Sony SXRD computer hook-up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-09-2006, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
da5176's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I recently purchased a 60" SXRD and want to use it as a computer monitor. Does anybody out there know how to do this? I want to be able to keep using my current 17" LCD computer monitor, but will sometimes want to use my new SXRD. For those of you that have done this, how did you do it and where can I get the cable, maybe 30' or so? Do I need some kind of video card for my computer to allow for two screen connections? Can I get a VGA splitter to send to both screens? Just looking for ways to use both screens and I'm not real sure how to do it the best way. Thanks for any help anyone can give me :)
da5176 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-10-2006, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
da5176's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nobody has ever hooked this up to a computer?
da5176 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-11-2006, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lipcrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KPAX
Posts: 4,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by da5176
Hey guys, I recently purchased a 60" SXRD and want to use it as a computer monitor. Does anybody out there know how to do this? I want to be able to keep using my current 17" LCD computer monitor, but will sometimes want to use my new SXRD. For those of you that have done this, how did you do it and where can I get the cable, maybe 30' or so? Do I need some kind of video card for my computer to allow for two screen connections? Can I get a VGA splitter to send to both screens? Just looking for ways to use both screens and I'm not real sure how to do it the best way. Thanks for any help anyone can give me :)
I can help you a little although in my case substitute a plasma for the SXRD. If you have a graphics card with DVI you can use a HDMI/DVI cable from the card to the TV. This way the VGA can continue to be hooked up to the monitor. But i don't know if the SXRD will work with DVI, maybe just VGA. In that case find a card that has 2 VGA's so that you can use both. The main thing is you need a graphics card that has 2 VGA or 1 VGA, 1 DVI. I have an ATI 9600XT with VGA and DVI.
lipcrkr is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-11-2006, 07:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's always a tacky a/b switch if you just have one vga out (like on a laptop). One vga cable goes from the pc to the a/b switch, then two cables come out from the a/b switch each to the lcd and sxrd. Then you just switch back and forth between which you want to use. The dual output video card may be an option.
ogbuehi is offline  
Closed Thread Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off