2753 Old 09-19-2014, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
slong115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You can probably just lubricate the fan. I did two of mine in my Samsung HL67A750 while I was in there replacing the DLP chip. I have done this on my desktop PC fans quite a few times and it really helps. It is very easy to do.

There is a Youtube 'how to' video on lubricating a fan but I don't have enough posts to include it. A quick YouTube search will bring up quite a few videos on it.
slong115 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2753 Old 12-08-2014, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
SCWells72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had mine since 2008 and about two weeks ago noticed a white dot just above-right of center. Googled a bit and learned about the DMD chip failure issue. By the time I called Samsung support last Thursday I had three white dots. Over the weekend two more appeared. Samsung authorized a replacement for the DMD chip with me paying only for labor costs (~$200). Actually it's more complicated than that one rep said it was authorized but forgot to give me a service transaction number, and when I called back to get a service transaction number, the next (VERY rude) rep said my TV was not covered. I called back today and escalated just to figure out which was the case and they verified that it's covered for a one-time replacement. The part is ordered and should be installed by the authorized service center soon.

I've also had two of my three HDMI inputs go out. Only HDMI3 works now. The other two show "Mode Not Supported". I'm using HDMI switching on my receiver so it's not a big thing, but I am concerned that the third will go out and I'll either have to pay for more repairs or break down and get another screen.

It's been a good TV and I'm pleased that Samsung is actually covering a significant portion of the repair on a six year old screen, but I am disappointed with what now seems to be three failed components.
SCWells72 is offline  
post #2733 of 2753 Old 12-08-2014, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
larrylwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Section, Al (near Scottsboro)
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since mine had one bad pixtal last month and still only 1 and its at the very edge, I'm not going to order a new one until I start seeing more. The chip cost less than the install.
larrylwill is offline  
post #2734 of 2753 Old 12-10-2014, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
mkivbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis Sytsma View Post
First minor hiccup- Fan #2 is becoming noisy. Tried looking for a part number/replacement fan with no luck. Can anyone point me to the right one?

Thanks
Same here with mine. Lubed the original fan but it still made a little noise. I hooked up a nice 60mm ball bearing pc case fan to it, but it started giving me the fan error message. Looked for a new fan but can't seem to find one.

Can anyone point me to a place I can order a new one from?
mkivbb is offline  
post #2735 of 2753 Old 12-15-2014, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
putox1051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Lake , Michigan
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Send a message via AIM to putox1051 Send a message via Skype™ to putox1051
Unhappy 1st White Dot appeared last Friday, after 6 years of ownership.

Of course, it had to show up nearly dead-center onscreen. Very distracting , to say the least .
Ordered the DMD chip from ShopJimmy, along with an installation kit.
Will tackle it this week. Wish me luck.


Any tips would be greatly appreciated .
putox1051 is online now  
post #2736 of 2753 Old 12-26-2014, 07:32 AM
Member
 
cokekiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question. I got a soundbar for my HL50A650C for Xmas. This soundbar has optical in and only accepts PCM 2 channel. I saw in the manual for all HDMI inputs the TV outputs PCM 2 channel. Which is right because the soundbar works with my DVD player and Roku. The manual also says the TVs OTA tuner outputs Dolby 5.1. Which also seems correct as the OTA TV signal sound will not play through the soundbar.


I there any way to get this model TV to output PCM 2 channel for the OTA channels through the audio optical output. I think the answer is no but I just want to make sure. Thanks!
cokekiller is offline  
post #2737 of 2753 Old 12-26-2014, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
no screen and all lights blinking, sounds like the Led driver board, i did lots of research and mine seems bad, looks corroded, but the rest of the components look good, oh and ANYONE know where i can get the Led driver board part number BP94-02327A, for less then $100 shopjimmy is out of stoc.
bearir is offline  
post #2738 of 2753 Old 01-29-2015, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
putox1051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Lake , Michigan
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Send a message via AIM to putox1051 Send a message via Skype™ to putox1051
4th stuck mirror appeared today

1st one showed up about 2 months ago. 2nd about 2 weeks ago. 3rd arrived a couple days ago. Time to replace the DMD chip.
putox1051 is online now  
post #2739 of 2753 Old 02-02-2015, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Dreaded white dot

One appeared last night right after the Superbowl. I'm really annoyed in the fact that this TV has had extremely light use. There are weeks I sometimes don't use it.

I might just punt and get rid of it now.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #2740 of 2753 Old 02-02-2015, 04:59 PM
Member
 
jak0lantern01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCWells72 View Post
I've had mine since 2008 and about two weeks ago noticed a white dot just above-right of center. Googled a bit and learned about the DMD chip failure issue. By the time I called Samsung support last Thursday I had three white dots. Over the weekend two more appeared. Samsung authorized a replacement for the DMD chip with me paying only for labor costs (~$200). Actually it's more complicated than that one rep said it was authorized but forgot to give me a service transaction number, and when I called back to get a service transaction number, the next (VERY rude) rep said my TV was not covered. I called back today and escalated just to figure out which was the case and they verified that it's covered for a one-time replacement. The part is ordered and should be installed by the authorized service center soon.

I've also had two of my three HDMI inputs go out. Only HDMI3 works now. The other two show "Mode Not Supported". I'm using HDMI switching on my receiver so it's not a big thing, but I am concerned that the third will go out and I'll either have to pay for more repairs or break down and get another screen.

It's been a good TV and I'm pleased that Samsung is actually covering a significant portion of the repair on a six year old screen, but I am disappointed with what now seems to be three failed components.
Are you trying to say these chips are covered for a one time replacement? I just started to get the white dots as well. Is there a contact number you can give me? Thanks.
jak0lantern01 is offline  
post #2741 of 2753 Old 02-03-2015, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jak0lantern01 View Post
Are you trying to say these chips are covered for a one time replacement? I just started to get the white dots as well. Is there a contact number you can give me? Thanks.
Yes if that's the case it might be worth repairing.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #2742 of 2753 Old 02-03-2015, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
SCWells72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jak0lantern01 View Post
Are you trying to say these chips are covered for a one time replacement? I just started to get the white dots as well. Is there a contact number you can give me? Thanks.
Yes, the DMD chip on this TV is covered for a one-time replacement where they foot the bill for the parts and you foot the bill for the labor. As I mentioned, I had three different experiences calling their customer support with the first rep saying it was covered, the second (very rudely!) saying it was not, and the third (when I calmed down from the second and called back) confirming that it was and setting everything up for me. My total out-of-pocket was a little over $200 and the TV looks great again!

No specific contact number...just call Samsung Tech Support. Good luck and be persistent!

Last edited by SCWells72; 02-03-2015 at 02:11 PM.
SCWells72 is offline  
post #2743 of 2753 Old 02-03-2015, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just chatted with their tech support. They denied there's any issue of the sort. Nice! I will try the 800 number so I can cuss at a live person.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #2744 of 2753 Old 02-27-2015, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
ultrahogfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCWells72 View Post
Yes, the DMD chip on this TV is covered for a one-time replacement where they foot the bill for the parts and you foot the bill for the labor. As I mentioned, I had three different experiences calling their customer support with the first rep saying it was covered, the second (very rudely!) saying it was not, and the third (when I calmed down from the second and called back) confirming that it was and setting everything up for me. My total out-of-pocket was a little over $200 and the TV looks great again!

No specific contact number...just call Samsung Tech Support. Good luck and be persistent!
Samsung tech chat is asking me for a transaction number to prove that they are covering the part cost of a one time replacement. Would you happen to have that information still, and be willing to share it so that they can reference it?
ultrahogfan is offline  
post #2745 of 2753 Old 03-02-2015, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
SCWells72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrahogfan View Post
Samsung tech chat is asking me for a transaction number to prove that they are covering the part cost of a one time replacement. Would you happen to have that information still, and be willing to share it so that they can reference it?
You have to get a transaction number from Samsung tech support that's distinct to your TV serial number. That was the part that took three calls when I did it! Just be persistent with tech support until you have a transaction number and then Samsung support can send the request to your local Samsung certified repair tech.
SCWells72 is offline  
post #2746 of 2753 Old 03-03-2015, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an issue that started with my hl67a750. I can no longer change inputs and the volume runs up to 100 as soon as I turn on the set. I have purchased a new button control board and installed it with the same issue continuing. Has anyone else had or heard of this issue?
Mike Markham is offline  
post #2747 of 2753 Old 03-07-2015, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I noticed a stuck pixel on my set today - when I get up close and look at what should be a black background, it looks like snow.

I've attached an image from a dark room up close to the screen with the directv screen saver on (the bright blue box showing up in the corner of the screen). You'll also see the stuck pixel.

Is the rest of the background normal or is this indicative of more damage to the DLP chip? Before I took this shot there was a dark scene playing from the DVR. When the screen saver cut on there was absolutely no change in the pattern of dots.

Thanks,

Jeff
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1425783326902.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	179.6 KB
ID:	589970  
IndyJeff is online now  
post #2748 of 2753 Old 03-07-2015, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here's another close-up of Juliana Margulies standing in front of a black curtain. You can see the same "snow" pattern in the black as from the screen saver.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1425783590673.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	589978  
IndyJeff is online now  
post #2749 of 2753 Old 03-21-2015, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
LED Failure?

I've had my HL61A750 since May of 2008 and have really enjoyed it. However, this past year, the unit has had a extensive amount of problems.

Last year, I experienced the DMD chip failure. Unfortunately, Samsung would not provide the one time replacement as they insisted my set was not on their list. (Wish I had pressed them like many of you had...) So, I ended up having it repaired at a local TV repair shop. He did fine with replacing the chip, but didn't align it right so I'll have to go in and do it myself, I guess. (Transporting this thing to and from the shop is pain.)

Over the past few weeks, my set has been doing some weird things. First off, sometimes when I turn it on, the picture won't come up. It will then "reboot" itself and then I'll have a picture. The other thing it has been doing is, when I turn it on, the screen will be all red. I'll turn the set off then on and then all will be fine. It's as if the blue and green LED's hadn't kicked in yet.

Fast forward to a couple of days ago... I turn on the set and everything is yellowish. Going into "blue only" mode, I realize that the blue LED appears to be out. I have since ordered a new blue LED (and a green one, given that there have been times when I saw only red) and plan to install them when they arrive.

SO... my question to the community is basically this... Am I on the right track? Are there other components that I may need to check? I really like this TV and don't want to get rid of it. However, if it begins to turn into a money pit, I can't justify keeping it.

Thanks to this community and anyone willing to throw in their two cents!
Jeff Call is offline  
post #2750 of 2753 Old 03-23-2015, 07:04 AM
Member
 
brian_tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm. I am getting the white dots now. Could not get support to do the one time replacement. I am thinking about trying it myself but can't help but wonder how much time left on the LED's. I have owned set since Nov 2008. I have two GSD that stay in house and set is probably pretty dirty. If I decide to replace DLP chip do I need to try to get to LED's to clean or anything else while set is open?
brian_tr is online now  
post #2751 of 2753 Old 03-25-2015, 03:55 AM
Member
 
brian_tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered the DLP Chip. Hope all goes well. I expect a lot of dust and dog hair inside. Will I be able to clean around the LED's without have to open them up or should I just leave alone?
brian_tr is online now  
post #2752 of 2753 Old Today, 10:17 AM
Member
 
brian_tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I replaced my DLP chip and now the picture is misaligned at the bottom. What part do I need to redo? I took back apart made sure everything seated good and still misaligned from top to bottom. Is there an alignment procedure?

Last edited by brian_tr; Today at 11:05 AM.
brian_tr is online now  
post #2753 of 2753 Unread Today, 11:18 AM
Member
 
brian_tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My was different than the video. I had removed these screws in the housing which I think are the alignment. Is there any way I can fix this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	board separated_thumb.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	631833  
brian_tr is online now  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung Hl67a750 67 Inch 1080p Led Powered Dlp Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off