2009 Mitsubishi Owners Thread (C9/737/837) - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post

For those who fixed their geometry, did it mess up your 1:1 pixel mapping? My understanding of last year's models is that you could have one or the other--but, not both.

It's physically impossible to have both.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post

It's physically impossible to have both.

Oh.. hmmm...

So does this means it's something about the 1:1 pixel mapping that causes the geometry issue to begin with?

Darin, may I ask which you have chosen? Which is the lesser of the 2 evils?

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #273 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there still overscan issues from a PC over HDMI?
ace5000 is offline  
post #274 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All 1:1 pixel mapping means is that each pixel in the source image is displayed via the corresponding pixel in the display device. The only way you can fix geometry issues is by electronically distoring the image in the direction needed, upstream of imaging device. Essentially, that means that some interpolation must be used, because the pixels of the image no longer correspond perfectly with the pixels of the imaging device. The end result is: you are exchanging resolution for the correction. If you were to display a resolution test chart, you will see moire and softness in the areas where the pixels in the image don't map exactly to a pixel on the DLP.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
post #275 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Darin, thank you for the reply.

So then, is it unrealistic to expect to receive a unit without the slight geometry issues?

Or should we just consider this a normal side-effect of the display technology... therefore not bother with returning one unit for another, because the odds are the replacement would be the same way?

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #276 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/product/WD82737
http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/theater.html -- Just noticed the Mitsubishi website has been updated to include the new 82-inch 737 models.

That's a big-ass TV.

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #277 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
toxz4340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
82" wow I got my 73 in the center of a 17' wall and sit back 12 feet and it's huge. Can't imagine getting anything bigger LOL. Anyone have there sets calibrated yet? Was wondering what they thought of the results. I like my picture brighter than most and was wondering if many people found that calibration made there pictures more natural and dimmer. I am strongly considering getting mine done by a calibrator on these forums but need to get 300 hours on my lamp first. Just wondering I am set up in my basement no windows and have dimmer lighting. What settings seem to give the bright whites and vivid colors without being to unattural. Oh and what are your views on having 120 smooth motion on and sharp edge? Notice any difference? Thanks to everyone that helps and contributes to this post!
toxz4340 is offline  
post #278 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen the 82 inchers? If so where? Could you tell me what you think of the "brightness." I ask this because I saw their last 82 incher some years back and it was way too dark for my tastes. I realize that this ia all subjective but I've seen the 73 inch 737's and they are fine. Still i'm concerned because they are using the same bulb in each.
ordo is offline  
post #279 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Count me in the club, I just purchased mine. Will update soon.

I really did not want to buy another TV right now, but these big screen DLPs are quickly becoming a thing-of-the-past, and I don't want to miss the opportunity to grab such a terrific bargain. The bang-for-the-buck on these TVs seems to be off the charts compared to the alternatives. One of the main reasons I'm getting this TV is for gaming, and I am totally jazzed about playing on a screen this size. Woohoo!

P.S. -- I will post my impressions about lag for a wide range of games, to help contribute to the thread.

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #280 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Newmason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy you better get your glasses out because I have been playing ps3 now for almost a month on my 60737 and I see absolutly no lag, oh and seeing the entire map on COD4 is amazing! in multiplayer mode

60737
Newmason is offline  
post #281 of 11280 Old 06-06-2009, 09:42 PM
Member
 
DigimortalFM81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could you gamers who own any of these new sets, post a few pictures of games being played on the TV?
DigimortalFM81 is offline  
post #282 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 07:12 AM
Member
 
George Omoregie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY 14624
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Mitsubishi will ship mine direct from the factory. $ is already in the hands of Mitsubishi.
It is 82837
George T. Omoregie.
George Omoregie is online now  
post #283 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I need help figuring out a couple things...

[Signal Delay] -- There is a significant delay in cable tv broadcasts. With multiple TVs in my house tuned to the same channel, the new DLP's broadcast is several seconds behind the other sets. That's not normal, is it?

[Pixels Jump, or Screen Re-focus] -- Every second or two, in a consistent rhythm like a heartbeat, pixels all over my screen appear to 'jump'... or shuffle... or else the screen is attempting to re-focus or something... not sure how to describe it, but it's very weird. This is definitely not normal.

The only thing keeping me from thinking it's something wrong with the TV, is that I just switched providers yesterday... from TimeWarnerCable to AT&T Uverse. The set-top boxes are different, and the signal is fiber optics instead of cable. I never got a chance to hook-up the new TV to my old TWC service, so I don't know for sure if these problems would have existed on there too. I'm hoping not. Surely it's not the TV, but just something wacky going on with this new service.

Any ideas?

Do you think one of my new set-top boxes might be bad? Do you think it's something wrong with the TV itself. Does either of these issues sound familiar?

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #284 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
joikd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Omoregie View Post

Mitsubishi will ship mine direct from the factory. $ is already in the hands of Mitsubishi.
It is 82837
George T. Omoregie.

This is the set I'm looking to buy, although I'm not brave enough to buy it without looking at it first. I'm hoping the significant increased depth of the 82 inchers will equal much better geometry when keystone correction is disabled, which would allow for both good geometry and 1:1 pixel mapping simultaneously. The depth numbers look like this (% increase is compared to the model one size down):
--60" = 15.1"
--65" = 16.0" (+5.9%)
--73" = 17.5" (+9.3%)
--82" = 22.7" (+29.7%)

How much (TV & shipping)?
joikd is offline  
post #285 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Newmason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
happy it sounds like your jumping images is like what I had a problem with. When I got a new TWC box I had not changed the settings to allow the box to switch between the resolutions 480p 720p ect..... and it was causing the tv to try and over compensate for the lower quality setting. Go into your cable box settings and make sure it is out putting the max res. should would work!

60737
Newmason is offline  
post #286 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by happy nightmares View Post

So then, is it unrealistic to expect to receive a unit without the slight geometry issues?

I wouldn't THINK so... there are plenty of people with '08 models who have turned off geometry correction and are satisfied with the results. I have an 08 with geometry correction turned off, and I consider my geometry to be much better than those examples posted earlier. I would have expected the '09 models to actually have better geometry than the 08, due to the deeper cabinets. Unless there was a simultaneous change to the quality of the lenses and/or mirrors used. Until more people test their geometry with 09 models (with geometry correction turned off), it's hard to say if the problems posted earlier are exceptions or not.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
post #287 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
happy

U-Verse picture is VERY compressed and on a large screen can look like you described. Try to use your antenna and see if the problem is the same, I bet it's gonna be OK though. BTW, the signal is NOT fiber optics but rather the ordinary coax. It's fiber from the source to the distribution center only and from there is the plain old and bad coax. U-VERSE is not FIOS (real fiber).

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #288 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 10:08 AM
Member
 
George Omoregie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY 14624
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post

This is the set I'm looking to buy, although I'm not brave enough to buy it without looking at it first. I'm hoping the significant increased depth of the 82 inchers will equal much better geometry when keystone correction is disabled, which would allow for both good geometry and 1:1 pixel mapping simultaneously. The depth numbers look like this (% increase is compared to the model one size down):
--60" = 15.1"
--65" = 16.0" (+5.9%)
--73" = 17.5" (+9.3%)
--82" = 22.7" (+29.7%)

How much (TV & shipping)?

send a PM to me.
George T. Omoregie
George Omoregie is online now  
post #289 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
bob13654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know anything about systemax? They own the new Circuit City website as well as Tiger Direct and Comp USA. They have the 65" with a stand for $1399 with free shipping and no tax. That sounds like a good deal.
bob13654 is offline  
post #290 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've certainly had nothing but good experiences with Tiger Direct on computer equipment over the years.
georule is offline  
post #291 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
bob13654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I pulled the trigger on the 65". Was looking at the 73" but that deal on the 65 was too good to pass up. Besides 65 is big enough for my bedroom as I already have a 70" XBR2 downstairs anyway.
bob13654 is offline  
post #292 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
Vitto09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After months and months of procrastinating and hoping for something bigger, better, and cheaper, I finally pulled the trigger today. I bought a 73837 and it will be delivered Tuesday, just in time to watch the Wings skate around with the cup. I couldn't justify the huge price increase for the 82" so instead put in $300 more for the 73837 over the 73737. I just hope its worth the additional price. Nonetheless, my wife and kids are finally getting the tv that I have told them about for almost a year now. Who knows, maybe in 6 months I'll own a blu-ray player too.
Vitto09 is offline  
post #293 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitto09 View Post

After months and months of procrastinating and hoping for something bigger, better, and cheaper, I finally pulled the trigger today. I bought a 73837 and it will be delivered Tuesday, just in time to watch the Wings skate around with the cup. I couldn't justify the huge price increase for the 82" so instead put in $300 more for the 73837 over the 73737. I just hope its worth the additional price. Nonetheless, my wife and kids are finally getting the tv that I have told them about for almost a year now. Who knows, maybe in 6 months I'll own a blu-ray player too.

A Bluray player is just a little over $200.00 now and a 73" needs good source because it reveals the over-compressed cable/satellite and low resolution of plain DVDs. A bluray disk on this set will look amazing and there will be no turning back, trust me.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #294 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by happy nightmares View Post

Do you think one of my new set-top boxes might be bad? Do you think it's something wrong with the TV itself. Does either of these issues sound familiar?

Get a new service provider or try Blu-Ray. The first problem sounds like either a DVR or de-compression delay. The second issue sounds like macroblocking. Both are caused by your multichannel service provider.
allargon is offline  
post #295 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 05:45 PM
Member
 
innuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Anacortes, Wa
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you're like me & got your 73737 from BB online, they've dropped it $100. I called them & they matched the new price w/out batting a eye. Sweet!
innuss is offline  
post #296 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
georule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen screenies or anything that really shows the difference between the models with the iris (Dark Detailer) and those that don't have it? I've turned off DeepField Imager on our 737 after some experimentation. I'm just curious, as I still have a feeling we could be in the market for another of these (65" or 73") in the next year, and that iris is the only thing I'd find interesting enough to shell out extra for an 837, if it actually makes a significant improvement.
georule is offline  
post #297 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 09:42 PM
Newbie
 
Varian Syn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just saw this on ShopNBC, I'm contemplating on buying it to replace my 833, I dunno yet though...
Varian Syn is offline  
post #298 of 11280 Old 06-07-2009, 11:09 PM
Member
 
renesis27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by happy nightmares View Post

Guys, I need help figuring out a couple things...

[Signal Delay] -- There is a significant delay in cable tv broadcasts. With multiple TVs in my house tuned to the same channel, the new DLP's broadcast is several seconds behind the other sets. That's not normal, is it?

[Pixels Jump, or Screen Re-focus] -- Every second or two, in a consistent rhythm like a heartbeat, pixels all over my screen appear to 'jump'... or shuffle... or else the screen is attempting to re-focus or something... not sure how to describe it, but it's very weird. This is definitely not normal.

The only thing keeping me from thinking it's something wrong with the TV, is that I just switched providers yesterday... from TimeWarnerCable to AT&T Uverse. The set-top boxes are different, and the signal is fiber optics instead of cable. I never got a chance to hook-up the new TV to my old TWC service, so I don't know for sure if these problems would have existed on there too. I'm hoping not. Surely it's not the TV, but just something wacky going on with this new service.

Any ideas?

Do you think one of my new set-top boxes might be bad? Do you think it's something wrong with the TV itself. Does either of these issues sound familiar?


I have U-verse and there is a delay between the different boxes. I can have my Mistu DLP on downstairs and switch the Panasonic plasma on the same channel upstairs and hear the delay. I has always been that way and I have had U-verse for about a year and half with the main DVR and three other receivers.

Nothing like the second problem you described except for an occasional pixel glitch but had that before with TWC too but if it is happening consistently then call support and get them on it since you just got it installed.
renesis27 is offline  
post #299 of 11280 Old 06-08-2009, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, thank you for the replies. I'm confident you are correct, and the issues must be with the new service provider, AT&T. We had a minor family emergency this weekend and I've been away from home since first unpacking and setting up the TV, but I will be back home tonight and figure out exactly what's going on.

Talk soon.

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #300 of 11280 Old 06-08-2009, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
[quote=happy nightmares;16598700]Count me in the club, I just purchased mine. Will update soon.
I really did not want to buy another TV right now, but these big screen DLPs are quickly becoming a thing-of-the-past, and I don't want to miss the opportunity to grab such a terrific bargain. The bang-for-the-buck on these TVs seems to be off the charts compared to the alternatives. One of the main reasons I'm getting this TV is for gaming, and I am totally jazzed about playing on a screen this size. Woohoo!



Same here. My 60XBR2 only does 60hz and I'm keen on 3D so I'm going to sell that set to my brother-in-law and get the 73737. I posted this in the 3D post also but does anyone know if 3D ready sets like the ones from Mitsubishi are compatible with Sensio 3D? See below.

To benefit from this stereoscopic experience, as seen at E3, players of the James Cameron’s Avatar: The Game can connect their existing game consoles directly to 3D-enabled TV’s with built-in SENSIO® 3D decoding technology. This game is a great addition to the growing library of DVD titles and live 3D events broadcast in digital cinemas that are all currently available in the SENSIO® 3D format. These live 3D events will soon be made available to consumers through Pay-Per-View or Video-On-Demand, increasing the quantity and variety of available content in the market.
About Ubisoft:
jbug is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Mitsubishi

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off