White Dots on Mitsubishi WD-73734 screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 08-22-2011, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IrishLord82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I recently changed the bulb on my WD-73734. After doing so, I started to see a white dot; later it became two white dots and now its about 5 white dots. Does anyone know what is causing this problem and how I might get it resolved? Did anyone have the same or similar problem? How did you resolve it? Thanks.
IrishLord82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 08-23-2011, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
BrownThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The light engine is going bad and will need to be replaced. I had that problem on mine. It can be done by yourself if you're comfortable replacing a part ( just some screws and ribbon cables), I found an entire new light engine for my 65737 on Amazon for $220.
BrownThunder is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 08-23-2011, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IrishLord82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownThunder View Post

The light engine is going bad and will need to be replaced. I had that problem on mine. It can be done by yourself if you're comfortable replacing a part ( just some screws and ribbon cables), I found an entire new light engine for my 65737 on Amazon for $220.

Thanks for the input. Someone else said that it was the DLP chip that was causing the spots. Is that the same as the light engine?
IrishLord82 is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 08-23-2011, 04:17 PM
Member
 
74f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DLP chip is the part that fails in the Light engine.

If a set is covered under a Mitsu warranty, you have to replace the engine. If out of warranty, just the chip can be replaced.

Jim


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
74f100 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 08-24-2011, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IrishLord82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by 74f100 View Post

The DLP chip is the part that fails in the Light engine.

If a set is covered under a Mitsu warranty, you have to replace the engine. If out of warranty, just the chip can be replaced.

Jim

Thanks for info, Jim. I contacted a local authorized service provider and they asked me to contact Mits about the light engine. Apparently, even though I am out of warranty, Mits will consider providing the light engine for free if I pay for the installation labor. Am waiting to hear from Mits Consumer Relations to see what their decision is. If they don't authorized the light engine replacement, then I will just replace the chip.
IrishLord82 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 08-25-2011, 02:16 PM
Member
 
74f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They will probably require that a service center submit an estimate. There is usually a charge for this.

Good luck,
Jim


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
74f100 is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 08-25-2011, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IrishLord82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Okay, the situation is now resolved. Mits has agreed to provide a new optical engine at no cost. I have to pay for the service call and installation, about $350. I am satisfied with that solution. The entire optical engine was quoted to me as costing about $1100.
IrishLord82 is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 02-14-2012, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
dragonrwb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i have been reading on here about the problem with white dots and black ones and it looks like whenever people change out there lamp this happens. because i just had my lamp replaced as well by a tv repair company and suddenly 3 weeks later i saw 1 white dot! not 4 weeks later i have 34 white dots and i can't even tell you how many black ones and more coming everyday!! why does this happen after the lamp was done??? did the repair company screw something up? i did contact mitsubishi and if i paid the 200 labor they would take care of parts but then there wasn't an authorized repair nearby so they said they now need to escolate it futher and they will get back to me in a few days grrr so now i wait in the mean time 2-3 more new dots everyday!!
dragonrwb is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 03-25-2012, 03:47 PM
Newbie
 
number1pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My unit had the issue. I fixed it myself and wrote an article about it
l337tech dot com tips-and-tricks/fix-dlp-dots-replace-dlp-chip-yourself
number1pete is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-05-2012, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
CoreyOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old post but I did a search. I have the same TV and have 3 dots and growing. Do I just replace the light engine and the new chip comes with the light engine? Or just replace the DLP chip? Thank you
CoreyOKC is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 12-06-2012, 08:35 AM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Call Mitsubishi at 1-800-322-2119. They have an program to assist people with the problem.
GEP is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-07-2012, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
CoreyOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GEP View Post

Call Mitsubishi at 1-800-322-2119. They have an program to assist people with the problem.
Number is disconnected.
CoreyOKC is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 12-07-2012, 10:40 AM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No it is not, try #1 after you listen to the menu.
GEP is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 12-07-2012, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
CoreyOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GEP View Post

No it is not, try #1 after you listen to the menu.

Tones "the toll free number has been disconnected no further information is available for this number 0217". The operator. You sure u have the correct toll free number?
CoreyOKC is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 12-09-2012, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
CoreyOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did some research GEP, the actual number is 1-800-332-2119 but I will call them tmw and they should have all my questions answered...
CoreyOKC is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 03-03-2013, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
yogi06261970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
20 White Dots on Mitsubishi WD-73734 scrn so what can i do?can you halp me
yogi06261970 is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 03-03-2013, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
yogi06261970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishLord82 View Post

I recently changed the bulb on my WD-73734. After doing so, I started to see a white dot; later it became two white dots and now its about 5 white dots. Does anyone know what is causing this problem and how I might get it resolved? Did anyone have the same or similar problem? How did you resolve it? Thanks.
yogi06261970 is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 07-31-2013, 06:44 PM
Member
 
finallyabigtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena,TX
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also changed my bulb on my WD65C9 and the white dots appeared about a month later. I ordered the chip from ShopJimmys for $180 and did the replacement myself. TV is as new.
finallyabigtv is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 08-01-2013, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by finallyabigtv View Post

I also changed my bulb on my WD65C9 and the white dots appeared about a month later. I ordered the chip from
ShopJimmys for $180 and did the replacement myself. TV is as new.
\

I just changed the DLP chip on my 73735 yesterday. The white/black dots are gone now but I am getting what I will call a "screen door effect" that I did not have before frown.gif. It is like vertical waved lines on a white or bright
backgrounds and is across the whole screen. Everything went well with swap out but I have been racking my brain as to what is causing it. Can someone tell me if there was a piece of clear plastic or other material
across the mirror on your replacement DLP chip? I thought I looked at it but maybe I didn't. Any other ideas would be much appreciated!
Thanks, Gerry
ggw2000 is online now  
post #20 of 26 Old 08-01-2013, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Can you post a photo please?

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 08-01-2013, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Wish I could but currently out of town until first of week. It's like if you had a sheet hanging on a line and it had small vertical folds in it. Sorry not much of an explanation. Also noticed that I have lighter colored blobs in the center portion of screen on a black screen frown.gif. Gerry
ggw2000 is online now  
post #22 of 26 Old 08-01-2013, 08:02 PM
Member
 
finallyabigtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena,TX
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think I had any plastic on my replacement chip. Just go back into your tv and take a look. You have done it once, so it should be fairly quick. Where did you get your chip ? Did you do any cleaning on your light engine or inside the tv ? Did you touch the inside of the chip ?
finallyabigtv is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 08-02-2013, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I did clean out everything with canned air. Handled the chip correctly. I'm going to pull it back apart mid week and see if I can find out what's going on. Really love this set and in researching the pos LCD 70 inch TVs that Sony & Vizio are putting out I don't want to go that route if at all possible. Gerry
ggw2000 is online now  
post #24 of 26 Old 08-02-2013, 02:44 PM
Member
 
finallyabigtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena,TX
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not knocking what you have done. I used a vacuum to clean mine because with canned air you just blow the dust into the air and it can go anywhere,everywhere. Be sure to check your lens. Good luck.
finallyabigtv is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 08-06-2013, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by finallyabigtv View Post

I am not knocking what you have done. I used a vacuum to clean mine because with canned air you just blow the dust into the air and it can go anywhere,everywhere. Be sure to check your lens. Good luck.

Well pulled the TV apart this morning. Rechecked everything as I went. Got down to the DLP chip and checked the mirror on replacement chip. It was filthy! I could have sworn that I looked at it prior to putting it in but obviously must have just glanced
at it frown.gif. Cleaned the mirror and put everything back together. Works like a new TV!! I hope it keeps running another 4-5 years as I love it.
NOTE: To anyone replacing the chip make sure you look closely at the mirror and make sure it is clean!!

Thanks to all, Gerry
ggw2000 is online now  
post #26 of 26 Old 08-06-2013, 04:05 PM
Member
 
JuEv0splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by finallyabigtv View Post

I am not knocking what you have done. I used a vacuum to clean mine because with canned air you just blow the dust into the air and it can go anywhere,everywhere. Be sure to check your lens. Good luck.

Well pulled the TV apart this morning. Rechecked everything as I went. Got down to the DLP chip and checked the mirror on replacement chip. It was filthy! I could have sworn that I looked at it prior to putting it in but obviously must have just glanced
at it frown.gif. Cleaned the mirror and put everything back together. Works like a new TV!! I hope it keeps running another 4-5 years as I love it.
NOTE: To anyone replacing the chip make sure you look closely at the mirror and make sure it is clean!!

Thanks to all, Gerry

I had the same issue as you with the gray circles/blots on my 60735 after Mitsu's contracted tech left my house.

Since I didn't want to call back and wait for him to come fix it, I opened up my LE to find that the glass on the chip had dust all over it. But wait, to top it off, the tech didn't even lock the chip onto the board! If I had been holding it at a steeper angle it would have fallen out and probably been destroyed. Luckily that didn't happen so I cleaned it up, LOCKED it in place, and now it works perfectly.

It really blows that I had to pay $200 just to follow someone else's botched install and redo it myself. I originally asked Mitsu if they could just ship it to me but of course they wouldn't.

Fair warning out there to those of you who may be replacing your chip in the future, you might be better off doing it yourself to begin with. You just can't trust someone else to take the same care during an install that you would. After all, you have to live with the outcome, they don't.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4
JuEv0splash is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Mitsubishi , Mitsubishi Brand , Mitsubishi Electronics America

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off