Mitsu 65" C9 starting to look Fuzzy/Grainy. Ideas? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 29 Old 04-21-2012, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have had my DLP for about 2.5 years now and really don't use it much other than weekends for games and the occasional movie.

Recently I started playing a Hockey Game with my friend and noticed grainyness or some kind of fuzzyness all over the screen which was easy to spot against the White Ice from the game. I thought it was the game until I watched a movie. You can't see it with darker colors but in lighter scenes it is apparent.

Any suggestions? Might there be a smudge on the lenses somewhere? Are there specific instructions to fix this for the C9 Model?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 04-22-2012, 08:46 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 21
most likely dust on the lens. If yours has the side ports you may be able to clean it from there, if not you have to remove the front and then clean the inside lens after.
post #3 of 29 Old 04-22-2012, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks. Do you have a picture of exactly what the lense looks like if i have the side port so i know what to clean? Dont want to screw up the mirrors or other things inside.

Also what should i use to clean?
post #4 of 29 Old 04-22-2012, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post

Also what should i use to clean?

Good question. DON'T use something like Windex. Mr. Bob on the Don't Dump Your CRT RPTV thread makes some good suggestions as far as CRT RPTVs go, but the principles should be similar. Do some research before cleaning with regard to cleaning agents and materials.

You'd be surprised what people use on these kinds of sets, as well as on display screens. Take your time before plunging ahead.
post #5 of 29 Old 04-22-2012, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member