Replaced bulb on Samsung, now color shifts? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-14-2013, 11:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just replaced my Samsung 61A650 with a Philips bulb. On occasion, when there is a lot of white on the screen the entire picture will kind of shift warmer, like yellowish shade. I goes right back to being fine but it's annoying. Can a bum bulb cause this? It actually happened on my Xbox once as well on another HDMI port so I know it isn't one device causing it.
jhferry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-15-2013, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's strange, almost like a flicker back and forth. I cannot always reproduce it.
jhferry is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-21-2013, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems to be more pronounced now. I can send the bulb back but what a pain if that isnt it, what else would cause this?

Edit, It DOES NOT look like the strobe light effect. It's a mild shift in color.
jhferry is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-24-2013, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
ChuckF.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhferry View Post

Seems to be more pronounced now. I can send the bulb back but what a pain if that isnt it, what else would cause this?

Edit, It DOES NOT look like the strobe light effect. It's a mild shift in color.

Since no one has any better ideas, I would unplug the tv when it is off, leave it unplugged for a while, then plug in and boot it up, in case you've just gotten stuck in some software glitch.

I would also go through the menu and turn off any artificial picture effects like Dynamic Contrast and Edge Enhancement etc in case they are causing your problem.

Also try inputs other than hdmi. Also see if the flicker affects the menu screen. Try a different hdmi cable.
ChuckF. is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-03-2013, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckF. View Post

Since no one has any better ideas, I would unplug the tv when it is off, leave it unplugged for a while, then plug in and boot it up, in case you've just gotten stuck in some software glitch.

I would also go through the menu and turn off any artificial picture effects like Dynamic Contrast and Edge Enhancement etc in case they are causing your problem.

Also try inputs other than hdmi. Also see if the flicker affects the menu screen. Try a different hdmi cable.

Hey, just saw this. I actually just put in a replacement bulb. I do have Edge Enhancement off, I will check DC. Hopefully it was just a bum bulb. Other HDMI inputs also had the same issue but only after switching bulbs. Hopefully it is ok.
jhferry is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off