Sony kds-r50xbr1 no picture, just a vertical bar - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-15-2011, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About a week ago my lamp died so I replaced it. Two days later the fan was giving me problems so I cleaned it and it worked perfectly for a couple weeks. Now when I turn it on, all I get is a black screen with a vertical bar on the left side. The bar is a greenish color and is made up of a few different shades of smaller vertical green bars. When I press the menu buttons, nothing happens. Basically the TV just stays like this and all I can do is turn it off. It's stuck on input 4 (RGB + audio) and the audio DOES work.

I have it completely opened up and I'm an engineer so don't be afraid to speak in techy terms. Where do I start? Right now I'm looking at the connection between the lamp control board and the giant video processor board. I know everything else works because I've tested most everything else (fans, power supply, sensors, inverters).

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-15-2011, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter

After further inspection I found that the controls on the TV work still, I can turn up and down the volume, change channels, bring up the menu etc.. I know because I pressed the TV/VIDEO button and it went to 'TV mode' so I could hear static, then used the vol+ and heard faint static, then I changed channels and heard the static stop for a second then resume, then I pressed 'menu' and tried to change channels again and it didn't work. I also tested audio on a few inputs and it's working fine.

hmm...
post #3 of 6 Old 12-15-2011, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter

and here's exactly what I see:

http://s661.photobucket.com/albums/u...t=SDC11073.jpg

Ideas?
post #4 of 6 Old 12-17-2011, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter