Samsung HL67A750 and 3D? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 204 Old 07-19-2010, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitrox36 View Post

Mitsubishi 3DA-1 Adapter
onecall.com has i think that kit for $99.00
is that the same kit your talking about?

You would still need the "HDMI Tool" aka, "Geffen HDMI Detective".

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 204 Old 07-19-2010, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
And the Geffen needs to be programmed with the Mitsubishi EDID codes so you need access to a Mitsubishi DLP TV.
PaulGo is offline  
post #63 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i dont have access to one... so i guess im outta luck!
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #64 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what do you suggest is next for me ?
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #65 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mounta1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitrox36 View Post

So what do you suggest is next for me ?

You buy a Gefen HDMI detective, and then sneak into your local Best Buy, and hook it up to a Mits DLP to get the EDID programmed. I suggest wearing all black, a ninja costume would work well.

Enjoying BF4 on the PS4, bugs and all.
Mounta1n is offline  
post #66 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You may find people who will pre-program the Geffen. Check the 3D forums on AVS.
PaulGo is offline  
post #67 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitrox36 View Post

So what do you suggest is next for me ?

Spend the $299 on the pack that comes with the Geffen pre-programmed.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #68 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well if i do the ninja suit i will post it on you tube...lol
299 sounds sooo much better lol
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #69 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I know it's expensive, but the RealD adapter is about $500! An HDMI 1.3/1.4 switcher is recommended so that you can use more than one device with this product. You can use your existing glasses.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #70 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where do i get that? and what glasses should i get? i have none now. can i hook up to my ps3
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #71 of 204 Old 07-20-2010, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

I know it's expensive, but the RealD adapter is about $500! An HDMI 1.3/1.4 switcher is recommended so that you can use more than one device with this product. You can use your existing glasses.

The RealD adapter currently doesn't support all 3D methods, like the Mits adapter.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #72 of 204 Old 07-21-2010, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where do i get the mit 3da1 for 299? and what glasses do i need to go with it and how many does it support?
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #73 of 204 Old 07-21-2010, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you browse this 3D area you will find all the information you need.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...prune=60&f=194
PaulGo is offline  
post #74 of 204 Old 07-23-2010, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Altamonte Springs, Florida
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have HL67A750 + Laptop PC + Panasonic DMP-BDT350 3D-BD + Cable HD-STB + DVD

Problem: Black screen via HDMI3 when source is PC or 3D-BD; however, HDMI's 1&2 are good, with PC & 3D-BD. HDMI3 presents HD-STB & DVD video great. I have tested the HDMI cable, it is OK. I have tried 1080p and other outputs from PC & 3D-BD with & without 3D.

I have run out of troubleshooting ideas! Why do HDMI 1&2 have good video pass through but black from HDMI3? Here is a strange wrinkle - using HDMI3 input with 3D-BD + after disconnection/reconnection of power cord, I get an instant flash/splash of the BluRay video icon!

I have the full 3D kit; however, I cannot use it without HDMI3 input! I have gray 3D choice when driving from 3D-BR with 3D demo disk playing [with black screen - see above]

Is the TV's HDMI3 broken? Is there a setup setting that could be wrong?

Marshall
Marshall is offline  
post #75 of 204 Old 07-23-2010, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The HDMI cable needs to be 1.3a to work correctly with the Panasonic using the primary output. A 1.3 HDMI cable seems to work with the secondary output.
PaulGo is offline  
post #76 of 204 Old 07-24-2010, 05:21 PM
Member
 
Marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Altamonte Springs, Florida
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PaulGo,

Bought HDMI 1.4 - still Black Screen with HDMI3/DVI input. No change in the problem.

____________________________________________________________ __
I have HL67A750 + Laptop PC + Panasonic DMP-BDT350 3D-BD + Cable HD-STB + DVD

Problem: Black screen via HDMI3/DVI & HDMI1.4 cable, when source is PC or 3D-BD; however, HDMI's 1&2 are good, with PC & 3D-BD. HDMI3 presents HD-STB & DVD video great. I have tested the HDMI cable, it is OK. I have tried 1080p and other outputs from PC & 3D-BD with & without 3D.

I have run out of troubleshooting ideas! Why do HDMI 1&2 have good video pass through but black from HDMI3? Here is a strange wrinkle - using HDMI3 input with 3D-BD + after disconnection/reconnection of power cord, I get an instant flash/splash of the BluRay video icon!

I have the full 3D kit; however, I cannot use it without HDMI3 input! I have gray 3D choice when driving from 3D-BR with 3D demo disk playing [with black screen - see above]

Is the TV's HDMI3 broken? Is there a setup setting that could be wrong?

Marshall
Marshall is offline  
post #77 of 204 Old 07-24-2010, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Nitrox36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
taz, can you give me a list of what i need for my samy? i would appreciate it
i have a ps3 and all my ps3 and tv is ran through my denon sound system.
Nitrox36 is offline  
post #78 of 204 Old 07-24-2010, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshall View Post

PaulGo,

Bought HDMI 1.4 - still Black Screen with HDMI3/DVI input. No change in the problem.

____________________________________________________________ __
I have HL67A750 + Laptop PC + Panasonic DMP-BDT350 3D-BD + Cable HD-STB + DVD

Problem: Black screen via HDMI3/DVI & HDMI1.4 cable, when source is PC or 3D-BD; however, HDMI's 1&2 are good, with PC & 3D-BD. HDMI3 presents HD-STB & DVD video great. I have tested the HDMI cable, it is OK. I have tried 1080p and other outputs from PC & 3D-BD with & without 3D.

I have run out of troubleshooting ideas! Why do HDMI 1&2 have good video pass through but black from HDMI3? Here is a strange wrinkle - using HDMI3 input with 3D-BD + after disconnection/reconnection of power cord, I get an instant flash/splash of the BluRay video icon!

I have the full 3D kit; however, I cannot use it without HDMI3 input! I have gray 3D choice when driving from 3D-BR with 3D demo disk playing [with black screen - see above]

Is the TV's HDMI3 broken? Is there a setup setting that could be wrong?

If the same sources work on HDMI 1 and 2 but not 3 then you have a problem with the set. My only suggestion is to check the HDMI3 connector for dirt and unplug the TV for a few minutes. Sorry I can't be more helpful.
PaulGo is offline  
post #79 of 204 Old 07-25-2010, 09:19 AM
Member
 
NetCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post

It changes the brightness, contrast, and gives it a slight blue shift. But yes, it definitely fixes the ghosting problem.

It also seems to hide the xvYCC option. My PS3 supports xvYCC and so does the TV... does anyone know if it disappears because it must be on? I'm a little confused... Are xvYCC color and 3D mutually exclusive? If so, that is pretty disappointing.
NetCoder is offline  
post #80 of 204 Old 07-28-2010, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetCoder View Post

It also seems to hide the xvYCC option. My PS3 supports xvYCC and so does the TV... does anyone know if it disappears because it must be on? I'm a little confused... Are xvYCC color and 3D mutually exclusive? If so, that is pretty disappointing.

By the time everything gets muddled by going through the glasses, what difference does it make? But in my experience with nVidia 3D Vision on a HTPC and the settings on my HL61A750, yes they are mutually exclusive.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #81 of 204 Old 07-29-2010, 08:24 PM
Member
 
NetCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post

By the time everything gets muddled by going through the glasses, what difference does it make? But in my experience with nVidia 3D Vision on a HTPC and the settings on my HL61A750, yes they are mutually exclusive.

I think it makes a huge difference since 99% of the content I'll watch isn't in 3d/doesn't require glasses. Why degrade every blu-ray/ps3 game for a few titles?
NetCoder is offline  
post #82 of 204 Old 07-30-2010, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetCoder View Post

I think it makes a huge difference since 99% of the content I'll watch isn't in 3d/doesn't require glasses. Why degrade every blu-ray/ps3 game for a few titles?

The settings of the TV in 3D mode have nothing to do with the settings in 2D mode. I guess I didn't understand what you meant by "mutually exclusive". You are at a whole different level of "exclusive" than I am.

Same way I get different settings (and different ones are greyed out) if I am in 24p mode on my Sammy or not.

BTW, if I ever get my Tru3D kit, I have both the Xpand and Nvidia solutions now and I will be able to verify if I get the "rainbowing" with both solutions or not (which I suspect very highly I will).

Matt
turls is offline  
post #83 of 204 Old 07-30-2010, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Their may be light at the end of the tunnel for Samsung 3D capable DLP owners!!! This article talks about the Tru3D solution but at the end of the article it states:

"Industry sources indicate (lower priced) cable/satellite solutions for listed Samsung HDTVs may become available in the near future. We will publish an update, if and when they are announced."

http://www.hdguru3d.com/index.php?op...news&Itemid=59
PaulGo is offline  
post #84 of 204 Old 08-02-2010, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
somail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So with the HL67A750 and a HTPC setup, I can just used the Nvidia solution. I do not need to purchase the Mitsubishi converter and EDID?

Also I read a while back that the samsung DLPs would only be able to display 3D in 720P. Is this true, or have you guys confimred that you are playing blu-ray 3D in 100% 1080P glory?

Thanks
somail is offline  
post #85 of 204 Old 08-06-2010, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Altamonte Springs, Florida
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the problem was missing/broken pin in HDMI3 port. Had to replace entire board. Now 3D is great - of course setting HDMI3=PC is essential!

Marshall
Marshall is offline  
post #86 of 204 Old 08-08-2010, 11:46 PM
Member
 
talljerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
after buying Xpand X102 3d shutter glasses I will never use my old SSG1000 glasses again.

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 3D Blu-ray this weekend with them
talljerry is offline  
post #87 of 204 Old 08-09-2010, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
StillwaterTownie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are there other 3D blu-ray movies other than the above?
StillwaterTownie is offline  
post #88 of 204 Old 08-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the Samsung a750 dlp and looking forward to watching 3D.

I ordered the Xpand X102 glasses but still searching for best internet price for Panny 350. Should I just wait for the tru3d or just go ahead with the Panny?

I also have a PS3, so not sure if there will be a software update?

Bob
bad1550 is offline  
post #89 of 204 Old 08-11-2010, 05:07 PM
Member
 
fourakind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by talljerry View Post

after buying Xpand X102 3d shutter glasses I will never use my old SSG1000 glasses again.

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 3D Blu-ray this weekend with them

Why do you prefer the X102's ?
fourakind is offline  
post #90 of 204 Old 08-11-2010, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourakind View Post

Why do you prefer the X102's ?

I can't speak for the OP, but the SSG1000's were known to have some ghosting issues.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off