Overall history of Mitsubishi DLP. (Looking for insight into slightly used Mits) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
post #1 of 6 Old 10-28-2014, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Overall history of Mitsubishi DLP. (Looking for insight into slightly used Mits)

I'm just getting into the marketplace for a 'new' TV, since my old, awesome Hitachi RPTV (2004) just died on me.

Anyone please chime in here with your knowledge with any changes that might have taken place from 2006 to 2012 for the Mits DLP sets.
I really can't find any comparisons that show the history of these lines of set (I can see tons of forums that might compare 1 or 2 specific Mits sets with a competitive set from another mfg, but that's about it).

A) In general, is the picture quality better each year? Or did all of the sudden, let's say the 2009 year get substantially better due to a new chip or x? Are there any vibes or consensus o on this?

B) Is there a general consensus on any jumps in reliability at some point in the history of the lineages? I have in my head that DLPs got a bad reputation early on for chip problems (dead pixels). In general, did all of these issue go away with time? Did these all go away and/or get minimized by, lets say 2010? Or is it just a crap shoot for a set with sticky pixels independent of year?

C) I also have in my head that there were 'color wheel' and 'screen door' effect issues early on? Did these dwindle with time also?

D) Even though Mits stopped production on these sets in 2012, are they still servicing them? still will service them, in case of chip failure, dead pixels?

E) Let's say the answer to D is that the support will dwindle with time... and I'm a handyman. Is it easy to buy a DLP chip from ebay and just install it myself or is there more to it than changing a bulb on the same sets?