Set-up and Use of the Panasonic PT-50LC13 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 495 Old 06-06-2004, 02:49 PM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the manual says video nr should be turned off when a "high quality" source is used. by high quality i thought they meant hd receiver with dvi input. i have it off there.

but what i'm referring to is a directivo via s-video input. do they also consider that a high quality source? i think it looks better with video nr turned on...personally

greg
gregftlaud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 495 Old 06-09-2004, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Todd76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wilmette, IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My manual says, "It is important to note that Video NR should remain OFF for maximum picture detail when receiving a strong signal or viewing high-quality video."

In other words, it's only needed if you have a weak signal, such as that from an OTA analog antenna (even then, if the signal is strong, turn it off). The NR stands for Noise Reduction. If there's no noise (e.g., snow) in the picture, then it's not needed.
Todd76 is offline  
post #273 of 495 Old 06-16-2004, 12:14 PM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was wondering if there are any burn in problems with the pt50lc13?

greg
gregftlaud is offline  
post #274 of 495 Old 06-16-2004, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AcuraCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Suburban Baltimore
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gregftlaud
was wondering if there are any burn in problems with the pt50lc13?

greg

Absolutely not. LCD does not burn in.

http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/exper...urnin_lcd.html

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/lcd...,2340,,00.html
AcuraCL is offline  
post #275 of 495 Old 06-16-2004, 06:42 PM
Member
 
SixIron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tampa
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, for any prospective buyers of this set in FL, a south florida electronics/appliance retailer with stores in Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties has a VERY attractive sale price on this today thru 6/22. Free stand too!
SixIron is offline  
post #276 of 495 Old 06-20-2004, 09:16 AM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is the pt50lc13 hdcp/compliant?

thanks
gregftlaud is offline  
post #277 of 495 Old 06-20-2004, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has an DVI-HDCP interface. Details here:

http://catalog2.panasonic.com/webapp...noreRedirect=1
Danabw is offline  
post #278 of 495 Old 06-26-2004, 10:55 AM
Member
 
gregftlaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have the new HD DIRECTIVO hooked up to the pt50lc13 using dvi? how's it look?

greg
gregftlaud is offline  
post #279 of 495 Old 07-06-2004, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
cabrams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the PT-50LC13 and the picture is fuzzy even with component video to a DVD player. Am I doing something wrong? The Cable signal is fuzzy and I expect that but the DVD I expected to be crystal clear.

Also, the power light blinks red when it is turned off and then can't be turned back on for a while. Seems to randomly occur. Wonder if anyone else has seen this. Thanks for the help.
cabrams is offline  
post #280 of 495 Old 07-06-2004, 08:59 PM
Member
 
BradSontag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I see that Best Buy is having a close out sale on the Panny 50...Are they discontinuing? Is there a new model coming out soon?

Thanks for all responses.

Cheers,
Brad
BradSontag is offline  
post #281 of 495 Old 07-06-2004, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NVboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BradSontag
Hello all, I see that Best Buy is having a close out sale on the Panny 50...Are they discontinuing? Is there a new model coming out soon?

Thanks for all responses.

Cheers,
Brad

The PT-50LC13 is being replaced with the PT-50LC14.

http://catalog2.panasonic.com/webapp...tGroupId=11254

Suburbia: where trees are cut down and streets are named after them.
Flickr photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nvsteve/sets/
NVboy is offline  
post #282 of 495 Old 07-06-2004, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cabrams
I have the PT-50LC13 and the picture is fuzzy even with component video to a DVD player. Am I doing something wrong? The Cable signal is fuzzy and I expect that but the DVD I expected to be crystal clear.

Also, the power light blinks red when it is turned off and then can't be turned back on for a while. Seems to randomly occur. Wonder if anyone else has seen this. Thanks for the help.

The picture should definitely not be fuzzy - mine is very sharp w/HD signal and DVD, and surprisingly sharp w/SD as well - the clarity of SD on this set is one of the things I like best about it. How far away from the set are you sitting?

Check out page 26 of your manual for info on the power light...the blinking is normal, and indicates a cooling phase. What do you mean by "a while?"

Dana
Danabw is offline  
post #283 of 495 Old 07-06-2004, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Foxbat121
You can save Jpegs back to the card, just make sure it's the same folder your camera saves them. Panny only reads JPegs from standard folder structure that most digi cameras use.

The Panny's memory card display is more flexible than their manual would lead you to believe. I've found the Panny will read just about anything on the SD card no matter where I put it...I stuck the SD card into my printer's SD card slot and I copied images into the root of the card, and into each subfolder in the card, and I believe (if I remember correctly) that I even created a new folder and put some images into it. All of them came up just fine on the screen. Following strict folder structures was not required.

Dana
Danabw is offline  
post #284 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 03:20 AM
Member
 
BradSontag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"The PT-50LC13 is being replaced with the PT-50LC14."

When is this new model due to arrive?

Cheers,
Brad
BradSontag is offline  
post #285 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Gr8reb8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gregftlaud
anyone have the new HD DIRECTIVO hooked up to the pt50lc13 using dvi? how's it look?

greg

I do. I have it connected to the DVI port on the pt50lc13. It looks great.
Gr8reb8 is offline  
post #286 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
occammd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone used an Iscan HD w/their pt50lc13? I was wondering if the DVI input could handle the frame rate conversion to 48 or 72 Hz @ 720p?
occammd is offline  
post #287 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
ceccacci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cabrams
I have the PT-50LC13 and the picture is fuzzy even with component video to a DVD player. Am I doing something wrong? The Cable signal is fuzzy and I expect that but the DVD I expected to be crystal clear.

Also, the power light blinks red when it is turned off and then can't be turned back on for a while. Seems to randomly occur. Wonder if anyone else has seen this. Thanks for the help.

Can't help much with "fuzzy," have you tried different cables? My aunt recently bought a DLP set which I set up for her, and I was having a terrible time with the DVD picture for a while. Most of the problem turned out to be the cables, which really surprised me. Didn't think they'd make so much difference. Also, try putting the DVD player in progressive mode if it isn't (or try turning it off if it already is), make sure other settings in the DVD player setup menu are correct (TV aspect ratio, etc.).

As for the power light, that's normal. The bulb has a cool-down cycle. When you turn it off, the screen goes blank but the bulb stays on for a few seconds. During that time you can instantly turn the set back on. After those few seconds, the bulb goes off and the fan stays running until it cools down. Once you reach that point, you can't turn the set back on until it's completed the cooling cycle.
ceccacci is offline  
post #288 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NVboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BradSontag
"The PT-50LC13 is being replaced with the PT-50LC14."

When is this new model due to arrive?

Cheers,
Brad

Last I heard, it was supposed to be the end of July. But, it is hard to tell for sure, especially after visiting all the online etailers. Seems like every company has a new set coming up that is marked as "coming soon" or "TBA."

Suburbia: where trees are cut down and streets are named after them.
Flickr photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nvsteve/sets/
NVboy is offline  
post #289 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 01:43 PM
Member
 
BradSontag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if its supposed to have a major upgrade kinda like the new sammy's? Or is it all cosmetic for the most part..
BradSontag is offline  
post #290 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NVboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BradSontag
Does anybody know if its supposed to have a major upgrade kinda like the new sammy's? Or is it all cosmetic for the most part..

What, like 1080p? From what everyone has pooled together, there are no major changes.

Suburbia: where trees are cut down and streets are named after them.
Flickr photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nvsteve/sets/
NVboy is offline  
post #291 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ceccacci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BradSontag
Does anybody know if its supposed to have a major upgrade kinda like the new sammy's? Or is it all cosmetic for the most part..

Just looked at the specs on the website, and the only difference I could find was that they've replaced the DVI-HDCP interface with an HDMI-HDCP interface. Oh, and 2 extra speakers.
ceccacci is offline  
post #292 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Bookworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here a comparison of the two from Panasonic's website: LC13vs.LC14

SA 8300HD  

Bookworm is offline  
post #293 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 02:38 PM
Member
 
doggiedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Bookworm
Here a comparison of the two from Panasonic's website: LC13vs.LC14

Wow!

The 50LC13 is tiny compared to the 50LC14
doggiedog is offline  
post #294 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AcuraCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Suburban Baltimore
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heheheh

Must be those extra 2 speakers ....
AcuraCL is offline  
post #295 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Bookworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by doggiedog
Wow!

The 50LC13 is tiny compared to the 50LC14

LOL, I didn't notice that when I posted the link.

SA 8300HD  

Bookworm is offline  
post #296 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dallas_Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the Video essentials dvd lastnight. I tried to calibrate my tv but I use DVI through my pc for dvd and the pc color controls don't lend themselves to color corection with DVE. I connected through component but the overlay has it's own set of color controls so again no go. I thought the component is from the cable box so this really defeats the purpose since I should be calibrating with the video source used on the input.

I luckily got a hd channel signal lost late last night. It had the color pattern on it though, the color pattern off the air channels show. I then immediately n oticed the red, blue, green and yellow push. I then quickly while the pattern was on, set my tv to normal and warm set everything to default. I then got into the service menu to adjust the colors. I tried at first the red reduction on the last page 6/6 but noticed it threw off the other colors ie the picture would turn green bias or blue bias. I then with that pattern on decided to connect DVI and component out of my Motorola 5100 hd box and compare the results. What I found was that DVI was worse than component. In the color pattern the component looked sharper it was not an illusion as I moved to within 1 ft of the tv I could see that component had a cleaner line where the red and blue met and had less "dot crawl" than the DVI input. The component input has less I guess bleeding between contrasting colors on the color pattern. I then decided to experiment around with the service menu and stayed on component from my cable box. What I found worked best was not to mess with individual colors on page 6/6 but to reduce the hd color setting on page 5/6 I think. I took the setting from 24 to 14 and it iliminated those "hyper" colors you see. It made the red and blue look much better on the test pattern screen and I used the color filter from DVE to get close to having the colors match. I could not get them exact but they were very close. I use dvi through my pc and it looks ok so I suspect the cable boxes dvi setting are off.
Dallas_Jose is offline  
post #297 of 495 Old 07-07-2004, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the details, Dallas Joe.

If you mean the SUB COLOR HD setting, it's on page 3/6 of video, and my default value was 22.

Page 5/6 has nothing with "color" aside from SUB COLOR TNR OFFSET which has a default of FE. :-)

Dana
Danabw is offline  
post #298 of 495 Old 07-08-2004, 01:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dallas_Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oops yeah that setting
Dallas_Jose is offline  
post #299 of 495 Old 07-08-2004, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
occammd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the internals convert incoming 48Hz video to 60Hz for display, or will it follow the incoming framerate?
occammd is offline  
post #300 of 495 Old 07-08-2004, 09:16 PM
rdr
Newbie
 
rdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been browsing through this thread and the "Panasonic PT-50LC13 In Home Observations" thread after seeing this television in the store. I have seen people stating that regular cable and even digital cable can look pretty lousy. I am looking to buy this for use with a "regular" satellite TV provider (and use my Tivo), along with DVDs. Is it worth getting or will I be disappointed with the quality? Thanks for any input.
rdr is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off