QUALIA 006 Owner's Thread - Page 42 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > Rear Projection Units > QUALIA 006 Owner's Thread

Rear Projection Units

kaduku's Avatar kaduku
08:20 PM Liked: 10
post #1231 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 882
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:


Originally posted by nhey
On HBO-HD on Comcast at 8:30 tonight they had Matrix Revolutions. This is one film every owner of the 006 (especially if you have Comcast) needs to watch (or tape to show to friends) even if you're not a sci-fi fan - great transfer - great color palette, razor sharp, exquisite detail, - one of the best film transfers to HD I've seen to show off all the attributes of the 006. Probably also great on D*, but as you may know, the compression on D* hurts quality compared to Comcast where there is no compression.


I watched this movie a few days ago and watched it again tonight. I have D* and it was still breathtaking. I can only imagine how it looks on Comcast. For those of you that don't understand what breathtaking is, it's like taking your breathe away. Get it!!!!!!!
jb007's Avatar jb007
08:35 PM Liked: 12
post #1232 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 1,046
Joined: Mar 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by kaduku
I watched this movie a few days ago and watched it again tonight. I have D* and it was still breathtaking. I can only imagine how it looks on Comcast. For those of you that don't understand what breathtaking is, it's like taking your breathe away. Get it!!!!!!!

FWIW, someone posted in this forum that DirecTV is contractually bound with HBO not to (overly?) compress their signal.

jb007
colortv's Avatar colortv
08:35 PM Liked: 10
post #1233 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:


Originally posted by nhey
ColorTV - I agree with you 100%. I watched American Idol tonight and really enjoyed it - thought the show was very entertaining "fluff" and the picture was GREAT.

On HBO-HD on Comcast at 8:30 tonight they had Matrix Revolutions. This is one film every owner of the 006 (especially if you have Comcast) needs to watch (or tape to show to friends) even if you're not a sci-fi fan - great transfer - great color palette, razor sharp, exquisite detail, - one of the best film transfers to HD I've seen to show off all the attributes of the 006. Probably also great on D*, but as you may know, the compression on D* hurts quality compared to Comcast where there is no compression.

Is HBO HD 1080i? I am considering upping to at least one premium channel on Comcast, likely HBO HD. I take it you feel HBO is worth the pop?
colortv's Avatar colortv
08:41 PM Liked: 10
post #1234 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:


Originally posted by jb007
FWIW, someone posted in this forum that DirecTV is contractually bound with HBO not to (overly?) compress their signal.

jb007

My understanding is that HBO is allowed more bandwidth on satellite providers than many of the other channels. On the SD channels, bounce around and compare them to HBO. The difference is obvious even on a cheap SDTV. I'm not sure about HBO's HD bandwidth allotment on DirecTV. That situation is bound to improve when DirecTV switches to superior mpeg 4 compression and adds more satellites and bandwidth. But I read somewhere that the new satellites transmission bands may be more subject to weather interference/reduced signal strength. Despite the satellite company's advertising bashing cable TV, I continue to be VERY pleasantly surprised with Comcast. Before they bought out Mediaone and AT&T, our cable service here in Los Angeles was just awful!
pepco's Avatar pepco
08:53 PM Liked: 10
post #1235 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 249
Joined: Dec 2003
Just heard a brick and mortar in hometown will be selling the the 006 for $[MSRP only]
punkzip's Avatar punkzip
09:58 PM Liked: 10
post #1236 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 91
Joined: Aug 2004
NHey,

Could you post the attachment again that shows how you Velcroed you Ideal lume? I can't find it in this thread.
h2osports's Avatar h2osports
10:04 PM Liked: 10
post #1237 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 159
Joined: Jan 2005
Does this help?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...036&fullpage=1

Be skiing ya,

DSG
Penton-Man's Avatar Penton-Man
10:28 PM Liked: 12
post #1238 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 4,758
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:


Originally posted by colortv
Is HBO HD 1080i? I am considering upping to at least one premium channel on Comcast, likely HBO HD. I take it you feel HBO is worth the pop?

That be yes.
See
http://www.hdtvgalaxy.com/broad323.html
MotorMouth777's Avatar MotorMouth777
10:55 PM Liked: 10
post #1239 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 405
Joined: Nov 2004
When will we see the Playboy channel in 1080. Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.



Waiting for this set is like watching paint dry.
I can't rent any good DVD's cause I could not stand missing them on the 006.
Where the hell is that boat full of TV's.
Don't those people over there work overtime.
Why didn't I have more money sooner.
Will my Mac-Mini get here in time.
I can't believe how long 30 days really is.
Every time the phone rings I hope its Qualia with a real delivery date?
Please please please post some more pictures...I just need a hug.
Where the hell is that boat.


Sorry gotta run......................phone is ringing.
MotorMouth777's Avatar MotorMouth777
11:03 PM Liked: 10
post #1240 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 405
Joined: Nov 2004
ColorTV....Penton

I could not find that sony DVD player you recommended for sale anywhere. Penton you use a panny I believe. Does that unit remain a good choice for an interim player until blu-ray is avail.


Where the hell is that boat?
JimP
11:08 PM Liked: 256
post #1241 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 15,761
Joined: Sep 2002
MotorMouth777 is definately not "jelling"
h2osports's Avatar h2osports
11:09 PM Liked: 10
post #1242 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 159
Joined: Jan 2005
Penton-Man,

IIRC, you were hoping to attend a Sony shindig somewhere in Southern CA right about now with the intention of discovering what plans, if any, Sony had to broaden their use of the SXRD technology beyond a $13k RPTV and a $30k FP. I'm just wondering, assuming you snagged an invite, if you were able to glean any useful info regarding same.

BTW, thanks for all your great posts on this thread and on the "Sony jumps...." thread.

Be skiing ya,

DSG
brt3's Avatar brt3
11:17 PM Liked: 10
post #1243 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 1,483
Joined: Dec 2000
Quote:


Originally posted by MotorMouth777
Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.

I always prefer my women to be progressive...



Sony DVP-NS975V
This is available at Am*zon.com; seems to be unique in its' ability to output 480i over HDMI...
kaduku's Avatar kaduku
11:17 PM Liked: 10
post #1244 of 17325
02-08-2005 | Posts: 882
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:


Originally posted by MotorMouth777
When will we see the Playboy channel in 1080. Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.


How about underlaced! Yeah Baby!!!!!!
snatch's Avatar snatch
12:10 AM Liked: 10
post #1245 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 985
Joined: Mar 2004
One question: How the crap are you guys dropping over 13k for a TV? Have you had your sanity checked?
MotorMouth777's Avatar MotorMouth777
12:17 AM Liked: 10
post #1246 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 405
Joined: Nov 2004
Yes.........I regularly have myself checked for sanity.

Unfortunately it really gets in the way of one's having fun in life but thankfully, mine has not yet returned.



Bill's Avatar Bill
12:46 AM Liked: 14
post #1247 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 2,860
Joined: Feb 1999
brt3,

"RPTVs, for all they do so well, look like a projected (or rear-projected) image on a screen."

I beg to differ with you, my 73" Mits is like looking through a window (not just my opinion but the opinion of my friends who have watched it). The image is so lifelike it seems 3 dimensional. Now not all CRT RPTVs can do this but some can.
nhey's Avatar nhey
04:28 AM Liked: 10
post #1248 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 703
Joined: Jun 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by h2osports
Does this help?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...036&fullpage=1

Be skiing ya,

DSG


Notice that my light is not just a bulb but is a bulb in a fixture (that's the way it came to me from Cinemaquest). The bottom of the fixture is flat and I attach a 2" wide piece of velcro along the entire length of the bottom of the fixture, and attach that to another piece of velcro of the same length attached directly to the back of the 006. I then cut small perpendicular pieces of velcro to attach the side of the fixture to the back of the 006 and overlay those with one long horizontal piece of velcro. The bulb generates some heat so you definitely don't want to attach a plain bulb to the back of the set. Since heat rises, the heat of the bulb in a fixture should not affect the 006 in any negative way. I used this same setup for my previous RPTV and never had a problem of any sort. Do this gently and you should be fine. As I posted previously, if you do get this light, I suggest you get the RF remote so you can turn on and off the light without having to go behind the set. The bulb was $54.95 and the RF remote $30. Just checked and they still offer both the bulb (the "original/standard) and the "x-10" RF remote on their web site for the same prices.

http://www.cinemaquestinc.com/ideal_lume.htm


http://cinemaquestincn.goemerchant7....ExpandedDepts=


I agree that if you have to choose one extra HD channel I would choose HBO-HD over Starz-HD, or Showtime-HD, or the others. With Comcast I get them all included.
Tulsa1's Avatar Tulsa1
05:59 AM Liked: 71
post #1249 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 773
Joined: Nov 2003
There is a very useful feature in the user Main menu. Scroll down
to the last selection called Applications and then select Diagnostics.
You must do this while watching one of the internal tuner DTV channels
or the Diagnostics is grayed out.
You can leave this window up and change channels to see the signal
strength and other details about the signal.
Pretty cool

Martin
JimP
06:04 AM Liked: 256
post #1250 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 15,761
Joined: Sep 2002
Has anybody done a critical evaluation of video deinterlacing performance on this set? See any combing, etc??
thesirjay's Avatar thesirjay
07:17 AM Liked: 11
post #1251 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 602
Joined: May 2004
Quote:


Originally posted by pepco
Just heard a brick and mortar in hometown will be selling the the 006 for $[MSRP only]

Good grief... um can people start tossing out names of these dealers?

[Mod note - No they cant, but you can PM the poster to find out. Thank you]

If the prices really are that flexible with the secondary dealers I can see one of these puppies in my house FAST! I have enjoyed the thread but somehow I think I would enjoy actually watching a whole lot more and only the last 3k bump has held me off.
CowboyBFD's Avatar CowboyBFD
10:06 AM Liked: 10
post #1252 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2004
Ok, I guess I must be one of those people who just throw my money down on the best TV $13,000 can buy and then try to figure out how to "work it". I purchased my Qualia 006 on Jan 4th in NYC. I was delivered roughly 2 weeks later. I have not been able figure out why I cannot get the TV to show anything in 1080p! The highest I've been able achieve is 1080i... I understand the difference between those two but cannot figure out why 1080p is not being achieved from any source. The best "picture" and sound I have seen/heard is my son's DVD of Ice Age which the TV claims to be 480p.

I have regular DTV AND Comcast HD at this time...

Can someone help me understand this and/or let me know if I am missing something (other than brain cells)?
ext's Avatar ext
10:13 AM Liked: 10
post #1253 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 115
Joined: Jul 2004
KDS-70CQ006 announced for Japan.
http://www.sony.jp/CorporateCruise/P...00502/05-0209/

The model next to the 006 is dwarfed by it's size. I wonder how it will sell in Japan. Typically many living environments are based on a smaller scale there.
JimP
10:23 AM Liked: 256
post #1254 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 15,761
Joined: Sep 2002
Cowboy,

The highest resolution that is currently broadcast is 1080i.

The TV takes this 1080i signal and internally deinterlaces it into 1080p.

Your set is fine. Your paradigm is off. lol
Professor Gascan's Avatar Professor Gascan
10:29 AM Liked: 10
post #1255 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 58
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:


Originally posted by colortv
And check out the Amazing Race finale tonight if you want to see how good CBS is scaling up standard def to 1080i for broadcast on their digital channels. In spite of the slightly annoying gray pillarbox, our 006's working in tandem with the CBS scaler yields some very clean SD.

I took this little challenge last night, and the difference was incredible. I don't have a 006 (I've got a 55WF655), but the quality of the SD was quite amazing I'd like to see them do this with all TV if it can't be shot in true HD.
CowboyBFD's Avatar CowboyBFD
10:49 AM Liked: 10
post #1256 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2004
I wasn't truly concerned that the set was broken, I just was "annoyed" that I couldn't get the thing to say 1080p when I hit the TV display button. Also, almost any signal coming in, HD or not HD makes the TV display feature say that it is displaying 1080i. If it is truly upconverting the signal (whatever signal) to 1080p, why doesn't the set say this? For instance, I KNOW the Super Bowl was broadcast thru Comcast at 720p - yet, my set says the signal was 1080i, the same thing goes for regular 480p television broadcasts...my set ALWAYS says its 1080i unless I have a DVD in - then it says 480p, which is the only part I understand.

I have another question for all you Qualia 006'ers. I have DTV hooked up to Video 1 w/ S Video cables, VHS on Video 3, Comcast HD on Video 4 w/ component cables, and DVD on Video 5 - leaving Video 2, 6, and 7 open. When I use the TV's picture and picture function, I get side by side views of DTV and Comcast, however, I can ONLY get Comcast on the left side of the screen. The right side of the screen will only let me use Video 1, 2, or 3 inputs during PAP. I cannot "swap" the images because of this. It's not the end of the world but can anyone explain to me why this is? I do not understand why I cannot have Comcast (Video 4)and a DVD (Video 5) displayed at the same time using PAP?

Thanks!
jb007's Avatar jb007
10:49 AM Liked: 12
post #1257 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 1,046
Joined: Mar 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by CowboyBFD
Ok, I guess I must be one of those people who just throw my money down on the best TV $13,000 can buy and then try to figure out how to "work it". I purchased my Qualia 006 on Jan 4th in NYC. I was delivered roughly 2 weeks later. I have not been able figure out why I cannot get the TV to show anything in 1080p! The highest I've been able achieve is 1080i... I understand the difference between those two but cannot figure out why 1080p is not being achieved from any source. The best "picture" and sound I have seen/heard is my son's DVD of Ice Age which the TV claims to be 480p.

I have regular DTV AND Comcast HD at this time...

Can someone help me understand this and/or let me know if I am missing something (other than brain cells)?

Your confusion is understandable. A while back I posed the question as to why nowhere on the 006, or in the owner's manual, does it say anything about 1080p. While I never did receive an answer, "the 006 scales and outputs everything at 1080p period" (Quote attributed to rogo).

What you are seeing on the display, i.e., 1080i or 480p, is the source material resolution (1080i for CBS, NBC, HDNet, etc.) and 480p for a progressive DVD player. Hope this helps.
SF_Theater's Avatar SF_Theater
10:54 AM Liked: 10
post #1258 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 63
Joined: Jun 2004
Cowboy-

Your Comcast box may be set to putput 1080i, regardless of the source (i.e the box scales any signal to 1080i). I think the Comcast box can be set to native, which would pass signals at their broadcast resolution (1080i, 720p, etc.)
nhey's Avatar nhey
11:03 AM Liked: 10
post #1259 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 703
Joined: Jun 2001
I called 800-488-7669 (Sony Parts) and was told replacement bulbs for the 006 are now available. The part number is XL-5000, cost $300 + sales tax, as applicable, depending on where you live. I ordered one. Don't want to take any chances. When the bulb actually burns out, I will call and request my free replacement, and will use the extra one I purchased now as a "spare". Was told it will be shipped by "regular mail".

Would appreciate it if someone else could call and confirm they are, in fact, available, and post here. Ask them how long it will take you to receive the bulb if you order it now. Thanks!


nhey's Avatar nhey
11:15 AM Liked: 10
post #1260 of 17325
02-09-2005 | Posts: 703
Joined: Jun 2001
Clearing up a couple of points:

The Comcast 6412 dual tuner DVR does not have a native output. It outputs at only one resolution that you can set in the user menu. Turn off the box, and very quickly press Menu on the remote. You will see a screen where you can adjust the output to 480i, 480p, 720p, or 1080i. I think the box is delivered to you with it set up to output 1080i. Since the majority of high-def material (except for ABC, ESPN, and FOX) is broadcast at 1080i, it is best to leave it at 1080i. I actually changed it to 720p for the Super Bowl and saw no difference between the 720p and 1080i output from the Comcast box, so I turned it back to 1080i.

The 006 manual very clearly states on page 75 that the PIP feature will display digital channels or anything connected to inputs 4, 5, 6, or 7 in the left window ONLY, and that you cannot display two high-def inputs simulataneously in the left and right windows.
Tags: Sony

Reply Rear Projection Units

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3