Just what's inside a JVC 1080 D-ILA? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 60 Old 04-26-2006, 10:45 AM
Member
 
hbdanvers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well. I am certainly impressed. Is this a must-do procedure for every new purchaser? I'm just about to get a HD56FH96 or its successor. How would a prospective victim possibly anticipate and deal with this problem, without accidentally coming across your posting? I must say it is intimidating, and I am not looking forward to it.

Thanks for all your trouble in detailing the procedure.
Hollis
hbdanvers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 60 Old 04-26-2006, 11:35 AM
gwk
Newbie
 
gwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbdanvers View Post

Well. I am certainly impressed. Is this a must-do procedure for every new purchaser? I'm just about to get a HD56FH96 or its successor. How would a prospective victim possibly anticipate and deal with this problem, without accidentally coming across your posting? I must say it is intimidating, and I am not looking forward to it.

Thanks for all your trouble in detailing the procedure.
Hollis

How would any of us deal with all the problems without the AVS forums to help?

If you are wondering about the light intrusion fix as a must-do procedure, I would wait to see if it's a problem for you first. Where I have my TV at times allows the afternoon sun to shine in the ventilation slots to the left of the AV connectors and it shut down the HDMI ports. It was going to be a daily problem for me, until I fixed it. Others have tripped the device by shining a flashlight in those slots. If you have your TV against a wall or in a windowless corner, you may never have the problem. Even if you have to reset the HDMI ports once or twice it's no big deal. If you have recurring problems, then do the fix.
gwk is offline  
post #33 of 60 Old 04-26-2006, 03:58 PM
Member
 
hbdanvers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwk View Post

Even if you have to reset the HDMI ports once or twice it's no big deal. If you have recurring problems, then do the fix.

Thanks. That's a relief--maybe.

Have you already said somewhere how to "reset" the HDMI ports? If not, would you either tell me or guide me to the place to find out? I am certain I will be looking at more material coming in through those ports than from HDTV.

Would you care to comment on a separate issue for me? Miller Duck opened this thread by stating that he had successfully input 1080p to his FH96 machine. Can you corroborate this experience? My main intention for this tv would be to watch Blue-Ray material. I'd just as soon not pay $3,000 for something that has to upscale 108i, no matter how small they say the task is. Or maybe I just do not understand the issue. That's certainly likely.

Thanks,
Hollis
hbdanvers is offline  
post #34 of 60 Old 04-26-2006, 04:10 PM
Member
 
hbdanvers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarren1 View Post

I wanted to adjust the white balance as described in post #14, and looked at some of the white/gray DVE sources ... .

Who or what is DVE? Does the thing with all the chapters come with the JVC unit, or is it third party material you got elsewhere?

Thanks,

Hollis
hbdanvers is offline  
post #35 of 60 Old 04-26-2006, 05:51 PM
gwk
Newbie
 
gwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recommend you stick to the owners thread to ask your questions. This thread is not frequented that often and is more for, as the thread title states: Just what's inside the JVC. . . . That being said, some members will tell you to do a search first to find your answers. I don't mind and will answer what I can here. To reset your HDMI ports, have your TV on, and on the remote controller press the sleep timer key. The message "0 minutes" will appear on the TV screen. Now press the VIDEO STATUS and the DISPLAY keys simultaneously (on the remote). This will put you into the SERVICE MENU on the screen. Press the "2" key on the remote to select SELF CHECK. Now turn off the TV by pressing the POWER button on the remote. Once the lamp goes through its cool down sequence you can turn the TV on again and the HDMI ports should be reset. Some have said to unplug the TV after the cool down cycle, then plug it in again; I didn't find this to be necessary but if the procedure doesn't work, try the unplugging too.

I see you're discussing your 1080p question in the owners thread.

DVE (digital video essentials) is a DVD. See review: http://www.audioholics.com/techtips/...ntialsDVDr.php
gwk is offline  
post #36 of 60 Old 04-27-2006, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Is this a must-do procedure for every new purchaser?

No, only if you are 'fussy'.
Quote:
How would any of us deal with all the problems without the AVS forums to help?

Far better suport here than any othe forum and especially direct from the manufacture (for the most part).

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #37 of 60 Old 05-13-2006, 07:17 AM
Member
 
stach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see an option to adjust for the overscan in this set (JVC 1080p), is it just labelled something else?

Please help as I'd like to minimize the overscan.

Thanks in advance!
Stach
stach is offline  
post #38 of 60 Old 05-13-2006, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
There is none. All these sets are fixed panel.
Horizontal width & vertical height went away with the CRT....................

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #39 of 60 Old 05-18-2006, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Thanks to cabzinrah for this guide to get a custom resolution for a PC through the HDMI input;

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post6767943

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #40 of 60 Old 10-02-2006, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
fastewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbarge View Post

Videobruce,

I gather from your comments that there are no geometry adjustments in the service menu? So you are just stuck with any alignments issues you may have (short of replacing the light engine or set (and maybe make things worse))?

Does this mean there is no adjustment for vertical alingnment... my DTV guide menu bends in on the vertical sides as do the black bars on the side when in 4:3 mode? Is that normal? Let me restate that.. that cant be normal but does anyone elses set do that and how can I adjust it? (FN61).
fastewa is offline  
post #41 of 60 Old 10-03-2006, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
It's called 'pincushioning' and it is common with Microdisplays. Measure the difference in width between the widest and narrowest portions of the screen.
1/4" should be acceptable, though I don't know what JVCs' spec is.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #42 of 60 Old 10-03-2006, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
fastewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

It's called 'pincushioning' and it is common with Microdisplays. Measure the difference in width between the widest and narrowest portions of the screen.
1/4" should be acceptable, though I don't know what JVCs' spec is.


Thanks VB. Is it due to the short optic distance between projector device and screen?
fastewa is offline  
post #43 of 60 Old 10-04-2006, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I would say so. It's worse with the Sammys.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #44 of 60 Old 10-19-2006, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
BuddAdams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi: While I'm only a potential owner of an 61FH97 I was utterly captivated by your exposition! An hour after reading it, I wondered if the light sensative diode was reachablewith a long soda straw or a thin art paint brush and whether simply painting it black would be possible? I'd think black BBQ grill paint would be perfect as it wouldn't melt or run off if the board heats up. The soda straw could also convey the paint right to the part from the spray can the BBQ paint I've used comes in. No. I don't know if the paint's conductive, but an ohm meter test could check that. In any event, this approach could possibly obviate complete disassembly. Is this feasible?
SY, BA
BuddAdams is offline  
post #45 of 60 Old 10-20-2006, 04:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Thanks for the post and welcome to the forums.
I wouldn't do anything that couldn't be un-done especially when the unit is under warranty. Electrical tape is the best bet since it is easily removed. I wouldn't paint the LED, but putting a tube or 'straw' over it as a cap sounds doable. The rear panel cover would have to be removed. Shouldn't be much of a hassle.

Either way, I wouldn't let this 'glitch' be a factor in your decision.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #46 of 60 Old 10-23-2006, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
rplotkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey videobruce,

I've done a lot of forum searching; hoping this is a good place to ask. I've got a JVC 61FH97. When I pull up my RGB box pattern, it becomes clear that the blue drive is set wider than the other two. At the center of the screen, convergence is perfect. As it moves toward the edges of the screen, the squares get increasingly large blue "glows" at their outer edges (left edges towards the left of the screen, right edges toward the right of the screen), up to about 2.5 pixels at the farthest edges of the screen.

I've got a service manual, but I don't know how to use it. Is this a normal issue for these sets. If not (or even if so), can it be adjusted, or does JVC need to replace something? It *feels* like, if the blue drive could be refocused (not sure if "focus" is the right term) to be just a bit narrower, all would be good.
rplotkin is offline  
post #47 of 60 Old 10-24-2006, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Sounds as it's a focus issue, where the further from the center, the more it is out of focus (fuzzier or larger if you perfer) the boxs are.
Try a cross hatch pattern from a test DVD (or if there is one in the SM).

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #48 of 60 Old 12-03-2006, 10:53 PM
Member
 
BAWatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Relative to the fact that opening the back disables the HDMI ports, is there a problem removing the back if the unit is turned off? If the unit is unplugged?
BAWatz is offline  
post #49 of 60 Old 01-11-2007, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My brand new 61" Professional JVC HD-P61R1U has a small tilt. It is lower on the right than the left. Is there a tilt adjustment? Can this adjustment be made by JVC tech. Also, I have some splotches on the screen. They are visible when bright colors are displayed. I followed the instructions in the website to center the image. Also, I guess there is no overscan adjustment. Is that assumption then that every pixel is actually shown. Please help.
bommai is offline  
post #50 of 60 Old 01-12-2007, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Not according to last years service manual which is where this info came from. I can only assume this years is no different.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #51 of 60 Old 01-13-2007, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
ATSC Tuner problems!!! - HD-P61R1U

I got the TV early January (2007) and have been enjoying it without any problems other than the splotches. I have to call JVC about that still. I watch OTA HD. Initially I had done a ATSC auto scan. I got all the channels except the local PBS. So, today, I did an autoscan again and to my horror, all channels are gone!! poof. I am not tuning anything even though the tuning screen says it found 21 of them. After it says programming complete, I don't see any channels. Just 02. Is there any way to do factory reset so I can start over. What could be the reason. The Coax from my antenna is still plugged in and it was working yesterday. I have a HD-DVR also (split from the TV) and that works fine so the antenna is fine. Please help.

Fixed it - user problem. I must have accidentally pressed the D/A button on the remote and it had switched to the analog side of the TV. Oops!! Everything is ok now. Phew!
bommai is offline  
post #52 of 60 Old 01-13-2007, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Your best bet is the owners thread;
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=618408

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #53 of 60 Old 01-13-2007, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Your best bet is the owners thread;
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=618408


Fixed it - user problem. I must have accidentally pressed the D/A button on the remote and it had switched to the analog side of the TV. Oops!! Everything is ok now. Phew!
bommai is offline  
post #54 of 60 Old 01-15-2007, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is awesome work videobruce. I am in love with my new 52FA97. My only picture complaint is the SCREAMING bright whites even when down all the way. And what appears to be a yellow tinge to the uppermost whites. Really noticeable with face close-ups, just always have a blinding sun look to them. So hopefully I can tone that down a bit. And the other big gripe is the fact that all video settings are lost VERY quickly if power is interupted. I have already re-set mine a couple of times. Any way of altering this? I am assuming not. But my primary interest is just toning down the whites to a more comfortable level and if possible getting rid of a bit of yellow at high end of grayscale. But to me the color tracking and reds (especially vs Sony) are fantastic.
gb33 is offline  
post #55 of 60 Old 01-16-2007, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
With the color reduced all the way, what does it look like?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #56 of 60 Old 01-16-2007, 04:39 AM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
black and white with a slight greenish yellow.
gb33 is offline  
post #57 of 60 Old 01-16-2007, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
That's normal. Grey scale needs to be tweaked.
(Don't ask for the steps on how to do it, I don't own the set)

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #58 of 60 Old 01-22-2007, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There has got to be some more adjustments that we could safely make in the service menu besides the 3 colors. That is just too simple, though effective. In every review you read, the author talks sbout turning down the light output because these sets are INSANELY bright. I have my Picture setting all the way down and it still screams, especially at night. This is really all I would like to change now, as I feel trying to get the yellow out of the highlights is a bit too risky. I just want to tone down the stinking whites! Oh and I do not like smart picture although it does help, I have seen it sort of "flicker" a bit when there is a complicared scene with alot of cotrast.
gb33 is offline  
post #59 of 60 Old 06-09-2012, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 121
A 'bump' for anyone that still has one of these.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #60 of 60 Old 06-12-2012, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
1jmiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have one of these TV's; still looks and works great after many thousands of hours of operation. Love this technical information help.
1jmiii is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off