Samsung HLR5678W DLP doing all sorts of crazy things - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 08-05-2012, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should preface this by saying that I'm a pretty technical person - I've built, repaired, or otherwise assembled/disassembled hundreds of computers in my life, but this is my first time with a TV. I'm fully comfortable taking this TV apart, but I'd really prefer if it was just one time - due to the timing issues involved, etc., cracking this thing open a half dozen times (or leaving it open for a week) isn't really an option.

My parents have a Samsung HLR5678W 56" DLP TV. They bought it brand new, have never had any problems with it, never had to change the lamp, etc. A few months ago, it started making a whining noise on startup, which made me think it could be the fans or color wheel (as far as I know, the only moving parts). The noise came and went, and we were all busy at that time, so we never really did anything about it.

About a month ago, the TV started developing fuzzy blue horizontal lines. They would "attach" to something on the screen - someone's cheek, for example - and follow it as it moved up or down the screen. The line itself would be very thin, and would expand to the same size as the object it was following - it looked kind of like a stretched blue shadow with a thin line attached. I didn't get a picture of this, unfortunately.

Shortly after that, the colors started to mess up, and sometimes looked blocky (see pictures 1, 2, & 3). Sometimes it would all look blue, sometimes it was all very green. This made me think color wheel, too, so I got ready to order one. Then it went from annoying to all but unusable.