Have a 7 yr old Sony LCD w/resolution of 720p. How'd it accept 1080p Blu-ray? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My son has a hand-me-down seven year old Sony LCD that has 720p maximum resolution. He needs a DVD, and I am willing to give him my Panasonic Blu-ray player, which does a nice job of "upconverting" regular DVD's.

OK, question: How would that aforementioned 720p TV handle the 1080p Blu-ray signal going into it? Is it worth it providing the Blu-ray player to it? I guess ut would at least be a good 480o player for it??? Thanks for advice !
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2012, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Set your blu ray player to output 720p and they will still look good. What model tv is it?
Verge2 is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verge2 View Post

Set your blu ray player to output 720p and they will still look good. What model tv is it?

42A10. You know, now that I think of it, was it 720p OR 768p ?

I know that I cannot make a "silk purse out of a sow's ear" but my son needs a replacement "DVD" and hey, my Panny Blu-ray of about three years could be a good one for him I was thinking. I just did not know if its signal would somehow not "translate" to that older Sony A10, 720p or 768p.
So you are saying set the Blu-ray on 720, huh?
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
KewlK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

42A10. You know, now that I think of it, was it 720p OR 768p ?

I know that I cannot make a "silk purse out of a sow's ear" but my son needs a replacement "DVD" and hey, my Panny Blu-ray of about three years could be a good one for him I was thinking. I just did not know if its signal would somehow not "translate" to that older Sony A10, 720p or 768p.
So you are saying set the Blu-ray on 720, huh?

"Verge2" is right, the KDF-E42A10 is a native 720p display. Set the Blu-ray player to output at 720p resolution (1280x720). That will provide the best picture quality possible for this particular TV.

768p stands for four possible PC resolutions: (1024x768 / 1280x768 / 1360x768 / 1366x768). Some LCD HDTVs were in fact manufactured to be capable of displaying either 1280, 1360, or 1366x768 natively. These are not official HDTV standards and I don't know of many Blu-ray players that can output those resolutions.

Don't be concerned about them, the best your old Sony can do is definitely 720p.
KewlK is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks a lot. That makes sense. So I assume that I can utilize Blu-ray discs in there?
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
KewlK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

Thanks a lot. That makes sense. So I assume that I can utilize Blu-ray discs in there?

Take a deep breath and relax, that same question has been answered twice now. Third time should be the charm: YES

Just set the Blu-ray player to output video at 720p. The player will automatically down scale Blu-ray 1080p (full HD) content to 720p. The movies will be displayed in 720p HD, that's the best that your son's TV can do.

Again, somewhere within your Blu-ray player's menu there will be an option to change the display resolution output.

Make sure to set the Blu-ray player to output 720p beforehand, so that it will then work with the old TV.


P.S. This is a joke thread isn't it? You have waayyy too many posts under your belt to not know the basics.
KewlK is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KewlK View Post

Take a deep breath and relax, that same question has been answered twice now. Third time should be the charm: YES

Just set the Blu-ray player to output video at 720p. The player will automatically down scale Blu-ray 1080p (full HD) content to 720p. The movies will be displayed in 720p HD, that's the best that your son's TV can do.

Again, somewhere within your Blu-ray player's menu there will be an option to change the display resolution output.

Make sure to set the Blu-ray player to output 720p beforehand, so that it will then work with the old TV.


P.S. This is a joke thread isn't it? You have waayyy too many posts under your belt to not know the basics.

Thanks...but I have to admit that I am reeeeeal close to asking the SAME question (a different way) AGAIN, juuuust for YOU !
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
KewlK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

Thanks...but I have to admit that I am reeeeeal close to asking the SAME question (a different way) AGAIN, juuuust for YOU !

You're honestly still confused?

It's OK, go ahead and ask your "same question in a different way"...if you think it will help.
KewlK is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KewlK View Post

You're honestly still confused?

It's OK, go ahead and ask your "same question in a different way"...if you think it will help.

Thanks again, but really...your "B.S. screener" has been off, so TURN THE B.S. meter back ON, please.

I did get it...

Wait a minute...WHICH side of the DVD disc points up?
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off