Mitsubishi WD XX725 owners thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 04:37 PM
Member
 
technik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hyperdoc,

I have a 525 hooked up to a pc via vga cable with vga to DVI converter on a ATI 8500 DV. No probs. Are you using the HDMI or vga port on the tv??
technik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 04:37 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is Digital OTA Signal
LL
hyperdoc is offline  
post #183 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 04:38 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And now DVD Signal
LL
hyperdoc is offline  
post #184 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 04:39 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using VGA Input on TV. Only problem is color not proper - appears to be missing red or some red.
hyperdoc is offline  
post #185 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 04:45 PM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guess is it may be the cable. It is a Belkin DVI to VGA cable. Either cable or bad connection. Can't easily get to back of TV so will probably wait until have to do something else on back to try another cable or check connection.

Just hoping someone might have an idea, just in case not cable, did not want to wait to correct.
hyperdoc is offline  
post #186 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 05:02 PM
Member
 
kbarduca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hyperdoc

I noticed the tilt issue today when viewing PC screen and then found it also on a DVD that had black bars (top and bottom). I called for service on this. I read there are adjustments and decided I can just wait and let official service guy do it and then if something not right, I can exchange. Actually not a major issue at this time.


If you press Menu then 2457 then rewind you can get to the tilt service menu. Do Not mess around with anything else, I hear you can mess it up pretty bad if you don't know what you are doing. Check it out.

Thanks Kevin Barduca (A-1)
kbarduca is offline  
post #187 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
We tried a PS2 tonight using the front input and noticed the picture is off to the right by about 3 inches. Has anyone else tried this on their 525/725 yet?
scpanel is offline  
post #188 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 06:51 PM
Member
 
x-spyder-x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
been looking at the mitsus and like the 725, only problem is there is only one store in my area (listed under mitsu's site for 100 miles) that will carry the 725 and they have a no returns policy. I may end up having to go with a 525. I have yet to see any rainbows, but I haven't been able to watch one for for a prolonged period of time or in the rigth conditions yet. Wish there were other places carrying the 725. If anyone knows of a place in south east michigan plz let me know.
x-spyder-x is offline  
post #189 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:15 PM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I mistaken? The Guide was supposed to be missing from the 52725. I find I do have the guide. Anyone else find there set also has the guide?
dwarren2 is offline  
post #190 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:27 PM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by IFLYSWA
Not to turn this into a stands thread, but it looks like the TV overhangs the stand just a little bit. Does that bother you at all?

Thanks,
Randy

This is my 52725 on a Sanus PFDV stand.
LL
dwarren2 is offline  
post #191 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
PackFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Sears or American carry the 725 series?
PackFan is offline  
post #192 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I noticed the guide header comes up and pushing the right arrow button brings it up it seems for the local channels, but they are all grayed out. When you say yours works what do you mean?
scpanel is offline  
post #193 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:38 PM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scpanel
I noticed the guide header comes up and pushing the right arrow button brings it up it seems for the local channels, but they are all grayed out. When you say yours works what do you mean?

After highlighting a channel, if I press the right button on the keypad, I get a list of programs on that channel.
dwarren2 is offline  
post #194 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
when I bringg up the guide all I get is a header and then when I press the right arrow it lists 2-13 but they are all grayed out.
scpanel is offline  
post #195 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:52 PM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scpanel
when I bringg up the guide all I get is a header and then when I press the right arrow it lists 2-13 but they are all grayed out.

Instructions ay you have to turn off the 725 for 5-15 minutes per day. Try turning it off. Wait 15 min then press Guide and then right twice on the channel you want the guide on.
dwarren2 is offline  
post #196 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I still cant seem to see the channel info.
scpanel is offline  
post #197 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
is it because I am not using a Cable Card?
scpanel is offline  
post #198 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subwoofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
scpanel, thanks for posting those two pictures of your place. I got a good idea of your layout now. No offense, but you need to clean that place up, haha, just kidding cause mine isn't any better. I'll post a picture now so you guys can help me out for where I should put a 50" tv. Problem with my place is the huge sectional couch that would make the person on the closer side of the couch right next to the tv. OR I could move the couch but then the tv would be along the side of a wall....it would be in the middle of the room and that can't be allowed.

scpanel, what are each of those components under your tv and what brand? thanks, oh and also, how do you have surround sound, I only saw one speaker on the side.
LL
subwoofer is offline  
post #199 of 7433 Old 09-24-2004, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
subwoofer

I have Krell HTS 7.1 and the Krell TAS on the left and the Panasonic XP30 and DISH DVR 921 on the right. Check out the first picture, I have the B&W's strattling the fireplace and the center channel in the middle. The reason is I am planning on taking the rock out and doing a mantle w/a projector and screen eventually,
scpanel is offline  
post #200 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 05:36 AM
Member
 
joeld100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buford, GA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, can we take a poll of the 725 series owners to see whether or not they have the guide, along with what sources support this feature for those individuals?
joeld100 is offline  
post #201 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 05:55 AM
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by joeld100
So, can we take a poll of the 725 series owners to see whether or not they have the guide, along with what sources support this feature for those individuals?

I just tried this and at the bottom of the screen it says:
"Programs not listed on the guide have not been provided by broadcasters....... or something like that.
Which I think means that if the station hasn't provided the info, you can't see it.
I tried all my stations and some of them have given info for the programing. I can't understand the code that they provided, It does'nt give you an understandable program description.
Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #202 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was up real early this morning and in a dark room w/backlighting took one last shot at tweaking the set as it now has about 150 hours on it. And I spent more time with the red and green filters. I think it looks great now.

Here are the settings. This is using the Panny XP30 over component video.

Magenta 36
Red 40
Yellow 29
Green 41
Cyan 33
Blue 31

Contrast 29
Brightness 46
Sharpness 21
Temp Low
Tint 28
Color 32
V Noise std
Edge on

Other than overscan an bringing it under 2.5% and tweaking the picture geometry once we know more about the service menu I think thats about it for now.
scpanel is offline  
post #203 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by x-spyder-x
been looking at the mitsus and like the 725, only problem is there is only one store in my area (listed under mitsu's site for 100 miles) that will carry the 725 and they have a no returns policy. I may end up having to go with a 525. I have yet to see any rainbows, but I haven't been able to watch one for for a prolonged period of time or in the rigth conditions yet. Wish there were other places carrying the 725. If anyone knows of a place in south east michigan plz let me know.

Don't go by the list on the website. They didn't list many around me either, but there are a bunch of dealers in my area. You either need to call them up or look around your area for authorized dealers yourself. I have no idea why they wouldn't keep that list more up-to-date.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #204 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by parlyle
I just tried this and at the bottom of the screen it says:
"Programs not listed on the guide have not been provided by broadcasters....... or something like that.
Which I think means that if the station hasn't provided the info, you can't see it.
I tried all my stations and some of them have given info for the programing. I can't understand the code that they provided, It does'nt give you an understandable program description.
Lyle

I believe you need to distinguish between the "Channel Guide" that provides some information on channels and programming and the "On-Screen TV Guide" which provides more information based on what "TV Guide" has. The latter is what is supposed to be missing from the 725s and even the upcoming 825s. RUMINT has it that it's just a licensing issue and that it will be available in a subsequent firmware update (at least for the 825, not sure about the 725). I think BigAl had some additional info on this in another thread.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #205 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chad2323
Thank's all for the replies. I was going to wait for the Diamond version to come out but I was told the PVR in it will only work with the cablecard tuner and the TV is the same as the 725 when it comes to the PQ so I would rather save the money and get the 725. Thank's again

Chet

I don't think this is correct. The PVR will allow you to record from multiple sources including analog OTA, HD OTA, and other inputs. The details are posted on another thread here somewhere (sorry I can't find it right now...we just had a baby and my brain is still fried).

At the same time, I think the price difference between the 825 and the 725 is a lot for a PVR, supposedly better anti-glare screen, and cool cabinet.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #206 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: East Bridgewater, Ma., U.S.A.
Posts: 3,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So has anyone figured out the "precise difference" between a XX725 and XX525 yet? If the only difference is the protective screen, and the program guide (TV Guide) then I think I'll keep the 525. I removed the screen and get "0" glare. I have an HD Tivo for the program guide. Am I missing something?
Benji is offline  
post #207 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 07:53 AM
Member
 
hyperdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I press the guide button on remote, I get a channel listing. It lists all channels that have been programmed or learned. I have input connected to the ant-1.
hyperdoc is offline  
post #208 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 08:25 AM
Member
 
technik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The guide sounds like the same guide that comes on the 525's, and NOT the "TV GUIDE" by Gemstar, which was supposed to be on the 725 and 825.
technik is offline  
post #209 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
DCinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by technik
The guide sounds like the same guide that comes on the 525's, and NOT the "TV GUIDE" by Gemstar, which was supposed to be on the 725 and 825.

That's correct from what I understand. I fyou read back through this thread and others you'll see that Mits delayed the "On-Screen TV Guide" for the 725s and 825s. I've also seen posts that say it may be available (at least on the 825, but I can't see why not on the 725 as well) via a firmware update.

DC

DC
-----
Every post is IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV :)
DCinDC is offline  
post #210 of 7433 Old 09-25-2004, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The guide you guys are seeing is the same as the guide on the 525... With my cablecard, I automatically get all the channel names/call letters in the guide. I think this ability is cable company dependent.
UMD_Terp is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off