Just what's inside a 'G' series JVC D-ILA? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 144 Old 11-06-2005, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
All that was shown is what I posted. All these SM's assume you have service experiance and in this case a good knowledge of hexdecimal which I don't (the hexdecimal part that is).

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 144 Old 11-06-2005, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
egore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info videobruce . I can finally figure out the lamp time on my set, I have 1958hrs on my lamp so far hopefully it will go for another 2000hrs or more.
egore is offline  
post #33 of 144 Old 11-06-2005, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Yaamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
videobruce thanks for the info on the Jvc service menu.

Question do you have a copy or any more info on where the R, B cut are to adjust the greyscale.

I see on 030 to 032 adjustments for drv.

I should be getting my Jvc this week and wonder if I should order a service manul and if they dont have it the older 70G886 I should be able to use as a guideline.

I have been adjusting the greyscale since 1997 on my tv and friends using back then a laser disc video essential and then dvd version and then now Dve.

I usually just adjust the color trims for greyscale, convergence, overscan and centering.

F room: Jvc70FH96/8300HDPvr & Dish 811, Bed.room Toshiba 50HM66, & Sa3250, Study LG42PX4D & XBox360: Kids tv: Toshiba 50H81, LG4200a, XBox 360, CM4228, 9521rotor, & 7775 preamp.
Yaamon is offline  
post #34 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
S030, S031 & S032 are the RGB drive controls that adjust the grey scale.
Since I don't have the set, I can't tell you any settings. Even if I did, every set is different. I would adjust the blue first since the set leans towards blue even on the low setting. Just be sure you write down ALL the orginal settings first.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #35 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
WeAreNotAlone69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
VideoBruce,

From the research so far the CD available from JVC directly allows access to

1: Service Manual pdf
2: Parts list pdf
3: Schematics pdf


Does the Jvc CD that allows access to download the manuals include access to:

TSB's(Technical Service Bulletins)
Updates
Schematics
Training info?....


Another question, how does that Cd work? I would assume you log-on, then create a profile that allows access to (1) model set? or is it so many downloads, or What?
WeAreNotAlone69 is offline  
post #36 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:


Does the Jvc CD that allows access to download the manuals include access to:

TSB's(Technical Service Bulletins)
Updates
Schematics
Training info?....

Not that I know of. I copy the PDF file to the HDD and run it from there. I despise those bloated interactive IE linked menus. Mits does the same thing.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #37 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Yaamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

S030, S031 & S032 are the RGB drive controls that adjust the grey scale.
Since I don't have the set, I can't tell you any settings. Even if I did, every set is different. I would adjust the blue first since the set leans towards blue even on the low setting. Just be sure you write down ALL the orginal settings first.


Videobruce would you mind emailing me a copy ? I know usually I write down the numbers on a piece of paper on paper clip it to the manual before I start playing with any adjustments.

I have found that all the tv that I have adjusted myself Toshiba, Sony, and Hitachi there are 5 adjustments.

3 for the lower/darker scenes and then 2 more for bright scenes. You usually need both as on dark scenes the tv might push toards on color and on bright scenes another.

I see only 3 adjustment and that would mean it affect only the dark side of the greyscale.

F room: Jvc70FH96/8300HDPvr & Dish 811, Bed.room Toshiba 50HM66, & Sa3250, Study LG42PX4D & XBox360: Kids tv: Toshiba 50H81, LG4200a, XBox 360, CM4228, 9521rotor, & 7775 preamp.
Yaamon is offline  
post #38 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
You are from the CRT 'old school'. With this set there are no Hi or Low settings.
There also isn't anyway to adjust the color encoder (that I know of).

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #39 of 144 Old 11-07-2005, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Yaamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

You are from the CRT 'old school'. With this set there are no Hi or Low settings.
There also isn't anyway to adjust the color encoder (that I know of).

you are right me from old school.

But even on the new Toshiba DLp they have the same adjustment right at the start and I even adjusted on at Future Shop They have 3 cuts for dark and 2 drv for bright.

I was looking on the 52HMX85 and it pushed a bit too blue even on movie mode the blacks were drak blue so I trim the B cut two points and the picture was much better.

With a good greyscale image I could have done more.

F room: Jvc70FH96/8300HDPvr & Dish 811, Bed.room Toshiba 50HM66, & Sa3250, Study LG42PX4D & XBox360: Kids tv: Toshiba 50H81, LG4200a, XBox 360, CM4228, 9521rotor, & 7775 preamp.
Yaamon is offline  
post #40 of 144 Old 11-08-2005, 05:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I don't know why the manufactures don't put the RGB levels in the user menu with a '0' or 'center' reference point just as the color/tint/brightness controls are. If you mess it up just reset it to center.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #41 of 144 Old 11-08-2005, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Schererville, IN
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the64gto View Post

I was referring to post #1 Lamp time 1 and lamp time 2. I went back and pressed [4] in the service menu and then navigated to the D070 register. It read 01, 2nd row= 001 01 0000 0001 , which according to the instructions is 1x256. In register D071 it read 7a, 2nd row= 122 7a 0111 1010 which indicates 122 hrs. So 256 + 122 = 378 hrs. If I got my math right?

Yep, that's right.
I quickly checked it using calc.exe. Just set it to scientific mode, then hexidecimal mode (F5) input 017a, and hit F6 to switch to decimal mode, and 17a will be automatically converted to decimal 378.
Rack is offline  
post #42 of 144 Old 11-08-2005, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
the64gto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apopka Florida
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I checked it again last night and sure enough the lamp time numbers are incrementing. It does not do it in real time, but rather updates the registers on the next power on/off?? Now if I could just get a handle on all those other register code names like 5i CB OF, RT CL GA, LOW SEP, etc. Videobruce, do they explain than in the CD you got???
the64gto is offline  
post #43 of 144 Old 11-08-2005, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
No they don't. You have to guess at most of them.
Notice the four that start with 'PC'.

Ones with R, G, & B in the name should be obvious.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #44 of 144 Old 11-09-2005, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jonathanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: santa paula, ca
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Videobruce:

After adjusting r,g, b, last week I went back and check my settings and I think they reset. What do yo use to save your settings? And what also is odd in now I have NG's under my self check. Any ideas???

Set: JVC 52G786

self Check: SYNC M:NG S:NG
TUN:NG9
HDMI NG6

jr.
jonathanR is offline  
post #45 of 144 Old 11-09-2005, 11:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jonathanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: santa paula, ca
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello:

Ok was able to reset (I THINK). But still have SYNC M:NG AND S:NG. Any ideas? Also is there a master reset to reset the service menu settings back to default?

jr.
jonathanR is offline  
post #46 of 144 Old 11-10-2005, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
The 'muting' key is what memorizes any changes.
As far as the "NG'' status, don't know what to tell you.. I would guess something you did corrupted the status check.
See the entry regarding "Clearing failure history".

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #47 of 144 Old 11-10-2005, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
egore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I have NG's under my self check. Any ideas???

I have those also, I think you need to send the set proper test signals to get a OK on every thing listed.
egore is offline  
post #48 of 144 Old 11-10-2005, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Anyone else chime in here?

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #49 of 144 Old 11-12-2005, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
the64gto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apopka Florida
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here are my readings. 52g786. changing input signals, 480p, 720p 1080i no change

LOB OK FAN OK
SYNC M:NG S:NG HD OK
TIM OK
MSM OK DIG OK
MEM OK AVSW OK
YC OK AIO OK
TUN NG3 GCR OK
IP OK RGB OK
DVI OK HDMI NG2
the64gto is offline  
post #50 of 144 Old 11-13-2005, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I don't know why DVI shows "NG" when the set doesn't have a DVI input.

This might be better asked in the owners thread.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #51 of 144 Old 11-13-2005, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
the64gto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apopka Florida
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DVI shows OK
the64gto is offline  
post #52 of 144 Old 12-03-2005, 04:18 PM
Member
 
wellspd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Owensboro, Ky
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the64gto,

Thanks for digging out the hour meter on the Z series. I checked mine and it was within a 100 hours of what I estimated. I assume this gets zeroed out when you do the reset. I noticed D073 & 74 had the same values in them. Now I'm wondering if there is a total accumulated hours. One that's not reset.
wellspd is offline  
post #53 of 144 Old 12-03-2005, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
the64gto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Apopka Florida
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What might seem confusing at first is all the numbers, but the register is showing the same value in three different formats. Decimal, Hexadecimal and binary number notation. Just checked mine again D070 = 001 01 0000 0001 and D071= 233 E9 1110 1001. So taking the easy way 256+233=489. I'll monitor the 73 & 74 registers.
the64gto is offline  
post #54 of 144 Old 12-04-2005, 04:51 PM
Member
 
wellspd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Owensboro, Ky
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked mine today and the 70 & 71 registers had updated as expected but 73 & 74 still had the same values as yesterday when they matched 70 & 71.

Thanks to videobruce for posting the procedure for the G series. It was not in the Z series manual but appears to work the same.
wellspd is offline  
post #55 of 144 Old 12-14-2005, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthrsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Post America America
Posts: 8,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 969
darthrsg is offline  
post #56 of 144 Old 12-15-2005, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Next project is the 1080 JVC when the SM becomes available.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #57 of 144 Old 12-16-2005, 01:25 AM
Newbie
 
incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello VideoBruce,
how do you know so much about these HDs?
I have a couple of issues with my hdila you might be able to help me.

H
incubus is offline  
post #58 of 144 Old 12-16-2005, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I wish I knew more, since my first HD purchase just went back.
I don't own the set (yet) so I can't guarantee an answer. It might be better posted in the "owners"

PS, welcome to the forums.................

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #59 of 144 Old 01-07-2006, 12:21 AM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bignorm View Post

Is there anyway to adjust geometry to align the screen???

I also need to know this. My entire screen needs to move down about a half inch or so. I don't need to align the RGB, but in fact need everything to move. In the user menu you can adjust the screen up or down, but it only moves one notch and that is not enough. Is there any way to move it more through the service menu?

aod is offline  
post #60 of 144 Old 01-07-2006, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Not that I know of. Just on what material is there a problem?

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off