Official 2005 Sony KDSR-50/60XBR1 SXRD Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm officially a member. I just came from Jesus's shop where my SXRD was waiting patiently for me. I was planning on having it delivered on Saturday morning, but I'm tempted to borrow my neighbor's truck and pick it up myself tonight! Unfortunately, I've got one more coat of oil to put on the TV stand, so I probably won't get it hooked up until Saturday anyways, but damn I'd love to have that puppy sitting in my living room sooner!

Jason

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 01:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post

I've read the KDS-R60XBR1 manual page to page... and there is no reference to 1080p what so ever!

There isn't even a reference that this TV is supposed to up-convert incoming signals to 1080p.

Sony's Website doesn't even suggest the KDS-R60XBR1 has anything to do with 1080p.

The only place that I've seen that this TV supports 1080p on any level, is the Crutchfield Website, and this forum.

I've seen the Qualia .006, and I agree that the picture quality was one of the best I've ever seen from a RPTV, so I expect the picture quality of the KDS-R60XBR1 will be as good since according to Sony, they use the same LCoS design.

I'm so glad you are happy with your set. I can't wait to finally see one of these TV's... there sure has been a lot of hype!

But, 1080p?... where are people getting their info?


I see what you are saying. However, if you multiply 1920 by 1080, you get 2,073,600 which agrees with the number of pixels per panel as shown on page 115 of 120 on the row where it says SXRD Panel.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #93 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Uninvited Guest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonColeman View Post

Well, I'm officially a member. I just came from Jesus's shop where my SXRD was waiting patiently for me. I was planning on having it delivered on Saturday morning, but I'm tempted to borrow my neighbor's truck and pick it up myself tonight! Unfortunately, I've got one more coat of oil to put on the TV stand, so I probably won't get it hooked up until Saturday anyways, but damn I'd love to have that puppy sitting in my living room sooner!

Jason

There is much sucking in the universe at the moment!!! I'll keep waiting... I'm fine

Seriously, that's fantastic!

Shoot me some pics when you get time.
Uninvited Guest is offline  
post #94 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
HomeGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Specifications General Features

Channel Fix

ID1 Detection


Video

Native Resolution: 1920 x 1080

Aspect Ratio: 16:9

Viewing Angle: 60 degrees

Tuner: ATSC/8VSB
HomeGuy is offline  
post #95 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
CFoote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonColeman View Post

Well, I'm officially a member. I just came from Jesus's shop where my SXRD was waiting patiently for me. I was planning on having it delivered on Saturday morning, but I'm tempted to borrow my neighbor's truck and pick it up myself tonight! Unfortunately, I've got one more coat of oil to put on the TV stand, so I probably won't get it hooked up until Saturday anyways, but damn I'd love to have that puppy sitting in my living room sooner!

Jason

Jason!!!! Go get that beast and hook it up!!!!

My HT: 60" Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD (calibration soon), Krell electronics, B&W N802s.
CFoote is offline  
post #96 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I see what you are saying. However, if you multiply 1920 by 1080, you get 2,073,600 which agrees with the number of pixels per panel as shown on page 115 of 120 on the row where it says SXRD Panel.

Please excuse my ignorance, but what does pixel count have to do with a progressive output?

I mean, Isn't it true that just because the LCoS panels have a high resolution, doesn't mean that the TV is outputting a progressive signal, or both halves of the interlaced signal simultaneously.

Having high res. components are great if Sony is actually using it for that purpose, but what if they are not.

You could be all dressed up for the party, but totally uninvited.

I believe it might be a little hasty, and even reckless to make any assumptions, or to put any words in the manufacturers mouth.

I'm not pointing fingers at anyone, but rather just making an observation!

I've read a lot of articles that suggest that many manufacturers have found some creative ways to advance the technology more quickly, but with a heavier emphasis on doing it cheaply, and in some cases to the detriment of quality... but that's nothing new!

Call me cynical, but for that kind of money... I'd want to be sure.

"New" Isn't always better, but you'll never know unless you give it a try!
MoPro is offline  
post #97 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
empire_of_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All microdisplays are progressive. The resolution is 1920x1080. Put 2 and 2 together. That equals a 1080p display.

And TVs display a signal, the don't output a signal. What are you gonna output it to... another TV?

I want to eat your brains and gain your knowledge.
empire_of_one is offline  
post #98 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by empire_of_one View Post

All microdisplays are progressive. The resolution is 1920x1080. Put 2 and 2 together. That equals a 1080p display.

And TVs display a signal, the don't output a signal. What are you gonna output it to... another TV?

I guess you're right!

I suppose I,m using the word's progressive, and deinterlacing interchangeably, and that's just plain wrong, so I stand corrected...thanks!

I'm sorry, but TV's do output signals...true they also display them, but since you're being precise, TV's process many types of signals internally, and then outputs them in many different ways.

Why do you think they put all those connections on the back!

Even pictures on a screen can be considered output... but whatever!

"New" Isn't always better, but you'll never know unless you give it a try!
MoPro is offline  
post #99 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post

Please excuse my ignorance, but what does pixel count have to do with a progressive output?

You are quite correct. A 1920 x 1080 panel can produce 1920x1080p or 1920x2160i (or in the case of DLP, wobulated 1920x2160p).

This display is 1920x1080p
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #100 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:39 PM
Member
 
yardman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post


Call me cynical, but for that kind of money... I'd want to be sure.


You must have seen one of those pictures of a CRT television or oscilloscope with the scanning going on from left to right and from top to bottom. First the even lines and then all the odd lines were sort of electronically painted on phosphor. The old tech had to paint the picture quickly and to give it a little extra time it painted half and before the vision had faded in your eye it got the second half up. (Interlaced) Fixed pixel devices can turn on all pixels at once no problem. Think not painting a line at a time but, off or on, Digital ! Progressive. Now just double the pixels so they can all do some thing together instead of asking half the pixels to wait and do nothing for 1/60 of a second.
yardman is offline  
post #101 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_S View Post

Bombthroat,

When you tried all of those resolutions through the VGA port were you using Powerstrip? Also, what kind of video card are you using?

I'm curious.... Since "something" came on the screen when you input 1080p/60 maybe a little tweaking with Powerstrip could make it work. The door on 1080p from a PC isn't completely closed until we have pursued that route.

I am not at all confident that 1080p will work through HDMI.

Thanks for your posts and updates. I really appreciate the info.

Sean

I was not using PowerStrip. All resolutions tested were strictly with the latest Catalyst drivers.

My video card is an ATi Radeon 9500 Pro (I know I need an entire PC upgrade).

The 1080p picture does in fact come up on the screen, but as I said it is rather small (compared to the rest of the screen) and appeared to not refresh correctly as was evident by the appearance of rapid flickering.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #102 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kregstrong View Post

anyone try any video games on this tv and if so is there any lag?

Yes, I played some PS2 on it hooked up via composite cables (don't have component and not buying them since Xbox 360 and PS3 are right around the corner).

To answer your question, there was no lag that I could discern.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #103 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
W.Mayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i had ask this already but
as it seams that some get their units i try again.

did the 60" unit handle 1080i 50 hz input?
the manual should tell us that.
if not.
it easy to find out when you have a dvd and playback a pal dvd at 50 hz
and let the dvd player upconvert this to 1080i 50 hz out.

i can send such pal dvd or can some use a computer for that?
W.Mayer is offline  
post #104 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Desert Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bombthroat,

Can you let me know what type and how many inputs are available on the SXRD?

Thanks!
Desert Heat is offline  
post #105 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeytmaxx View Post

BOMBTHROAT!!!!! I know you are busy with that thing called LIFE!!! , but can you pleaseeeeeeeeee post some pics of this set in HD, as i stated in the other thread, i think all of the forum members who are purchasing this set would LOVE to see some pics of what this tv can do with HD material..... thank you.......

Yep, I'll try to take some shots tonight after it gets dark outside. I'll include a link just for you (and everyone else at AVSForum).

BTW - I was watching PBS HD (Nature) and INHD (Boxing) on Tuesday and was stunned by the clarity. Hopefully some more good shows will be on this evening for the pics.

Also, someone asked if I had Sin City on DVD. I do not have it but was contemplating getting it this weekend. If I get it, I'll be sure to report.

Someone else asked about inexpensive DVD players. I have a Sony DVP-NS50P progressive scan DVD player. This is very inexpensive and looks wonderful to me on the set. Don't get me wrong, I'm not fooled into thinking it's HD or anything but it sure looks a lot better than SD cable. And before someone asks, it's hooked up via component cables.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #106 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by W.Mayer View Post

i had ask this already but
as it seams that some get their units i try again.

did the 60" unit handle 1080i 50 hz input?
the manual should tell us that.
if not.
it easy to find out when you have a dvd and playback a pal dvd at 50 hz
and let the dvd player upconvert this to 1080i 50 hz out.

i can send such pal dvd or can some use a computer for that?

I didn't try it. I tried 1080i over the VGA port using 60Hz and 85Hz, neither of which looked very good (to small and refresh issues). It did display though.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #107 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
W.Mayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i dont know if there is a difference from vga to hdmi inputs
but can you try 50 hz at 1080i at the vga?
thanks.
W.Mayer is offline  
post #108 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bombthroat,
Quick Question? I have been waiting for this set to come out.
What other sets had you considered before buying this one.
Had you considered the JVCs?

Santa Claus has the right idea...visit people only once a year...Victor Borge
audiomixer is offline  
post #109 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomixer View Post

Bombthroat,
Quick Question? I have been waiting for this set to come out.
What other sets had you considered before buying this one.
Had you considered the JVCs?

Yes, the JVC as well as the upcoming Hitachi LCoS, and 1080p DLP's made my list. I ultimately decided on the Sony because I had seen the Qualia 006 earlier in the year and it had the best picture I had seen bar none. I figured these sets would probably have most of what the Qualia did minus the hefty price tag.

After having the set in my home, I feel I made a very good choice as I am 100% satisfied with it's performance.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #110 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice to hear!
I was recently considering the new HP 65" DLP with 1080p input.
Also got a glowing review. But I , too, saw the Qualia 006 at CES in January and was BLOWN AWAY. My main viewing will be DVDs and HD so it sounds like this might be the one!

Santa Claus has the right idea...visit people only once a year...Victor Borge
audiomixer is offline  
post #111 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:00 PM
Member
 
AUPigskin--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bombthroat View Post

I didn't try it. I tried 1080i over the VGA port using 60Hz and 85Hz, neither of which looked very good (to small and refresh issues). It did display though.

Bombthroat,
Are there no user adjustable settings for the PC input to allow stretching the screen vertical and horizontal?
AUPigskin-- is offline  
post #112 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmacknCA View Post

I'm nearly positive he said at one point he watched the Italian Job in hd and loved it...which is what those photos portray, no?

Yes, you are correct.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #113 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
PLDOIR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine(SXRD 60") yesterday evening but only have HD digital cable for another week DVD with upscalling on the way next week + 5.1 surround
(ETA oct.6). Sounds good with the big ears for now.
Can't keep my eyes off of it's great pics.
Got more HD channels than I expected can't wait for my new DVD.

PLD
PLDOIR is offline  
post #114 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUPigskin-- View Post

Bombthroat,
Are there no user adjustable settings for the PC input to allow stretching the screen vertical and horizontal?

I tried using the screen modes button but it isn't supported on the PC input. I didn't dive into any other menus to try to track down other options. Sorry! I was trying to test as many resolutions as possible and report back with the little free time I had.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #115 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe there are overscan controls in the user menus that will allow for this (allow stretching the screen vertical and horizontal).
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #116 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLDOIR View Post

I got mine(SXRD 60") yesterday evening but only have HD digital cable for another week DVD with upscalling on the way next week + 5.1 surround
(ETA oct.6). Sounds good with the big ears for now.
Can't keep my eyes off of it's great pics.
Got more HD channels than I expected can't wait for my new DVD.

PLD

What else were you considering?

Santa Claus has the right idea...visit people only once a year...Victor Borge
audiomixer is offline  
post #117 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
HomeGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
BombThroat: How long does it take for the set to display a picture after you turn it on?

Thanks
HomeGuy is offline  
post #118 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeytmaxx View Post

BOMBTHROAT!!!!! I know you are busy with that thing called LIFE!!! , but can you pleaseeeeeeeeee post some pics of this set in HD, as i stated in the other thread, i think all of the forum members who are purchasing this set would LOVE to see some pics of what this tv can do with HD material..... thank you.......

Here's the link to the HD pics I promised earlier tonight. I'm not really that happy with the way they turned out overall but I guess since you guys seem to be starved for pics they'll be better than nothing. WARNING!!! 56k BEWARE!!! Bombthroat's Pics of High Def Programming

Enjoy!
Bombthroat is offline  
post #119 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bombthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeGuy View Post

BombThroat: How long does it take for the set to display a picture after you turn it on?

Thanks

I haven't timed it. It's only a matter of seconds though. If I think of it, I'll time it tomorrow evening and let you know.
Bombthroat is offline  
post #120 of 23994 Old 09-29-2005, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasonColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In Stereo
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow...you can really see how great the picture is with hi-def programming when you take a really low-res picture... Just kidding, but it's really funny to critique those pictures when you can't discern one resolution from another. It's like, "Look how great my TV picture looks in this e-mail sized picture I sent you." Or, "Listen to how great my new speakers sound...I recorded them using this really crappy condenser mic onto microtape...really, check it out...they're awesome."

Just a funny disconnect... I (and everybody else) applaud the effort. Some things just shouldn't be shared...

J.

Custom Built For The Win!
JasonColeman is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Sony , Sony Kds R5oxbr1 Kdsr5oxbr1 Lamp With Housing Xl5100
Gear in this thread - Xl5100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off