Anyone Use A Video Processor With Their RPTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-14-2002, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
McPatrickClan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, TX/America
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've always been told that using a video processor on an RPTV is overkill. Anyone else out there that uses a video processor on their RPTV? I run an RP56 DVD player, so my picture is pretty clean.

Do you have questions about life? Ask me.
McPatrickClan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-15-2002, 12:57 PM
Member
 
zxe018's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I run a Key Digital Leeza to my Pioneer 510, feeding it 540p via RGBHV

Yes it is overkill but here are my reasons:
1) Price was too good to pass up
2) 540p
3) SDI input (have a Panny RP91 w/ SDI)
4) DVI output
5) Firmware upgrades via RS232 port
6) Key Digital's customer service
7) With its flexibilty, I'm ready for that future front projector.

Thanks,
Chris Yra
zxe018 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-18-2002, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Darrel Johansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: ...upstairs, in the dark, in Tempe
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a Crystal Image with my 1999 65" Mits. Since this set won't take a progressive DVD player, this is the next best thing. The improvement is great, running at 540p.

If you've got a 480p player, then you probably won't see much improvement with a scaler --at least for DVDs.
Darrel Johansen is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-19-2002, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robert2413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belmont CA U.S.A.
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Vigatec Dune with a Barco Retrographics 801s. (It also drives a 50" plasma.) I used to use a Faroudja VP-400 for the Barco. Using a scaler on this class of projector is not overkill. However, given that this is basically a Barco 801s Graphics chassis inside a rear projector assembly (using 8" tubes), my experience may not scale to a consumer rear projector using 7" tubes.
Robert2413 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-20-2002, 08:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Shawn O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Windsor,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting for my Omega One to be delivered.It will be used with a Sony 61hs10.I watch a lot of satellite so DCDi will do a much better job than DRC(night and day from what I've read).Also,I will now have 3:2 pulldown which my generation of DRC lacks.

Shawn
Shawn O is offline  
Closed Thread Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off