Mitsubishi WD XX725 owners thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here is another one
LL
scpanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here I tried taking one with the blinds open il the living room to give you an idea of what the glare looks like in a bright room.
LL
scpanel is offline  
post #33 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am using the HDMI for the DISH DVR 921 and these pictures are with an older Toshiba DVD SD6200 at 480P. I will be trying it out with the Panasonic XP 30 which up converts once I receive it and will repost pictures.

But it gives you an idea of the depth of the picture even at 480P.
scpanel is offline  
post #34 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Otherwise it does look pretty sharp..just like 525 PQ
zoro is offline  
post #35 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 03:30 PM
pio
Member
 
pio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the dimensions on the 62725? I know the 62525 is 58 and 5/8th inches in width but the the 62725 the same?
pio is offline  
post #36 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
62725 is:

43.7" H 58.3" W 19.9" D and 165.5 lbs
scpanel is offline  
post #37 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any reduction in brightness as compared to the 525... the anti glare screen could make for a slightly muted picture... I wonder if the adjustments for brightness/contrast need to be slightly different for the 725 as compared to the 525.
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #38 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 05:30 PM
Member
 
bgriffis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if it would be possible to place a center speaker on top of one of the 725 models? Maybe the 825 models? How about any DLP television with HD2+?! Also, this has built-in tuner and cablecard, right?

Thanks a lot!

Brad
bgriffis is offline  
post #39 of 7433 Old 09-17-2004, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless your center speaker is 2" wide, or you can amazingly balance it on a 2" wide space, then no... No current DLP is that thick.

And all the Mitsubsishi DLP models have built in ATSC and QAM tuner with cablecard.
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #40 of 7433 Old 09-18-2004, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I figured I would post this question in the owners forum as well as the Mits DLP forum. I think these kinds of questions really belong here now anyway.

Maybe you 525 folks can help answer a couple of questions though.

I got Coax digital set up last night and also set up the analog audio from the audio 2 output from the TV to my Krell.

I do get sound from the COAX on all the digital channels over local cable. I cant seem to get sound from the analog cable channels at all through my Krell.

Has anyone had any problems getting that to work correctly? I am not sure if there is something else in the TV that needs to be setup that I missed or there is a problem w/the analog output. I do not have a cable card, but I would think the tuner should output an analog signal especially if the coax works...

Any let me know if you have any suggestions.
scpanel is offline  
post #41 of 7433 Old 09-18-2004, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I got it squared away this am, it was not the TV. It just so happens the Krell cant do both Digital and Analog on the same device.
scpanel is offline  
post #42 of 7433 Old 09-18-2004, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
After another calibration w/AVIA in a dark room last night before watching a movie, here is where I have the settings on the 52725. This is DVD input over component at 480P. My Panasonic that up converts didn't make it here yesterday so this is with my older Toshiba SD 6200.

I am using the HDMI for my DISH DVR 921, at least for now, and this set now has only about 11 hours on it and nowhere near broken in yet! This is about as close as I could come with the color test patterns.

Magenta 30
Red 28
Yellow 32
Green 33
Cyan 28
Blue 28

Contrast 20
Brightness 49
Sharpness 22
Temp Low
Tint 28
Color 38
V Noise std
Edge off

Even with my room back-lit it still seemed at times still to bright during movie playback in a dark room. So I am really anxious to get an idea of others settings as they get their sets. I plan on spending more time w/it this weekend.

I too have noticed as others have the green halo effect on the cable SD channels at times anyway and have seen just a few rainbows so far, which doesn't really bother me. And already mentioned the glare previously.

I think so far the picture is much better than my previous set the SONY GWIII and the blacks are deeper.

So far other than the initial problem w/the HDMI port all is well, but wonder if others will have the same problem w/the HDMI and if its orientation is part of the problem. I tried 2 different cables and had the same problem until as I mentioned earlier in the thread, crimped the HDMI connector to make it fit more snuggly in the TV input.

I plan on leaving it run all weekend and try more DVD's tonight. More to come but so far we are pretty impressed.
scpanel is offline  
post #43 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
j_dubCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 52725.... i'm excited about it but nervous because of the tilt issue... anyone seen it yet? I actually saw it in the store, but went ahead and bought it.... it really isn't that bad (I guess).

I'm concerned how easy it is to fix it....

Also, does anyone know if problems in 525 have been resolved in 725? Such as Reset problem, and audio/video synch?
j_dubCA is offline  
post #44 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 10:28 AM
Member
 
joeld100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buford, GA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Issues and overall picture quality aside (I think most people can agree it is comparable in quality to the other HD2+ sets), what does this set have or not have feature wise compared to it's competitors? Inputs, neat menu settings, anything that might not be on the top of someone's checklist but would be in the list of things you rejoice for/regret after you buy the set? For example, we bought a 55" mitsu crt a couple of years ago and the channel lists for HD were separate than regular analog broadcasts - tv's that join the atsc and ntsc channels in one channel lineup get major points for me (we won't be hooking up cable or satellite).
joeld100 is offline  
post #45 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
j_dubCA,

My 52725 seems to be square when I tested it using the AVIA disc. The picture could be adjusted up slightly once we get the service manual info. I am waiting for it to come in paper form as many others are! I dont see the tilt problem on this set.

As far as features:

I wish it had a second digital input, other than that I am pretty happy so far. I think the black level and the picture quality is better than the Sammy "Kirk". The anti-glare screen really helps over the 525 however you so still see some reflection as I showed in one of the pictures I posted.

Netcommand is pretty cool, but I am using my Krell HTS 7.1 for all my audio switching and really only have 2 inputs now, DVD, and the DISH 921. I am waiting for a Krell DVI/HDMI upgrade at some point.

The one item that really bothers me is just how slow channel changes are, and wonder if there will be firmware updates to speed this up in the future.

I have had this set on for about 35 hours now and so far no reset issues, or anything of that nature, just a great picture. The only real problem I had was getting my HDMI cable to fit in snuggly and make a good connection, I ended up having to crimp the cable slightly, so I am not sure if the connector in the TV is slightly large or the problem is w/the cable. The cable is from BlueJeans and I will be calling them tomorrow just to check.

I think the orientation of connector may be the problem, not sure if others have had a problem.

I am really waiting to see more reviews and setup thoughts/tweaks as others get their sets, but I have to say, I think this is very close to a plasma picture if not better without the burn problem.
scpanel is offline  
post #46 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
delar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scpanel

The one item that really bothers me is just how slow channel changes are, and wonder if there will be firmware updates to speed this up in the future.

I spoke to my dealer about this and he said that all Mitsubishi sets have notoriously slow tuners, so I don't expect much if any improvement in this area.
delar is offline  
post #47 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I do have to say, we are watching the Cowboys and Browns in HD and the picture on this 52725 is amazing. It looks so natural like you are sitting in the stands. Amazing.

I am not sure just how much more tweaking I even need to make, its really a stunning picture. I have to wonder if the anti-glare screen has something to do w/it.

It would be fun to do an A-B with the 2 different screens on this set. I am sure someone may try it at some point!
scpanel is offline  
post #48 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
screen does increase sharpness
zoro is offline  
post #49 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 03:50 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 52725 today. Still don't have HD receiver (getting Directtv HD Tivo). The DVD via component looked good out of the box. Regular Directtv looks okay. Distance shots of football game are a little fuzzy (can't wait for the HD receiver).

I plugged in the computer and the screen looks fairly sharp but the colors on the TV seem to be missing some red so does not match my normal monitor. Could this be the cable?????? Any input on this would be appreciated. I am running out of the ATI Radeon 8500. The VGA port going to my Viewsonic monitor and the DVI port going to a DVI to VGA cable which connects to back of 725.

Still learning and figuring out NetCommand. I think I will like it once it is all setup properly.

Compact Flash view was good. Could not read the .mp3 off of the Smart Media 64MB. Guess I need the firmware update?????

There is some glare but not going to be an issue for my room (except maybe in the morning) but still not a big deal except when screen goes to black.
hyperdoc is offline  
post #50 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One last picture, football in HD
LL
scpanel is offline  
post #51 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jacobms1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone post a couple pics that are not in a dark room. I'd like to see a pic with some daylight and the lights on.
jacobms1 is offline  
post #52 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The pictures I put up were not in a dark room, it was without flash, but I will open all the blinds and retake with a flash.
scpanel is offline  
post #53 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
jacobms1

Here is one with blinds open and lights on. I also used a flash.
LL
scpanel is offline  
post #54 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hyperdoc
Got my 52725 today. Still don't have HD receiver (getting Directtv HD Tivo). The DVD via component looked good out of the box. Regular Directtv looks okay. Distance shots of football game are a little fuzzy (can't wait for the HD receiver).
.

Ummm...if you have a 52725 then you DO have a HD receiver built in for OTA HD. Depending on where you live you could get a pretty good signal and be watching HD today.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #55 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scpanel
One last picture, football in HD

Great pics. Glare does seem somewhat reduced from the 525s. How do you like the black fabric over the speakers? Is it nice or flimsy? Wish they'd just gone all black, but I suppose that look is part of what they want you to pay for with the 825s.

DC

PS: Your first pic makes me want to sign up for Fantasy Football for some reason...

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #56 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I like the black and it seems classy to me. I am ok w/the silver at the bottom, as I think its intended to blend in with the stand.

And its true, hyperdoc , I have local cable going into the set and am receiving all the HD programming and 5.1 sound through the COAX out. I have the audio 2 out setup for analog stations.
scpanel is offline  
post #57 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 06:27 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should have explained some more. I have a regular DirectTv Tivo now and it is not HD. I do not have the OTA antennae setup yet. They did not bring it with the TV.

But for the record - If I setup the OTA antennae prior to getting the new HD Tivo, I can plug the antennae into the cable box input to get HD????
hyperdoc is offline  
post #58 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hyperdoc
Should have explained some more. I have a regular DirectTv Tivo now and it is not HD. I do not have the OTA antennae setup yet. They did not bring it with the TV.

But for the record - If I setup the OTA antennae prior to getting the new HD Tivo, I can plug the antennae into the cable box input to get HD????

Plug the antenna into the TV not the cable box and if you can get a HD signal where you live then you'll have HD on your HDTV!

The Mits DLPs are true HDTVs and not HD monitors like most others these days.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #59 of 7433 Old 09-19-2004, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
cjut01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scpanel
jacobms1

Here is one with blinds open and lights on. I also used a flash.

Sc - Thanks for all your posts. Because of you, I am now committed to the 62725. I will be negotiating on Friday when I return home from a biz trip.
cjut01 is offline  
post #60 of 7433 Old 09-20-2004, 07:26 AM
Member
 
Iwii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What firmware version do the 52725s have?
Iwii is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off