2009 Mitsubishi Owners Thread (C9/737/837) - Page 254 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7591 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 01:45 AM
Newbie
 
benee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a 60c9 and was wondering how much overscan i should have. I checked the graph in the service menu, shows like 6 percent with the right and left side of the screen in the green lines. When i play the 360 or watch movies its about a inch and a half cut off from both sides of the picture is that normal?
benee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7592 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Coolrey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my c9 I don't have too much overscan on anything but pc input, when you say put input as mp3, how would I do that? Sorry just don't clearly understand
Coolrey3 is offline  
post #7593 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 07:57 AM
Member
 
yojoe74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabunga View Post

Guys,

I really need your help in this. I bought the WD-60C9 from Dell one week ago.
The TV starting turning itself off follow by a red blinking light at the front of the TV.
The only was that I can turning on is by re-plugging the TV.
I am really frustrated, I really like the TV.
Any ideas what is this issue? Should I return it?

Thanks for your help

I have a 65737 which I bought new in late Dec, early Jan.
It started shutting down randomly after only a month or so.... screen would go completely black and the front indicator light would blink.

I ended up having to have the 'main board' replaced by a tech, which has (so far) completely fixed the problem. He diagnosed the problem over the phone, ordered the board, and replaced it the first visit to my house. The only problem was I had to wait a while because the part/board supposedly was on back-order (must be a common problem). Make sure he restores the light engine and geometry before he leaves. My tech left without doing it and the graphics were messed up until he emailed me the restore sheet...then I did the procedure myself. All good now.

My TV was under mfg warranty which includes in-home repair for the first year, so it didn't cost me anything except for the hassle of it all.

You can probably find some of my posts buried in this thread about the whole deal.
yojoe74 is offline  
post #7594 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jsrdlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fareal View Post

Couldn't resist the current WD-65C9 deal. $879 after Bing cash back, no tax, free shipping, from Tigerdirect. http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...9268&t=2068018

This should be a nice upgrade from my WD-52525!

Congrats!
jsrdlr is offline  
post #7595 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
blehnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't in the market for a new TV, but i picked up the 73" C9 with the stand at my local costco on Monday. If anyone is in the Madison, WI area they are selling them for $950 plus tax. I don't know if they have any left, i bought the last one that was in the box that was out on the floor. They may have had more in the back. The manager i talked to said they are not selling well and they want to get them out of the store. Might have something to do with costco being cash and carry - getting that TV home and into the basement was a major pain, but we managed.

I'm still in the middle of disconnecting/reconnecting everything and haven't had time to tweak the picture settings much. I'm upgrading from a 9 year old 720P LCD projector. I'm actually going to a smaller screen, but the bulb costs had been killing me - two bulbs would cost me as much as the new TV did.

I'm glad this topic is here, as the color yellow when viewing the HD cable TV via component seems all wrong. It's hard to describe, but it doesn't look natural. Red/Green/Blue look ok. And the xbox360 looks fine (also via component) My old Yamaha receiver does not support HDMI.

I'm hoping i can follow someone's settings as a starting point.
blehnen is offline  
post #7596 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 05:28 PM
Member
 
fareal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow great price at costco. Still $1499 at costco in southern california.
fareal is offline  
post #7597 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Wow, that is almost the same price I got my 65C9 for. Good find.
DenisG is offline  
post #7598 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Coolrey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should I consider my audio inputs broken since I'm not gettig audio from my pc?
Coolrey3 is offline  
post #7599 of 11334 Old 06-09-2010, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm replacing a Mammoth wd65807 with the C9 set, not to get it to fit in the cabinet
Scarpad is offline  
post #7600 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 04:46 AM
Newbie
 
Volcanic_xB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a new WD-65737 last week at CompUSA while searching for a replacement to my 42" Sharp LCD that was stolen from my house. Once I saw the deal they were offering, I couldn't pass it up. I got mine for $860 plus tax. Came out to be $927 total. (It was $1499 with a $640 instant discount.) So far, I couldn't be more pleased. It looks even BETTER than my Sharp LCD did. I just hope and pray that it holds up over time.
Volcanic_xB is offline  
post #7601 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 05:10 AM
g4s
Senior Member
 
g4s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volcanic_xB View Post

I bought a new WD-65737 last week at CompUSA while searching for a replacement to my 42" Sharp LCD that was stolen from my house. Once I saw the deal they were offering, I couldn't pass it up. I got mine for $860 plus tax. Came out to be $927 total. (It was $1499 with a $640 instant discount.) So far, I couldn't be more pleased. It looks even BETTER than my Sharp LCD did. I just hope and pray that it holds up over time.

Congratulations. I got a 73C9 to replace a Mits 65907 and couldn't believe how much more detail there is in the picture. You should check out the FAQ http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post17396070 Lots of great info and extended warranty links.
Matt
g4s is offline  
post #7602 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
shumi_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Guys,
have been shopping for a 60"-65" flat panel replacement for my old Sony Grand Wega KDF-60XS955 when yesterday I came across the WD-65837 which is for sale for $1399. Would the Mits set be a significant improvement over my 1080i Sony set? Only interested in HD TV, not movies for which I have a dedicated Runco projector HT. Anyone made a similar switch?
shumi_9 is offline  
post #7603 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shumi_9 View Post

Guys,
have been shopping for a 60"-65" flat panel replacement for my old Sony Grand Wega KDF-60XS955 when yesterday I came across the WD-65837 which is for sale for $1399. Would the Mits set be a significant improvement over my 1080i Sony set? Only interested in HD TV, not movies for which I have a dedicated Runco projector HT. Anyone made a similar switch?

Well, the lamp on the Mits is 50% brighter. I had a Sony Grand Wega (tho smaller than yours) of that vintage that I replaced with a 2009 Mits, and liked the improvement. Tho you won't be getting nearly as much of a "wow" out of a 5" increase (I went from 42" to 60").

You'll also be giving up CableCARD if you're using that on your set. The Mits no longer have that slot.

Depending on how far away you sit, and if you have the room, you might find the 73C9 a bigger impact on your enjoyment at about the same money. If you're not going to watch movies on it, as you indicate, then the dynamic iris that is the PQ improvement of the 837 models becomes less worthwhile --and there are already people who will tell you 1) it is a mixed blessing at times and 2) isn't worth the price increase.

If you haven't yet, take a skim thru the FAQ in my sig for all kinds of useful info re these sets.
georule is offline  
post #7604 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
blehnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fareal View Post

Wow great price at costco. Still $1499 at costco in southern california.

I'm going to guess then that it's just my local store that has decided to move their inventory. I've been watching this TV since dec '09, and they have been lowering the price every month or so.

I never noticed them selling any before - they always had 5 tv's in boxes setting out front until the last price drop.
blehnen is offline  
post #7605 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
TechieSooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mits Owners: Sony PS3 Works for 3D?

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-10450842-1.html

Does this mean we won't need adapters to get 3D content?
TechieSooner is offline  
post #7606 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No, regardless of the delivery method (PS3, BD, D*), you still need an adapter.

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #7607 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
shumi_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by georule View Post

Well, the lamp on the Mits is 50% brighter. I had a Sony Grand Wega (tho smaller than yours) of that vintage that I replaced with a 2009 Mits, and liked the improvement. Tho you won't be getting nearly as much of a "wow" out of a 5" increase (I went from 42" to 60").

You'll also be giving up CableCARD if you're using that on your set. The Mits no longer have that slot.

Depending on how far away you sit, and if you have the room, you might find the 73C9 a bigger impact on your enjoyment at about the same money. If you're not going to watch movies on it, as you indicate, then the dynamic iris that is the PQ improvement of the 837 models becomes less worthwhile --and there are already people who will tell you 1) it is a mixed blessing at times and 2) isn't worth the price increase.

If you haven't yet, take a skim thru the FAQ in my sig for all kinds of useful info re these sets.

Georule,
thanks for the reply...no I am not using the Cable Card at all. I was told the 2010 models are on their way...should I wait? Anything new coming up from Mits as far as DLP HT screens?
shumi_9 is offline  
post #7608 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Muckrak3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excuse my ignorance if this has been covered already, but I can not search on this forum. There is an ad where the search box opens up! ( thanks AVS, genius move ).

I have the 73" C9. I also have a PS3. Will I be able to watch 3-D movies and play 3-D games on the PS3 when they release the 3-D firmware upgrade? Is HDMI 1.4 required? If 3-D will work on this TV, are there any limitations? Also, what additional items need to be purchased? Thanks in advance!

So, you're saying there's a chance?
Muckrak3r is offline  
post #7609 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by shumi_9 View Post

Georule,
thanks for the reply...no I am not using the Cable Card at all. I was told the 2010 models are on their way...should I wait? Anything new coming up from Mits as far as DLP HT screens?

http://www.thegadgetguycolumn.com/in...ing-82-incher/
DenisG is offline  
post #7610 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 08:34 AM
Member
 
nez0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: west paterson, nj
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased the WD60-C9 from Dell and have a problem, the screen is crooked. I have been reading the forum and haven't really seen too much on a crooked screen. I was going to try and change the geometry settings on the tv but don't know if that will fix the picture. Its only off slightly but is definitely noticeable. Has anyone else had this problem? If so whats the best way to fix it.
nez0r is offline  
post #7611 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by nez0r View Post

I recently purchased the WD60-C9 from Dell and have a problem, the screen is crooked. I have been reading the forum and haven't really seen too much on a crooked screen. I was going to try and change the geometry settings on the tv but don't know if that will fix the picture. Its only off slightly but is definitely noticeable. Has anyone else had this problem? If so whats the best way to fix it.

I got my 65C9 from Dell and didn't have to touch a thing. I tell them to replace that one.
DenisG is offline  
post #7612 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
jsrdlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muckrak3r View Post

Excuse my ignorance if this has been covered already, but I can not search on this forum. There is an ad where the search box opens up! ( thanks AVS, genius move ).

I have the 73" C9. I also have a PS3. Will I be able to watch 3-D movies and play 3-D games on the PS3 when they release the 3-D firmware upgrade? Is HDMI 1.4 required? If 3-D will work on this TV, are there any limitations? Also, what additional items need to be purchased? Thanks in advance!

You will need the Mitsubishi 3D adapter which will convert the PS3's 3D format to the checkerboard format supported on your TV. You will also need 3D glasses that support DLP-link or an IR emitter and IR glasses. You can go to the 3D sub forums for more info.

This thread has info regarding the Mitsubishi adapter.
jsrdlr is offline  
post #7613 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Muckrak3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrdlr View Post

You will need the Mitsubishi 3D adapter which will convert the PS3's 3D format to the checkerboard format supported on your TV. You will also need 3D glasses that support DLP-link or an IR emitter and IR glasses. You can go to the 3D sub forums for more info.

This thread has info regarding the Mitsubishi adapter.

Thanks for the reply. I am most happy about this, as screen size and 3-D capability were the 2 reasons that swayed me to buy this set. Although it will be additional cost, the prospect of being able to watch 3-D movies and play 3-D games is most pleasing to me!!!! ( firmware updates are why I bought the PS3 as a blu-ray player too, so far my past 3-D purchase decisions have been made wisely, hopefully all falls into place successfully, and soon! )

So, you're saying there's a chance?
Muckrak3r is offline  
post #7614 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
jsrdlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muckrak3r View Post

Thanks for the reply. I am most happy about this, as screen size and 3-D capability were the 2 reasons that swayed me to buy this set. Although it will be additional cost, the prospect of being able to watch 3-D movies and play 3-D games is most pleasing to me!!!! ( firmware updates are why I bought the PS3 as a blu-ray player too, so far my past 3-D purchase decisions have been made wisely, hopefully all falls into place successfully, and soon! )

I have nearly the exact same setup and for the exact same reasons!
jsrdlr is offline  
post #7615 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Muckrak3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crap! $399 for the kit. I hope the price comes down as more blu-rays and games are available. I have waited this long, I can wait a bit more for a price drop (that may never come! )

So, you're saying there's a chance?
Muckrak3r is offline  
post #7616 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muckrak3r View Post

Crap! $399 for the kit. I hope the price comes down as more blu-rays and games are available. I have waited this long, I can wait a bit more for a price drop (that may never come! )

If you don't need the whole kit, just get the adapter for $100
DenisG is offline  
post #7617 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Muckrak3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post

If you don't need the whole kit, just get the adapter for $100

unfortunately, i dont have any shutterglasses or an emitter yet.

So, you're saying there's a chance?
Muckrak3r is offline  
post #7618 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
TechieSooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stew4msu View Post

No, regardless of the delivery method (PS3, BD, D*), you still need an adapter.

Wasn't there talk of the PS3 outputting the checkerboard format and not needing the adapter?

When are these adapters coming out, and what'd be the cheapest route to buy 3D capability (I don't have any 3D sources yet, either... Probably will have to get a PS3 unless there's a better route).
TechieSooner is offline  
post #7619 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muckrak3r View Post

unfortunately, i dont have any shutterglasses or an emitter yet.

Alot of us would rather save on the cost of the kit and buy DLP link glasses over emitter based.
DenisG is offline  
post #7620 of 11334 Old 06-10-2010, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Troggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post

Alot of us would rather save on the cost of the kit and buy DLP link glasses over emitter based.

Is there any reason to go with DLP-Link over emitter-based glasses? If they perform the same I'd rather just go the cheaper route. The only reason I can come up with, so far, to get the emitter-based glasses is to bring them with you if someone else is showing a 3D at their place. But, then there's the whole issue with Samsung v Panasonic compatibility. I hate having all these different formats.
Troggie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Mitsubishi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off