Official 2005 Sony KDSR-50/60XBR1 SXRD Owner's Thread - Page 801 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2014, 06:47 AM
Member
 
leoday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my answer...time for a new tv.
leoday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
justerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kentuckiana by way of the OC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Mine died.... Bad G board.

Sony says its NLA.
justerik is offline  
Old 12-14-2014, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bensons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Burnsville, MN USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We have had the red light issue for about six months. I didn't realize how often it came up until tonight when my wife said the tv stopped working. She said that the red light kept coming on but she just kept trying to turn the tv on like she always does and it came on. After 20 minutes of use, it made a popping sound and stopped working. I'm thinking my plan to replace the fans has matured to something bigger. So much for being lazy and telling myself I would replace the fans "next weekend" for months.

Was hoping OLED would arrive before we needed to replace our beloved SXRD.

Steven Benson
Minnesota Home Theater User Group (MNHTUG)
Yahoogroups | Facebook
bensons is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bensons View Post
We have had the red light issue for about six months. I didn't realize how often it came up until tonight when my wife said the tv stopped working. She said that the red light kept coming on but she just kept trying to turn the tv on like she always does and it came on. After 20 minutes of use, it made a popping sound and stopped working. I'm thinking my plan to replace the fans has matured to something bigger. So much for being lazy and telling myself I would replace the fans "next weekend" for months.

Was hoping OLED would arrive before we needed to replace our beloved SXRD.
Twice when my lamp blew (replaced 4 or 5 since owning) it made a rather loud pop and after removing the lamp carrier, the bulb had visible signs of small 'ka-boom' inside the glass envelope, with bits of glass in the bottom ....rattling around. You might check to see if your lamp is blown. Of course, if you are having fan issues also, I suppose that could cause an overheat issue in the bulb area, since one of the many air cooling fans is in that area. .....BUT....I'm no tech wiz here, so, YMMV

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Old 12-21-2014, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
bensons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Burnsville, MN USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks ccrider2, it was the bulb that made the load noise. Just like you said, there were bits of glass inside the glass bulb housing, trapped inside. I also replaced one of the fans. My issue now is the image quality is now crap. Anywhere you would see a fade from white to black, it is not smooth. The gradient is not smooth as if the color changed to 256 from the original millions that it was prior to the problem. I went into the setting looking for setting that may address the issue but I cannot find anything that remedies the problem. Came back here hoping to find setting within "Pro" for advanced features. Tried turning everything off "DTE" etc and no joy. Ugggh. Was hoping $100 in parts would bring the set back.

Steven Benson
Minnesota Home Theater User Group (MNHTUG)
Yahoogroups | Facebook
bensons is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bensons View Post
Thanks ccrider2, it was the bulb that made the load noise. Just like you said, there were bits of glass inside the glass bulb housing, trapped inside. I also replaced one of the fans. My issue now is the image quality is now crap. Anywhere you would see a fade from white to black, it is not smooth. The gradient is not smooth as if the color changed to 256 from the original millions that it was prior to the problem. I went into the setting looking for setting that may address the issue but I cannot find anything that remedies the problem. Came back here hoping to find setting within "Pro" for advanced features. Tried turning everything off "DTE" etc and no joy. Ugggh. Was hoping $100 in parts would bring the set back.
I've had my large fan out, while waiting on a new one to arrive, and lucky me, got it to free-up....working ever since.
I can't recall, and you've probably rehearsed this in your mind, what and if anything was disconnected while replacing the fan.
Just logical, if it wasn't doing this till....then perhaps something got bamboozled in the previous process. So if you haven't double-checked yet; might be worth the effort.
Other than that, I'm hoping a more experienced owner will chime-in here to offer advice on the new issue. There's some pretty smart 'cookies' here; although many have probably moved on to different hardware, thus no longer check-in.


I still love my paid-for SXRD, even though the picture is a bit .... ho-hum.


Best of Luck,

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
bensons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Burnsville, MN USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I love the picture quality of our SXRD. Rehashing the process, the TV worked great initially after going together. I watched 20 minutes of Avatar to confirm things were good. My wife also watched an episode of Arrow in HD. My kids watched some cartoons. When we turned on the TV later in the day, it had the issue described above and I am unable to get rid of it with settings. I'm going to pull everything back down and blow out contacts as I reassemble, but I'm setting my expectations low.

If the SXRD does not come back, I'm leaning towards a 65" Samsung 7150.

Steven Benson
Minnesota Home Theater User Group (MNHTUG)
Yahoogroups | Facebook
bensons is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bensons View Post
I love the picture quality of our SXRD. Rehashing the process, the TV worked great initially after going together. I watched 20 minutes of Avatar to confirm things were good. My wife also watched an episode of Arrow in HD. My kids watched some cartoons. When we turned on the TV later in the day, it had the issue described above and I am unable to get rid of it with settings. I'm going to pull everything back down and blow out contacts as I reassemble, but I'm setting my expectations low.

If the SXRD does not come back, I'm leaning towards a 65" Samsung 7150.
Also looking at the 75" model this morning, some bad reviews on the Samsung site about the software being messed up, only a few (mostly having to do with the smart apps) but that has me worried. Haven't checked out AVSForum yet....more of a wait and make do for me right now. http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/...0AFXZA-reviews

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bensons View Post
I love the picture quality of our SXRD. Rehashing the process, the TV worked great initially after going together. I watched 20 minutes of Avatar to confirm things were good. My wife also watched an episode of Arrow in HD. My kids watched some cartoons. When we turned on the TV later in the day, it had the issue described above and I am unable to get rid of it with settings. I'm going to pull everything back down and blow out contacts as I reassemble, but I'm setting my expectations low.

If the SXRD does not come back, I'm leaning towards a 65" Samsung 7150.
Try turning off then pulling the plug (as a hard reset) before the screwdriver comes out....Sony tech seems to likes that one.

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
bensons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Burnsville, MN USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Found the issue. There is a high density ribbon cable coming out of the optical block and going into a circuit board next to the large rear fan. I pulled the ribbon cable, blew air into the slot, whipped down the ribbon cable and reinserted it. Works like a charm now. Woot!

Looks like a tore off one of the tabs when removing the ribbon cable. Not sure how to keep that secure, or how to get the small metal plate (that goes around the female connector on the board) to snap back together around the connector. I am my own worst enemy.
ccrider2 likes this.

Steven Benson
Minnesota Home Theater User Group (MNHTUG)
Yahoogroups | Facebook
bensons is offline  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I needed any speak program before nowadays along with e-support from Sony that they needless to say was without adequate knowledge because of this issue and they gave me a link to that same page you posted.
bearir is offline  
Old 12-28-2014, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all

I just bought a house that came with this tv 2005 Sony KDSR-60XBR1

The previous owner of the house said it has nice picture and all and all we have to do is replace the bulb which cost 75 dollars

Now whenever I turn it on, the red light comes on.

I checked the lower back of the tv and found the lamp which is supposedly blown and put it back in and tv still not turning on only red light

So do you think it does worth to spend $75 for a real lamp or 30$ for chinese to get this guy running?

Or buy a new one?

Antone bought the made in china lamps? are they bad? how long do they go?
misterno is offline  
Old 04-29-2015, 10:24 PM
Member
 
mrl859's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I replaced the light engine, the entire picture is off center left. Is there an adjustment in the service menu to compensate for this and adjust picture center?
mrl859 is offline  
Old 04-29-2015, 10:25 PM
Member
 
mrl859's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, it's got a blue tint. Can I adjust blue down in the service manual? My black screen is actually slightly blue.
mrl859 is offline  
Old 06-19-2015, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Rural Carroll County Maryland, near the small town of Manchester.
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The cheap ones don't last. If they have expected life, you'll see that it can be only 1000 to 2000 hours. If you get a Philips lamp thru Newegg (Ness electronics) it's expectancy is 6,000 to 10,000 hours, plus they warranty it for a full year. I just bought one for $89.99.

Note: it's Philips, made in China. It is of highest quality, matches made in America bulbs.
Koren55 is offline  
Old 10-05-2015, 12:32 PM
Member
 
gforaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Doylestown, Ohio
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just checking back in. Original owner of the XBR60 still looks fantastic and works perfectly. I had the light engine replaced at just under 3 years and it has kept going. I've replace the bulb one other time and it may be due soon, but still has great output. It is our main TV and gets around 4 hrs. of use per day.
audiomixer likes this.
gforaker is offline  
Old 10-09-2015, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Electric T-Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: King County, Washington
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gforaker View Post
Just checking back in. Original owner of the XBR60 still looks fantastic and works perfectly. I had the light engine replaced at just under 3 years and it has kept going. I've replace the bulb one other time and it may be due soon, but still has great output. It is our main TV and gets around 4 hrs. of use per day.
Basically the same story with my XBR50, except I am still running on the original bulb.
audiomixer likes this.
Electric T-Bird is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 03:44 AM
Senior Member
 
tbAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric T-Bird View Post
Basically the same story with my XBR50, except I am still running on the original bulb.
Wow, and I thought I was about the only one still watching a slightly dim 10 year old XBR60 while everyone else has upgraded to one of those super bright flat ones! Tempted, but it would probably cascade another flurry of updates; AV receiver, newer BR player, etc.. Sort of waiting for the original dim bulb to blow so I have an excuse to not spend money on old technology.

Meantime, the following has happened; Full 1080P, 3D, 120/240mhz, 4k, etc.. and probably more I've not kept up with.
tbAVS is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 2,331
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 635
I still have some bulbs sitting around for the 60" and 70" versions of these sets. My son uses the 60", but the 70" is long gone if anyone is looking for a bulb.
CCsoftball7 is online now  
Old 03-10-2016, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: lexington, ky
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sorry to be responding to such an old post - but this is the first time i have found anyone specifically referring to screen gradually turning green or BLUE (emphasis on "blue"). all others refer only to green/yellow tinting. my screen has become very cool BLUE wo the green/yellow blob. do you think this is the same underlying sxrd blue lcd panel fail as the green/yellow blob? i'm game for trying to DYI blue lcd panel replacement. what have i got to lose? already replace the crappy circuit board w the contact switch for the lamp door lock-out "safety" feature (the actual switch mechanism broke off). thx, - kyle the hoarder
merelyk is offline  
Old 03-10-2016, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: lexington, ky
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
referencing "Splinke" post #23952. sorry - i can't figure out how to respond directly to "Splinke". not enough posts to send PM
merelyk is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by merelyk View Post
sorry to be responding to such an old post - but this is the first time i have found anyone specifically referring to screen gradually turning green or BLUE (emphasis on "blue"). all others refer only to green/yellow tinting. my screen has become very cool BLUE wo the green/yellow blob. do you think this is the same underlying sxrd blue lcd panel fail as the green/yellow blob? i'm game for trying to DYI blue lcd panel replacement. what have i got to lose? already replace the crappy circuit board w the contact switch for the lamp door lock-out "safety" feature (the actual switch mechanism broke off). thx, - kyle the hoarder
Just replaced the blue lcd panel on my KDF-70xbr950. It was not very difficult just need to have some patience. The hardest part was lining up the panel. This is the most time consuming part. I replaced my panel with a green panel off the big auction site. There is a real good youtube video showing the adjusting process. You basically have to have the optical block out of the tv and you adjust to adjust the panel.

ccrider2 likes this.
splatee is online now  
Old 04-22-2016, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 570
Just wanted to pop in to mention I recently saw my Dad's 60XBR1 and it still looks better than most anything on the floor at Best Buy after its one and only optical block swap about six years ago now.

The colors and picture are absolutely stunning and the blacks are better than LCD but not as good as OLED.

Pity these turned out to be such finicky testy beasts.
kucharsk is offline  
Old 05-05-2016, 10:11 PM
Newbie
 
eternalthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello,

i just picked up a r50xbr1 and it's such a beauty. unfortunately, the screen isnt coming on, although the audio is. i just replaced the lamp. where should i start if i want to keep this unit (which i do)? i believe i should start by replacing either the ballast or the qm board? unfortunately, i havent found any videos on replacing the qm board, but i did see the video on how to replace one of the optical blocks if necessary. the ballast looks fairly easy to replace, but the part looks a bit expensive at around 90$ off ebay. anyone have any suggestions? i'd really hate to have to throw this beautiful machine out. also, can anyone suggest a dlp repairer in the san francisco bay area?

thank you!
eternalthree is offline  
Old 05-08-2016, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternalthree View Post
hello,

i just picked up a r50xbr1 and it's such a beauty. unfortunately, the screen isnt coming on, although the audio is. i just replaced the lamp. where should i start if i want to keep this unit (which i do)? i believe i should start by replacing either the ballast or the qm board? unfortunately, i havent found any videos on replacing the qm board, but i did see the video on how to replace one of the optical blocks if necessary. the ballast looks fairly easy to replace, but the part looks a bit expensive at around 90$ off ebay. anyone have any suggestions? i'd really hate to have to throw this beautiful machine out. also, can anyone suggest a dlp repairer in the san francisco bay area?

thank you!
I will try to help.

First you say you replaced the lamp? Is it a original Philips bulb or a generic one? Is the lamp firing? Can you see it turning on? Does the screen light up? If so i would believe that the ballast is working.

When the tv is on are you able to get the menu to display? Have you tried all the inputs or is it just the HDMI input?
splatee is online now  
Old 05-09-2016, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
eternalthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by splatee View Post
I will try to help.

First you say you replaced the lamp? Is it a original Philips bulb or a generic one? Is the lamp firing? Can you see it turning on? Does the screen light up? If so i would believe that the ballast is working.

When the tv is on are you able to get the menu to display? Have you tried all the inputs or is it just the HDMI input?
hello, thank you for the reply. it is not an original philips one, it's generic. i should have done my research and paid for a real one. i'm sorry for my lack of common sense, but i believe that the lamp is firing, but the screen is not lighting up (so i cannot get to the menu at all). the set turns on and i get audio. the red 'replace lamp' indicator is not on unless i remove the lamp and turn on the tv. i'm returning the lamp, and considering buying a new oem/philips lamp to test it again. i'm not sure that replacing the qm board would do anything for my situation. your thoughts?
eternalthree is offline  
Old Today, 05:28 PM
Member
 
mantar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rarely used the set ever since I got my Panasonic 65VT50 3 years ago.
But a power surge fried the Panasonic and now I need to watch my SONY again. The bulb I have is near its end as the pic is very dim. I see newegg has a new Phillips one for 94 bucks. The other sites such as Lamps Pros have 35 dollar ones , but not OEM.

The reviews for the Phillips are all positive except for one guy who complained that his bulb went out in 10 months despite light usage. Any better places or should i just get it from here?

If Geek Squad can't fix my Panasonic PLasma (which blows the black levels of the SXRD away), I might go for the SONY 65930C or the Samsung 8000 series. But alas, those are LEDs with poor off axis viewing. I miss Plasmas already.
mantar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Sony , Sony Kds R5oxbr1 Kdsr5oxbr1 Lamp With Housing Xl5100
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off