Samsung 1080p Owner's Thread --- HLSxx87W/HLSxx88W DLP Models - Page 498 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14911 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot, I am fairly new to this TV and CableCards, hadn't seen that in the menu.

dja2k
dja2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14912 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Irishwpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wichita,KS
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishwpo View Post

I just purchased a HLS-5087W from BB last week. When watching HD material (OTA and DTV) and using Philips upconvert DVD player I see what appears to be white pixels on different parts of the screen. These pixels seem to 'flash' on the screen. Some HD channels are worse then others. Also on my upconvert DVD player when setting it to 720p these pixels (or sparkles as my wife calls them) seem to go away. I've been going through these posts but haven't read anything about this. My first thought was that it was my HR20 DTV box...but like I said it does this on several inputs.

I thought I'd get some input before I took TV back to BB.

Thanks in advance.

I discovered what my problem is called. SSE or Silk Screen Effect. Caused by the type of screens used in RPTV. I tried to adjust my brightness/contrast to no avail. SSE was everywhere. Set went back to BB today for a Panny Plasma. Now I have to search that thread for burn in issues I suppose.
Irishwpo is offline  
post #14913 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:37 PM
Member
 
leshrac55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishwpo View Post

I discovered what my problem is called. SSE or Silk Screen Effect. Caused by the type of screens used in RPTV. I tried to adjust my brightness/contrast to no avail. SSE was everywhere. Set went back to BB today for a Panny Plasma. Now I have to search that thread for burn in issues I suppose.

It's funny... I don't see this at all. Is this another thing, like the Rainbow Effect, that only certain people are susceptible to?
leshrac55 is offline  
post #14914 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Augmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishwpo View Post

I discovered what my problem is called. SSE or Silk Screen Effect. Caused by the type of screens used in RPTV. I tried to adjust my brightness/contrast to no avail. SSE was everywhere. Set went back to BB today for a Panny Plasma. Now I have to search that thread for burn in issues I suppose.


Boy, was I way off on helping you..........
Augmont is offline  
post #14915 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm I called the cable company and gave them the info and said they would call me back to tell me when its activated, but the "updating channel list" thing on the corner never disapeared, what should I do if it doesn't disappear, should I hit reset on the cablecard or what? (would I have to call in again)

dja2k
dja2k is offline  
post #14916 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Elkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leshrac55 View Post

It's funny... I don't see this at all. Is this another thing, like the Rainbow Effect, that only certain people are susceptible to?

If you don't see it, don't look for it. It can be annoying once you realize what it is. It's also something that is harder to see from further away from the TV.
Elkay is offline  
post #14917 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Axiom Divine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently noticed that Digital NR is grayed out in the picture settings. Any clue what caused this?
Axiom Divine is offline  
post #14918 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Elkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axiom Divine View Post

I recently noticed that Digital NR is grayed out in the picture settings. Any clue what caused this?

On some inputs, this option will grey out if you *do* have a signal. Turn off the device and you should be able to adjust the setting.
Elkay is offline  
post #14919 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jjthenovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Antelope, CA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone heard from bferr1 on his situation? Last I heard his TV was a brick (broke).
jjthenovice is offline  
post #14920 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
garycase2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshaker View Post

Pincushioning is always present in any rear-projected display.. doesn't matter how many times you swap for a new one.. or with another manufacturer.

Not necessarily. I've yet to see a Sony A2000 or XBR2 with any evident pincushioning. ... there does seem to be a fairly wide variance in the degree of pincushioning on the Samsungs.
garycase2001 is offline  
post #14921 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 05:50 PM
JWK
Newbie
 
JWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 5087. It has what I think is very noticeable pincushioning (I plan on calling service at some point in the future). Anyway, I was in CC this weekend and looked very closely at an A2000. The pincushioning is there - not very noticeable, but like I have seen in other posts, RPTV's have pincushioning.....
JWK is offline  
post #14922 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 06:19 PM
Member
 
leshrac55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkay View Post

If you don't see it, don't look for it. It can be annoying once you realize what it is. It's also something that is harder to see from further away from the TV.

LOL... "Don't think of an elephant." I, of course, look for things when I hear about them... I'll try my best, but even in the past I've tried to sort of see both this and the rainbow effect, and have failed to see it. The managed to see the Rainbow only once, in a Pixar "THX Optimizer" menu, the white text on black would cause the rainbow effect when I rolled my eyes across the screen. For some reason, even when I've looked for it in other movie credits, I don't see it... Lucky me.
leshrac55 is offline  
post #14923 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, before I went to the Samsung I had a Sony XBR1. It had pincushioning also. One thing I noticed is that when you turn overscan off...it makes the pincushioning more pronounced. It doesn't bother me though. I got my 2nd 5688 exchanged for a 6188 at no extra cost but even that one has two items I'll be getting checked out next week. The fan is a bit noisier than the 5688 and sounds like the bearing may be loose. They should be able to fix that quick. I also have the 1 - 2 degree tilt to the left that others have mentioned. The only time I can really tell is when I have the menu on and the little "contrast, brightness, etc." bar spanning the very bottom. you can tell it there is about 1/4" more space or so on the right than the left. hope he can fix this because the 6188 doesn't suffer from the 5688s issues...screen spots and with overscan off i now don't see the "white" flicker at the top of 4:3 broadcasts.
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #14924 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, Eliab calibrated my set today and the results are awesome!

The snow was coming down and the roads were freezing today, with a wind chill of -20. Nevertheless, Eliab made the road trip through Kentucky to perform a calibration of my 3 month old HLS5687. Only one word can describe the results: BEAUTIFUL! After skimming through a few DVD's over the past few hours, I can already see a huge difference in picture quality.

All of the colors are more vibrant and true to life. Blacks are truly black, and skin tones look much more realistic than before. Everything in the picture just seems "deeper" than it did before the calibration, and this is a very good thing!

Unfortunately I only have basic cable service, and no HD content was being broadcast when Eliab was here. But tonight after watching a few shows that were broadcast in HD, and all I can say is W-O-W! There really is a world of difference in picture quality. And I can safely say that Eliab is NOT exaggerating when he says these Samsung DLP's can be made to look like $15,000+ displays!

The results are beautiful, and Eliab was very cool during the entire process. I left him alone for a few hours while he worked his magic on the set. When I did have questions, he was very happy to show me what he was doing and explain things in detail. I can tell he is enthusiastic about his job and really enjoys helping people get the most out of their home entertainment systems. Eliab was very professional and courteous during the entire visit. He even brought me a copy of the local morning paper since I was his first customer of the day...Thanks Eliab!

Overall I'm very happy with the results, and can HIGHLY RECOMMEND both Eliab and Avical for anyone looking to get the most out of their HDTVs.
Libertarian is offline  
post #14925 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did I just see a post about an Eliab calibration? Or am I going nuts....I just read the whole thing and now it is gone. it was a GREAT review*LOL*...just wanted to thank the OP since I have my deposit in and am just waiting for a date for Eliab to come work his magic on my set.

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #14926 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Libertarian View Post

Well, Eliab calibrated my set today and the results are awesome!

The snow was coming down and the roads were freezing today, with a wind chill of -20. Nevertheless, Eliab made the road trip through Kentucky to perform a calibration of my 3 month old HLS5687. Only one word can describe the results: BEAUTIFUL! After skimming through a few DVD's over the past few hours, I can already see a huge difference in picture quality.

All of the colors are more vibrant and true to life. Blacks are truly black, and skin tones look much more realistic than before. Everything in the picture just seems "deeper" than it did before the calibration, and this is a very good thing!

Unfortunately I only have basic cable service, and no HD content was being broadcast when Eliab was here. But tonight after watching a few shows that were broadcast in HD, and all I can say is W-O-W! There really is a world of difference in picture quality. And I can safely say that Eliab is NOT exaggerating when he says these Samsung DLP's can be made to look like $15,000+ displays!

The results are beautiful, and Eliab was very cool during the entire process. I left him alone for a few hours while he worked his magic on the set. When I did have questions, he was very happy to show me what he was doing and explain things in detail. I can tell he is enthusiastic about his job and really enjoys helping people get the most out of their home entertainment systems. Eliab was very professional and courteous during the entire visit. He even brought me a copy of the local morning paper since I was his first customer of the day...Thanks Eliab!

Overall I'm very happy with the results, and can HIGHLY RECOMMEND both Eliab and Avical for anyone looking to get the most out of their HDTVs.

Now its back ...Great to hear such great results....did he have any trouble calibrating during the day? I requested a daytime slot so as to keep the wife and kids out of the house during...but I thought I read someplace that night time was better for calibration.

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #14927 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 08:02 PM
Member
 
klawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeynavy1 View Post

Yes, before I went to the Samsung I had a Sony XBR1. It had pincushioning also. One thing I noticed is that when you turn overscan off...

you can turn overscanning off? the thing making me wait to buy a XBR2 is the overscan, due to my heavy PC usage. but you can turn it off? does it completely eliminate it? if not, how close does it get? I don't understand why anyone would want overscan. You're missing part of the picture! Why don't they just calibrate the optics to perfectly (or nearly) fit the screen?

Anyway, I have heard that the Samsung DLPs have the least overscan (1-3%); therefore I am compromising by waiting until March or April when the LED driven DLPs are supposed to be available (slimmer too, like 13" deep!). I'll probably be paying $3500 vs $2700 for a 61" LED DLP vs a 60" XBR2 (or is it 65?), but the overscan is a dealbreaker for gamers, and lowering the resolution with Powerstrip is unacceptable. LCD, unfortunately, is too expensive for a quality picture (and summer is the earliest before decent LCDs should be available). If you can eliminate the overscan in a menu, however, I'll be a customer tomorrow! Please let me know!!
klawrence is offline  
post #14928 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, my TV is in a bright sunny room, but it wasn't a problem because I had an extra bedsheet handy

Eliab brought a black tarp as well, and we basically pinned both of them up above the windows with some tiny tacks to block most of the sunlight. He told me the room doesn't need to be pitch black for the calibration anyway. So it wasn't a problem at all.

For those of you who go with Eliab, you won't regret it. Standard definition looks good...but once you see the high def picture after calibration, your jaw will literally hit the floor. His services are worth every penny.
Libertarian is offline  
post #14929 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbird8450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:


you can turn overscanning off? the thing making me wait to buy a XBR2 is the overscan, due to my heavy PC usage. but you can turn it off? does it completely eliminate it? if not, how close does it get? I don't understand why anyone would want overscan. You're missing part of the picture! Why don't they just calibrate the optics to perfectly (or nearly) fit the screen?

Anyway, I have heard that the Samsung DLPs have the least overscan (1-3%); therefore I am compromising by waiting until March or April when the LED driven DLPs are supposed to be available (slimmer too, like 13" deep!). I'll probably be paying $3500 vs $2700 for a 61" LED DLP vs a 60" XBR2 (or is it 65?), but the overscan is a dealbreaker for gamers, and lowering the resolution with Powerstrip is unacceptable. LCD, unfortunately, is too expensive for a quality picture (and summer is the earliest before decent LCDs should be available). If you can eliminate the overscan in a menu, however, I'll be a customer tomorrow! Please let me know!!

If you have a set with a firmware date of December 2006, you can turn off overscan in the service menu. I don't think there's a foolproof way of determining your firmware version without actually turning the TV on, but chances are good that if you have a set with a build date of December '06 or later, you also have the new firmware.

If it's an important concern to you, then you may want to limit your purchase to a store that will allow you to select a set with a build date of your choice.
tbird8450 is offline  
post #14930 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ghudson666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by funny guy View Post

With my experience and as several others have reported here it appears these Sammys have a pretty good upconverting chip. Many report a better picture with a 480p output to the TV than the upconverting 720p or 1080i output. I noticed more artifacts from a Sony and Sammy upconverting dvd player outputing above 480p. The hdmi connection makes a better improvement then the upconvert in the dvd player IMHO.

Are you saying I should set my Comcast HD DVR box to output 480p and also set my Sony upconverting DVD player to output 480p for the best picture with my HL-S5087W?

I just tried to set my cable box to 480p but the info button on my sammy says my HDMI source is 720p.

But still, am I really going to get the best picture by letting the tv do all the upconverting and scalling? How can the tv double the resolution to 1920 x 1080i without distorting something?
ghudson666 is offline  
post #14931 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ghudson666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2k View Post

Do most Samsung TV's have that noise you guys are mentioning because mine does a noise sometimes, but its the same noise if I touch or push the TV in and out of the stand, seems like its the casing doing the noise.

dja2k

My HL-S5087W is whisper quiet. I have to stick my head near the back to hear the fan.
ghudson666 is offline  
post #14932 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dfwald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghudson666 View Post

Are you saying I should set my Comcast HD DVR box to output 480p and also set my Sony upconverting DVD player to output 480p for the best picture with my HL-S5087W?

I just tried to set my cable box to 480p but the info button on my sammy says my HDMI source is 720p.

But still, am I really going to get the best picture by letting the tv do all the upconverting and scalling? How can the tv double the resolution to 1920 x 1080i without distorting something?


Don't believe it. I have my Comcast HD DVR box and Sony upconverting DVD player both set to 1080i and the results are just great. I do not buy at all that the TV's upconverting is better than the DVD player. I've read postings before in the Sony S75 DVD forum of people doing tests showing the TV upconverting isn't as good as the DVD upconverting. Based on the posts I read, I followed the rule to have both sources already at 1080 before input to the TV.
dfwald is offline  
post #14933 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dfwald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghudson666 View Post

My HL-S5087W is whisper quiet. I have to stick my head near the back to hear the fan.

Same here with my 6187.
dfwald is offline  
post #14934 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:20 PM
Member
 
funny guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghudson666 View Post

Are you saying I should set my Comcast HD DVR box to output 480p and also set my Sony upconverting DVD player to output 480p for the best picture with my HL-S5087W?

I just tried to set my cable box to 480p but the info button on my sammy says my HDMI source is 720p.

But still, am I really going to get the best picture by letting the tv do all the upconverting and scalling? How can the tv double the resolution to 1920 x 1080i without distorting something?

It is really a matter of experimentation, but many report having the set upscale has been the best picture quality. I had better results with 480p on all dvd players I tested. Artifacts appeared when feeding higher resolutions.

These sets upscale everything to 1080p, native resolution. These sets have a good scaler compared to most STB and dvd players.

It also depends on the content. If you are receiving 1080i content to a STB it should not be set to output 480p. Because dvd's are 480i content, bad upscaling is more noticeable.
funny guy is offline  
post #14935 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:27 PM
Member
 
funny guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by klawrence View Post

you can turn overscanning off? the thing making me wait to buy a XBR2 is the overscan, due to my heavy PC usage. but you can turn it off? does it completely eliminate it? if not, how close does it get? I don't understand why anyone would want overscan. You're missing part of the picture! Why don't they just calibrate the optics to perfectly (or nearly) fit the screen?

Anyway, I have heard that the Samsung DLPs have the least overscan (1-3%); therefore I am compromising by waiting until March or April when the LED driven DLPs are supposed to be available (slimmer too, like 13" deep!). I'll probably be paying $3500 vs $2700 for a 61" LED DLP vs a 60" XBR2 (or is it 65?), but the overscan is a dealbreaker for gamers, and lowering the resolution with Powerstrip is unacceptable. LCD, unfortunately, is too expensive for a quality picture (and summer is the earliest before decent LCDs should be available). If you can eliminate the overscan in a menu, however, I'll be a customer tomorrow! Please let me know!!

The December an later builds of the XX87 series have shown to retain overscan off.

All XX88 models retain overscan off regardless of build date.

All models have the overscan setting in the service menu only, not in the user menu.
funny guy is offline  
post #14936 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whoops...a little misunderstanding in the way i wrote. no, i didn't turn the overscan off on the sony. it was the samsung. samsung actually has some of the highest overscan rates, which is why people turn it off. the sony was less, but with a samsung overscan turned off, it's better than the sony. i posted somewhere on here a LONG time ago that i went to my local navy base exchange and looked at overscan. i think panasonic had like the least overscan. mitsubishi, jvc, and sony were similar, and samsung had the most. it's been awhile so you may look back there. if you can wait, you should try the new sammy...i wasn't all that impressed with the sony's. yes, they're great pictures, but not any better than the samsung imo. i also had the green blob on mine which is why i took it back. take a look at the pics of the Samsung HLTs. they look much better than the HLS-5679. TVs are just like computers. Eventually you have to jump in and buy something, but then there's always something better RIGHT around the corner.

P.S. Has anyone forked out the money for the new LG BluRay/HDDVD Player? They're available in some stores now. Just curious if it's all hype, or how good they really are. Too expensive for me right now, but I'd keep my eyes open if they get good reviews.

Quote:
Originally Posted by klawrence View Post

you can turn overscanning off? the thing making me wait to buy a XBR2 is the overscan, due to my heavy PC usage. but you can turn it off? does it completely eliminate it? if not, how close does it get? I don't understand why anyone would want overscan. You're missing part of the picture! Why don't they just calibrate the optics to perfectly (or nearly) fit the screen?

Anyway, I have heard that the Samsung DLPs have the least overscan (1-3%); therefore I am compromising by waiting until March or April when the LED driven DLPs are supposed to be available (slimmer too, like 13" deep!). I'll probably be paying $3500 vs $2700 for a 61" LED DLP vs a 60" XBR2 (or is it 65?), but the overscan is a dealbreaker for gamers, and lowering the resolution with Powerstrip is unacceptable. LCD, unfortunately, is too expensive for a quality picture (and summer is the earliest before decent LCDs should be available). If you can eliminate the overscan in a menu, however, I'll be a customer tomorrow! Please let me know!!

mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #14937 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:46 PM
Member
 
klawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses. Can you explain something to me though -- I have read that when you disable overscanning, you lose 1:1 pixel mapping. To me that means, you have a source image and on the DLP chip, the image appears smaller than it's maximum 1920x1080 mirror array. Is that true? I imagine it is like taking a 1920x1080 image in paint and using the stretching command to change it to 1820x1015.. ? But you say it looks better
klawrence is offline  
post #14938 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 09:54 PM
Member
 
hugoguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just updated my HLS-5687's firmware and it worked and everything and even restarted itself. But when I turned it off and then tried to turn it on i got no picture. The lamp light blinks like it's suppose to then i get no picture! after about 5min it turns off! Im upset that this update bricked my TV. I don't recommend it to anyone that doesn't have warranty.
hugoguzman is offline  
post #14939 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 10:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,865
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by klawrence View Post

Thanks for the responses. Can you explain something to me though -- I have read that when you disable overscanning, you lose 1:1 pixel mapping.

It's the other way around. When you turn "overscan" OFF in the SM of some HLS Samsung DLP RPTV sets you are in fact disabling the up-scaling that was used to add about three percent more overscan.

With overscan OFF the amount of overscan (all TV sets have overscan) is about 2%. The pixel mapping is 1:1 but the projector is placed just far enough from the screen so that 2% of the pixels are lost behind the bezel. The only way you can see all 1920x1080 pixels would be to move the light engine mount a little closer to the screen.
htwaits is offline  
post #14940 of 21419 Old 02-06-2007, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
gan911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
once again my problem has returned....
just playing my wii...about 5-10 minutes into turning on TV...the TV shuts itself off
Two lights, a standby/temp (red) and lamp (green, furthest to the right), begin to blink. This hasn't been the first time this has happened....some people say overheating, others say something else. I'm just living in a normal townhouse /w a big-ass bush stand w/ at least 4 inches worth of space behind it. Not to mention its only 68 degrees in my house.

Please someone help me...i don't want to brick the TV because I just bought it...but I do have a warantee and a service plan if necessary

thanks!
gan911 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung , Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off