large HDTV as computer monitor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-11-2002, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
analogue deity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
I'm new to HDTV, so forgive if this isn't the correct forum.
I'm shopping for a HDTV for someone, they will be using it in part as a computer monitor.
Looked at Princeton, perfect but too small.
Is there a larger HDTV that has connection for use as a computer monitor (like the Princeton?)? I forgot what the 15 pin connection is called.
Can any projection tv's serve as computer monitors?
thanks in advance for any help!
feel free to e-mail me directly, remove ENDSPAM from address


:confused:
analogue deity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-12-2002, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Davidson,NC,USA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
analogue deity

Welcome to the forum,
I know that there are some out there who are using the Pioneer HDTV units as there monitors. The Pioneer TV's have the connector on the back to hook up to some STB that have the RGB connection.

Tony
Tony is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-14-2002, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
RSawdey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ferndale, Michigan
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to look in the Home Theater PC forum. Lots of folks use HDTVs as monitors, running at 960 x 540p for 1080i only sets, or at 1280 x 720p. If your set doesn't have VGA or RGBHV inputs, you can get a transcoder to convert from VGA to component (YPrPb) for about $150
RSawdey is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-14-2002, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
analogue deity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks Tony for the welcome. I heard something about Pioneer Elite series and how you aren't supposed to use the VGA inputs for computer...I'll check some more on that. At this point I'm leaning towards the 53" RCA unit that has VGA input.
RSawdey...I'll check the HT PC forum, thanks.
analogue deity is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-15-2002, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Davidson,NC,USA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
analogue deity

Thats what I had heard also, but there are those using them, it has something to do with the correct signal being sent to the TV. They are using software called Power Strip to send the correct signal to the input.

This will be my next adventure later this year, when I get a new computer.

Tony
Tony is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-16-2002, 03:43 AM
Member
 
Hyphen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer 510, and run an HTPC and an iScan Pro. I have high-quality 75 Ohm monitor leads and a (cheap) switch box so I can select either.

There are two concerns with using the TV as a monitor: getting the timing right (Powerstrip is the usual answer here; and there can be fun in getting the derired setup resolutions) and avoiding phosphor burn-in. To the latter end I have spent some time eradicating white from large areas of the screen (ie open windows are a darker shade which still allows text to be read).

Neil
Hyphen is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-16-2002, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
jakehall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Albany NY area USA
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pioneer TVs will work with a 640x480 VGA signal on the RGB input, but it won't look right and will cut off parts of the screen area. I think powerstrip with a compatible video card is the only real answer. Unfortunately my video card is older and won't do custom resolutions, so I can't try again until I buy a new card.

jake
jakehall is offline  
Closed Thread Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off