Official LaserVue Owners thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 2693 Old 07-09-2010, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU Geekman View Post

Thank you, Augerhandle. You have very clearly explained what I attempted to explain in my previous posts on this subject:

You're welcome.

I didn't read the whole thread, just the last few pages, sorry I missed your post.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 2693 Old 07-09-2010, 11:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
TMSKILZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NyC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been viewing the LV & will shortly post my impressions. I wanted some good quality time so that's why I haven't posted my thoughts since buying the LV.

I haven't been in the AVS Forums much or this thread but what's up w/ the back-n-forth bickering & attacks, not kool. Can't we post our opinions & differences in a respectful manner?

RUGeekman I'm still interested in the 3D starter kit, but give me some time.

Briefly let me say everyone who has come over & seen the LV has been very impressed by the design of the TV & PQ of content on screen & that's w/ me not even tweaking/calibrating it.

GO SPURS! GO COWBOYS!
TMSKILZ is offline  
post #723 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
RU Geekman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMSKILZ View Post

...I haven't been in the AVS Forums much or this thread but what's up w/ the back-n-forth bickering & attacks, not kool....

Just ignore him, as I am doing. Seems that some people just like to pick a fight, facts be damned. For the record, I never stated that the LaserVue displays 1080p to each eye. I've always maintained that other display elements have just as large, if not larger, an impact on the viewing experience (color range and saturation, sharpness, detail, the smoothness of the video processing, viewing angle, etc., all of which this model excels at). AugerHandle's explanation amplifies and makes more clear what I have said from the very beginning, that pixels from every line and column are displayed, just not every pixel. And since the top-and-bottom and side-by-side display formats being used by satellite and cable providers don't display 1080p to each eye either, what the heck difference does this make? Bottom line is, as TMSKILZ (Leo -- I'm saving a 3D Starter Pack for you) so pointedly notes, this set produces a remarkable picture that few who have seen it can criticize.
RU Geekman is offline  
post #724 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
RonB63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 34
[quote=TMSKILZ;18886353
I haven't been in the AVS Forums much or this thread but what's up w/ the back-n-forth bickering & attacks, not kool. Can't we post our opinions & differences in a respectful manner?[/QUOTE]

+1 seriously
RonB63 is offline  
post #725 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:


...There is only a 30 Day Warranty on ALL PARTS (except dead pixels which are NEVER COVERED if under a certain %), exactly as I stated.

ALL PARTS are only warranted for 30 days? Seems the Light Engine (for one example) is warranted for a full year...

Semantics designed to skew the facts?

Here's the actual warranty (pg 88) http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/pdf/A81-A91-OG.pdf

(Red font by me)
Quote:


a. Parts. All parts (except any software incorporated into this television and Lenticular screen surface) are warranted for a period of one (1) full year from the date of original purchase at retail


"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #726 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

...3D checkerboard is half the diagonal resolution, not the vertical resolution. This is half the pixels, not the lines. It is still 1920 x 1080 lines of resolution. They are just dotted lines...

From Texas Instruments, the manufacturer of the DLP chip:
http://dlp.com/downloads/DLP%203D%20...Technology.pdf

(bold by me)
Quote:


Left and right stereo images are independently filtered, then sampled in an offset grid pattern…This format preserves the horizontal and vertical resolution of the left and right views providing the viewer with the highest quality image possible with the available bandwidth.

Edit: http://www.hp.com/hpinfo/newsroom/pr...4/040609a.html

In regards to "wobulation" causing a loss in resolution, wobulation is a method of doubling the resolution capabilities of a DLP chip to save cost. Instead of doubling the mirrors (plural) on the chip, the mirrors on the chip do double-duty to create multiple sub-frames that combine to form an image. While the "chip" is 960 x 1080, the picture is 1920 x 1080.

It is information (pixels) that is missing from the right and left checkerboard views that causes less resolution in 3D.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #727 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
suprane49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you get down to it, I think RU is right. You have to actually see the TV!!
I would love to purchase this baby from RU (75" 3-d, no one else that I am aware of is coming close to this screen size in the near future).
Here is my problem, I have called every Mits Diamond dealer within 150 miles of my residence and none have the TV, including a Magnolia Room. I then phoned Mits customer service and asked if they knew any dealers within 3 hours drive from my residence that they have shipped one to. They were unable to tell me, advised me to keep on calling the stores.
So until a floor model arrives and perhaps a review or 2 (To make sure there are no issues I'm missing) I'm going to have to patiently wait.
Sup
suprane49 is offline  
post #728 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 02:44 PM
Member
 
barry728's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just as info. I stopped by a Best Buy that had a Magnolia showing room in Signal Hill, CA. They had Mitsubishi DLPs but no Laservue. I was told they didn't carry the 65 inch and had no plans to carry the new 75 inch.
barry728 is offline  
post #729 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
RU Geekman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMSKILZ View Post

I'm willing to put up my house as collateral & state that Mits will not announce 2nd-Gen Laservue HDTVs in April or @ any point this year. Seems that technology is dead.

P.S. Just kidding about my house for collateral. But maybe my wife instead?

Leo, I found this post of yours from back in March. Please send pictures and I'll decide whether I want the house or the wife....
RU Geekman is offline  
post #730 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 03:11 PM
Member
 
broodwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU Geekman View Post

Leo, I found this post of yours from back in March. Please send pictures and I'll decide whether I want the house or the wife....

Ah Ha Ha Ha Ha!
broodwich is offline  
post #731 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 04:38 PM
Member
 
nescosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well It came in on the first of this month and I was very happy.

It was made on May of 2010.

When I install it the first impression was the sound was bad, real cheep speakers; The color was too intense specially the green and red.

I use an outside antenna and satellite system with the old 10 foot dish with the Motorola GI 4DTV and as my AV the Onkyo TX-NR906.

I went to HGTV to set my colors, because it has the must variable colors of any others channels. Here are my settings:

SAT: Set set on brillant.
Contrast------26
Bright-------21
Color-------16
Tint--------39
Sharpness--22
Color Temp-High
Video----Medium

TV.
SEt on Brilliant.
Contrast------26
Brightness--33
Color------16
Tint-------40
Sharpness--35
Color Temp--high
Video------Medium

Those are my colors and they very natural and not dull as it seems to be, you have to remember that this TV color is different as the others and should be as natural as life is.

I play with Vudu and I had to use the speaker out port to be able to use my Onkyo system and not the speaker of the TV. also it force me to use it on the antenna too. I use on the Vudu the same setting as the TV but with the Cinema set.

Great TV and very sharp image and a very good mateys colors.

Guys let me know your system setting and later will play with calibration.
nescosmo is offline  
post #732 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by nescosmo View Post

Well It came in on the first of this month and I was very happy.

It was made on May of 2010.

When I install it the first impression was the sound was bad, real cheep speakers; The color was too intense specially the green and red.

I use an outside antenna and satellite system with the old 10 foot dish with the Motorola GI 4DTV and as my AV the Onkyo TX-NR906.

I went to HGTV to set my colors, because it has the must variable colors of any others channels. Here are my settings:

SAT: Set set on brillant.
Contrast------26
Bright-------21
Color-------16
Tint--------39
Sharpness--22
Color Temp-High
Video----Medium

TV.
SEt on Brilliant.
Contrast------26
Brightness--33
Color------16
Tint-------40
Sharpness--35
Color Temp--high
Video------Medium

Those are my colors and they very natural and not dull as it seems to be, you have to remember that this TV color is different as the others and should be as natural as life is.

I play with Vudu and I had to use the speaker out port to be able to use my Onkyo system and not the speaker of the TV. also it force me to use it on the antenna too. I use on the Vudu the same setting as the TV but with the Cinema set.

Great TV and very sharp image and a very good mateys colors.

Guys let me know your system setting and later will play with calibration.

It is odd that color temp would be high. That would normally make the grayscale way too blue. If mits provided proper basic calibration it should be called low or warm or something like. If you have a calibration disk like Spears and Munsil do the gray look bluish gray, or very slightly brownish gray?

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is online now  
post #733 of 2693 Old 07-10-2010, 11:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
TMSKILZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NyC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU Geekman View Post

Leo, I found this post of yours from back in March. Please send pictures and I'll decide whether I want the house or the wife....

LOL! Good one RUGeekman! I forgot all about that post.

I'm not married so only pics I can post are of my home theater setup.

GO SPURS! GO COWBOYS!
TMSKILZ is offline  
post #734 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 05:53 AM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great TV. Have a problem: Using Brighthouse highdef cable box (with DVR) with HDMI cable. Box won't change channels directly from GUIDE. Instead of changing, it blanks out for a second and returns to the original channel. If I disconnect the HDMI cable the cable box does change channels perfectly. This problem was initially intermittant...but now is all the time. Channels can be changed by the go up and go down buttons on the brighthouse remote, but not on entering the channel digits directly. Two brighthouse techs have been out and tried several boxes with the same result. In fact the newer style box gave an error cannot show the video at all. Also tried different HDMI cable, did not help. Something in the L 75 seems to be disrupting the cable box when using HDMI.
ly92078 is offline  
post #735 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Why are there no professional reviews for this set yet? ANyone know of one coming?
sjchmura is offline  
post #736 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C5 View Post

Try turning off CEC in the TV and the cable box (if it has a way to do it). It could be an incompatibility there. It's page 73 in the owners manual for the TV (the on-line one anyway).

Thank you for the quick reply. Tried that several times. Did not work. Does anybody reading this forum with an L 75 have a brighthouse hd cable box with DVR working properly?
ly92078 is offline  
post #737 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 09:17 AM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the reference. Interesting possibility. I will read it. And will also try to talk to Mits tomorrow, as well as brighthouse.
ly92078 is offline  
post #738 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 02:11 PM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your suggestions.

Two questions come to mind: 1) Where is the software glitch? (I suspect Mits) and 2) Is this problem unique to me?

Finally, how will this get resolved. I will do more investigating tomorrow.
ly92078 is offline  
post #739 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by ly92078 View Post

Great TV. Have a problem: Using Brighthouse highdef cable box (with DVR) with HDMI cable. Box won't change channels directly from GUIDE. Instead of changing, it blanks out for a second and returns to the original channel. If I disconnect the HDMI cable the cable box does change channels perfectly. This problem was initially intermittant...but now is all the time. Channels can be changed by the go up and go down buttons on the brighthouse remote, but not on entering the channel digits directly. Two brighthouse techs have been out and tried several boxes with the same result. In fact the newer style box gave an error cannot show the video at all. Also tried different HDMI cable, did not help. Something in the L 75 seems to be disrupting the cable box when using HDMI.

Do yourself a favor and get a Tivo. The last generation Tivos (Tivo HD) are available pretty cheap. They use a cable card. You can probably find a used one on eBay for $150 or less. Lots of them available because people upgrade to the new ones. The HD is still miles better than a cable box. They do require a subscription but I think I can safely assume you are paying something for the cable companies DVR. Compared to a Tivo, almost all the cable boxes are pure crapola. I don't have a LaserVue but I do have an 82" Mits...

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is online now  
post #740 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 05:02 PM
Member
 
nescosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ly92078 View Post

Thank you for your suggestions.

Two questions come to mind: 1) Where is the software glitch? (I suspect Mits) and 2) Is this problem unique to me?

Finally, how will this get resolved. I will do more investigating tomorrow.

Maybe the hdmi wire is too long or your equipment are too weak on power to the hdmi; Go and get an external power supply for your hdmi wire, that could be your answers.
nescosmo is offline  
post #741 of 2693 Old 07-11-2010, 05:43 PM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion.

The HDMI cable I use is a 6 ft cat 2, and I used two different brands.

Funny thing is that the channel changing problems while generally predictable will ocassionaly work properly without anything being changed.
ly92078 is offline  
post #742 of 2693 Old 07-12-2010, 09:05 AM
Member
 
tron49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South of Chicago next to the Kankakee River
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ly92078 View Post

Thanks for the suggestion.

The HDMI cable I use is a 6 ft cat 2, and I used two different brands.

Funny thing is that the channel changing problems while generally predictable will ocassionaly work properly without anything being changed.

What is the brand name on the cable box?... (i.e. "Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD" etc.)

Do you have the latest users manual (of the Cable Box)?

What version of HDMI does the cable box support?

Are you directly connected to the TV or are you going through an Audio Video Receiver (AVR)?

tron49 is offline  
post #743 of 2693 Old 07-12-2010, 12:25 PM
Member
 
ly92078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tron49 View Post

What is the brand name on the cable box?... (i.e. "Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD" etc.)

Do you have the latest users manual (of the Cable Box)?

What version of HDMI does the cable box support?

Are you directly connected to the TV or are you going through an Audio Video Receiver (AVR)?



I have the Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD. I looked at the manual from the internet and it was of no help. I am directly connected from the cable box to the tv.

Also the cable box does change channels ok when the hdmi cable is unplugged from the tv.
ly92078 is offline  
post #744 of 2693 Old 07-12-2010, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midiguru View Post

Just got my 75" LaserVue yesterday. The store sent me the floor unit temporarily while I wait for my new set to come in, since I ordered over a month ago and I'm guessing they didn't want me to cancel my order after waiting for so long.

I spent quite some time poking around all of the options in the menus. I'm excited about the ISF calibration feature, and plan to have a professional calibrator tweak the set soon. I also played around with the 120Hz smooth motion feature, and I was blown away by it - I've never seen a tv do this before. What's cool about the feature is that you have 10 levels of smoothing to choose from. I found that the ideal setting is somewhere in the 4 to 6 range - any less, and the picture looks like a regular set. Any more, and the motion smoothing makes the film appear to run at a higher framerate (it looks like all of the action is sped up).

The colors and black level are simply stunning. I had a blu-ray on last night in Cinema mode (bright, brilliant and super brilliant are WAY too bright for nighttime viewing) and I'd have to say the PQ came damn close to my old Qualia 006. In fact, I'm guessing when my new replacement set comes in, coupled with professional calibration, I can get it to surpass the PQ of the Q.

Just curious....if the PQ is almost a good as your old Qualia 006, why did you get rid of it? OB problems?
I, like a knucklehead, sold my Qualia and have been looking ever since to find a suitable successor. Right now I have the 82837 and love the size its still not as good a PQ as my Qualia. If...if...the new LaserVue has a better piciture than the Qualia please share that information. And if the PQ is indeed better I may consider selling my Mits 82837. I am on my second one...the first one kept turning off and on, on its own and changing HDMI inputs. Actually my second one is doing the same thing. Have to call the service people again.
I would love to see the L75 but its nowhere to be found around where I live.
dreaux is offline  
post #745 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well,

As someone who played with the 75" for about 1.5 hours (thank you Crest Hill Illinois!) this is more impressive than the old 100% defective Qualia's (don't get me started on Sony).

The colors are just amazing. Cinema mode, call it a day, Avatar an blu-ray looks "right". Games that I know from calibrating my own (they have a PS3 hooked up colors on my DLP looked fantastic.

Plugging in a laptop demonstrates this:

With minimal light I simply could not see with a black screen if it was on or off.

I was not able to block the front window ambient (low light) to back of store. I will be interested in how this compares to the Panasonic V25 or Sammy C7000. IMHO, with less ambient light this looked better in terms of black than the C7000 PDP Plasma.

3D was perfect with the Avatar game.
sjchmura is offline  
post #746 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

Just curious....if the PQ is almost a good as your old Qualia 006, why did you get rid of it? OB problems?
I, like a knucklehead, sold my Qualia and have been looking ever since to find a suitable successor. Right now I have the 82837 and love the size its still not as good a PQ as my Qualia. If...if...the new LaserVue has a better piciture than the Qualia please share that information. And if the PQ is indeed better I may consider selling my Mits 82837. I am on my second one...the first one kept turning off and on, on its own and changing HDMI inputs. Actually my second one is doing the same thing. Have to call the service people again.
I would love to see the L75 but its nowhere to be found around where I live.

I know of very few owners of the Sony Q006 that have not had at least one OB failure. I've had two. When the set works, it's fantastic, so we are all interested in the new Mits Laservue. Obviously, we want a 70" plus screen and we know what a good PQ looks like. So, owners of the Q006 with the new Mits laservue have a particular interest to us. We'll never do Sony again, and there are over 1800 posters to the facebook wall "I have a defective Sony TV" who feel equally disillusioned with the "new" Sony.
Ted99 is offline  
post #747 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Midiguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

Just curious....if the PQ is almost a good as your old Qualia 006, why did you get rid of it? OB problems?

No, as I stated before, I wanted to get rid of it before the OB problem showed up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post

I know of very few owners of the Sony Q006 that have not had at least one OB failure.

Now you know another one.

I just got my new set in today. The store came and swapped out my demo unit that they lent to me while I waited for Mitsubishi to finally start shipping. I also got grandfathered into the special Callaway promo (golf clubs and a GPS), as well as "price protection" on the set (which knocked off $500). All in all, I'm a happy camper, and will be even happier now that I can get a calibration specialist over to tune the set. (Anyone have any good recommendations?)
Midiguru is offline  
post #748 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 01:30 PM
Member
 
tron49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South of Chicago next to the Kankakee River
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post

Well,

As someone who played with the 75" for about 1.5 hours (thank you Crest Hill Illinois!) this is more impressive than the old 100% defective Qualia's (don't get me started on Sony).

The colors are just amazing. Cinema mode, call it a day, Avatar an blu-ray looks "right". Games that I know from calibrating my own (they have a PS3 hooked up colors on my DLP looked fantastic.

Plugging in a laptop demonstrates this:

With minimal light I simply could not see with a black screen if it was on or off.

I was not able to block the front window ambient (low light) to back of store. I will be interested in how this compares to the Panasonic V25 or Sammy C7000. IMHO, with less ambient light this looked better in terms of black than the C7000 PDP Plasma.

3D was perfect with the Avatar game.




You went down to Toton's .... Great!!!! Do they still have the 65" Laser?

tron49 is offline  
post #749 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
RonB63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Midiguru;All in all, I'm a happy camper, and will be even happier now that I can get a calibration specialist over to tune the set. (Anyone have any good recommendations?)[/quote]

Yes -I highly recommend UMR (Jeff) from Accucal. He has a great rep from the many Qualia 006 calibrations... and when I spoke to him last he had worked on the L65.

GREAT guy -I have used him 3-4 times on a few tv's. I am up in Ct. so I catch him on his cal. tours.

Ron
RonB63 is offline  
post #750 of 2693 Old 07-13-2010, 02:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
TMSKILZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NyC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midiguru View Post

. All in all, I'm a happy camper, and will be even happier now that I can get a calibration specialist over to tune the set. (Anyone have any good recommendations?)

UMR. You can find him here in the forums. I have used him twice in the past 5yrs & already booked him for Oct when he is in NYC to work his magic on my L75-A91.

GO SPURS! GO COWBOYS!
TMSKILZ is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off