RCA P46733AT Issues....some kind advice plz... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 04-20-2012, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay,

I have an RCA P46733AT CRT REAR Projection T.V., made in 1996, I know, 16 years old.....

......cosmetically it's in great shape. It still works but I have 2 issues I'm seeing and I'm not sure where to start. Now, I know that a professional calibration will do wonders and I am pondering that...because I have to consider budget.

Issue #1: Focus goes in and out slightly but enough for me to notice it doesn't stay consistent.

Issue #2: I've noticed 3 faint vertical lines on the screen....like they correspond to the 3 guns in back. They are almost transparent but I can seem them in lighter scenes and they seem to curve like a snake.

Since I don't have an actual repair manual and I have very little knowledge of these things I'd like to pick everyone's brains. I knew I was eventually going to have to join a forum if I was going to keep this TV, which I'd like to.

The only thing I have done so far is clean the gun lenses and mirror. I've also used the blue/red convergence settings the on screen menu offers.

What issues might I be looking at and where might I start to rectify them?

Thanks in advance.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-22-2012, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter

Should I be testing the HV Splitter with this issue?
post #3 of 9 Old 04-22-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter

Okay, I was doing a little work with the focus block today...these are instructions I found online...

Quote:

1. Turn the green screen control on the Focus Block until retrace lines appear and gradually turn it back
until the point where you can see the retrace line disappears, just before cutoff.
2. Turn the red screen control on the Focus Block until retrace lines appear and gradually turn it back