Mitsubishi WD-XX735,736 and 835 Settings and Tweaks - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 823 Old 02-26-2015, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jerndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
I am losing my settings in the Video Adjustment menu on my 835 after power-off and I can't remember how to stop it from happening.


Can someone help me out here?
Try this Link
old corps likes this.
jerndl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 823 Old 02-26-2015, 09:49 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 36,583
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerndl View Post
Try this Link
Uh, you linked to this page.
oink is offline  
post #813 of 823 Old 02-26-2015, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jerndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 20
It works when I click on it. Go to post #796 in this thread.
old corps likes this.
jerndl is offline  
 
post #814 of 823 Old 02-26-2015, 01:54 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 36,583
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerndl View Post
It works when I click on it. Go to post #796 in this thread.
Aha, I gotta give it a try.
oink is offline  
post #815 of 823 Old 02-28-2015, 11:28 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 36,583
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3035
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerndl View Post
It works when I click on it. Go to post #796 in this thread.
Actually, it did not work for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anderdea View Post
I found the answer regarding loss oh HDMI video settings, thanks.
Care to share?
oink is offline  
post #816 of 823 Old 03-01-2015, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Actually, it did not work for me.

Care to share?

Long story short--If you're running your signal through an AV Receiver do not name that input on your TV AVR, name it HDMI 1 (or 2 or 3....). It's a bug that causes the settings to be lost. Now don't ask me why.....


Happened to me with my 73736.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #817 of 823 Old 09-16-2016, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
TNVOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
Long story short--If you're running your signal through an AV Receiver do not name that input on your TV AVR, name it HDMI 1 (or 2 or 3....). It's a bug that causes the settings to be lost. Now don't ask me why.....


Happened to me with my 73736.


Ed
I have the same TV and have tried renaming the input HDMI 1 and still the settings didn't stick. Same with AVR setting. I have pushed Reset Button on the front of the TV and from the remote several times. Nothing seems to work and each time the TV is turned ON then it is back to changing the settings from Factory Default.
TNVOL is offline  
post #818 of 823 Old 12-09-2016, 03:50 PM
Member
 
kicks92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I realize this is a very old thread but I have a question for those of you hanging on to these old sets.

I am starting to get bad pixels. some light, some dark. Is it time to bail and get a new TV?
kicks92 is offline  
post #819 of 823 Old 12-09-2016, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,301
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicks92 View Post
I realize this is a very old thread but I have a question for those of you hanging on to these old sets.

I am starting to get bad pixels. some light, some dark. Is it time to bail and get a new TV?
So are they just staying on like little stars? If so that sounds like the DMD chip is starting to go home. Had mine done about a year ago for about 200. So depends if you want to spend the cash on a repair or just kick it to the kerb and buy flat.

My 73835 is collecting dust in the dining room as it was replaced by a Vizio 80...

Seggers

Vizio M80-C3, Denon X6300H, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, Def Tech A60 Atmos tops, the internet, an ASUS ChromeBox running Kodi, a TiVo Series 3 and a Philips BDP7501 UHD . There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #820 of 823 Old 12-09-2016, 04:08 PM
Member
 
kicks92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
So are they just staying on like little stars? If so that sounds like the DMD chip is starting to go home. Had mine done about a year ago for about 200. So depends if you want to spend the cash on a repair or just kick it to the kerb and buy flat.

My 73835 is collecting dust in the dining room as it was replaced by a Vizio 80...

Seggers
Thank you for your response. Good to know about the chip and yes it is like little stars. Maybe after Christmas some of the ultra HD sets will come down in price. I hate the thought of going from my 73" down to a 70" that is pretty affordable. Seems like 75" and up are quite expensive right now.

Thanks again for the info.
kicks92 is offline  
post #821 of 823 Old 12-09-2016, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicks92 View Post
Thank you for your response. Good to know about the chip and yes it is like little stars. Maybe after Christmas some of the ultra HD sets will come down in price. I hate the thought of going from my 73" down to a 70" that is pretty affordable. Seems like 75" and up are quite expensive right now.

Thanks again for the info.
Had mine done about 3 years ago when there was a recall/confirmed problem with the chip, so I only had to pay labor. Might want to give Mitsubishi support a call and see if it's still an available option. I think the labor cost was about the same as the chip cost, but I did it anyway knowing that if the TV ending up with the same problem a few months later, I could easily blame the installer that did it, and not kick myself for doing it wrong! I too am in the same boat as you - I have a 65" that still has a great picture, and I haven't yet found the desire to invest in UHD devices. So I'm waiting until at least the Xbox One Scorpio comes out before I'll start looking at 65"+ TVs.
jashotwe1 likes this.

Xbox 360: Deezul AwT
HDTV since 2004, 3D since 2011
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
post #822 of 823 Old 12-09-2016, 06:41 PM
Member
 
kicks92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezul View Post
Had mine done about 3 years ago when there was a recall/confirmed problem with the chip, so I only had to pay labor. Might want to give Mitsubishi support a call and see if it's still an available option. I think the labor cost was about the same as the chip cost, but I did it anyway knowing that if the TV ending up with the same problem a few months later, I could easily blame the installer that did it, and not kick myself for doing it wrong! I too am in the same boat as you - I have a 65" that still has a great picture, and I haven't yet found the desire to invest in UHD devices. So I'm waiting until at least the Xbox One Scorpio comes out before I'll start looking at 65"+ TVs.
Deezul, Thanks for the info. It may be worth a call to Mits. I'm not ready to get a new TV yet and I still like this one.
kicks92 is offline  
post #823 of 823 Old 12-16-2016, 08:32 PM
Member
 
fuzzmanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northwest Kansas, USA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicks92 View Post
I realize this is a very old thread but I have a question for those of you hanging on to these old sets.

I am starting to get bad pixels. some light, some dark. Is it time to bail and get a new TV?
I have a WD-73736 purchased in late 2008. I replaced the original lamp cartridge in 3/2014 with 9807 hours on it. I now have 14,862 hours on the TV.

In 7/2015 I had to increase the brightness by 5 points when i noticed many night scenes were too dark to see what was going on. About a month ago I noticed one pixel that is always on. Other than that I haven't had any trouble with my TV.

I'm also hoping that this TV will last until flat screens larger than 73" are as common as today's 60 inch.
fuzzmanks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off