**Official** Panasonic X54 series RPTV Thread. - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 681 Old 09-03-2004, 04:46 PM
Member
 
65notch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Neglekt
I think we can safely say that it does not accept a 720p signal.

SO what does that mean for OTA ABC broadcasts? It will not display?


Still trying to understand the nuaiances. I understand if I had a STB the box would do the converting, but if I dont, then what?

Thanks,
Dave
65notch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 681 Old 09-05-2004, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need an STB to receive, because it doesn't have a decoder built-in. Which you could set to 1080i. It's prob not the best choice if you are planning on decoding via PC.

The top "shelf" is perfect for center channel placement.
Pradeep is offline  
post #93 of 681 Old 09-06-2004, 11:24 AM
Member
 
ventro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would one reccomend this TV over the Toshiba 46H84? I'm debating between these two models and I can't make up my mind.
ventro is offline  
post #94 of 681 Old 09-06-2004, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tmflem
Actually, I have figured out a "workaround" to check out the "just" mode. I set the Pace box to "pass thru" in the resolution settings. This way the SD channels come through in 480i, and most of the HD channels still come through in 1280i. However, a couple of the HD channels don't come through at all when setting the Pace box to "pass-thru" so I'm looking for a better fix--preferably, I'd like to be able to use 480p and the Just setting. I am using component outs from the Pace box into the TV. Maybe I'll try HDMI. Or maybe I'll try using the S-video out for the SD channels and the component outs for the HD channels. Best thing about having a new toy is getting to experiment a little, right?

BTW, I find the "just" mode is a big improvement on the other alternatives (4:3, Zoom, Full) for the SD channels.

You can't use Just with 480p via component. The option isn't there. I can only assume it would be the same via HDMI.
Pradeep is offline  
post #95 of 681 Old 09-07-2004, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I got the PT-53X54 delivered this afternoon.I decided to go with the 53 inch model.They dented the side corner of the bottom panel so they are replacing it.They offerd $50 off but I said no thanks.Its not that bad.I would take $100 off.Maybe I'll ask them.If not I want a new panel.Once I turned VM off (velocity Modulation) and set my picture adjustments,its looking pretty good.I also did the auto convergence first,then did the manual service menu convergence.The vertical needed to come over left a 1/8th of an inch or slightly more and horizontal needed to come down about the same in the first step of the manual convergence.Right now I am watching The Fifth Element Superbit version and it looks damn good.I'll check out cable and satellite viewing later tonight and see how that looks.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #96 of 681 Old 09-07-2004, 03:43 PM
Member
 
ventro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info Ripper. Please keep us updated on this TV.

Could you post a picture? Would you recommend it to others?
ventro is offline  
post #97 of 681 Old 09-07-2004, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I'll take a pic or two later tonight and and post an attachment.My batteries are dead on my camera.As much as I like the set I am wondering if I should have grabbed the 47" instead.I just think they have a little crisper picture.So far I am finding the cable and satellite viewing a little hazy,slightly out of focus it seems or a little too soft.Not as good as my 48" JVC.I am running composite jacks for satellite and cable.I found down grading the connection from S-Video to composite on my JVC improved the picture.I might try the S-Video with this set and see how it goes.I will post a couple pics later on tonight around 11PM eastern.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #98 of 681 Old 09-07-2004, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Looks like I won't be posting a pic for an hour or so.I had the wrong button pressed on my camera dock .Here is a tip for you guys.If your cable or satellite picture looks a little blotchy or could be a little cleaner.Downgrade your connection.What I mean is if your using S-Video change it to composite (yellow,red and white cables) or even to a coxial connection (scew on type cable).Thee was a reason why S-Video doesn't look as good as the downgrade connection.Someone explained it to me one time but I forgot the reason for it .Anyways,I bet this will help a few of you people out.Give it a shot and you might be surprised.Its improved my picture on cable and satellite.Ventro,you have a PM.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #99 of 681 Old 09-07-2004, 09:41 PM
Member
 
ventro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ventro is offline  
post #100 of 681 Old 09-08-2004, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any people had success sending this TV a PC signal at any decent resolutions?
SlackerX is offline  
post #101 of 681 Old 09-08-2004, 03:05 PM
Member
 
ventro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what do you mean by "decent" ? somebody has been outputting at 540p from his PC IIRC...
ventro is offline  
post #102 of 681 Old 09-09-2004, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well, I just got back from looking at the 53X54 again. This time it was next to the new Hitachi 57S715 and the winner is...
The Panasonic 53X54 by a nose. The showroom was running HDnet on all of the TVs and with both tvs set up similarly, The panasonic was slightly sharper. The only area I could find where the Hitachi seemed to prevail was convergence. The blue gun seemed to be a little more finely focused on the hitachi (this ofcourse produced a purple hew, but it was unnoticable form 10 feet). The difference in convergence accuracy wasn't significant, but the price sure was - $1,329 vs. $2,359.

I will say that the new Sony's look great as well.

Again, I am constantly amazed at how good this TV is. There is no better TV for the money. I can't wait until mine is delivered.

JK
nohjy is offline  
post #103 of 681 Old 09-09-2004, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I noticed when I took those couple pics ventro posted for me that I had an option in the user menu set to SD.This was causing a tint to the picture.SD is suppose to be more for cable and regular satellite feeds.I put it on HD and its better now.The color is more natural and clearer.I have also done some more tweaking and its even a little better now.I'll be taking some more shots and will get ventro to post them for me.I been busy and didn't have a chance earlier.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #104 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Neglekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the person who asked earlier about using a composite cable instead of a S-Video cable for analog sources. The reason for doing this with the x54 (or any higher end tv, for that matter) is because of the comb filter. A S-Video cable will pass the signal as processed by the source (cable box) comb filter. A composite cable will pass an unprocessed signal that will be handled by the TV's comb filter. Usually high end tv's have a much higher quality comb filter than that of a 60 dollar cable box.
Neglekt is offline  
post #105 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 10:34 AM
Moderator
 
Barrybud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have added this to the "Popular Threads" sticky near the top of the forum thread list.

Quick Reference of Forum Rules
1) Do Not post pricing you found on-line or at a local dealer UNLESS IN A DEALS THREAD.
2) Do Not ask for, or offer, a receipt so people can price match.
3) Do Not say to "Call John Smith at ..." (you know what I mean)
4) Do Not put down someone else's choice in...

Barrybud is offline  
post #106 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
maxflia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 47 inch from ****** for $[MSRP Only]. It has the same model number but has DVI instead of the HDMI (is that right). Is the same TV that every one is talking about or did I get something else. The DVI is actually better for me since I will want to connect a computer to the TV.
maxflia is offline  
post #107 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
maxflia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry Im trying to put this is the Panasonic thread. Mode please move if possiable.
maxflia is offline  
post #108 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
tmflem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neglekt, thanks for the clarification. I'm still trying to figure out the best way to switch between HD and SD channels. Using a S-video cable, as you pointed out, actually makes the picture look worse for SD channels. Last nite, I noticed that my digital cable was "off" and that I was just getting an analog signal in and the picture actually looked much better (using composite cables out of the Pace cable box). After I reset the cable box (turning it off and on again), the SD channels didn't look as good. So now I'm thinking I'll just run analog cable straight into the x54 for SD channels and switch to the cable box for digital cable channels and HD channels. Would that yield the best results?
tmflem is offline  
post #109 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
maxflia:

If you are referring to the 47x54. The tv you purchased is not the same. I think the one you purchased is the 47wx54 which is an updated version of last year's model. It is only manufactured for the Warehouse stores. I have heard that these tvs put up a nice picture, but I would doubt that it is as nice as this year's model (the 47x54). This TV offers, in my opinion, one of the best pictures available regardless of cost. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the more expensive TVs, but the picture quality is right up there with the best of them.

John
nohjy is offline  
post #110 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
maxflia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In you opion would you take it back and get the 47x54. I think cc has it for about $300. I would rather have the DVI. Do you know of any post referencing the wx to the x. Thanks for helping me out
maxflia is offline  
post #111 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
maxflia:

The following thread compares the 47x54 with the 47wx53 (which is last year's model - should be very similar to the one you are looking at @ costco).

Panasonic 47X54 Thread

In answer to your question, I think the new series of tvs offers much better picture quality. Whteher that is worth the additional $300 only you can decide. FYI: ******* is currently selling the 47X54 for ~ $[msrp only] w/ free shipping.

John
nohjy is offline  
post #112 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
maxflia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The model says PT-47x54. The born on date is from June 2004. Is this the same? I thought I was confused before. I might just back to the ole b/w with aluminum foil rabbit ears.
maxflia is offline  
post #113 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
nohjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Max:

Does the TV look like this one (see link)? If so, the tv you are looking at is from the new x54 series. Its a great tv.

Panasonic 47X54
nohjy is offline  
post #114 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
maxflia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats whats it looks like. The only thing that throws me is the DVI port. Isnt the HDMI? port a lot smaller. I know what a DVI port looks like and its a dvi port. Does the manufacture date explain anything. June 2004. That seems pretty recent to me. Im picking it up tonight or tomorrow.
maxflia is offline  
post #115 of 681 Old 09-10-2004, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Here is the thread I made on downgrading your connection here http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...03#post4331203

maxflia,atleast you know you can return the TV if you don't like it.Costco is pretty good for that.I think you will like it.I don't know if there will be any majow picture differences between the WX models and the X models.The one your loking at is this years model.My PT-53X54 mas made in April of 2004.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #116 of 681 Old 09-13-2004, 02:45 PM
Member
 
65notch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've spent a little bit of time really trying to figure out the internal differences of the two models. I know a major one at least between the X54's and WX54's, is that the X's will display 540p(I guess upconvert all 480i/p signals) where as the WX's are limited to the standard 480p.

And of course the X's have the HDMI port and have a "full" base (not 'T' shaped).

The features, convergance, menu settings (options), from what I could tell were all indentical.

I'd doubt the internals are that different. Retailers don't want people coming to their store and saying Costco or Sam's has this same TV for $200-300 less. Like this they can simply say, well it's a different model, and in this case, the retail model is a tad better.


I'll be picking up a 53WX54 this week sometime, when I can borrow a truck for the transport of it.

Peace,
Dave
65notch is offline  
post #117 of 681 Old 09-13-2004, 02:46 PM
Member
 
65notch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by nohjy

Nohjy,


Does your tv accept OTA or direct input 720p signals?

Dave
65notch is offline  
post #118 of 681 Old 09-15-2004, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Neglekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maxfila, you can buy a 40 dollar cable from better cables that will convert DVI to HDMI.

I think you'd want to have HDMI vs. DVI as it looks that a couple years from a now HDMI will be the de-facto standard.
Neglekt is offline  
post #119 of 681 Old 09-15-2004, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
black_macleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Webster Groves
Posts: 1,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all

First of all, yea, I'm new, but I'm glad I found this thread. I bought my 53x54 from Sears like 3 weeks ago and had to wait til this Monday for delivery. I'm lucky - I bought it just from looking at it without reading this forum first. Glad I made a good decision. I love the set. Nothing more specific to post right now other than I've learned a few things (like downgrading my SVideo to RCA cables).

Currently I use DishNet (SD only - I'd love to get the HD pack but then I'd lose my PVR capability without spending $999 for the HDPVR receiver.) I do have a really cool Philips DVD player that plays DivX files - we watched both Ginger Snaps and Passion of the Christ on the Panny last night in DivX format and its very good - not quite DVD quality, but close. Especially with 5.1 encocded DivX. My PS2 is amazing on the Panny - this is my first ever large tv, I went from a 27" Sanyo Tube to this, hehe.

I've been thinking of hooking up the G5 to it but haven't gone there yet.

Anyhow, thanks everyone again.

Greg
black_macleod is offline  
post #120 of 681 Old 09-15-2004, 01:04 PM
Member
 
cweemin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check Ebay for the cheaper DVI->HDMI cables.

Do you think the Monster version will be better? (siginicantly?)

Newbie
cweemin is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off