Forum Jump: 

post #9061 of 10890 Old 07-14-2007, 11:49 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by catalin59 View Post

I am not an expert on these kind of things but the screw is 2" long, 3/16" in diameter (thread to thread) and the thread pitch is 3/32". Very similar to a drywall screw except it is 3/16" in diameter and has a flat head. You will also need a 1" washer.

catalin59

Thank you for the information! I appreciate it. I found suitable screws and washers recently and was able to secure the TV to the stand.

Regards,

cwrea
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #9062 of 10890 Old 07-14-2007, 09:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPlettner View Post

Bickity,

Your first timing recommendation is 1920x540 at 60Hz, which is what it should be. This recommendation is the same as 1080i.

Keep in mind that when the HP DLP was introduced in the fall of 2005, and the only people using 1080p were HTPC users, and a few people using expensive scalers. So a "first" recommendation of 1080i made sense.

Once a PC boots, it will use whatever resolution and timing you select. However, doing the boot process, your video card will use the first recommendation from the EDID data. In my case, my 6600GT (which is what I was using at the time), could not handle 1920x540 at 60Hz, but it could handle 1280x720 at 60Hz, so I customized my firmware as I described in the post I mentioned above.

I customized my firmware by using the firmware for the 720p HP DLP models, and I used a HEX editor to change the TV model. You could probably patch the firmware to have 1080p be the first recommendation. However, be careful. If you mess up the firmware, you might screw up your set.

-Dave

Thanks for the reply...

Never had a single problem with XP. And I really do want to make this work with Vista.