2012 Mitsubishi 3D DLP Owners Thread (C12/642/742/842 series) - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 1369 Old 07-12-2016, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it finally happened....

Turned the telly on this am, and green light flashed for a while, then went solid green but no picture. Tried to turn it off, neither the remote or the actual power button on the unit would work. Unplugged and plugged back in, turned on, and basically the same thing. Well, now it is red.


Blah. So please tell me that means bulb time?

Last edited by PixieVampyress; 07-12-2016 at 10:15 AM.
PixieVampyress is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 1369 Old 07-12-2016, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
JasonT35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by PixieVampyress View Post
Well, it finally happened....

Turned the telly on this am, and green light flashed for a while, then went solid green but no picture. Tried to turn it off, neither the remote or the actual power button on the unit would work. Unplugged and plugged back in, turned on, and basically the same thing. Well, now it is red.


Blah. So please tell me that means bulb time?
Yes solid red is lamp failure. If it's blinking red and yellow at different intervals it's a more substantial problem.
JasonT35 is offline  
post #1353 of 1369 Old 07-12-2016, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonT35 View Post
Yes solid red is lamp failure. If it's blinking red and yellow at different intervals it's a more substantial problem.
I ordered a kinda cheap one on Amazon, for the time being, as it is between paychecks. Two days, no telly, I might lose what few marbles I had left! Thank you
PixieVampyress is offline  
post #1354 of 1369 Old 07-30-2016, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Update and New question :)

First, the $25 bulb is working very well. In hindsight we realized we should have made a video of how to change the bulb (cheaper to buy it, by itself) but it was relatively easy.

So now I am thinking maybe I should get the 3D up and going. Kept waiting for prices to drop, then forgot. I have the WD-73642 and am having a time trying to figure out how to go about getting anything or everything needed.

Amazon has a kit but it says for 2010/2011 TV's and the price seems no cheaper than back in 2012. I do not know if I need just the emitter and glasses, or UHG!!! Suggestions?
PixieVampyress is offline  
post #1355 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
MrDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've searched and I can't find any info.

I replaced the bulb on my 73742 and when i turned it on it never asked if I replaced the bulb. I have replaced the bulb before and I remember doing it manually but don't remember how.

Anyone know how to reset lamp counter manually? I've tried to initialize in the menu, 2,4,7,0 but that doesnt do it either. Any help appreciated.

thanks
MrDSL is offline  
post #1356 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDSL View Post
I've searched and I can't find any info.

I replaced the bulb on my 73742 and when i turned it on it never asked if I replaced the bulb. I have replaced the bulb before and I remember doing it manually but don't remember how.

Anyone know how to reset lamp counter manually? I've tried to initialize in the menu, 2,4,7,0 but that doesnt do it either. Any help appreciated.

thanks

I did not even know about the reset counter :/ but hopefully this will help you! It is the PDF of the service manual. I hope like heck I got the link right.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...3mXZadGdsuXDNA
PixieVampyress is offline  
post #1357 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
MrDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PixieVampyress View Post
I did not even know about the reset counter :/ but hopefully this will help you! It is the PDF of the service manual. I hope like heck I got the link right.

thanks for that. unfortunately its not in there
MrDSL is offline  
post #1358 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDSL View Post
thanks for that. unfortunately its not in there
Oh darn

Okay, maybe this will work for you? I have no idea, mine never even asked about my having replaced the bulb. :/ I am so confused. All I know is it is working and that makes me happy, lol

How do you reset the Lamp life counter on a Mitsubishi?
PixieVampyress is offline  
post #1359 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
MrDSL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
No go there either. This is my second bulb replacement and I know I reset it somehow because I had around 11k hours and now I have 14k

I'll keep looking. I called mitsubishi but they said it doesnt have one. I suppose its possible im losing my mind but i know I had to of reset it before.
PixieVampyress likes this.
MrDSL is offline  
post #1360 of 1369 Old 08-01-2016, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
PixieVampyress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lost in the Desert
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDSL View Post
No go there either. This is my second bulb replacement and I know I reset it somehow because I had around 11k hours and now I have 14k

I'll keep looking. I called mitsubishi but they said it doesnt have one. I suppose its possible im losing my mind but i know I had to of reset it before.
Well if you find out, please share

And if you see my mind wandering out there with the tumbling tumbleweeds, give it some chocolate and send it home!
PixieVampyress is offline  
post #1361 of 1369 Old 08-10-2016, 10:04 AM
Member
 
superman0234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If any one has one of the 73's in or around New Jersey that they are looking to get rid of, please let me know. Been looking to replace my Pioneer Pro 620HD with something newer
superman0234 is offline  
post #1362 of 1369 Old 08-24-2016, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
calsonicshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think I remember reading something about my question before but I figured I'd ask while I read previous pages.


My 82842 turns off randomly while watching tv. No pattern to it, happens randomly and has the front led blink for a minute or so. After that stops I can turn it on again. What should I look for?


Tv is connected to my AV receiver. All components (Xbox, sat box) are run through the receiver.


I thought I read it could be some hdmi protection? Like I said, I'm going to read through this thread when I get a chance to see if I can find what I thought I saw.
calsonicshifter is offline  
post #1363 of 1369 Old 08-25-2016, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 4,360
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by calsonicshifter View Post
I think I remember reading something about my question before but I figured I'd ask while I read previous pages.


My 82842 turns off randomly while watching tv. No pattern to it, happens randomly and has the front led blink for a minute or so. After that stops I can turn it on again. What should I look for?


Tv is connected to my AV receiver. All components (Xbox, sat box) are run through the receiver.


I thought I read it could be some hdmi protection? Like I said, I'm going to read through this thread when I get a chance to see if I can find what I thought I saw.

Sometimes it's caused by spurious signals, sometimes it's a firmware issue. What's your current firmware version? Version 14.04 is available. https://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/suppor...ments/WD-82842

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ____________________________
Augerhandle is offline  
post #1364 of 1369 Old 11-06-2016, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
PRO710HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there TV repair shops that will do mirror cleaning on these units?

I accessed the small port holes on the side of my 92A12 and per my last repair tech's advice I used micro-fiber towel and sprayway to try and get off finer prints left on the internal screen from the previous TV's owners.

Well, there was smoke sediment all over the screen and it just smeared as I tried to clean it. I stopped using the Sprayway and it appeared to work a little better although I couldn't get the top of the screen where it's really narrow to get the dried streaks clean.

Now I have a large set of swirls/smudges at the top dead center of the screen and NO amount of elbow grease seemed to want to get them out.

Any suggestions?

1) Is there an easy way to get access to the large mirror to clean it without going through the port holes?

If that doesn't work, are there repair shops that can do the mirror cleaning?
frustrated
PRO710HD is offline  
post #1365 of 1369 Old 11-06-2016, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 4,360
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO710HD View Post
Are there TV repair shops that will do mirror cleaning on these units?

I accessed the small port holes on the side of my 92A12 and per my last repair tech's advice I used micro-fiber towel and sprayway to try and get off finer prints left on the internal screen from the previous TV's owners.

Well, there was smoke sediment all over the screen and it just smeared as I tried to clean it. I stopped using the Sprayway and it appeared to work a little better although I couldn't get the top of the screen where it's really narrow to get the dried streaks clean.

Now I have a large set of swirls/smudges at the top dead center of the screen and NO amount of elbow grease seemed to want to get them out.

Any suggestions?

1) Is there an easy way to get access to the large mirror to clean it without going through the port holes?

If that doesn't work, are there repair shops that can do the mirror cleaning?
frustrated
@PRO710HD
The bezel comes off, and then you can remove the lenticular and Fresnel screens. Do this with gloves and a helper. The mirror is first-surface so do NOT use elbow grease, or you will take off the silver.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ____________________________

Last edited by Augerhandle; 11-06-2016 at 06:36 PM.
Augerhandle is offline  
post #1366 of 1369 Old 11-06-2016, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
PRO710HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augerhandle View Post
The bezel comes off, and then you can remove the lenticular and Fresnel screens. Do this with gloves and a helper. The mirror is first-surface so do NOT use elbow grease, or you will take off the silver.
Thanks Auger.

Man that looks scary. I think I'm going to call around tomorrow and see if I can find a local TV repair place that will work on DLPs

Last edited by PRO710HD; 11-06-2016 at 04:13 PM.
PRO710HD is offline  
post #1367 of 1369 Old 11-06-2016, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 4,360
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO710HD View Post
Thanks Auger.

Is there a MITS guide for this somewhere with pics and/or a diagram?

yes, see my edited post

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ____________________________
Augerhandle is offline  
post #1368 of 1369 Old 11-20-2016, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
PRO710HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TV's volume has stopped working 3 times in the last week. I tried reseating the HDMI cable from my Cable box and at the TV and it still occurred although it's random. Going into the TVs menu and toggling the audio from ON to OFF and back ON again restores the volume.

Has anyone else had this happen to them? What board is the volume on and can that be swapped out, and if so how much is that going to run me?
PRO710HD is offline  
post #1369 of 1369 Old 11-20-2016, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Repeat of the post that I made on the 2011 owner's thread:

First time poster... forgive me if this has already been asked & answered...

I have a 73840 and have changed bulbs several times in the past without issue. Recently had a red light inidicator, so I changed the bulb. However, after bulb replacement, I'm still getting a red light. The only way I can get the TV to work is to either unplug or do the 10-second reset via the power button.

Any suggestions? I've seen some mention of a ballast problem in my online research. That appears to be more than I care to bite off, but want to get feedback prior to calling for a service tech.

Thanks in advance...
lu_alum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Mitsubishi , Mitsubishi Wd 73c12 73 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Dlp Home Cinema Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off