Toshiba 65" Projection TV Model: 65H14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 07-27-2005, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello,

i am new to this fourms and have enjoyed reading what everyone has to say about the diffrent models and brands.

I am looking at this model, Toshiba 65" Projection TV Model: 65H14. My local store has it for $1499.00, but I dont know if I should buy this or get a smaller DLP. Can anyone offer me some advice on what I should do. I noticed that the Toshiba was not as clear or bright as the RCA 50" DLP, but I am limited in funds and $1600.00 is the most I can spend.

Please help...

Thank you in advance for your time and thoughts.

TSOMERS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-27-2005, 06:11 PM

they are 2 different technologies:
---the dlp tends to be brighter and sharper but doesn't have black levels that are as good as the crt
---the crt has a "richer" picture, better colors and deeper blacks but is not as sharp or as bright (and isn't very good in bright rooms or rooms with a lot of light sources or reflections)
---the crt is susceptible to burn-in which means it's not a good choice for gamers
--the crt requires more "work" ie. convergence and fine tuning whereas the dlp pretty much just works right out of the box
--the crt is a behemoth especially at 65", it's huge whereas the dlp is much smaller and lighter
---i would look at the hitachi 51 or 57 crt which you can get very cheaply right now, it is arguably the best crt available
---or i like the toshiba 52hm84 dlp (see sound and vision for a recent review) which to my eyes is a very nice dlp
---both can be had in your price range (the toshiba will require some hard looking and maybe a nudge higher in price but there should be some good closeouts on this model as the new model is out now)

"If I'm curt, then I apologize"
post #3 of 4 Old 10-02-2005, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member