Mitsubishi: DEFECT in 2011 DLP Sets/fix - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 140 Old 05-26-2012, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
ILOVEMYHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CLEVELAND, OH
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
hi all. i have updated my 640 before..but sense I have upgraded my laptop; tried to download i keep on getting. failed attempt do to something about " Change the association in your preferences" can any explain..?

XBOX >cata1:mothballed; PS3+4  =  CHiNGOBLiNG   = RUBEN...
YOU NEED TO OPEN YOUR EYES TO SEE THE PICTURE!!

 

itty bitty MAN CAVE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    has now become>>.. "SHOE MAKER HOME THEATER"..click..>
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


ILOVEMYHDTV is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 140 Old 05-26-2012, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
ILOVEMYHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CLEVELAND, OH
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
forget it, sometimes i'm to stupid for my own good. just change web browser download successful and on thumb drive ready for updating. oops i realized that i extracted to a sd card...OK. now on thumb drive an tv is doing it thing now.... an BINGO !! 13.06 is listed on the menu ....

XBOX >cata1:mothballed; PS3+4  =  CHiNGOBLiNG   = RUBEN...
YOU NEED TO OPEN YOUR EYES TO SEE THE PICTURE!!

 

itty bitty MAN CAVE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    has now become>>.. "SHOE MAKER HOME THEATER"..click..>
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


ILOVEMYHDTV is online now  
post #123 of 140 Old 05-27-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
KingLou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this defect apply to the A94 LaserVue? And is the 13.06 firmware version compatible with it?

Under downloads section on the Mitsu site for the A94, the 13.03 version as listed as being the most up to date. I don't want to brick my brand new TV with firmware that's not compatible.

Thanks!
KingLou is offline  
post #124 of 140 Old 05-27-2012, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yadfgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingLou View Post

Does this defect apply to the A94 LaserVue? And is the 13.06 firmware version compatible with it?

Under downloads section on the Mitsu site for the A94, the 13.03 version as listed as being the most up to date. I don't want to brick my brand new TV with firmware that's not compatible.

Thanks!

I dunno on the defect with your TV. But I do know you definitely do not want to update your TV with a firmware not listed as being compatible with your TV. If the 13.03 is listed by Mits as being the most recent, then just stick with that.

The defect some people had with their TV's in this thread can be very easy to see. All the pertinent info can be found in the 1st page.

1 Mitsubishi WD-82642 82" TV
1 Onkyo TX-NR929 11.4 setup
2 Emotiva XPA-5's
1 Emotiva XPA-100
1 Definitive Technology CLR 3000 (Center)
2 Definitive Technology BP2004TL's (Mains)
2 Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000's (Heights)
6 Definitive Technology BPX's (Rears Wides Sides)
4 CHT VS-18.1 Subs
yadfgp is online now  
post #125 of 140 Old 06-01-2012, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
Infinitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this has probably been covered, but I missed it. Can someone send me the mitsu 13.06 update in a zip file. I have been trying for weeks, but it comes back as a utv file with an adobe association that is not a zip file. Can't open it. Can't fix it. Can't use it and almost ready to quit even trying. I must have missed something some where. Thanks for any info you can give me.
Infinitro is offline  
post #126 of 140 Old 06-02-2012, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinitro View Post

I know this has probably been covered, but I missed it. Can someone send me the mitsu 13.06 update in a zip file. I have been trying for weeks, but it comes back as a utv file with an adobe association that is not a zip file. Can't open it. Can't fix it. Can't use it and almost ready to quit even trying. I must have missed something some where. Thanks for any info you can give me.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post22029434

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #127 of 140 Old 06-03-2012, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
eboy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to update this thread.

Basically, the repair company showed up, very professional and prompt. Tech seemed to be very knowledged in TVs and answered all my questions.
He told me basically, the reason why my TV wouldn't take the 13.06 update was due to the memory being full. I told him about the flashing green LED I received a month or so ago, and he ordered me up a mainboard.
2 days before they called me to install the mainboard, I received the flashing green LED again, coincidence right?
Tech came, I showed him the flashing green LED thing, he replaced the mainboard, TV turned on normally, running 13.06 firmware.

So all in all I'm happy, since the TV is under warranty. I'd really hate for this thing to crap out with the mainboard after the warranty expires.
eboy0 is offline  
post #128 of 140 Old 09-19-2012, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
KevinCTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am expecting to receive my 82740 tomorrow and just stumbled onto this page while doing some research. Is it safe to assume that I will have to update my firmware or has there been any reports of this model being free of defects?

Thanks,

Kevin
KevinCTG is offline  
post #129 of 140 Old 09-19-2012, 12:05 PM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Assume nothing. Check the software level. Press MENU and look at the lower left hand corner. The Mitsubsihi web site shows that the current software is 013.06. If that is shown on your TV, then no new update is available.

Also if you connect up to the internet and stay connected to use the internet (by connect up and stay connect I mean the eithernet cable is connected to the TV or you have the optional wireless adapter in the USB slot and paired to your home wireless router), then you get the updates automatically.

In the history of TVs and in the history of Software there has never been a "defect free" TV or software. It is just the defects may be self correcting or occur so infrequently that most people do not see them as a defect. 013.06 has been out for a long time so it seems that software bugs that seem to cause problems have been fixed. As for a TV that will not fail, that is impossible but on the whole these TVs have been reliable.

If there was a TV design that will not fail, there would be no such thing as TV Repair shops.
GEP is offline  
post #130 of 140 Old 09-22-2012, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
KevinCTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback sir. Got the TV two days ago with no problems in shipping from Pauls TV. The manufacture date on mine is March 2012 and it came with firmware ver. 13.05. I corrected the date and time and left the TV hooked up to my router overnight and it auto updated by the time i powered the tv on the next morning. Overall i have no complaints thus far. Im going to be getting an ISF calibration done next week so i will post my results with that when it happens.
KevinCTG is offline  
post #131 of 140 Old 09-24-2012, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
KevinCTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After spending a weekend with the TV, I have noticed a pretty extreme "bowing" on the top left corner of the screen. It is only noticeable when their is a horizontal line across the top of the screen (very noticeable when watching DirecTV and the info panel is displayed). Any ideas on if this is something I have to live with or if Mits would honor this under warranty?
KevinCTG is offline  
post #132 of 140 Old 12-19-2013, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by maineiac13 View Post

I have the 82740 and as others have noted with the pictures above, the same defect appears on my tv.
My 2008 WD-65835 has been recently updated with a new DMD chip and now has this defect! Anyone else with a new chip have this issue?

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #133 of 140 Old 12-19-2013, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Witchboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you try updating the date/time on the set since the replacement and see if it pushes an updated firmware? What's the current version of FW on your set?
Witchboard is offline  
post #134 of 140 Old 12-20-2013, 02:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchboard View Post

Did you try updating the date/time on the set since the replacement and see if it pushes an updated firmware? What's the current version of FW on your set?

The set doesn't have an ethernet connection. Current firmware is 10.00, and I heard 10.04 is available, but I can't find it on Mitsubishi's website.

I can't seem to get the firmware idea through to the people at the call center either.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #135 of 140 Old 12-20-2013, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Witchboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the only downloadable content for your set I see from Mitsubishi is the dimension sheet, spec sheet and owner's guide. If it's not on the website, support is the only way I'd think you would get it. Unfortunately it looks like you're having an issue with them. Call back, you'll eventually get somebody that knows what you're looking for. Good luck.
Witchboard is offline  
post #136 of 140 Old 12-23-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by maineiac13 View Post

I have the 82740 and as others have noted with the pictures above, the same defect appears on my tv.
My 2008 WD-65835 has been recently updated with a new DMD chip and now has this defect! Anyone else with a new chip have this issue?

So has anyone else with a new DMD chip have this defect?

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #137 of 140 Old 12-28-2013, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
njfoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

My 2008 WD-65835 has been recently updated with a new DMD chip and now has this defect! Anyone else with a new chip have this issue?

I have the white pixel issue on my 73835 and need to order a new dmd chip soon. Your post now scares me a bit. There seem to be a few different model #'s of the chip that are compatible with the 835 series. Which one did you order? Maybe the issue is tied to a specific chip?
njfoses is offline  
post #138 of 140 Old 12-28-2013, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

My 2008 WD-65835 has been recently updated with a new DMD chip and now has this defect! Anyone else with a new chip have this issue?

I have the white pixel issue on my 73835 and need to order a new dmd chip soon. Your post now scares me a bit. There seem to be a few different model #'s of the chip that are compatible with the 835 series. Which one did you order? Maybe the issue is tied to a specific chip?
I don't have the part #. Mitsubishi handled it all.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #139 of 140 Old 03-21-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 49

Here's some pics after chip replacement.

 

 

 

 

 

 


"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #140 of 140 Old 03-25-2014, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post

Here's some pics after chip replacement.

Man, I forget about this thread for about a year... stumble back upon it, and a new problem has popped up?

What exactly is this defect? Is it the exact same thing as before (seems a bit different judging from the pics)? I get that it happens after you had the dmd chip replaced... but could you guys expand on the explanation?

My 736540 has been running perfectly ever since the FW update (knock on wood). Only had to replace the original lamp a few months ago.... still in love with this set. I'm not looking forward to replacing it when it does decide to die.
JP32 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off