Samsung DLP -N- series tweaks thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1754 Old 04-01-2003, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As the new N series with dnle are arriving it seems some of the old M series settings are not working so well or have changed.

My only real change has been to change the gamma in the service menu from 4 to 5. this has made the black levels more realistic and also has made the colors more vibrant.

Please post your settings both with regular menu and also with changes you have made to your service menu and we can begin to really tune these new sets.

Thanks!
GeneticDrift is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 07:07 AM
Member
 
blooz4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't done anything to my HLM (new internals) but changed the gamma from default 5 to 1.

Don't really want to mess with anything else just yet until the board has a little more information!!

Blooz
blooz4u is offline  
post #3 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iceblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

Can you include what rev of firmware you are both using (and anyone else that posts) as well as the manufacture date for your sets? Perhaps that will give us a better apples to apples view of things. Amazes me that in just 2 posts we already have two different gamma settings and those are the only two parameters either of you have changed.

Thanks,
Jeff (future HLM617 owner in 2 weeks)
Iceblade is offline  
post #4 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
gels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Urbana, Illinois
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff - Good luck to you with you future 617w

I've had mine since early Feb and love it - let us know how it goes and what you think of it.

I am not too happy with regular DirecTV picture quality but I believe this is not the Sammy but DTV.

Geoffrey
gels is offline  
post #5 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my build date on the back of the set is feb 2003. i will get the firmware number once i dive back into the service menu tonight. it is strange to me that others like the gamma setting of 0-1, when i try that setting everything is very washed out. 4 was default and 5 looks about perfect.

ill post more later.....
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #6 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 226
I too was thinking about the Samsung HLN617W, I hear it's not out yet, and have DirecTV feed. I heard it was supposed to handle SD feeds better than the GWII. Anyone with info on it?

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #7 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 10:42 AM
Member
 
bobotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by GeneticDrift
my build date on the back of the set is feb 2003. i will get the firmware number once i dive back into the service menu tonight. it is strange to me that others like the gamma setting of 0-1, when i try that setting everything is very washed out. 4 was default and 5 looks about perfect.

ill post more later.....

wow, you are the first one i have seen have the TV built in 2003. I just bought one from end of Feb, and finally the 507 was shipped from samsung directly last weekend, and it was still built in Dec 2002 (maybe a refurb??), and yours is Feb 2003... where did you buy it?? and when did you get it?? Also, could some one tell me how can i get out of service menu?? is powering off the TV the only way?? thamks all!
bobotan is offline  
post #8 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 03:19 PM
Member
 
blooz4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My firmware version is 204, the manufacture date on the back of the television is December 2002. Also, Bobo, there is no other way to get into the service menu unless you power off!


Blooz
blooz4u is offline  
post #9 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark@Ct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SE CT
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blooz,
Haven't seen you post for a while. How are you enjoying the set?
Any movie blow you away since it arrived?

Mark

" Before enlightenment chop wood and carry water, after enlightenment chop wood and carry water"
Mark@Ct is offline  
post #10 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 06:52 PM
Member
 
bobotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by blooz4u
My firmware version is 204, the manufacture date on the back of the television is December 2002. Also, Bobo, there is no other way to get into the service menu unless you power off!


Blooz

Blooz,

Ya, i know we need to power off fisrt then press mute 1 8 2 power to get into the service menu, how about when I am done with it? I couldn't find any other way to GET OUT of the service menu unless i power off the TV...
Thanks!

Bobo
bobotan is offline  
post #11 of 1754 Old 04-02-2003, 07:58 PM
Member
 
eafenyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new HLN with build date of February 2003. I am trying to get used to all the HD quirks. I have a Comcast DCT5100 box and certain things are happening which are a mystery to me. For example, I just got through watching West Wing on the NBC HD feed and it was way too dark. I had to crank up the brightness to 100% to see anything. Also, the picture was a tiny letterbox format in the middle of the picutre tube. What's up with that? So far, the only true high definition shows seem to be only ABC. The Oscars were awesome. The PBS HD loop is also awesome, but only to show the set off to friends. The content is zilch.

Any recommendations to adjust the brightness level on HD broadcast would be appreciated.
eafenyes is offline  
post #12 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Correct.

Quote:


Originally posted by bobotan
I couldn't find any other way to GET OUT of the service menu unless i power off the TV...


Matt
turls is offline  
post #13 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RaceTripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:


Originally posted by eafenyes
I have a new HLN with build date of February 2003

How interesting. I have a HLM617W with a build date of Feb. 03, Firmware v204.

Dean

Clearaudio Ovation/Magnify/Concerto v2; Herron Audio VTPH-2
Naim Audio ND5XS/NAC282/HC/NAP250-2; Dynaudio S3.4e2; REL R-328
RaceTripper is offline  
post #14 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iceblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by gels
Jeff - Good luck to you with you future 617w

I've had mine since early Feb and love it - let us know how it goes and what you think of it.

I am not too happy with regular DirecTV picture quality but I believe this is not the Sammy but DTV.

Geoffrey

Thanks, Geoffrey. I will be sure to post here once I get my new set. I'll be sure to include the build date and software revision. I am getting the tv from the distributor in NY that worked out the deal with my company. They are supposed to call me once the TV gets into Houston and arrange delivery with me from there. I HOPE to slip they a couple bucks or something and get them to lug the sucker upstairs to the theater for me. Granted, it's only 115 lbs or whatever, but I would rather THEY try to get it up the stairs and through the doorway than me and my bro or neighbor.

DirecTV will be one of the MAIN things I watch on this set... especially with the NHL playoffs beginning in about a week. Sure would be nice if ABC would show some of this in HD, but oh well. Too bad ESPN-HD isn't on DirecTV yet... now THAT would be something else to see!!!

Later,
Jeff
Iceblade is offline  
post #15 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 11:10 AM
Member
 
blooz4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Mark!!

I am VERY pleased with the set thus far. I'm not so impress with the amount of compression Dish Network uses...it makes for a bad picture on some channels...not so bad on others. I just bought my Samsung Progressive DVD player on closeout last week (model P-401) and really enjoyed "Shrek". Animation looks amazing on this set. Even movies made to look grainy ( 8 mile, Minority Report...etc) look great. The only tweaking I've done is with Avia and lowered the gamma in the SM. That will probably be all I do, unless I hire an ISF guy in the future. That is on the bottom of the list now... I've got a receiver and center channel to buy first!

Hope all is well!!

Blooz
blooz4u is offline  
post #16 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
blooz4u:

what set do you have? the hln5065?


i dont understand why people keep posting about lowering the gamma. mine was at 4 and i raised it to 5. i (and my neighbors) think it looks awesome. when i went down on gamma i lost the vibrancy on colors and my blacks were washed out.

just seems weird.............................
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #17 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 09:19 PM
Member
 
eafenyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can we have some tweaks please!!! There must be somebody out there with access to an "N" series who can recommend some adjustments.

Thanks
eafenyes is offline  
post #18 of 1754 Old 04-03-2003, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im in agreement with blooz4u

i am very happy with nothing more than a gamma tweak.
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #19 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 07:55 AM
Member
 
blooz4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GeneticDrift,

I've actually got an HL"M" 507W, but it has the same internals as the new HL"N" models. (DNIe, firware version 204, 2300 chip...etc)

I'm waiting until more folks on the forum get either a new set, or get the new internals that Samsung is working on offering before I attemp to make any dramatic changes in the SM.

Other than SD quality, no problems here. (Still waiting on the 921 HD/PVR)

Blooz
blooz4u is offline  
post #20 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug Deacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Middletown CT
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gamma 0 and BKAKOU/BLIM/BSTPO all 0 gives the best blacks and grayscale on my HLM437W. Gamma 5 crushes both blacks and whites. I've heard the HLN sets have more Gamma tables, which may not map to the ones in the HLM sets. YMMV.

Quote:


Originally posted by eafenyes
I just got through watching West Wing on the NBC HD feed and it was way too dark. I had to crank up the brightness to 100% to see anything.

You're adjusting the wrong thing. The Brightness control on a TV controls BLACK levels. WHITE levels are changed by adjusting the Contrast control. I watch HDTV with Contrast at 90-100 and Brightness at 50-60, depending on the ambient light level. Strongly suggest you get a copy of Avia. It will help you dial in PQ much more quickly and accurately.

Quote:


Also, the picture was a tiny letterbox format in the middle of the picutre tube. What's up with that?

Different aspect control settings will be needed depending on your STB and the type of connection you're using. In any case, you'll have to adust the aspect control on BOTH the TV and the STB. In my setup (HLM437W with Sammy SIR-T165 via DVI cable), the TV is on TV(Wide) and the STB is on Full for HDTV. Fills my little screen

SURGE PROTECTION BASICS

"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger."
Gildor Inglorion, The Fellowship of the Ring, J. R. R. Tolkien, Book I, Chapter 3
Doug Deacon is offline  
post #21 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 08:11 AM
Member
 
blooz4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"fillls my little screen"


Laugher of the day!

Thanks Doug!

Blooz
blooz4u is offline  
post #22 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i have set my gamma to 1 and i agree it is brighter and colors still look good at 50%.

i have watched it this way for about 4 hrs now and agree 5 gamma does make colors vibrant but tends to make the pic very dark.

my info on the bottom of SM screen is this:
204 - dec 2002


i cannot find the settings refered to (blim-bkakou-bstpo)
are they only under the component sub menu?

i have been tuning with a digital cable feed as this is most of what i watch.
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #23 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 10:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:


Originally posted by GeneticDrift

my info on the bottom of SM screen is this:
204 - dec 2002

i cannot find the settings refered to (blim-bkakou-bstpo)
are they only under the component sub menu?

From what I've read you may not have those settings. Seems like they may not be in the "new" internals. Have you established which configuration (original/new) HLM you have?
htwaits is offline  
post #24 of 1754 Old 04-04-2003, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by htwaits
From what I've read you may not have those settings.


mine is an HLN

yes i dont find them anywhere..............................
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #25 of 1754 Old 04-05-2003, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GeneticDrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump**
GeneticDrift is offline  
post #26 of 1754 Old 04-05-2003, 03:02 PM
Member
 
davige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if the HLM's with firmware v204 have discrete codes?
davige is offline  
post #27 of 1754 Old 04-13-2003, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iceblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, I got my TV this past Friday. Here's what I know so far. I will also post this info in the thread I started on the HLN617W.

I have model HLN617W.
It is a TANTUS model.
It has the 1 and 3/4 inch charcoal bezel around the screen.
Build date is February 2003
Firmware is T-B3K6101-204 released Nov. 30, 2002 at 09:04:42

Minor tweaks:
1.) Changed Gamma setting in the service menu under "DDP1010" from 4 (default) to 5. Blacks were significantly affected.

2.) Calibrated with Video Essentials to set Contrast, Brightness, Color and Tint and Sharpness.

Values before and after calibration with Gamma set to 5:

Contrast = 90 out of box, 90 after calibration
Brightness = 50 out of box, 49 after calibration
Sharpness = 20 out of box, 0 after calibration
Color = 50 out of box, 85 after calibration
Tint = 50/50 out of box, 50/50 after calibration

Setting color with the blue filter on this tv is a BEOTCH!!! It's not cut and dry like it was on my direct view hd set. I'm still not convinced it's right, but I just gave up. Setting the Tint was a little less strenuous.

I'll post my observations on the Service menu later.

Regs,
Jeff
Iceblade is offline  
post #28 of 1754 Old 04-13-2003, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
rmostad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by davige
Does anyone know if the HLM's with firmware v204 have discrete codes?

The first sets to have the discrete codes will be the new Tantus models. The HLN467 and the HLN567. Later versions of the other models will get the newer firmware that has the discrete code recognition but current HLNs (XX65 and XX7s) don't have the discrete code firmware.

It should be possible to upgrade the firmware of the existing models but we have no firm promise this will be done. Representatives of Samsung have told people that an upgrade will be available but no firm announcement has been made.

Roger
rmostad is offline  
post #29 of 1754 Old 04-13-2003, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iceblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Missouri City, TX USA
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just to reaffirm... the remote for my new HLN617 does NOT have individual input buttons to select sources, therefor my guess is that it does not have dicsrete codes. Hopefully Samsung will provide a firmware update for all of us that are "early adopters" of their sets.

Later,
Jeff
Iceblade is offline  
post #30 of 1754 Old 04-14-2003, 05:31 AM
Member
 
davige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
[quote]Originally posted by Iceblade


Setting color with the blue filter on this tv is a BEOTCH!!! It's not cut and dry like it was on my direct view hd set. I'm still not convinced it's right, but I just gave up. Setting the Tint was a little less strenuous.

Iceblade,

I was a Video Essentials lover until I discovered Avia. It's much easier to set color and tint with the pulsating color bars pattern. Also check the Color Decoder setting with the red filter after you do color and tint to make certain that your reds are not oversaturating, a typical Sammy issue. My new 507 (Firmware v204) looks awesome after Avia (it wasn't that great after VE). My only issue now is the occassional 'banding' effect. I haven't messed with any of the SM tweaks yet. Happy viewing.
davige is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off