Samsung 1080p Owner's Thread --- HLSxx87W/HLSxx88W DLP Models - Page 523 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15661 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:38 AM
Member
 
Ja Mata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Their solution for cables cards is to discontinue them in the new models.

The CS person I spoke to said it was the SA (Scientific Alanta) cards where the problem is. Replacing the card either with another SA card or some other manufactures card solves the problem!


That is Bull$hit - My Motorola CableCard that worked fine in the HL-R4677 worked fine - The EXACT same card does not work in the HL-S5088W Model(s) - all five of them I have had.

It get exactly one frame refresh + the audio for only a black picture + audio depending on if you move up or down to the channel.
Ja Mata is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15662 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mikey_Gee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
stehal, thanks a bunch !!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mikey_Gee is offline  
post #15663 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 07:32 AM
Newbie
 
LowDUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no im using componet cables for my xbox and sat. and its not every channel i get the blocking
LowDUB is offline  
post #15664 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:


My Motorola CableCard that worked fine in the HL-R4677 worked fine - The EXACT same card does not work in the HL-S5088W Model(s) - all five of them I have had.

What do you want from a company that leaves the lamp on when a timer recording is in progress (to an external AV-HDD)? At least Mits got that right.

How many versions of these DLPs' have been out and they can't get the basics correct? These are as overrated as Sony. I don't care how many 'tweaks' that are in the SM.

You pay hundreds of dollars extra for a QAM tuner and 1394 ports and neither work correctly, let along the crappy analog tuner which is the worst I have seen in years.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #15665 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Pinecrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

You pay hundreds of dollars extra for a QAM tuner and 1394 ports and neither work correctly, let along the crappy analog tuner which is the worst I have seen in years.

Bruce,

What is it about the analog tuner that you don't like? Is it the way it is programmed/setup, or are you talking about how poorly it picks up signals compared to other tuners, or something else?

Does anyone know of a simple mod that could boost the built-in OTA tuner?
Pinecrest is offline  
post #15666 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

What do you want from a company that leaves the lamp on when a timer recording is in progress (to an external AV-HDD)? At least Mits got that right.

How many versions of these DLPs' have been out and they can't get the basics correct? These are as overrated as Sony. I don't care how many 'tweaks' that are in the SM.

You pay hundreds of dollars extra for a QAM tuner and 1394 ports and neither work correctly, let along the crappy analog tuner which is the worst I have seen in years.

videobruce, there are other instances where the 1394 ports work just fine. I use the 1394 ports on my 6188 for my HDV camcorder, and JVC DVHS player. Of course I need the lamp on when I use both of those components

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blasst is offline  
post #15667 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Joey Cusack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, has the HL-S5687W REALLY been discontinued? Cause that would suck man!

Can anyone verify this? I was planning on buying it in April.
Joey Cusack is offline  
post #15668 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Cusack View Post

Hey guys, has the HL-S5687W REALLY been discontinued? Cause that would suck man!

Can anyone verify this? I was planning on buying it in April.

Every year at this time most companies switch from last year's models to this year's models. At some point about now they will stop building the 2006 models.

Since Samsung is trying to ship 2007 models starting in April that may be going on now. No one that I've read knows exactly when the last 2006 set will come out the factory door.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #15669 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
rnick1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eliab just finished calibrating my HLS7178 a few hours ago. Since then I've been watching just anything and everything HD, and playing as much Xbox 360 as possible.

It's been said before, and I will say it again: If you are on the fence about getting a calibration, it is VERY much worth the cost and I would highly recommend Eliab for the job.

Prior to the calibration, I had done all of the user level/forum recommended SM tweaks on my own ... and I thought I had done a pretty good job of improving my image (who knows, maybe I did). It does not hold a candle to what my display is doing now. Everything is mch crisper and cleaner (my focus was way off), there is a fraction of the noise in the picture that there was previously, the colors are spot-on (and not 'screaming' at me anymore), and details exist in the picture that I simply had never seen before. I'm truly amazed at what the set can do now.

Eliab himself was outstanding, providing blow-by-blow analysis of what he was doing, what the equipment he used was doing, why certain changes were being made, and stopping to point out what a specific changes were doing to the picture on numerous occassions. It was quite the education, and he was a fantastic teacher!

So, my executive summary is this: It was well worth the money, Eliab is a great guy, and is great at what he does. Highly, highly recommended!!
rnick1976 is offline  
post #15670 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:33 AM
Member
 
CalifLove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys/gals,

for the past few days my TV has been cutting off randomly it seems. So far as I can tell, it happens truely randomly and while doing any number of things - watching cable via cable box, playing on xbox or 360 - so it doesn't seem to happen on any 1 particular input.

Basically - the TV cuts off, then the Standby/Temp light along with the Lamp light blink 3 or 4 times. If I power the unit back on right after that I hear the fan start back up, -then it cuts off and cuts right back on, along with another wizzing sound. HArd to explain really. I thought this might me a temp thing as it sometimes gets pretty hot in my living room - however I observed this same thing just a few moments ago where it is really cold in the house....

Any ideas?
CalifLove is offline  
post #15671 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpflepsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NE
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalifLove View Post


Any ideas?


It's broke. Call Samsung for service.
gpflepsen is offline  
post #15672 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
pbicich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpflepsen View Post

It's broke. Call Samsung for service.



Nice
pbicich is offline  
post #15673 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 12:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnick1976 View Post

Eliab just finished calibrating my HLS7178 a few hours ago.

I've just added your report to the list that is linked at the bottom of my post. Thanks.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #15674 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Hogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Cusack View Post

Hey guys, has the HL-S5687W REALLY been discontinued? Cause that would suck man!

Can anyone verify this? I was planning on buying it in April.

I know -- I wanted to buy a new 1995 Honda Accord and when I went to the dealer, lo and behold all they had was 2006s and 2007s.
Hogan is offline  
post #15675 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
kaiser10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalifLove View Post

Hey guys/gals,

for the past few days my TV has been cutting off randomly it seems. So far as I can tell, it happens truely randomly and while doing any number of things - watching cable via cable box, playing on xbox or 360 - so it doesn't seem to happen on any 1 particular input.

Basically - the TV cuts off, then the Standby/Temp light along with the Lamp light blink 3 or 4 times. If I power the unit back on right after that I hear the fan start back up, -then it cuts off and cuts right back on, along with another wizzing sound. HArd to explain really. I thought this might me a temp thing as it sometimes gets pretty hot in my living room - however I observed this same thing just a few moments ago where it is really cold in the house....

Any ideas?

I kind of had the same problem. My TV kept turning off like every 10 minutes. After searching around, some people said they had the same problem and it was because the lamp cover wasn't shut or the switch for it wasn't detecting the cover correctly. I unscrewed the lamp cover and put it back on and made sure the switch was depressed. So far so good.
kaiser10 is offline  
post #15676 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnick1976 View Post

Eliab just finished calibrating my HLS7178 a few hours ago. Since then I've been watching just anything and everything HD, and playing as much Xbox 360 as possible.

It's been said before, and I will say it again: If you are on the fence about getting a calibration, it is VERY much worth the cost and I would highly recommend Eliab for the job.

Prior to the calibration, I had done all of the user level/forum recommended SM tweaks on my own ... and I thought I had done a pretty good job of improving my image (who knows, maybe I did). It does not hold a candle to what my display is doing now. Everything is mch crisper and cleaner (my focus was way off), there is a fraction of the noise in the picture that there was previously, the colors are spot-on (and not 'screaming' at me anymore), and details exist in the picture that I simply had never seen before. I'm truly amazed at what the set can do now.

Eliab himself was outstanding, providing blow-by-blow analysis of what he was doing, what the equipment he used was doing, why certain changes were being made, and stopping to point out what a specific changes were doing to the picture on numerous occassions. It was quite the education, and he was a fantastic teacher!

So, my executive summary is this: It was well worth the money, Eliab is a great guy, and is great at what he does. Highly, highly recommended!!

He will be at my house tomorrow morning doing my HL-s5687w

Thanks for the report!!! especially about the focus...mine seems off alot since the new LE was installed. How long did it take him and how many ports did he do? I have 3.

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15677 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalifLove View Post

...Basically - the TV cuts off, then the Standby/Temp light along with the Lamp light blink 3 or 4 times...

Although what you describe could be a number of things, you should definetly do what kaiser10 recommends. The little blue switch that lies behind the lamp door/panel is designed to prevent startup (or kill power) in the event that the door is not secured properly or being removed during operation. This function is there for obvious safety reasons, however some owners have discovered that the switch is not well oriented and therefore does not make good contact even if the door is securely closed. Some people have resolved their problem just by removing the door and replacing it, while others have needed to maneuver the switch a bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiser10 View Post

...some people said they had the same problem and it was because the lamp cover wasn't shut or the switch for it wasn't detecting the cover correctly. I unscrewed the lamp cover and put it back on and made sure the switch was depressed...



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
120inna55 is offline  
post #15678 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm an HLN owner, but I anticipate acquiring an HLS soon. I'm not a "muck around in the SM" kinda guy, but on my HLN, I always felt it was prudent to reset lamp hours after changing the lamp. I also, occasionally, just checked the lamp hours to get a gauge as to the amount of "mileage" the set was getting. Going into the SM on the HLN "reset" all inputs back to "dynamic", but the "custom" settings were still there, all I had to do was switch the mode back to "custom" for each setting.

I've read (and perhaps I've misunderstood) that simply going into the SM on the HLS's resets the settings. Is this true, or can I simply get them back by going back to the "custom" mode (I assume the nomenclature has changed since the HLN's, but you get my meaning). I'm of course only speaking about user settings.

If it truly does reset your settings, why? Is it there to discourage entering the SM?

Along the same vein, why is lamp hours in the SM to begin with? Since changing the lamp is intended to be a user's responsibility, then why isn't the lamp life indicator accessible to the user?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
120inna55 is offline  
post #15679 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce banner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnick1976 View Post

Eliab just finished calibrating my HLS7178 a few hours ago. Since then I've been watching just anything and everything HD, and playing as much Xbox 360 as possible.

It's been said before, and I will say it again: If you are on the fence about getting a calibration, it is VERY much worth the cost and I would highly recommend Eliab for the job.

How much is it?
bruce banner is offline  
post #15680 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce banner View Post

How much is it?

http://www.avical.com/

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15681 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 03:50 PM
Member
 
mslabaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Have the SAMSUNG 56 87. I just bought it, I think it may have been used though. Is there any way I can check how many hours are on the lamp or how long the TV has been on for?

Thanks
mslabaugh is offline  
post #15682 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mslabaugh View Post

I Have the SAMSUNG 56 87. I just bought it, I think it may have been used though. Is there any way I can check how many hours are on the lamp or how long the TV has been on for?

Thanks

you can check the lamp hours in the service menu...but it would be easy for that to be reset to 0. Not sure how else to tell.

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15683 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 03:55 PM
Member
 
mslabaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do i get into the service menu?
mslabaugh is offline  
post #15684 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce banner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tundrSQ View Post

http://www.avical.com/

I see... plus travel expensive... so i'm looking around $700.

I wonder if Bill Gambrell still do calibrations. Checking imagingscience.com for local calibrators I found he is from my state and overall much cheaper and has great reviews on the forum but hasn't posted since 2005.
bruce banner is offline  
post #15685 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce banner View Post

I see... plus travel expensive... so i'm looking around $700.

I wonder if Bill Gambrell still do calibrations. Checking imagingscience.com for local calibrators I found he is from my state and overall much cheaper and has great reviews on the forum but hasn't posted since 2005.

no travel fees....and how did you get $700?

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15686 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mslabaugh View Post

How do i get into the service menu?

have you searched this topic? You can see the place to do that in the upper right hand corner. You must be VERY careful if you do go into the SM...more bad things can happen than good.

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15687 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:02 PM
Member
 
mslabaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how I get into the service menu of a 56" 87? I'm new to the forum and forgive me if this is a dumb question and real easy.

Can anyone point the way to a link or anything to just check the lamp hours. I don't want to change anything in the menu, just view the lamp hours. I have no clue how to do it though, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
mslabaugh is offline  
post #15688 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mslabaugh View Post

Does anyone know how I get into the service menu of a 56" 87? I'm new to the forum and forgive me if this is a dumb question and real easy.

the reason I suggested a search is for you to educate yourself before you get into the SM....



With TV off, Press Mute, 1,8,2, Power.

The very first screen and very first line is "factory reset" do NOT hit that!!!!

Good Luck

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #15689 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:10 PM
Member
 
mslabaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a search but couldn't find anything on it. If I do that? Mute 182 power if I just manually sht the TV off will the service menu go away?
mslabaugh is offline  
post #15690 of 21399 Old 02-19-2007, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce banner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tundrSQ View Post

no travel fees....and how did you get $700?

$450 plus assumed travel expenses.

Bill Gambrell will do the Tier-2 for the price of the Tier-1 job at avical.com

prices:

Bill Gambrell
http://www.homecentric.com/video.htm

Eliab
http://www.avical.com/calibration.html
bruce banner is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Samsung , Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off