QUALIA 006 Owner's Thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
kaduku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nhey
On HBO-HD on Comcast at 8:30 tonight they had Matrix Revolutions. This is one film every owner of the 006 (especially if you have Comcast) needs to watch (or tape to show to friends) even if you're not a sci-fi fan - great transfer - great color palette, razor sharp, exquisite detail, - one of the best film transfers to HD I've seen to show off all the attributes of the 006. Probably also great on D*, but as you may know, the compression on D* hurts quality compared to Comcast where there is no compression.


I watched this movie a few days ago and watched it again tonight. I have D* and it was still breathtaking. I can only imagine how it looks on Comcast. For those of you that don't understand what breathtaking is, it's like taking your breathe away. Get it!!!!!!!

Laterz
kaduku is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by kaduku
I watched this movie a few days ago and watched it again tonight. I have D* and it was still breathtaking. I can only imagine how it looks on Comcast. For those of you that don't understand what breathtaking is, it's like taking your breathe away. Get it!!!!!!!

FWIW, someone posted in this forum that DirecTV is contractually bound with HBO not to (overly?) compress their signal.

jb007
jb007 is offline  
post #1233 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
colortv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nhey
ColorTV - I agree with you 100%. I watched American Idol tonight and really enjoyed it - thought the show was very entertaining "fluff" and the picture was GREAT.

On HBO-HD on Comcast at 8:30 tonight they had Matrix Revolutions. This is one film every owner of the 006 (especially if you have Comcast) needs to watch (or tape to show to friends) even if you're not a sci-fi fan - great transfer - great color palette, razor sharp, exquisite detail, - one of the best film transfers to HD I've seen to show off all the attributes of the 006. Probably also great on D*, but as you may know, the compression on D* hurts quality compared to Comcast where there is no compression.

Is HBO HD 1080i? I am considering upping to at least one premium channel on Comcast, likely HBO HD. I take it you feel HBO is worth the pop?
colortv is offline  
post #1234 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
colortv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jb007
FWIW, someone posted in this forum that DirecTV is contractually bound with HBO not to (overly?) compress their signal.

jb007

My understanding is that HBO is allowed more bandwidth on satellite providers than many of the other channels. On the SD channels, bounce around and compare them to HBO. The difference is obvious even on a cheap SDTV. I'm not sure about HBO's HD bandwidth allotment on DirecTV. That situation is bound to improve when DirecTV switches to superior mpeg 4 compression and adds more satellites and bandwidth. But I read somewhere that the new satellites transmission bands may be more subject to weather interference/reduced signal strength. Despite the satellite company's advertising bashing cable TV, I continue to be VERY pleasantly surprised with Comcast. Before they bought out Mediaone and AT&T, our cable service here in Los Angeles was just awful!
colortv is offline  
post #1235 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
pepco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just heard a brick and mortar in hometown will be selling the the 006 for $[MSRP only]
pepco is offline  
post #1236 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 08:58 PM
Member
 
punkzip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NHey,

Could you post the attachment again that shows how you Velcroed you Ideal lume? I can't find it in this thread.
punkzip is offline  
post #1237 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 09:04 PM
Member
 
h2osports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
h2osports is offline  
post #1238 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Penton-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by colortv
Is HBO HD 1080i? I am considering upping to at least one premium channel on Comcast, likely HBO HD. I take it you feel HBO is worth the pop?

That be yes.
See
http://www.hdtvgalaxy.com/broad323.html
Penton-Man is offline  
post #1239 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
MotorMouth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When will we see the Playboy channel in 1080. Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.



Waiting for this set is like watching paint dry.
I can't rent any good DVD's cause I could not stand missing them on the 006.
Where the hell is that boat full of TV's.
Don't those people over there work overtime.
Why didn't I have more money sooner.
Will my Mac-Mini get here in time.
I can't believe how long 30 days really is.
Every time the phone rings I hope its Qualia with a real delivery date?
Please please please post some more pictures...I just need a hug.
Where the hell is that boat.


Sorry gotta run......................phone is ringing.
MotorMouth777 is offline  
post #1240 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
MotorMouth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ColorTV....Penton

I could not find that sony DVD player you recommended for sale anywhere. Penton you use a panny I believe. Does that unit remain a good choice for an interim player until blu-ray is avail.


Where the hell is that boat?
MotorMouth777 is offline  
post #1241 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 10:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 173
MotorMouth777 is definately not "jelling"

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1242 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 10:09 PM
Member
 
h2osports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Penton-Man,

IIRC, you were hoping to attend a Sony shindig somewhere in Southern CA right about now with the intention of discovering what plans, if any, Sony had to broaden their use of the SXRD technology beyond a $13k RPTV and a $30k FP. I'm just wondering, assuming you snagged an invite, if you were able to glean any useful info regarding same.

BTW, thanks for all your great posts on this thread and on the "Sony jumps...." thread.

Be skiing ya,

DSG
h2osports is offline  
post #1243 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brt3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MotorMouth777
Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.

I always prefer my women to be progressive...



Sony DVP-NS975V
This is available at Am*zon.com; seems to be unique in its' ability to output 480i over HDMI...

...
brt3 is offline  
post #1244 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
kaduku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MotorMouth777
When will we see the Playboy channel in 1080. Not sure what is better.........girls interlaced or progressive.


How about underlaced! Yeah Baby!!!!!!

Laterz
kaduku is offline  
post #1245 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
snatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question: How the crap are you guys dropping over 13k for a TV? Have you had your sanity checked?

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
snatch is offline  
post #1246 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
MotorMouth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes.........I regularly have myself checked for sanity.

Unfortunately it really gets in the way of one's having fun in life but thankfully, mine has not yet returned.


MotorMouth777 is offline  
post #1247 of 17300 Old 02-08-2005, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
brt3,

"RPTVs, for all they do so well, look like a projected (or rear-projected) image on a screen."

I beg to differ with you, my 73" Mits is like looking through a window (not just my opinion but the opinion of my friends who have watched it). The image is so lifelike it seems 3 dimensional. Now not all CRT RPTVs can do this but some can.
Bill is online now  
post #1248 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by h2osports
Does this help?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...036&fullpage=1

Be skiing ya,

DSG


Notice that my light is not just a bulb but is a bulb in a fixture (that's the way it came to me from Cinemaquest). The bottom of the fixture is flat and I attach a 2" wide piece of velcro along the entire length of the bottom of the fixture, and attach that to another piece of velcro of the same length attached directly to the back of the 006. I then cut small perpendicular pieces of velcro to attach the side of the fixture to the back of the 006 and overlay those with one long horizontal piece of velcro. The bulb generates some heat so you definitely don't want to attach a plain bulb to the back of the set. Since heat rises, the heat of the bulb in a fixture should not affect the 006 in any negative way. I used this same setup for my previous RPTV and never had a problem of any sort. Do this gently and you should be fine. As I posted previously, if you do get this light, I suggest you get the RF remote so you can turn on and off the light without having to go behind the set. The bulb was $54.95 and the RF remote $30. Just checked and they still offer both the bulb (the "original/standard) and the "x-10" RF remote on their web site for the same prices.

http://www.cinemaquestinc.com/ideal_lume.htm


http://cinemaquestincn.goemerchant7....ExpandedDepts=


I agree that if you have to choose one extra HD channel I would choose HBO-HD over Starz-HD, or Showtime-HD, or the others. With Comcast I get them all included.
nhey is offline  
post #1249 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There is a very useful feature in the user Main menu. Scroll down
to the last selection called Applications and then select Diagnostics.
You must do this while watching one of the internal tuner DTV channels
or the Diagnostics is grayed out.
You can leave this window up and change channels to see the signal
strength and other details about the signal.
Pretty cool

Martin

Is it LIVE or is it on a Sony XBR 65X950B
Tulsa1 is offline  
post #1250 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 05:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Has anybody done a critical evaluation of video deinterlacing performance on this set? See any combing, etc??

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1251 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
thesirjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by pepco
Just heard a brick and mortar in hometown will be selling the the 006 for $[MSRP only]

Good grief... um can people start tossing out names of these dealers?

[Mod note - No they cant, but you can PM the poster to find out. Thank you]

If the prices really are that flexible with the secondary dealers I can see one of these puppies in my house FAST! I have enjoyed the thread but somehow I think I would enjoy actually watching a whole lot more and only the last 3k bump has held me off.
thesirjay is offline  
post #1252 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
CowboyBFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I guess I must be one of those people who just throw my money down on the best TV $13,000 can buy and then try to figure out how to "work it". I purchased my Qualia 006 on Jan 4th in NYC. I was delivered roughly 2 weeks later. I have not been able figure out why I cannot get the TV to show anything in 1080p! The highest I've been able achieve is 1080i... I understand the difference between those two but cannot figure out why 1080p is not being achieved from any source. The best "picture" and sound I have seen/heard is my son's DVD of Ice Age which the TV claims to be 480p.

I have regular DTV AND Comcast HD at this time...

Can someone help me understand this and/or let me know if I am missing something (other than brain cells)?
CowboyBFD is offline  
post #1253 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:13 AM
ext
Member
 
ext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KDS-70CQ006 announced for Japan.
http://www.sony.jp/CorporateCruise/P...00502/05-0209/

The model next to the 006 is dwarfed by it's size. I wonder how it will sell in Japan. Typically many living environments are based on a smaller scale there.
ext is offline  
post #1254 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Cowboy,

The highest resolution that is currently broadcast is 1080i.

The TV takes this 1080i signal and internally deinterlaces it into 1080p.

Your set is fine. Your paradigm is off. lol

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1255 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Professor Gascan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by colortv
And check out the Amazing Race finale tonight if you want to see how good CBS is scaling up standard def to 1080i for broadcast on their digital channels. In spite of the slightly annoying gray pillarbox, our 006's working in tandem with the CBS scaler yields some very clean SD.

I took this little challenge last night, and the difference was incredible. I don't have a 006 (I've got a 55WF655), but the quality of the SD was quite amazing I'd like to see them do this with all TV if it can't be shot in true HD.
Professor Gascan is offline  
post #1256 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
CowboyBFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't truly concerned that the set was broken, I just was "annoyed" that I couldn't get the thing to say 1080p when I hit the TV display button. Also, almost any signal coming in, HD or not HD makes the TV display feature say that it is displaying 1080i. If it is truly upconverting the signal (whatever signal) to 1080p, why doesn't the set say this? For instance, I KNOW the Super Bowl was broadcast thru Comcast at 720p - yet, my set says the signal was 1080i, the same thing goes for regular 480p television broadcasts...my set ALWAYS says its 1080i unless I have a DVD in - then it says 480p, which is the only part I understand.

I have another question for all you Qualia 006'ers. I have DTV hooked up to Video 1 w/ S Video cables, VHS on Video 3, Comcast HD on Video 4 w/ component cables, and DVD on Video 5 - leaving Video 2, 6, and 7 open. When I use the TV's picture and picture function, I get side by side views of DTV and Comcast, however, I can ONLY get Comcast on the left side of the screen. The right side of the screen will only let me use Video 1, 2, or 3 inputs during PAP. I cannot "swap" the images because of this. It's not the end of the world but can anyone explain to me why this is? I do not understand why I cannot have Comcast (Video 4)and a DVD (Video 5) displayed at the same time using PAP?

Thanks!
CowboyBFD is offline  
post #1257 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by CowboyBFD
Ok, I guess I must be one of those people who just throw my money down on the best TV $13,000 can buy and then try to figure out how to "work it". I purchased my Qualia 006 on Jan 4th in NYC. I was delivered roughly 2 weeks later. I have not been able figure out why I cannot get the TV to show anything in 1080p! The highest I've been able achieve is 1080i... I understand the difference between those two but cannot figure out why 1080p is not being achieved from any source. The best "picture" and sound I have seen/heard is my son's DVD of Ice Age which the TV claims to be 480p.

I have regular DTV AND Comcast HD at this time...

Can someone help me understand this and/or let me know if I am missing something (other than brain cells)?

Your confusion is understandable. A while back I posed the question as to why nowhere on the 006, or in the owner's manual, does it say anything about 1080p. While I never did receive an answer, "the 006 scales and outputs everything at 1080p period" (Quote attributed to rogo).

What you are seeing on the display, i.e., 1080i or 480p, is the source material resolution (1080i for CBS, NBC, HDNet, etc.) and 480p for a progressive DVD player. Hope this helps.
jb007 is offline  
post #1258 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 09:54 AM
Member
 
SF_Theater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cowboy-

Your Comcast box may be set to putput 1080i, regardless of the source (i.e the box scales any signal to 1080i). I think the Comcast box can be set to native, which would pass signals at their broadcast resolution (1080i, 720p, etc.)
SF_Theater is offline  
post #1259 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called 800-488-7669 (Sony Parts) and was told replacement bulbs for the 006 are now available. The part number is XL-5000, cost $300 + sales tax, as applicable, depending on where you live. I ordered one. Don't want to take any chances. When the bulb actually burns out, I will call and request my free replacement, and will use the extra one I purchased now as a "spare". Was told it will be shipped by "regular mail".

Would appreciate it if someone else could call and confirm they are, in fact, available, and post here. Ask them how long it will take you to receive the bulb if you order it now. Thanks!

nhey is offline  
post #1260 of 17300 Old 02-09-2005, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Clearing up a couple of points:

The Comcast 6412 dual tuner DVR does not have a native output. It outputs at only one resolution that you can set in the user menu. Turn off the box, and very quickly press Menu on the remote. You will see a screen where you can adjust the output to 480i, 480p, 720p, or 1080i. I think the box is delivered to you with it set up to output 1080i. Since the majority of high-def material (except for ABC, ESPN, and FOX) is broadcast at 1080i, it is best to leave it at 1080i. I actually changed it to 720p for the Super Bowl and saw no difference between the 720p and 1080i output from the Comcast box, so I turned it back to 1080i.

The 006 manual very clearly states on page 75 that the PIP feature will display digital channels or anything connected to inputs 4, 5, 6, or 7 in the left window ONLY, and that you cannot display two high-def inputs simulataneously in the left and right windows.
nhey is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Sony

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off