HL61A650 no video after power outage - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a server grade ups on my home theater but had a nasty storm yesterday when I wasn't home. Today, no video signals are being displayed but you see the text no signal etc displayed on the TV (in other words the bulb seems ok)

I checked all sources and get no video. I am wondering what the consensus would be on what got fried. I have taken apart a 50" and felt ok about that as long as I don't have to mess with that mirror. Anyone know what part could be hosed and where I could get it?
jhferry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Are all the sources connected via HDMI. If so, sounds like the HDMI inputs are toast.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless your UPS is designed for AV use, there is no line conditioning suitable for home electronics.

Servers have switching power supplies. Even though your Sammy has a switching power supply, its design is stripped down a bit.

It lacks the ability to shutdown critical circuits during major disruptions, unlike Server and Desktop computers.

I know as I have found a few issues with Sammy LED DLP power supplies. One there is no voltage crowbar or IC shutdown to eliminate unwanted spikes or over-voltage at the switching power IC. The low wattage zeners used fail and can cause higher than normal voltage though the components.

If you can use Component input, if not it means your main board is not fried, and your main power supply is questionable. As most issues come from power supply failure.

I was able to repair my main board, but it was fairly easy compared to having a main chip go from over voltage.

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So after really messing around I discovered 1 of the HDMI ports is hosed. The second is flaky. In other words I can get things to display but if I turn on something like enable discovery on the Xbox 360 it gives me a mode not supported. I am testing to see how stable it is but it looks like it isnt dead.
jhferry is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
You might want to do a little more investigation and determine if any of the HDMI ports on the sources are damaged.
Colm is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-24-2012, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't seem like it. I guess in that regard I am lucky. Here is how it pans out:

HDMI - shot
HDMI 2 - Xbox 360 will work but cannot have enable discovery checked - Directv box will not output sound
HDMI3 - everything works including 3D

So now I have the 360 on HDMI2 with enable discovery off. (If its on I get mode not supported) and Directv on HDMI3, sound is working.

Is this a physical port issue on the set or more of a DMD board type of thing. I guess what I am asking is can I get fix this thing? I imagine a HDMI receiver to my HDMI 3 would give me all my ports back. I started another thread about my sub which took the worst hit. Such a bad day man. Years to build this up and one day when I wasn't home to knock half of it out.
jhferry is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-25-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhferry View Post

Is this a physical port issue on the set...
Sure sounds like it.
Quote:
...or more of a DMD board type of thing.
Doesn't sound like it.
Quote:
...can I get fix this thing?
Sure, it is just a question of cost. You are likely looking at replacing a board. Replacement of surface mounted chips really isn't an option unless you have access to specialized equipment.
Colm is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-25-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I actually think since my sub is toast and my receiver is showing some symptoms I may pay the deductible on the insurance. I will need to call a repair person, I took apart a 50" dlp before and I am not messing around with that again unless it is really easy. The physical ports themselves are not part of the lighting engine so that I don't even know if that can be replaced or not.
jhferry is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-25-2012, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
If HDMI 3 works, why not just put an HDMI switcher into that port and connect all of your equipment to the switcher? Total cost, about $10:

http://www.amazon.com/Port-HDMI-Pigtail-Switch-Cable/dp/B0030AZ44O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1343242974&sr=8-1&keywords=hdmi+switcher+pigtail
nickels55 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off