VS-50609 mitsubishi - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-11-2012, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 50" big screen Mitsubishi model VS-50609 bought in 2001.

All of a sudden, I can no longer watch TV. Just hash (snow).
I was watching a recorded program on my stand alone DVR and when done, I switched back to TV and no picture on any channel.
I can get all my channels to watch with the DVR on but nothing if the DVR is off. Am I using the tuner of the DVR in that respect?
Could it be the Tuner of the TV that failed?
I am on cable TV. My bedroom TV works fine.
Urlee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 05:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Probably.
Do you see the channels in the channel list? Try doing a channel scan? Try a full reset.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Antenna A and B connection point. I connected my incoming Cable to the B and did a search with no luck so I connected back up to A and did a scan for our channels and as before, No luck. Just snowy screen.
I am now searching, trying to find something to my liking to replace that TV. Being it is analog, I figure time to let it go.

Thanks.
Urlee is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-14-2012, 03:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Ok, the tuner went south, but the rest is ok, correct?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-20-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Ok, the tuner went south, but the rest is ok, correct?

Yes, Everything else works OK. (Inputs,Pip, etc.)
Should I "Gut it" and use the cabinet for an LED flat screen?
Urlee is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-21-2012, 04:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
If you like it, why not use it as is w/o the tuner?
Gutting it would be a waste of time, try to sell it or just put it to the curb.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-24-2012, 12:06 PM
 
2 Bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urlee View Post

Yes, Everything else works OK. (Inputs,Pip, etc.)
Should I "Gut it" and use the cabinet for an LED flat screen?

I hardly use the antenna/cable inputs on our set. If I were you, I'd just not use the antenna/cable inputs and use the component video plugs only.

- 2 Bunny
2 Bunny is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-26-2012, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

If you like it, why not use it as is w/o the tuner?

Because I can't watch TV while a program is being recorded and it is a pain having to use a remote (the DVR) that does not have the features that the TV remote has like jump button, pip, info, etc, etc. Plus----Having to have the DVR on all the time to watch TV.
Urlee is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-26-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Ok, just buy a outboard tuner.
I have a ePVision PHD-205 for sale. PM me if interested.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-26-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Bunny View Post

If I were you, I'd just not use the antenna/cable inputs and use the component video plugs only.

- 2 Bunny

I am on cable TV and have to use the cable Input in order to receive the stations from the TV provider. With the company's cable, I plug into the Input of the DVR and with another cable from the Output of the DVR to the Input of the TV.
Urlee is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off