The Official HP Pavilion 1080P DLP Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So where in the USA outside of hpshopping.com can we get one of these??? Any chance of paying less than retail?
sjchmura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
oldschool JAWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aren't Best Buys stores supposed to get these in sometime? If not, I wonder if Ultimate Electronics stores will get these In?

Hi-Def is where it's at
oldschool JAWA is offline  
post #33 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JR has it listed here, but only as future availability:

http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=4054463

J&R shipping is $207, HP shipping is free. Depending on your state you may not pay taxes either via HP (or potentially J&R).

TV Authority is supposed to be getting them soon as well. Not sure who else.

If you're in a no tax state, that combined w/free "white glove" shipping from HP makes it a very good deal.
Danabw is offline  
post #34 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

Yes, but I'm waiting on a video card that can do 1920x1080. I'm currently limited to 1600x1200.

what kind of video card do you have?

don't assume just b/c you the resolution slider doesn't go up to 1920x1080 that your card can't do that resolution. Windows detects the max rez the monitor you have hooked up to the video card can handle and hide other resolutions. My geforce3 which is like 5yo can do 1920x1200. Of course I don't expect to play half life 2 at that rez.
barth2k is offline  
post #35 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Dana. The urge to gush is massive

I'm still looking for something I don't like.

The wide stretch mode is most excellent as well. It fills the pillars very, very nicely.

BTW, let's begin speculation as to what "performance improvement" we get from the free 128MB USB drive?
DarrellH is offline  
post #36 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK...here's a quick pic. Showing a scene from "The Incredibles."

TV and stand look 10x better in person....pic does not do it justice. My boss just stopped by for a quick look and he was pretty blown away. (Mine's bigger...though he does have a very nice Sharp 42" LCD flat panel.)
LL
Danabw is offline  
post #37 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2k View Post

what kind of video card do you have?

don't assume just b/c you the resolution slider doesn't go up to 1920x1080 that your card can't do that resolution. Windows detects the max rez the monitor you have hooked up to the video card can handle and hide other resolutions. My geforce3 which is like 5yo can do 1920x1200. Of course I don't expect to play half life 2 at that rez.

Its an embedded workstation card. I think a FireGL or something. I'm probably going to see if I can borrow a 6600 GT to test with though.
DarrellH is offline  
post #38 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
TheDigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uggh. I missed the call from the carrier to schedule delivery!!!!
TheDigger is offline  
post #39 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDigger View Post

Uggh. I missed the call from the carrier to schedule delivery!!!!

D'oh!
DarrellH is offline  
post #40 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 04:39 PM
Member
 
SeeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.....

Does anyone know if HP will be making a 50 inch version of the 1080P? or something a bit smaller than a 58 incher?
Thanks!
SeeD is offline  
post #41 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

Yeah Dana. The urge to gush is massive

I'm still looking for something I don't like.

The wide stretch mode is most excellent as well. It fills the pillars very, very nicely.

BTW, let's begin speculation as to what "performance improvement" we get from the free 128MB USB drive?

I'm expecting performance improvements on the digital channel tuning (but that won't matter too much to me once I get my SA8300 set up).

Also, they could add more information to the "Info" display...I'd like it to tell me aspect, picture mode (Normal, vivid, movie, etc.).

Thanks for the info on the SA8300...I'm on hold w/my cable co right now...I should have called last week, but forgot. If I could get them out here this Friday that would be very cool......
Danabw is offline  
post #42 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We had 24 hour turnaround when we switched from satellite a while back. Maybe you'll get lucky.

Yeah, the info bar is kinda barren isn't it? That would be a nice improvement.
DarrellH is offline  
post #43 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Abdull6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan on ordering the HP 65inch 1080p TV very soon...just waiting to hear a couple more reviews and some confirmation on any video game lag..

my question is...what would be the 'ideal/best' way to hook up all of the following to this new beast... XBOX (soon to be XBOX 360), PS2 (months away will be PS3), SA HD8300 cable pvr (from Time Warner), and a new high end DVD player to be determined.

Right now I have PS2 hooked up with svideo/ xbox with component / and the SA HD8300 component/ I run it thru my Yamaha receiver and then optical to my present TV (phillips 42inch plasma, which is heading to the bedroom soon).

I must admit I love reading all the stuff here but sometimes find myself overwhelmed by the way all of this gets hooked up...

also what would a video scaler do for me and should it be something i consider considering all of the above.

any help or suggestions would be much appreciated

thanks in advance

tom
Abdull6 is offline  
post #44 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDigger View Post

Uggh. I missed the call from the carrier to schedule delivery!!!!

As Dr. Smith used to say..."Oh the pain, the pain..."

I assume you're calling them first thing in the morning...
Danabw is offline  
post #45 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

We had 24 hour turnaround when we switched from satellite a while back. Maybe you'll get lucky.

Yeah, the info bar is kinda barren isn't it? That would be a nice improvement.

THey are coming out Friday AM, which is perfect, as I'm working from home that day...

- HD DVR (SA8300)
- Misc HD channels
- HD VIP Pack (movie and other HD content)
- Sports Digital pak (Tennis channel!!!)
Danabw is offline  
post #46 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdull6 View Post

I plan on ordering the HP 65inch 1080p TV very soon...just waiting to hear a couple more reviews and some confirmation on any video game lag..

my question is...what would be the 'ideal/best' way to hook up all of the following to this new beast... XBOX (soon to be XBOX 360), PS2 (months away will be PS3), SA HD8300 cable pvr (from Time Warner), and a new high end DVD player to be determined.

Right now I have PS2 hooked up with svideo/ xbox with component / and the SA HD8300 component/ I run it thru my Yamaha receiver and then optical to my present TV (phillips 42inch plasma, which is heading to the bedroom soon).

I must admit I love reading all the stuff here but sometimes find myself overwhelmed by the way all of this gets hooked up...

also what would a video scaler do for me and should it be something i consider considering all of the above.

any help or suggestions would be much appreciated

thanks in advance

tom

I would use the 2 HDMI inputs for the STB/DVR and DVD and component/svideo to the game consoles. Of course, that is really just how I prioritize based on our usage. You can then run the digital out from the TV to the receiver.
DarrellH is offline  
post #47 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
HaloBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

I'm trying... I'm trying... This thing is a beast. I haven't even unwrapped the cords yet. Here is a teaser picture


Awesome stand Darrell. I just showed my wife the picture. We're planning on doing something similar with our 58".
HaloBox is offline  
post #48 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Afergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if it's appropriate to ask this question, but I'm going to anyway......For those of you who've taken the plunge, what is the price on this beast?
Afergy is offline  
post #49 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 07:53 PM
Member
 
SteveTiilikainen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the MD5880n from hpshopping.com with the government 20% discount.

It arrives Friday.

HP MD5880n (58" 1080p DLP) HDTV
SteveTiilikainen is offline  
post #50 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 08:25 PM
Member
 
mistertam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.mistertam.com/house/hptv.htm

my gf is watching Gilmore Girls on WB in HD as I write this. I'm using the HR10-250 HD Tivo via HDMI.

1. There is NO lag what-so-ever.
2. The lip/sound is in sync.
3. I'm going to hookup my pc which has this video card:
GeForce 6800 GT AGP Video Card Nvidia 256MB
4. No visible rainbowing, but not like i saw that on the samsung either.

My initial impressions is: EXTREMELY GOOD.

The setup using the HP Stand was very easy thanks to the hole they put on the stand. The front connections do NOT require extra long cables, and this new front connection is absolutely wonderful. The light bulb is very easy to take out. 2 screws up front, 3 screws in the middle, and it pulls right out.

Compared to my Samsung HLP 50", the picture is more vibrant, but i don't think it's a good comparison since the HD-Tivo is now in 1080 vs 720.

The TV does require about 10 seconds to warm up vs. the much faster Samsung.

When you switch sources, it displays the picture in thumbnails. The thumbnails are NOT live pictures, but rather 5 second refreshes of each one.

Upon playing NBA Streets in 720P, the picture was huge. Again no lag.

I'll test w/ my PC tomorrow.
mistertam is offline  
post #51 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ISO Perfect HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomarian View Post

Does anyone know who actually makes the TV? Is is a rebadged unit or did HP actually design this one?

looking at the design i would say it's an LG

Plasma LCD or SED ?
AVS Forums Procedure
ISO Perfect HDTV is offline  
post #52 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ISO Perfect HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

I'm sorry if I seem overly enthusiastic. I think it is only human when you first get a new toy. I'm sure my opinion will soften as I have more time to play with the set. But who knows... so far so good!

don't be sorry keep it up and enjoy it
and let us know if it accept HTPC VGA & HDMI 1080p input

Plasma LCD or SED ?
AVS Forums Procedure
ISO Perfect HDTV is offline  
post #53 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ISO Perfect HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danabw View Post

JR has it listed here, but only as future availability:

http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=4054463

J&R shipping is $207, HP shipping is free. Depending on your state you may not pay taxes either via HP (or potentially J&R).

TV Authority is supposed to be getting them soon as well. Not sure who else.

If you're in a no tax state, that combined w/free "white glove" shipping from HP makes it a very good deal.

I sent an e-mail to J&R to notify me when the HP will be in stock and this is the e-mail I got back from them :

<<Dear Valued Customer,

Recently, you submitted a stock alert requesting to be notified when we have the item(s) below back in stock.
We are sorry to inform you that due to circumstances beyond our control, we are unable provide you with this information.
At the current time, we are unable to obtain sufficient information from the manufacturer as to when or if we will be receiving another shipment.
If you would like to see similar products, click the link below the product.

HP MD5880N Pavilion MicroDisplay 58 Inch DLP HDTV
http://www.jr.com/JRSectionView.proc...ert.HP+MD5880N.

For further details, please call us Toll Free at 1-800-806-1115.

We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we thank you for visiting us.

If you have any questions, please contact our customer service department using the information below.

Thank you once again for shopping at J&R Music And Computer World.>>

Plasma LCD or SED ?
AVS Forums Procedure
ISO Perfect HDTV is offline  
post #54 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISO Perfect HDTV View Post

I sent an e-mail to J&R to notify me when the HP will be in stock and this is the e-mail I got back from them :

<<Dear Valued Customer,

Recently, you submitted a stock alert requesting to be notified when we have the item(s) below back in stock.
We are sorry to inform you that due to circumstances beyond our control, we are unable provide you with this information.

Too bad...manufacturing must be tight, and demand for the sets on HP's Shopping site may be more than expected...
Danabw is offline  
post #55 of 10888 Old 10-18-2005, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware update request...Info should display info on both inputs when PIP or POP is engaged...currently it only displays info on the selected input.

I'd like, at a minimum, for info to tell me what input is active in each open window.
Danabw is offline  
post #56 of 10888 Old 10-19-2005, 04:53 AM
Member
 
SteveTiilikainen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistertam View Post

http://www.mistertam.com/house/hptv.htm
The setup using the HP Stand was very easy thanks to the hole they put on the stand. The front connections do NOT require extra long cables, and this new front connection is absolutely wonderful. The light bulb is very easy to take out. 2 screws up front, 3 screws in the middle, and it pulls right out.

I'm sure the stand is great... provided you get it undamaged. I had one piece that had a lot of scuffing and the bottom piece was actually cracked. At this point all I have to say is... A-R-G-H. (well, actually other words that probably should not be said in polite company)

HP is doing the best they can (I think), but when your commute is roughly 50-75 minutes one way and your boss generally frowns on irregular schedules and you can't work from home, it makes anything revolving returns and exchanges a real, real bear.

I hope you other folks who ordered the HP stand are having better luck. Oh yeah: and I absolutely hate FedEx.

HP MD5880n (58" 1080p DLP) HDTV
SteveTiilikainen is offline  
post #57 of 10888 Old 10-19-2005, 05:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To all of you with your new toys congrats. I appreciate everyone taking the time to post on here so that we can make our minds up based upon what you guys see. I have to say from the initial impressions this is the TV to get. Has anyone thought about getting it calibrated?
steverobertson is offline  
post #58 of 10888 Old 10-19-2005, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertson View Post

To all of you with your new toys congrats. I appreciate everyone taking the time to post on here so that we can make our minds up based upon what you guys see. I have to say from the initial impressions this is the TV to get. Has anyone thought about getting it calibrated?

I'm going to do my unprofessional calibration with AVIA/DVE to see how much better this TV can get. The out-of-the-box calibration "appears" quite good. As far as ISF calibration, I doubt it. This is a new DLP vendor and I wouldn't want to be the guinea pig.
DarrellH is offline  
post #59 of 10888 Old 10-19-2005, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrellH View Post

I'm going to do my unprofessional calibration with AVIA/DVE to see how much better this TV can get. The out-of-the-box calibration "appears" quite good. As far as ISF calibration, I doubt it. This is a new DLP vendor and I wouldn't want to be the guinea pig.

I hear you about being the guinea pig and don't blame you. If out of box works for you why mess around with it. I wonder how good this TV could be if in fact you had it ISF calibrated.
steverobertson is offline  
post #60 of 10888 Old 10-19-2005, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DarrellH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertson View Post

I hear you about being the guinea pig and don't blame you. If out of box works for you why mess around with it. I wonder how good this TV could be if in fact you had it ISF calibrated.

Maybe if UMR wants to play with it, I'd consider that. I think he might specialize in Sony displays though. Not sure. I know he worked on the Brillian sets as well.

On a side note, my father-in-law wants to "UPGRADE" from his Mitsubishi Diamond WS-65815 to the 65 HP. He came to visit yesterday and was blown away I'm here to tell you that that particular Mitsu is a beautiful display. How's that for high praise?
DarrellH is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off