hitachi 51f59a "CLICKING" power issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 06-29-2008, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok got a new one for you guys. i bought my hitachi in dec. 06 and except for football season it rarely gets used. last month i was watching a show and heard a loud "click" and the picture went black and then came right back up. after about 5 minutes it happened again, then in 2 minutes, then 45 seconds. all this time the sound never goes out, just the picture for about a second and always accompanied by the click. to me it sounds like a very loud relay. anytime i turn on the tv this pattern repeats. i checked my wall plug and no issues there. any suggestions? i called hitachi and found out the manufacturers warr. is one year, not two like i thought. is there anything i could check and replace myself? I am a service technician very familiar with electronic diagnostics, just not in this field. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 06-29-2008, 06:57 PM

The clicking you hear could be a high voltage arc. If it is, you would have to try to locate by visual. You would have to remove the back cover, turn on the set with the lights mostly off and when you hear the click try to see if you notice an arc. Just dont put your hands in there. Possible places to look would be picture tubes, high voltage lines from tubes to flyback, flyback itself, horz output transistor. Find problem first, then work on solution.

Does it sound more like a click or a snap?
post #3 of 20 Old 06-29-2008, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter

no, definately a click. as i stated before, it sounds like a relay clicking on and off, just ALOT louder. I'm going to go try to spot something and i'll get back. thanks for the quick reply
post #4 of 20 Old 06-29-2008, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter