2010 Mitsubishi 3D DLP Owners Thread (738/838 series) - Page 300 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 47Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8971 of 8984 Old 03-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
quakerwildcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had an Amazon Fire TV Stick connected to my Mitsubishi DLP for a while. Now suddenly when I try to play content from Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc., I get only sound but the screen displays a DHCP Error.

I called Amazon and was told that a DHCP update in recent days left some older TVs, including Mitsubishi DLPs, behind. They recommended that I get a new TV.

Nonsense?
quakerwildcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8972 of 8984 Old 03-03-2015, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 19" away from my computer screen
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by quakerwildcat View Post
I've had an Amazon Fire TV Stick connected to my Mitsubishi DLP for a while. Now suddenly when I try to play content from Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc., I get only sound but the screen displays a DHCP Error.

I called Amazon and was told that a DHCP update in recent days left some older TVs, including Mitsubishi DLPs, behind. They recommended that I get a new TV.

Nonsense?
Tell them to ensure that the TV stick works as advertised. THEY made the change, not Mitsubishi.


I smell a lawsuit...
old corps likes this.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_________________________________________________
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #8973 of 8984 Old 03-03-2015, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by quakerwildcat View Post
I've had an Amazon Fire TV Stick connected to my Mitsubishi DLP for a while. Now suddenly when I try to play content from Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc., I get only sound but the screen displays a DHCP Error.

I called Amazon and was told that a DHCP update in recent days left some older TVs, including Mitsubishi DLPs, behind. They recommended that I get a new TV.





Nonsense?

I'd be insisting they refund the purchase price. They sold you their device that worked fine, then made it useless to you with THEIR update.
Nonsense indeed.
Ed
old corps is offline  
post #8974 of 8984 Old 03-04-2015, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by quakerwildcat View Post
I've had an Amazon Fire TV Stick connected to my Mitsubishi DLP for a while. Now suddenly when I try to play content from Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc., I get only sound but the screen displays a DHCP Error.

I called Amazon and was told that a DHCP update in recent days left some older TVs, including Mitsubishi DLPs, behind. They recommended that I get a new TV.

Nonsense?
Yes, "Nonsense". All of the device updates should be backward compatible.
old corps likes this.

lujan
767 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #8975 of 8984 Old 03-05-2015, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
quakerwildcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yep. Unplugging everything (including the TV) and restarting did the trick. However as it turns out it really may have been a problem with the TV. I didn't realize at the time, but I was getting sound only (no video) from my cable box on another HDMI input. Restarting everything restored video on both the cable and the Fire TV Stick.
old corps likes this.
quakerwildcat is offline  
post #8976 of 8984 Old 04-07-2015, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Wypoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO710HD View Post
As Rastro would say "RUH ROH GEORGE!"

My beloved 82" has started shutting off without warning and leaves the light blinking green rapidly. This has occurred about 6 times in the last 3 weeks. The set powers up and functions normally after turning it back on.

Does anyone know what this indicates? I was able to have the light engine replaced by MITS just outside of the warranty but that's the only thing that has been replaced to date.
My 82" would do that occasionally when I'd go from HD to a digital channel (on demand menu would do it most frequently) on the cable tuner box. I found that if I changed input to the Blu-ray quick enough, I could keep the tv from turning off. About a year ago, I installed a Yamaha receiver and all inputs run though it. The tv hasn't turned off by itself since.
Wypoker is offline  
post #8977 of 8984 Old 04-27-2015, 12:11 PM
Member
 
bub_star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just a quick note to let you all know that I just replaced the lamp for the first time in my WD65738. This comes after 4-1/2 years and 10,154 hours. I knew it was time, as the picture was very dim a few days ago, and the unit would not start at all yesterday - the lamp completely failed. The replacement is an OEM Mits. lamp.

As expected, the new lamp has basically made the TV like new - the picture is bright and crisp. I will recalibrate in the next few days, and hopefully get a few years out of this lamp, as well.
old corps and audiofan1 like this.

Last edited by bub_star; 04-28-2015 at 05:00 AM.
bub_star is offline  
post #8978 of 8984 Old 04-28-2015, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by bub_star View Post
Just a quick note to let you all know that I just replaced the lamp for the first time in my WD65738. This comes after 4-1/2 years and 10,154 hours. I knew it was time, as the picture was very dim a few days ago, and the unit would not start at all yesterday - the lamp completely failed. The replacement is an OEM Mits. lamp.

As expected, the new lamp has basically made the TV like new - the picture is bright and crisp. I will recalibrate in the next few days, and hopefully get a few years out of this lamp, as well.

WOW! That's an amazing number hours on a single lamp!


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #8979 of 8984 Old 04-28-2015, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 19" away from my computer screen
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by bub_star View Post
Just a quick note to let you all know that I just replaced the lamp for the first time in my WD65738. This comes after 4-1/2 years and 10,154 hours. I knew it was time, as the picture was very dim a few days ago, and the unit would not start at all yesterday - the lamp completely failed. The replacement is an OEM Mits. lamp.

As expected, the new lamp has basically made the TV like new - the picture is bright and crisp. I will recalibrate in the next few days, and hopefully get a few years out of this lamp, as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
WOW! That's an amazing number hours on a single lamp!


Ed


WD65835 here. I replaced my second lamp (also Mitsubishi) at 9,987 hours. It was still working, but dim. I keep it as a spare. I should probably have replaced it much earlier. The first lamp was replaced (still working, and also a spare) at 5,639 hours.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_________________________________________________
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #8980 of 8984 Old 04-29-2015, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by bub_star View Post
Just a quick note to let you all know that I just replaced the lamp for the first time in my WD65738. This comes after 4-1/2 years and 10,154 hours. I knew it was time, as the picture was very dim a few days ago, and the unit would not start at all yesterday - the lamp completely failed. The replacement is an OEM Mits. lamp.

As expected, the new lamp has basically made the TV like new - the picture is bright and crisp. I will recalibrate in the next few days, and hopefully get a few years out of this lamp, as well.
Was the lamp setting on low or high?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #8981 of 8984 Old 04-30-2015, 12:15 PM
Member
 
bub_star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Was the lamp setting on low or high?
Low...
bub_star is offline  
post #8982 of 8984 Old Yesterday, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
esatchel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
WOW! That's an amazing number hours on a single lamp!


Ed
10396 here....buying an OEM lamp on Ebay right now.
esatchel is offline  
post #8983 of 8984 Old Yesterday, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 19" away from my computer screen
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by esatchel View Post
10396 here....buying an OEM lamp on Ebay right now.

I don't think OEMs sell on ebay.





"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_________________________________________________
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #8984 of 8984 Old Today, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
esatchel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
I don't think OEMs sell on ebay.




I tried this one....http://www.ebay.com/itm/121540456600...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

looks like OEM to me....hopefully good

Last edited by esatchel; Today at 10:01 AM. Reason: add additonal info
esatchel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off